Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 286 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The latest, geatest I'm a bit of a vacuum performance nut - I'm concerned with dust, and appearance. The Hoover Platinum bag vac is waaaaay ahead of the competition. My other vac is a Dyson, and this thing does everything better, and is quiet and dust-free to boot. It doesn't have tools hanging all over it, and off floor cleaning has to be done with the included portable vac. With a low speed for floors, this thing is the best thing you can use for floors. If you try it, you will buy it. A negative - the bags are very expensive, and the knock-offs haven't yet arrived. It has just been rated #1 by the leading consumer publication. 11/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoover Platinum I am very happy with this purchase and it works well but my only complaint is that I would have like to have known how expensive the replacement bags would have been. That my have changed my mind about purchasing the vacuum cleaner!! 09/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoover Platinum Bagged Upright Vacuum is GREAT! I read the MANY glowing reviews on this vacuum (lotsa sites!), and figured they must be Hoover shills?- NOT! Fun vacuuming...? Yea, sure?- It's TRUE!- I vacuumed til 2am first time (I couldn't believe my eyes!)! My old CG Top-Rated 4.5hp canister would fluff up packed hallway... carpet (surface only!), but would quickly pack right back down. :o( The Hoover goes MUCH deeper (must go perpendicular/both ways..., or floats at higher side carpet level!), removed TONS of old dog hair, and REALLY deep fluffed up my carpet! After walking on it for two-weeks, my carpet is still fluffy! WOW! It was a pain on packed stairs (no more!), but worth it (sucks good when locked upright!)! Cons- The portable hand vacuum that comes with is a WEAK JOKE (one star, as they don't have zero!)!- I'll keep my powerful canister vac for the tools, as NO vacuum I've found cleans all the way to the edge (right side is close)! Sound Too Good to be true?- Well Wally World has a liberal in-store return policy (even when purchased online!)! I guarantee you'll be AMAZED at the performance, and long warranty (you definitely get what you pay for!)! Scott :o) 07/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feels like it will last I love this machine. I tried a cheaper, bagless model, but hated emptying the canister and the belt broke after the third use. I took it back and bought this one - even though it cost almost twice as much - because of all the glowing reviews and I liked the idea of getting two vacs. THIS IS TOTALLY WORTH EVERY PENNEY! The upright is fabulous. It works just fine on my hardwood floors without scratching and picks up even the grass and leaves my dogs track in. I thought the days of buying a vacuum that lasted 20 years were over, but this machine feels so solid I can actually see it lasting that long. It reminds my of my mother's old green hoover that she used forever, except that it's a whole lot lighter and the floor actually looks clean after using it. The canister is also very lightweight with good suction. But it's really not very thoughtfully designed. There's no good way to store the tools and no place to wind up the cord, so it's pretty unwieldy to get out and put away. Luckily I don't use it all that much. It's a shame that the folks at Hoover didn't take the time to put the same thoughtfulness into the design of the canister. 07/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely Awesome Vac This by far is the best vacuum I've ever owned! I've never owned a vacuum that left my floors as clean as this Hoover Platinum does. I would recommend it for those that have children or pets because it gets rid of the dirty traces they leave behind. Excellent product! 04/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything in a vacuum! I just want to say that I have three messy little boys, two dogs, and a cat, and you would never know because of how well this vacuum picks up. I believe it works just as well as the Kirby if not better! I have OCD and am very picky about what vacuum I use. I research before I buy and I saw that this was new and thought I would try it. I LOVE IT! It light weight, attractive, easy to operate, and picks up exceptionally well! I love that there is a little side brush at the bottom that slides along the edge of the carpet by the walls to pick up hair and dirt in the crevices. I also love that the hand held hoses and attachments come on a 2nd little handheld vac. and is not attached to the upright vacuum. The bags for the vacuum are cheap and labeled so they are easy to find! There is a light on the front and a low and medium adjustment so you can run it over area rugs easily. This vacuum could not be better! I dont' know what I would do without it. Oh and the little handheld vacuum that comes with it, is perfect for stairs, fan, vents, furniture, and great for the car!!! 02/17/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Purchased vacuum from walmart on line it worked for 6 months.Its been in the shop for 4 months.Called hoover" it takes day for that ".Parts are on order..next month parts are on order..GET THE PICTURE..Stay away from this product and company... 