Similar items in stock

Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Q&A
Walmart #: 000720017
Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch
$99.96

Out of stock

Loading options...
Sold by Walmart.com

Shipping not available

 

Shipping

This item is not available for shipping.

FREE pickup available

 

Pickup

Location
Buy online for pickup
  • Carry arm spacing accommodates a wide range of frame sizes and designs
  • Patented tie-down cradle system individually secures and protects bicycles
  • Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

    Customer also viewed these products

    About this item

    The carry arm spacing of this Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch accommodates a wide range of frame sizes and designs. This Allen Sports Bike Carrier features a patented tie-down cradle system that individually secures and protects bicycles. The 4 Bike Carrier carry arms fold out of the way when not in use and the rRack tilts back for easy lift-gate access. Plus, the Allen Sports Bike Carrier has a no-wobble bolt that eliminates movement of rack inside of hitch. All retainer clips are attached with lanyards to prevent lost parts. With a black powder-coated finish, this Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch requires minimal assembly.

    About this item

    The carry arm spacing of this Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch accommodates a wide range of frame sizes and designs. This Allen Sports Bike Carrier features a patented tie-down cradle system that individually secures and protects bicycles. The 4 Bike Carrier carry arms fold out of the way when not in use and the rRack tilts back for easy lift-gate access. Plus, the Allen Sports Bike Carrier has a no-wobble bolt that eliminates movement of rack inside of hitch. All retainer clips are attached with lanyards to prevent lost parts. With a black powder-coated finish, this Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch requires minimal assembly.


    Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch:

    • Carry arm spacing accommodates a wide range of frame sizes and designs
    • Patented tie-down cradle system individually secures and protects bicycles
    • Carry arms fold out of the way when not in use
    • Rack tilts back for easy lift-gate access
    • No-wobble bolt eliminates movement of rack inside of hitch
    • All retainer clips attached with lanyards to prevent lost parts
    • Minor assembly required
    • Black powder-coated finish


    See our entire assortment of bikes and ride on toys at Walmart.com.

    Specifications

    Age Start: 15 Years
    Age End: and up
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Model No.: 542RR
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 30.1
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 14.0 x 16.0 x 36.0
    Walmart No.: 720017
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    315 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    315 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    95%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    196
    4 stars
    98
    3 stars
    7
    2 stars
    5
    1 stars
    9
    1-5 of 280 total reviews
    95%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    BUY IT!
    6/8/2009

    Customer review by turnedleft

    5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by turnedleft
    by turnedleft

    I was worried this product, because of the price, would be junk. I researched bike racks with the same features for triple the price, but took the chance on this model. I was pleasantly surprised to see how sturdy it is. I made sure to use it before writing the review. I put it on my hitch myself (no man required!) I am very happy with it and even happier to have the extra $ in my pocket that I saved by taking a chance on the less expansive bike rack!!

    Was this review helpful? (135) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    turnedleft
    MA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Excellent rack for the price
    5/18/2009

    Customer review by Bikerguy

    5.0 stars 5/18/2009 by Bikerguy
    by Bikerguy

    I initially bought a flimsy rack that is a clone to the Bell rack they sell at Walmart or Target. It developed a hairline crack at the knee joint between the post and the bike carrier arm the first time I used it. Luckily I was not on the freeway where I could have caused a terrible accident. As a structural engineer, I made some calculations and determined that 1.25" x 1/16" tubing is stressed too highly. I would suggest not buying a 4-bike rack for 1.5" receiver. The stresses are simply too high, and the consequence of failure could be a serious accident in addition to losing bikes. The Allen rack is approximately twice as strong (section modulus) as the Bell rack, being made of 2"x 1/16" square tubing, assuming the steel grade is the same. It easily supports me (150 lbs) with very little deflection. After buying the rack, I saw on the internet that one reviewer said his Allen rack failed when one of the 3/8" bolts shear off. It was not this rack, but a previous design. This concerned me, so I made a structural calculation on the rack and the 3/8" pins. The most highly stressed pin, the pin holding the knee joint between the post and bike carrier is well under the allowable stresses. The weakest component is the tearout stresses through the hole that that pin goes through. Although it would seem it would be prudent to make that stronger, that part is still 66% of the allowable stress. Not sure why they cheaped out on a little bit more steel. I would suggest checking the pins regularly for nicks and cracks, since the stress concentrations would severely weaken the pin. Maybe buy some extra pins from Allen so that you wouldn't be tempted to use a damaged pin. Also, install the rack so that the bolts are tight and the threads are outside the faying surfaces. Bolts are weakest at the threads due to high stress concentrations. Functionally, this rack is good. I agree with the other reviews. Some racks are a lot more expensive and is better quality and has more features. But the most import criteria in my book is that it is structurally sound. This Allen rack fits that bill for structural strength and a good balance between function and value.

    Was this review helpful? (279) (28)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Bikerguy
    Oakland, CA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per month
    Great Product, but be careful
    11/7/2009

    Customer review by markm5242

    4.0 stars 11/7/2009 by markm5242
    by markm5242

    I purchased this rack in July to carry 4 bikes while on vacation. We drove approximately 2000 miles and we never had a problem until the last 100 miles. We stopped to take a break and I noticed that the safety latch that keeps the pin keeping the rack from folding down had broken. The pin had slipped halfway out and we almost had a disaster. I decided to purchase a Thule to replace the Allen rack and guess what; Thule has the same latch system. The Thule has a solid vertical support bar that makes it a little more stable, but other than that, it's basically the same rack. I would still recommend this rack to anyone that asks.

    Was this review helpful? (101) (11)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    markm5242
    winston-salem, nc
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per year
    Great for the money
    9/29/2009

    Customer review by urloved

    5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by urloved
    by urloved

    Was a little reluctant because of the price. I read other reviews and seemed to read mostly positive. I must say, I am pretty impressed. Great product and pretty cheap. I just used it for 4 bikes on a weekend get-away and 2 adults (1 male, 1 female) and 1- 20" and 1- 24" bikes fit perfectly. By the way.... It's made in the USA!!! Love to support my great country.

    Was this review helpful? (78) (17)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    urloved
    Reno NV
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Once per month
    8/9/2010

    Customer review by Chihuahuis

    3.0 stars 8/9/2010 by Chihuahuis
    by Chihuahuis

    I liked the product but there was one small issue, my SUV´s 2" hitch is a bit deep and the bike rack's reach is quite limmited (I guess they wanted to save a couple of inches of square tubing). The result was that I had to buy a $40 dollar 2" extension. Make sure that your hitch is fluch with your bumper, otherwise you are in for a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Chihuahuis
    Texas
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    1-5 of 280 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 280 reviews

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 45 questions
    1-3 of 45 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    I plan to install a hitch at Uhaul. After watching this bike rack installing video, it seems that I just need to install a hitch receiver without ball mount and hitch ball. Is it true?
    by Bin 8/13/2013
    6 answers
    • A. The bike rack mounts directly into a 2" square receiver on your vehicle. Nothing else is required.
      by MinHeadroom4/2/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You just need a square hitch receiver.
      by frenchieNat11/8/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. True, all you need is a 2" hitch receiver.
      by RSchlieper9/13/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. just a RECEIVER
      by Houndy8/27/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You do not need a ball mount. Just the 2" hitch receiver. I had U-Haul install 2" hitch on my truck.
      by NosideB8/15/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Just a standard receiver. I have had the Allen bicycle carrier for over three years and use it a lot. It is high quality and perfect for 1 to 4 bikes. Price is an absolute deal. Why pay $200 to $500 for an over-priced Brand Name? Wal-Mart rocks!!!!!!
      by bicyclemania7/10/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 45 questions See all
    1-3 of 45 questions
    Customers also bought these products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.