Charleston Storage Loft Bed with Desk, Natural

Loading options...
Sold by Walmart.com

Shipping available

View for options

 

Shipping

This item is not available for shipping.

FREE Pickup

See availability
 

Pickup

This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
Charleston Storage Loft Bed with Desk, Natural

About this item

Ideal for smaller rooms, this loft bed provides a versatile place for work, play and sleep. Ready to assemble and includes all tools necessary for assembly. Item arrives in 3 seperate boxes.

About this item

Ideal for smaller rooms, this loft bed provides a versatile place for work, play and sleep. Ready to assemble and includes all tools necessary for assembly. Item arrives in 3 seperate boxes.

  • Spacious cabinets with three-position, adjustable shelf
  • Concealed desk rolls out to provide ample work space
  • 3 spacious drawers and open shelves for extra storage
  • Sturdy, two-step steel ladder
  • Enclosed sleep area includes heavy-duty steel safety rails
  • Integrated steel mattress support system
  • Fits standard twin-size mattress, not included
  • 78.8 Inches wide x 50.2 Inches deep x 50 Inches tall
  • Desk: Pulls all the way out and is free standing
  • MDF wood laminate construction
  • The mattress support, guard rail and ladder are made of Steel with a powder coat finish

Specifications

Shipping Weight (in pounds): 136.0
Show

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
64
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-5 of 185 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A great purchase
9/2/2008

Customer review by pk93

5.0 stars 9/2/2008 by pk93
by pk93

Purchasing: My husband and I looked around for loft beds for my 4 year old before we chose this bed. Based on other reviews and the fact that this bed cost less then most of the loft beds we looked at we decided to order it. I ordered the bed on a Saturday and had it shipped to the store so I saved $100 on the shipping costs. The bed was at the store by the following Thursday. It comes in 3 very heavy boxes and all the boards were wrapped in foam or a foam covering inside the boxes. Putting together: We took all the pieces out and grouped them by size, number on the sticker and material. The organization is key because it makes finding the parts easier and faster then digging around in the boxes. A few of the pieces didn't have numbers so we had to rely on the drawings and deduction when we needed a part that had no number sticker. A few of the directions were not very clear and we put the boards on backwards. In all it took my husband about 5 hours start to finish. Quality: The bed is great. The wood is strong. The metal rails are sturdy and welded well. There is a great amount of storage space in the drawers, on the shelves and in the storage closet. The desk is a good size. I was worried it would be small. It's perfect for a laptop because it doesn't have a keyboard shelf, but you could put a PC computer and keyboard on the desk and have some room for books. With the desk pushed in there is even space under the bed behind the drawers that you could store some things back there like containers of clothes or large toys if you needed the extra hiding space for no one to see. With the desk out you have a really cool space for a fort. All in all I can't say enough about this bed. My son loves it and actually enjoys cleaning up his room so that's a plus for me. I think he will be able to use the bed for a long time and the quality should hold up to a growing boy and his friends. *** Note: You don't need a box spring with the bed. There are metal supporting rails that hold the mattress. You can only use a mattress that is about 6 inches tall or you will find that the bed rails are too short and someone can roll out of bed. Take it from me. We bought a pillow top mattress before the bed was put together and the mattress is only 2 inches shorter then then bed rail. Thankfully, my brother in law is a welder and is going to try to adjust the bedrail for us.

Was this review helpful? (244) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pk93
Mertztown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The BEST bed I have ever had
2/12/2009

Customer review by Chaseingyoo

5.0 stars 2/12/2009 by Chaseingyoo
by Chaseingyoo

Hi i'm Chase and I'm 13 years old and I bought this bed, and Its so convenient. At first I was a little scared The bed would look like a baby crib.... But no it doesn't at all! I just left the bar off of the side so it would look cooler. It has plenty of storage. My closet is less cluttered because I keep my clothes in the drawers now. The bed in general was bigger than I had thought it would be. The picture in the description distorts it a little bit, but not by that much. It was pretty tricky putting the bed together. I was able to build it by myself, but my dad had to help when it came to putting the bars that support the bed on. I already have a desk but the one that slides out looks pretty cool, and I can put my laptop on it. When I had the bed shipped in, it took about three days to get the first box in. Box #1 is the heaviest box. It has almost all the wood in it. Then then there is the other two that are about the same size. They came the next day. Box #3 has the instructions in it. Putting it together was mostly hard because the instructions weren't too descriptive. Five words tops for each picture, and its hard to tell what screws to use at what time. Also power tools aren't needed. I really like this bed, It looks cool, is the perfect size, and is easy to make in the mornings.

Was this review helpful? (129) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chaseingyoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everything you need to know...
4/8/2010

Customer review by 1AnonymousReviewer

4.0 stars 4/8/2010 by 1AnonymousReviewer
by 1AnonymousReviewer

Pros: - Space-saving, cool bed kids will love - "Hiding space" behind drawers for kids to play - Good, deep storage space behind the door - Large amount of shelf space - Large drawers - Convenient desk storage when not in use - Strong steel construction for mattress support - Bed is structurally strong Cons: - Takes hours to setup. Instructions are not 100% accurate. Took 6 hours for the first, but the second took a little less than 4. (Yes, I bought two.) - Changing sheets is a pain as outside bars are not removable. I have to reach to the inside and pull the mattress so it stands up and then change the sheets. Or, I just remove the whole mattress. I guess you can also climb in and change them while you're on top. Not too difficult, but takes more effort regardless of how you choose to do it. - Heavy and hard to move. That can be a good thing, but if you feel like changing the location of the bed within your room, you should have some muscle handy. Other Info: - Bed is not designed for desk/storage to be interchangeable. Pieces come with pre-drilled holes, so if you wanted to change them around, you'd have to do some modifications. - From the pictures, it looks like the bed sits on the drawers, but it doesn't. Steel frame sits about one inch above the top of the drawers. Bed is really supported by only four large bolts, one in each end of the rails. The rails are connected by 40+ cross bars separated by roughly 3 inches, so there's good support for the mattress. - Drawers, shelf, and storage closet are all connected to one end of the bed. When moving the bed, you have to be careful when lifting the side that is not connected (desk side). - Shipping boxes are long and heavy. I think about 8ft+ from what I remember. Three boxes per bed; two are long, one is short. Final Comments: Even though there's some inconvenience with changing the sheets, it's all worth it because the kids love their bed. The bed is perfect for small rooms, and I have no regrets whatsoever. The assembly can be a nightmare, so I would suggest you give yourself plenty of time, even it means doing it over several days. I spaced out the job and did about three hours a day after work. Other bedroom sets I looked at costed a lot more for the bed, desk, and dresser. Obviously, the three drawers won't be enough room, but if you have a closet, you can invest in the plastic storage drawers. They may not look the best, but at least they'll be out of sight. All in all, I am extremely satisfied with this bed based on its functional bed/desk combo design and its price.

Was this review helpful? (109) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1AnonymousReviewer
Moorpark, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Set up advice = moving pads for carpet:
8/30/2010

Customer review by MTDreams

3.0 stars 8/30/2010 by MTDreams
by MTDreams

We really like this bed. It looks better in the room then we thought. My 5-year old is ecstatic about it. He calls it his space ship. Also, there is a cool "hidden fort" inside when you roll out the desk. This is his secret spot now. Things to know about set up: 1) It comes in 3 boxes. The bed is organic, meaning you can't set up the bed then do the storage later. It all must be done at once. All three boxes must be unpacked. 2) As you will see in the reviews - it takes time! Set aside an afternoon or evening. Two people would be better then one. I had a long day alone. 3) The storage/dresser/shelves are "attached" to the frame, but they are not supported by the frame. This makes moving the bed on Carpet very difficult. Think of the lower wood as a big soft underbelly dragging (and catching) on the carpet while you lift the frame. It threatens to break off. I had to use sliding moving pads (Lowes or home depot) in order to get it into the corner. 4) Some of the final steps demand access to the back of the frame, therefore you can't assemble completely on-site. Just put it as close to the wall as you can while still being able to operate behind it. Then use the sliding pads. 5) I had issues with two of the slot/turn fasteners. I used screw in braces to ensure safety. some L shaped and some straight braces are prolly recommended to have handy. I hope this is helpful to you.

Was this review helpful? (159) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTDreams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good For Teenagers Too!!!
7/29/2010

Customer review by CrazyFishLove

4.0 stars 7/29/2010 by CrazyFishLove
by CrazyFishLove

I am 15 and bought got this while we were doing my room makeover. I didn't put the bed rail up to give it a more sophisticated feel. It is a great product for the amazing price! Beware, on carpet, the bed settles, making the desk difficult to roll out.

Was this review helpful? (54) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyFishLove
Buffalo,Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-5 of 185 total reviews See all
1-5 of 185 reviews

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 101 questions
1-3 of 101 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

1-3 of 101 questions See all
1-3 of 101 questions

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Product Recommendations

Your recently viewed items

Clear this list