12/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an EXCELLENT vacuum cleaner. It is so light weight. I have back problems and that is why I chose this one. It has great power (suction) and I love that it comes with the small vacuum to do the areas you can't do with th3e upright. I have a Rainbow vacuum cleaner that is only a few years old and I hate it. It doesn't have the suction this one has and it's a pain in the butt to drag around and fill and drain the water, etc.. This upright is easy to maneuver and it's a great price. I shopped around on line and found the same vacuum for up to $100. more on Lowes and Sears websites. Pays to shop around. I was so happy with this vacuum that I bought a second one for our office. The bags are a little pricy (not bad) but really seem to contain and trap the dust. I very rarely post reviews for my purchases but I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner. 09/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this vacuum 2 years ago and love it. The handy small vac is excellent to dusting furniture and woodwork. The upright works excellent. We just love both of them The best vac we ever bought and we are 71 years old!! 07/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Vacuum at a Great Price I have used a bagless vacuum cleaner for years and it finally died, so I did a lot of research before purchasing the Hoover Platinum Collection Lightweight Bagged Upright Vacuum. It is fabulous!!! Nice and lightweight, easy to use on stairs, cleans edges very well, and overall great for any surface. My carpets have never looked so good. And I love the handheld vacuum with the shoulder strap. Very lightweight and easy to use. Cleaning is so much easier now. 06/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long cord, light, strong suction We went back to a bagged vacuum cleaner due to the dust and animal hair that gets everywhere. We would empty a tank three times due to two dogs and two cats. We filled less than one bag with this vacuum with absolutely no mess or smell. Kudos Hoover. 04/22/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've never had a vacuum do such a wonderful job. I'm going to have to return it though because I find I can't function without it having a hose. The handheld vacuum that came with it does have a hose, but it is worthless. Hoover - please add a hose to this vacuum so I can repurchase!!! 04/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent vacuum without the $500 price tag I was hesitant about getting this vacuum because it was a bagged model and no on board tools but I thought I would give it a try. We have 4 dogs and I thought for sure it would loose suction after the first time. Much to my surprise it didn't. This is the greatest vacuum for a reasonable price. It's lightweight, powerful, has 2 speed setting and a long cord. The height of the vacuum head was great. I fit under all my cabinets and tables. Unfortunately I couldn't get past having to get out the canister vacuum that came with it for cleaning the baseboards. I have to do this frequently with 4 dogs. It was just a hassle. If this vacuum came with on board tools it would be the perfect vacuum. 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum for a reasonable price. After owning vacuum cleaners from several prominent manufacturers, I can state that in comparison, this product is excellent. It is extremely light, quiet, and comes with a portable canister vacuum as well. Assembly was minimal and simple. The upright and canister draw minimal amperage and are very easy to maneuver. The upright comes with a five year warranty and the caniste's is six years. Time will tell for durability, but so far its performance has been satisfactory. This vacuum may not be as manueverable as a Dyson or other extremely high-end model, but for less than half of the cost, it is an extremely smart buy. 12/23/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Low Pile Carpet ONLY! Walmart offers this vacuum for a great deal compared to other retailers, I was very disappointed that this vacuum did not work on our frieze carpet! It was extremely difficult to push on the carpet, I even had my husband try it out and it was difficult for him to push. I contacted Hoover and they informed me that this vacuum is not intended for frieze and/or shag type carpets and recommended a different model, I wish I would have contacted them to begin with to save me from a return at Walmart! I wish that this information would have been included in the product information - I think a lot of people would find that helpful! This vacuum was so appealing based on the weight, the warranty and lifetime belt. I was extremely disappointed that this wasn't a keeper. This vacuum would work great for a low pile carpet and appears to have great suction! I tried this on my tile floor and it worked pretty good on that! I did not try the canister since the vacuum was a no go for me so I can't comment on that. I wound up with the Hoover Windtunnel MAX Bagged Upright - UH30600 (recommendation from Hoover), it's not as solid as the Platinum model but it works on my carpet. Side note, I "test drove" the Hoover self propelled bagged upright and that seemed too heavy. 10/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great suction! I have vacuum lines on my carpet again! This vacuum sucks up the nap of my carpet and really makes it look clean. I love it! It almost (almost) makes me want to vacuum daily. 10/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase purchased this a few weeks ago and I love it. It's light weight, bagged and quieter than all my other previous vacuums. 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacuum This is a great vacuum. It doesn't blow dirt all over. It does the job. 06/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smooth and lightweight A gift for my wife for Christmas, this vaccum seems to be sturdy, lightweight and smooth in its operation. Because the 'accessories' actually come as part of the "carry-over-the-sholder" second vacuum, you must do the baseboards, drapes, etc. using it...not the upright...a change that takes a bit of getting used to, but not a big deal. Powerful enough to pull the upgridght forward on pile carpet, and picks up lint, dirt, threads, etc. without a problem. Easy to carry up stairs and over obstacles. Hoping it lasts as long as our old one. 02/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needed a new dependable vac Does a great job at vacuuming up pet hair and deep embedded dirt. At this point I'm not too impressed with the extra hand held canister vac that comes with it. It doesn't provide much suction with the duster attachment. It's okay when using the crevice attachment or just the hose by itself. 11/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacuum We have used this vacuum several times now and the vacuum is great. I like how it pulls the pile up and makes it look new. It is light to carry. It is great looking. Just be careful when you lift it that you lift it by the handle on the side, it will keep the electrical components at the top from coming apart. I would recommend this product to everyone. It is pricey but it does the job. 11/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally found a vacuum that sucked up all the dog hair. My carpet looks new. 11/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by One better vacuum product Although only used less than one month, this vacuum is much better compared to any other vacuums I have owned. Originally I was interested in the Hoover Windtunnel bagless with all the attachments. Fortunately I had the opportunity to borrow a friend’s and hated dragging the monster as I am only 5’1, weigh 110 lbs, and have a weak lower back. After serious research, this UH 30010COM model was the final choice, although it isn’t bagless. The specifications checked off mostly positive on what I was looking for in a vacuum. Positives: 1) Sucking power. 2) Weighs reasonably lighter. 3) Love the canister for lighter vacuuming and corners. 4) Having a headlight helps. 5) Price more reasonable compared to an Oreck or Dyson. 6) The noise does not bother me. Negatives: 1) Bags are pricey. 2) The strap for the canister is too thin/cheaply made. 3) The nozzle for the wand/crevice tool is too short, therefore making it hard to reach slim spaces, taller units – lights, wall corners, etc. 4) The power button on the D handle is too sensitive. My fingers have often accidently brushed over it and the power goes off. 5) The stretchy hose is too short. Suggestions: 1) Could make a canister that can be strapped on like a backpack for shoulder weight balance. 2) Or option to have castor wheels on the canister. 3) Making the power button on the upright similar to the power button on the canister. 4) A thicker or cushiony strap for the canister. I rate it at 4 stars. I do feel like a “Ghostbuster” with the canister!! My mom had a Hoover from the 60’s, and I think the name holds its reputation. 11/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I actually like my vacuum cleaner This is, so far, the best vacuum cleaner I've ever used. It is very lightweight, maneuvers easily, is relatively quiet, and actually CLEANS MY FLOORS. I have two cats, one of which is a long-haired shedding machine. I vacuum every day. This cleaner really does the trick, and effortlessly compared to other machines. It works great on my hardwood and tile, as well, without kicking up clouds of fur. Transitions from hard to textile surfaces smoothly, but watch it on rugs; the suction is so powerful it can grab up lighter rugs. The companion hand-held is pretty slick, too. Easy. I use it more than I thought I would. I'll be interested to see how long this sweeper holds up, since it is the 3rd one I've purchased in almost as many years. It seems to have fewer cheesy plastic parts than most sweepers, but my dear husband still has strict orders to keep his appliance-destroying mitts off. If you want to get your floors clean with a lot less effort, get this sweeper. 10/31/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth it I wanted an upright bagged vacuum to replace my heavy bagless chronically-clogging vacuum. I knew I wanted something that works great on pet hair, is lightweight, and does not clog despite having HEPA filtration. I also needed it to be affordable. Voila! Here it is. We've had this vacuum for several months and it's working out great. I can carry it up and down the stairs easily, it doesn't clog up, and it whisks away pet hair. We have berber carpet, hardwood, ceramic tile and area rugs, and this vacuum works just fine on all of those surfaces. Definitely worth buying. 09/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Cleaner Easy to use, does excellant job. Hard to find bags for this machine though. 08/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the right sweeper! I have needed and wanted a good sweeper for a long time and I found it! We have multiple pets and very dense carpet that shows everything. My carpets were really starting to look bad, but after using my new Hoover, they look great again. I Like the seperate canister, it's very handy. The price is not bad at all for the quality. Bags are a little high, but are very good quality and last awhile. (Try shopping ebay for the bags.) I am very pleased:-) 08/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by platinum purchase Wonderful vacuum. Picks up pet hair better than my expensive Sears Progressive. Light weight and I don't need to push it around a room. Have had 2 Orecks in the past; never again. This is a perfect vacuum. I ordered through WalMart, but my local superstore does not carry the bags. 08/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoover Platinum v Oreck Well if it is not obvious, it should be...this is a direct answer from Hoover to Oreck. First off, if one were to buy an Oreck of equal power and like features the price would be very close to $700. The Hoover was just a little over $280 with tax and shipping, and that included the handheld canister vacuum. Secondly it does a wonderful job on carpet, so good that it can leave "vacuum lines" in my old flattened down berber. On bare wood floors it does reasonably well using the "low" setting, but I find my old electric broom to be better suited at picking up the kids' poptart crumbs. Overall however, I really like the vacuum and its performance. I especially like the self sealing bags - I only wish Wal-Mart sold them. 07/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by great vacuum I was looking for a lightweight vacuum with lots of power and I found it. Love it. I actually find that I am a more proficient cleaner having the tools seperate from the vacuum itself. Lightweight, easy to use, long cord all make cleaning a breeze. 07/04/2010
31-60 of 251 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew296
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp