Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 4711 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hasn't let me down! I love this camera, it was my first DSLR that I owned and the quality is fantastic. My only problem is I started to get into filming some videos and this camera unfortunately doesn't live up to some of the other Nikons in that category. However if your just looking to get into photography and your main focus is on photographs, then by all means buy this camera! 07/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use . . . Easy to travel with . . . I purchased the Nikon D90 for basically one reason . . . size and weight in a quality DSLR. And it is just that. I wanted something that was light weight to carry anywhere I went and that I could use quality optics with. I chose for my basic combination of camera body and lenses . . . an 18mm - 270mm zoom. An all in one. And the combination does the travel and general stuff well. Now that I have become again more serious about my photography and incorporating it into my job and hobbies, my only regret is the DX format. I started out looking for small and now am looking at larger and heavier. I do wish that there was a little more metal in the camera housing like the D7000. I would recommed the D90 to anyone starting out in digital photography. It has enough of the basics to give excellent results with the "scene" modes and yet, provides for the needs of more serious work. You can grow with it . . . and that's important. I have also used it for close-up work . . . a second passion. And I am more than pleased with the results. The worst thing that can happen to a camera is that it is never used. I am happy to say that of all of the camera bodies that I grab to take with me . . . this is the one I find myself grabbing first. 07/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Something new every time I use it! This camera is so easy to use, and has so many features-I find something new to love about it each time I use it-Istarted off letting it do all the thinking (Automatic mode) then started trying something new each time I got it out. I can take a picture of a tiny ant, or a mountain, or anything in between, but I am mostly proud of shots of grandchildren and great grand children. If the flash bothers them, turn it off and you can still get the picture, shoot as many as you want-no cost to get rid of those you don't like! Shoot some video-same camera. Crop or enhance the picture right in the camera, change one shot to B&W, no need for photo shop, remember "double exposures?" With RAW you can do your own in the camera! Afraid to ruin the original? Save it-then do what you want with it. Spend all day just exploring the features-then go play! Look it over again later, you'll find something great you missed before! 07/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by D90 I have owned my D90 for over 2 years now. Overall, it is a very good camera. It is easy to use for a novice; takes great pictures, and allows you to gradually use more of the advanced features as you learn about them. Most times I use the P mode but can easily set it to manual for those specialty pics. My main complaint about the camera is that the contact points between the lens and the body do not always align/hold their contact. This causes an error in the camera and you can't take any more pictures until it is fixed by removing the battery waiting 7 seconds and then putting the battery back in the camera. Just turning the camera on & off will not help. I found out that many people who bought this camera about the same time I did suffer the same problem. I doesn't happen that often so I have just learned to live with it. Except for that it is a very good camera. 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best cameras ever! Maybe most will disagree with my title. But I love it. I've had it for 2 years, and have had no issues or complaints. I'm sure the newer models have much needed improvements and features over the D90. But for someone with no money to keep buying the latest cameras, this serves me well for my photographic needs. 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nikon D90 Use my D90 to for landscape,sports,and use as a backup when doing weddings.Excellent picture quality and a great all around camera.We love our Nikon camera's. 06/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by More whistles and bigger bells D-90 purchased as an upgrade for D-40X. Camera offers full range of features (bracketing, DOF preview, on camera exposure adjustments for camera and flash, etc). Good product for mid experience level photographer to grow wiith. 06/21/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fantastic ---BUT This camera is an outstanding value when it is working. However I bought it with the 18-105 kit lens and am dismayed to think that I may not capture the next photo that I want. The camera locks up. The only way to fix this (in the field) is to either remove the lens and replace it or to remove and replace the battery. It is sad to think that Nikon has known of this problem and has not offered a fix for all of them. I was a Nikon user for many years. I purchased a Canon. It just didn't feel like a Nikon and I made the switch back. The Canon never failed to capture a shot. If I could depend on this camera I would give it a 5. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great nikon d90 you can take very very nice photos with nikon d90. great 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Image Quality! This is one of four Nikon DSLR bodies that I have purchased brand new. The image quality is great, and it has been flawless in terms of reliability. Often I use older AF-D lens on this body, and I am very favorably impressed with the final results that this camera gives me at all times. Without hesitation, I recommend this Nikon camera. 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera Takes great pictures, only issue, slow to focus in low light. 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by NIKON D90 IS A 5 star camera in my opinion! I bought the D90 3 yrs. ago and have never been more satisfied with the picture results! Having an AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm ED VR II lens on the the D90 makes shooting photographs a real cinch! I have only one question: Can the D90 record date and time of a photograph? 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My D90 The D90 is my first DSLR camera, so I will not compare it to any other camera. There are a lot of great digital SLRs on the market and I selected the D90 in part because I was looking for a camera with plenty of capability to grow into and because a friend recommended it to me. I could tell after my use that I was going to very happy with my selection. The D90 produces quality pictures and it was very easy to use right out box. It was definitely worth the money. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG!!!! Going from a simple point and shoot to a powerful camera that will darn near takes the pictures for you is amazing. To say I love my camera is putting it lightly. I love the crisp sharpness of the pictures and I might shoot 50 shots of one subject in less then 30 seconds; out of those I will have about 10 of them that are at a professional level. Trust me I am still learning tricks about my camera all the time and I have had my camera for close to three years. My husband isn't comfortable using my camera so I picked him up a nikon point and shoot that we can take with us on the many bike rallies we attend through out the year. