Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 4745 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to us yet loaded with capabilities I appreciate my Nikon D90 very much. It was 70th birthday present for a very much amateur so there is more that I do not know than that I do know about this fantastic camera. I made a lot of pictures at my granddaughter's wedding and made her a picture album we are both quite proud of and thankful for. The pictures were bright, clear and crisp. Those taken in candle light had a slight distortion to the background and it made them quite dreamy. Just like the real reception was. Oh yes, this camera is impressive, fun, easy and yet loaded with capabilities to keep your imagination and brain working! 06/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Camera! I have used my D90 for a few years and am totally satisfied with it. I shoot exclusively with the NIkon 18-200 3.5-5.6 VR zoom lens. Wonderful high-resolution images that allow substantial cropping. I take advantage of the many focus points when using the VR feature of the lens. I often shoot with the SB800 flash with great results. I sometimes use the camera's Command Mode, which provides great flash control and flexibility. Amazing flexibility with menu choices. I fine the feature that allows me to create a folder for each shootimg event very valuable. 06/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Camera for the price Bought my D90 as a backup to my D200. This camera is very versatile and the picture quality is superb. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic camera great buy for the money. i liked the fact that i am able to use my current selection of sigma and nikon lenses that i've purchased for my n80. the fact i'm stilling making the switch to digital, makes this camera even better. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wished it were a full 35mm though. I do love my D90. It is by far the best camera I have ever owned. I do wish that I could afford one of the newer cameras. The D800 or such. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The finest Camera I have had Have been using Nikon's for many years and this was the best non-professional camera I have had after my Standard SLRs. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value Overall the D90 is a wonderful camera for the money. My concerns with the camera include the sluggish and not always accurate auto-focus. When the AF is accurate it is incredible. I also wish the body was better sealed against the elements. I also wish the D90 had a true mirror lock-up. Generally, colors are great (reds are a little strong, though), especially skin tones. The flash system is wonderful. There have been many times I wish I would have purchased the D7000, but the saving have been worth it. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my D90! I've had my D90 for quite awhile now and am still discovering new things about it. I find that while it's not top of the line, it's extremely versatile and enjoyable to use. I'm an amateur striving toward professionalism in my imagery and this camera is an excellent tool. I find it easy to use and logical in how it's set up. I was looking at the Canon line and Nikon line and am extremely pleased with my decision to buy Nikon. I would recommend this camera to anyone looking to buy a DSLR in this price range. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent camera I've had my D90 for 3 years now and I love it. The controls are well placed and intuitive to use. And it's relatively light weight. This should not be underestimated. I carried this around the Balkans for two weeks and took thousands of shots and compared to a full frame camera it was a breeze to carry and use all day. I replaced the kit lens with a Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4 lens and never looked back. But now it's lost the thumb grip on the back of the camera and I'm looking for a Nikon upgrade that uses the same DX format sensor. I'd like 1080 movie mode and internal GPS and I'm prepared to wait until Nikon releases something with those features. The D-90 is getting long in the tooth right now but it's still a solid camera and has few competitors in its price range. 05/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera! Just completed a river cruise in Europe and took over 1800 shots and captured great shots with my D90. 05/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Camera. The Nikon D90 camera can be used by every body, from the novice to the professional. This is a camera that you can grow with. If you are a novice, just put the camera in the auto mode and the camera will do the rest. If you are shooting extreme closeups put the D90 in the macro mode. One of the features that endare's me to this camera is the ability to use old manual focus Ai and AI-s lenses. I can keep my old manual focus lenses while upgrading to the latest vr lenses. It is compatable with old flashes as well as flashes that has not yet been released. I use a SB-800 and SB910 Flash with my D90. The SB-910 flash was released after the D90. The D90 is great in low light situations. Can be used in churches when flashes are not allowed. The iso ranges between 100 and 3200 6400 expanded. I prefer this camera to the more expensive D300,( just a personal choise, ) I think that it takes better pictures. I love the in camera tools. You can take black and white photos, you can use sepha to age your pictures, they are many other filter effects that can be used. There is a in camera red eye reduction feature. This is the first D-slr with a full 1080 HD movie mode. This camera is built to last, have used this camera extensively, and it shows no sign of use. Great camera. 05/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by "The real Prince" Fantastic model I've ever used. It is an user friendly model to me. 05/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid, always ready, a great camera My first SLR , now is the camera that I use in the field and never failed me 05/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by My D90 experience I am very happy with my D90. I had used the D80, at work, for several years and wanted to upgrade. For about a year, I researched Internet camera reviews and concluded that I would like the D90 and some of the reasonably priced Nikkor lenses. When I started searching for a DSLR I did not have a current personal system to build upon. Therefore, I was open to look at all brands. I have been somewhat surprised that the cost of the D90 has not dropped dramatically. This bodes well and may help if I decide to sell it and purchase either a Nikon upgrade or perhaps switch to a smaller system such as the Sony Nex-7 camera. That system interests me for the same reason I stopped using my old SLR cameras and started using smaller, easy to travel with, point and shoot film cameras. I have been told by a former Nikon DSLR user, who switched to Canon, that Canon lenses were less expensive. I wasn't impressed but, I have no doubt the images from that equipment would also give satisfactory results. I don't know why there is so much emphasis on the high pixel rate offered by manufactures. I have never had a need to enlarge anything bigger than 8 x10" and even my old Nikon Coolpix 990, with a 3.4 MP sensor met that task. The reason I wanted a DSLR was because I was tired of looking at a small LCD, wanted better shot to shot times and better battery life. The D90 provided all that and more. Also, the video isn't the easiest to use especially because it does automatically focus. But, I knew that and was not interested in that D90 feature anyway. 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you make a error in taking a photo the camera will adjust to take a perfect photo It is a very easy camera to use if you want it to be or a very perfect to take even a beginner can do a very good job ,I am not a pro but I love to take pictures with it no matter of sports or stills 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by D90 I have had mine for a two years and I am still learning what all this camera can do. It is an amazng camera. 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tough Workhorse The D90 is a tough, reliable workhorse of a camera. It performs spectacularly under all kind of conditions. Photo's are sharp, color is accurate with minimal graininess at higher ISO's. It's a camera I would buy again and again. It's only fault would be that it's not dust or moisture sealed, but for the price of a D90, that's understandable. 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by D90 Can't be beat I have used Nikons for more than 25 years and Nikon has taken affordable quality to new heights. For the price range the D90 can't be beat. 05/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bob in the Valley The D90, along with my 18-200 Telephoto Lens, has been a joy to use for both travel and taking pictures of my young grandson. The VR11 allows me to take pictures without a flash at a very slow speed. It has been very versatile. My only reservations has been it speed when using the built in flash. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite camera to carry and use. The D90 has been out for a while but it's still my favorite. I'm a professional photographer who uses a company-owned D300 every day in a wide variety of situations, but I sometimes prefer to bring my own D90 to assignments because of a couple of things. The camera body is lightweight and compact and the layout of its controls makes it easier to use, while the photos it makes are of excellent pro quality. It also gives me full control when using Nikon's CLS remote flash. The features and menu controls are akin to those found in the D300 but lack some of the fine tuning. For example, the D-lighting is either on or off with no settable values. The burst frame rate is too slow for sports shooting but I use the D300 for that anyway. One of the things I like most is the rotating mode dial which allows me to quickly switch between auto and fully manual exposure modes, something I do often. Exposure compensation settings for both available light and flash output are familiar and effortless as well. This camera seems to be designed as I would like a camera to be designed. The controls are intuitively easy to find and use, the menus are not laden with overly complex drill-down settings, and most of the advanced capabilities are still there when you need them. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Supercharged D80 Not too heavy, easy to use, has many of the options of the big boys, built like most Nikons (rugged), if you liked the D80 you'll love the D90!! 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by D90 great camera Being a professional videographer I am always interested in the quality of the image. I bought the D90 when I had time to get back into photography . (as my kids got older) My last 35mm was a film camera. The image quality of this camera is superb and more true to color than the other brands. This was the perfect time for me to get into digital photography. Now with a digital SLR, the use of the camera is similar to a professional video camera. They both use a CMOS chip, that can be adjusted to the specific look I desire. White balance, color enhancement etc. are all the same as the video camera. I like the ability to assign function buttons so I can change parameters without entering the menu. This allows me to make quick adjustments without taking my eye off the viewfinder. The Creative Lighting System is easy and fun to use and helps with my flash photography. The camera is relatively light weight and fits well in my hand. I am thoroughly enjoying this camera. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT CAMERA BUT SUPPORT? I enjoy the camera and am very pleased with it overall. I think the battery life is exceptional. One complaint. There were NO problems converting RAW to JPEG with Windows XP. However, when I switched to WIN 7 x64 conversion became almost impossible. The process took a very long time and generated TMP files. 10 to 20 of these per conversion. Very unacceptable. I contacted support but did not receive an answer. I Googled and did not find an answer. However, the answer is WIN 7 may create a user with a lock on the folder where VIEW NX2 wants to store the converted files. You may not convert files out of that user setting. TMP files will result. Pay attention to your user account settings. I thought NIKON support could have directed me to this possibility, even though it seems to be a WIN 7 setting. Thank you, JK 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior camera for the amateur photographer I have been using my D90 now for two years. Migrating from a D70s and an F100 film camera, I found the D90 to be just the instrument to satisfy my needs until such time as I may elect to move to FX. The D90 accepts all of the FX lenses I have acquired as well as DX ones, a feature critical to my selection. The 3" LCD screen is high resolution enabling me to view in better detail exposures in a way not possible with the D70s. I still shoot with the D70s as my back-up camera. I do long for a viewfinder on a DX camera approaching that of the F100. I suspect I shall have to wait until I move into FX. I know the D7000 is also a fine up-grade, but for now I am totally satisfied and happy with my D90. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Affordable Perfection I had been away from photography for many, many years. So long, in fact, the entire digital photography era had developed. I knew I wanted a viable body that would allow me to photograph quality images, while allowing me to budget for the expense. After much evaluation, I settled for the D90. I have not been disappointed. In fact, I continue to be amazed at what the D90 is capable of doing. It has performed flawlessly and I find more than enough information about the body when I want to learn more. Great camera!! Would do it all over again. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My D-90 Thoughts I went from a D-70 to a D-90 and am very pleased with the results. I have no interest in movies, and have never used this feature. Feature wise and image wise, this is a fantastic camera. My only complaint is that for my hands this body seems a little small. I thought that the D-70 felt more comfortable but this is no reflection on the quality of the camera. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXTRAORDINARY CAMERA FOR AMATEURS AND PROFESSIONALS I HAVE ENJOYED THIS CAMERA BECAUSE OF THE EXCEPTIONAL POSSIBILITIES AND DIVERSITY. ADDED A NIKOR 18-200 OR A NIKOR 70-300, I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO TAKE THE SHOTS I WANT. IT IS NOT HEAVY AND EASY TO USE, EVEN WHEN YOU DON'T READ ALL OF THE 'ENCYCLOPEDIA" OF THE MANUAL. IT IS A STEP UP TO THE D-80 THAT I HAD, AND STILL OWN. i USED VIDEO WITH IT AND IT COMES OUT WITH A VERY HIGH DEFINITION. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality & Performance at a Reasonable Price The D90 lives up to the Nikon reputation of quality and performance all in a reasonably priced package. My D90 has been with me and performed well in tropical jungles, deserts, sub-zero temperatures and storms off-shore in the Gulf of Mexico. The only time it failed was when I dropped it 20 feet onto the deck of an oil platform. Even then the technicians at Nikon Customer Service were able to quickly return it to peak performance. The forensic photography I do requires a sharp image and exposure that reveals both shadow and highlight detail. The D90 provides both. I have blown up images taken with the D90 to poster size to reveal facts to a jury and projected images for a judge. In each case the Nikon images have provided the detail required in both the shadows and highlighted areas. I have used Nikon cameras and lenses since I first purchased a Nikon F in the early 70's. The D90 continues this fine tradition. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera, always reliable the Nikon D90 has been my introduction to the world of digital. After four full years of awesome pictures and more than 19k clicks, is perfect like new. Reliable, sturdy, ergonomic and makes really nice images. Highly recommended even now (May 2012) used, if you can find it in good conditions. 05/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I love my D90 when it works, but sometimes it is a lemon Most of the time, my D90 DSLR is a dream - the clarity of the shots, the ISO range, the ease of optimizing the settings. However, the autofocus connection between the lens and the body sometimes fails and when it does, it is extremely aggravating. When it first happened, 2 months after purchasing the camera, Nikon required I send it to them for repairs; they would not allow the dealer to exchange it for a new one. They were not able to reproduce the problem, so it was returned to me after having it for 45 days. The problem is intermittent. The most frustrating part of the problem is loses accuracy before it fails completely. Once it does fail, I have to remove and reinstall the lens, remove the battery and curse a few times before it begins to work again. It is not until I download the shots that I discover the focus has been off for 20-40 shots. I just returned from a great vacation in Hawaii and a number of my shots are fuzzy when displayed on my computer screen, even though they looked great on the camera's monitor. Needless to say, I am very disappointed. 05/24/2012
61-90 of 4,722 total reviews
Previous 2 3 4 5  ...  158 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw302
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp