Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch

Q&A
Walmart #: 000720017
Allen Sports Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch
$99.96

Out of stock

Sold by Walmart.com
 
This item is not available for shipping.
 
This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
  • Carry arm spacing accommodates a wide range of frame sizes and designs
  • Patented tie-down cradle system individually secures and protects bicycles
  • Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

    About this item

    The carry arm spacing of this Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch accommodates a wide range of frame sizes and designs. This Allen Sports Bike Carrier features a patented tie-down cradle system that individually secures and protects bicycles. The 4 Bike Carrier carry arms fold out of the way when not in use and the rRack tilts back for easy lift-gate access. Plus, the Allen Sports Bike Carrier has a no-wobble bolt that eliminates movement of rack inside of hitch. All retainer clips are attached with lanyards to prevent lost parts. With a black powder-coated finish, this Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch requires minimal assembly.


    Deluxe Bike Carrier for 2" Hitch:

    • Carry arm spacing accommodates a wide range of frame sizes and designs
    • Patented tie-down cradle system individually secures and protects bicycles
    • Carry arms fold out of the way when not in use
    • Rack tilts back for easy lift-gate access
    • No-wobble bolt eliminates movement of rack inside of hitch
    • All retainer clips attached with lanyards to prevent lost parts
    • Minor assembly required
    • Black powder-coated finish


    See our entire assortment of bikes and ride on toys at Walmart.com.

    Specifications

    Age Start: 15 Years
    Age End: and up
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Model No.: 542RR
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 30.1
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 14.0 x 16.0 x 36.0
    Assembled in Country of Origin: IMPORTED
    Origin of Components: IMPORTED
    Walmart No.: 720017
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 311 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    311 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    5 stars
    193
    4 stars
    97
    3 stars
    7
    2 stars
    5
    1 stars
    9
    95%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    BUY IT!
    6/8/2009

    Customer review by turnedleft

    5.0 stars by turnedleft

    I was worried this product, because of the price, would be junk. I researched bike racks with the same features for triple the price, but took the chance on this model. I was pleasantly surprised to see how sturdy it is. I made sure to use it before writing the review. I put it on my hitch myself (no man required!) I am very happy with it and even happier to have the extra $ in my pocket that I saved by taking a chance on the less expansive bike rack!!

    Was this review helpful? (135) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    turnedleft
    MA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Excellent rack for the price
    5/18/2009

    Customer review by Bikerguy

    5.0 stars by Bikerguy

    I initially bought a flimsy rack that is a clone to the Bell rack they sell at Walmart or Target. It developed a hairline crack at the knee joint between the post and the bike carrier arm the first time I used it. Luckily I was not on the freeway where I could have caused a terrible accident. As a structural engineer, I made some calculations and determined that 1.25" x 1/16" tubing is stressed too highly. I would suggest not buying a 4-bike rack for 1.5" receiver. The stresses are simply too high, and the consequence of failure could be a serious accident in addition to losing bikes. The Allen rack is approximately twice as strong (section modulus) as the Bell rack, being made of 2"x 1/16" square tubing, assuming the steel grade is the same. It easily supports me (150 lbs) with very little deflection. After buying the rack, I saw on the internet that one reviewer said his Allen rack failed when one of the 3/8" bolts shear off. It was not this rack, but a previous design. This concerned me, so I made a structural calculation on the rack and the 3/8" pins. The most highly stressed pin, the pin holding the knee joint between the post and bike carrier is well under the allowable stresses. The weakest component is the tearout stresses through the hole that that pin goes through. Although it would seem it would be prudent to make that stronger, that part is still 66% of the allowable stress. Not sure why they cheaped out on a little bit more steel. I would suggest checking the pins regularly for nicks and cracks, since the stress concentrations would severely weaken the pin. Maybe buy some extra pins from Allen so that you wouldn't be tempted to use a damaged pin. Also, install the rack so that the bolts are tight and the threads are outside the faying surfaces. Bolts are weakest at the threads due to high stress concentrations. Functionally, this rack is good. I agree with the other reviews. Some racks are a lot more expensive and is better quality and has more features. But the most import criteria in my book is that it is structurally sound. This Allen rack fits that bill for structural strength and a good balance between function and value.

    Was this review helpful? (277) (27)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Bikerguy
    Oakland, CA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per month
    Great Product, but be careful
    11/7/2009

    Customer review by markm5242

    4.0 stars by markm5242

    I purchased this rack in July to carry 4 bikes while on vacation. We drove approximately 2000 miles and we never had a problem until the last 100 miles. We stopped to take a break and I noticed that the safety latch that keeps the pin keeping the rack from folding down had broken. The pin had slipped halfway out and we almost had a disaster. I decided to purchase a Thule to replace the Allen rack and guess what; Thule has the same latch system. The Thule has a solid vertical support bar that makes it a little more stable, but other than that, it's basically the same rack. I would still recommend this rack to anyone that asks.

    Was this review helpful? (101) (11)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    markm5242
    winston-salem, nc
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per year
    1-3 of 276 total reviews See all

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers
    45 questions
    1-3 of 45 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    Will I be able to open my tailgate with it on?
    by Tarksgirl 7/27/2010
    6 answers
    • A. No, the rear hatch door cannot be opened when this Bicycle carrier is attached to Van.....It is not a fold-down type.
      by bicyclemania8/14/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I have a Saturn relay and there's plenty of room to open the gate.
      by motleynutt725/15/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I use mine on a Yukon with a lift gate. The gate opens and closes without any problem.
      by FromTroy2/17/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I think you will because it folds down to about a 45 degree angle. If it does not work then just take it back to Wally World.
      by SNOWHOMIE1/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I'm able to open the doors at the back of my full size van with the rack loaded (they swing out like the doors on an armoire not a drop down tailgate). Actually, I can partially open the doors without even removing the pin to drop the bike rack down and remove or load items. Very happy with this Allen rack.
      by An anonymous customer8/31/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no
      by Chihuahuis4/16/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by kasey43 6/4/2011
    6 answers
    • A. I carry an adult bike and 2 20" bikes. I'm sure it would work with 16" as well.
      by shoefly67/7/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. you must measure from your handle bar to the seat bracket. or you could made a metal piece to support the handle bar and the seat. it will work due to the measurements from the spacers.
      by jlovjor13/12/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. My son has a 20" and it fits perfect
      by ActiveFamily12/12/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes. I put my 4year olds bike (not sure of size) on it. Snug fit, but we've done it for 3 trips now.
      by Toroehm12/23/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes I had 2 different sized kids bike on them, we hooked the straps around the seat tube adn worked just fine.
      by bun9326/24/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Hi Kasey- I bought this rack today and tested it out. I was able to load my sons bike on it, I don't know the size, but he's about to turn 6, and with some work, I got it tied down well. I haven't driven anywhere with it yet, but I don't see it being a problem. Hope this helps!
      by SoCalMomof27/17/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 45 questions See all

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Product Recommendations

    Your recently viewed items

    Clear this list