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent camera at affordable price Nikon D90 can produce great pictures when accompanied by Nikon AF 180mm f2.8D, by setting the camera mode to A (Aperture Priority) and by bracketing (I used 3F, i.e. three frames per actuation of the shutter). Although not as fast as D300S, and picture quality (resolution) is lesser than that of D300S, D90 is good enough for day-to-day armature photographer at affordable cost. Please see some pictures I took with D90 and the above lens. 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT CAMERA!!! Before buying this camera and upgrading from my D40, I made sure I did my home work and read the reviews. I go out almost every week taking photographs 06/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big advancement From Older Dgital Cameras I acquired the D90 about a year ago by trading my D100 and $ for it. I find the D90 to be immeasurably better than the D100. Particularly in the rear screen, multi-focus spots and compatibility with the newer DF VR lenses. It's usage is more intuitive as well. 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by D90 for birding My D90 has worked flawlessly since I got it. It has more features than I have learned how to use. Of course, the camera is nothing without lenses. I use an old Nikon 180 mm f2.8 for low light conditions and a Nikon 70-300 mm VR for normal conditions shooting birds. Birds do not pose or hold still, so I still get significant numbers of shots that are not focused well. This is due to interference from twigs, etc., even with center point focus. 06/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by D90 Like it I bought a D90 about 3 years ago and I really like it. I like taking close up pictures of flowers and nature and also sunrise and sunset scenes. I'm still learning how to use the camera but I'm enjoying how to use the different lens, f stops, aperature etc. When I first bought the camera I had problems. It would take a picture and then wouldn't take anymore pictures. It just froze up. I couldn't even turn it off without taking the battery out. I solved the problem by cleaning the contact pins on the camera/lens and it never came back. I tried to get help but I was very disappointed in the service.....in fact there was none. Otherwise it's a good camera. 06/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Camera! I have really enjoyed my D-90. The flexibility it affords me in different shooting environments has been wonderful. I carry it often in the saddlebags of my Harley to bike rallies as well as on long trips. Carried it to Colorado last fall and the D-90 preformed perfectly. It works well in the programed modes and when needed for special situations the manual aperture /shutter are easy to use. 06/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My love I love professional cameras, and i was so happy when my dad bought it for me. But im still confused, theres this style of pics i would like to try with my cam, but it never seems to work except with my aunts canon. Its the kind of pics taken at night with moving lights in the photo. I hope someone understood what i mean 06/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to us yet loaded with capabilities I appreciate my Nikon D90 very much. It was 70th birthday present for a very much amateur so there is more that I do not know than that I do know about this fantastic camera. I made a lot of pictures at my granddaughter's wedding and made her a picture album we are both quite proud of and thankful for. The pictures were bright, clear and crisp. Those taken in candle light had a slight distortion to the background and it made them quite dreamy. Just like the real reception was. Oh yes, this camera is impressive, fun, easy and yet loaded with capabilities to keep your imagination and brain working! 06/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Camera! I have used my D90 for a few years and am totally satisfied with it. I shoot exclusively with the NIkon 18-200 3.5-5.6 VR zoom lens. Wonderful high-resolution images that allow substantial cropping. I take advantage of the many focus points when using the VR feature of the lens. I often shoot with the SB800 flash with great results. I sometimes use the camera's Command Mode, which provides great flash control and flexibility. Amazing flexibility with menu choices. I fine the feature that allows me to create a folder for each shootimg event very valuable. 06/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Camera for the price Bought my D90 as a backup to my D200. This camera is very versatile and the picture quality is superb. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic camera great buy for the money. i liked the fact that i am able to use my current selection of sigma and nikon lenses that i've purchased for my n80. the fact i'm stilling making the switch to digital, makes this camera even better. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wished it were a full 35mm though. I do love my D90. It is by far the best camera I have ever owned. I do wish that I could afford one of the newer cameras. The D800 or such. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The finest Camera I have had Have been using Nikon's for many years and this was the best non-professional camera I have had after my Standard SLRs. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value Overall the D90 is a wonderful camera for the money. My concerns with the camera include the sluggish and not always accurate auto-focus. When the AF is accurate it is incredible. I also wish the body was better sealed against the elements. I also wish the D90 had a true mirror lock-up. Generally, colors are great (reds are a little strong, though), especially skin tones. The flash system is wonderful. There have been many times I wish I would have purchased the D7000, but the saving have been worth it. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my D90! I've had my D90 for quite awhile now and am still discovering new things about it. I find that while it's not top of the line, it's extremely versatile and enjoyable to use. I'm an amateur striving toward professionalism in my imagery and this camera is an excellent tool. I find it easy to use and logical in how it's set up. I was looking at the Canon line and Nikon line and am extremely pleased with my decision to buy Nikon. I would recommend this camera to anyone looking to buy a DSLR in this price range. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent camera I've had my D90 for 3 years now and I love it. The controls are well placed and intuitive to use. And it's relatively light weight. This should not be underestimated. I carried this around the Balkans for two weeks and took thousands of shots and compared to a full frame camera it was a breeze to carry and use all day. I replaced the kit lens with a Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4 lens and never looked back. But now it's lost the thumb grip on the back of the camera and I'm looking for a Nikon upgrade that uses the same DX format sensor. I'd like 1080 movie mode and internal GPS and I'm prepared to wait until Nikon releases something with those features. The D-90 is getting long in the tooth right now but it's still a solid camera and has few competitors in its price range. 05/28/2012
31-60 of 4,698 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  157 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew474
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp