Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 7 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charlie Chan's 7 Adventures I purchase Charlie Chan Volumne 5 at Sam's Club for $19.95. The picture quality for film shot over 70 years ago was suprisingly good. Watching Charlie Chan took me back to a simpler movie experience. I was not disappointed. Little would I have expected 60 years ago that most television shows in 2012 would be so lacking in entertainment value that I would have to resort to purchasing 70 year old movies to entertain myself. If you also feel less entertained and mostly annoyed by todays over the top advertised TV rubbish try the old classics such as Charlie Chan or Sherlock Holmes, or some newer Australian and BBC productions like McLeod's Daughters or Downton Abby. 04/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charlie Chan movies Have been a Charlie Chan fan since I was a kid (1948)to present. The quality of the film is very good and it's a pleasure to sit back and enjoy! Give this as a gift to a movie buff. 01/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charlie Chan, what do you expect. This comment is for all of you who have seen Charlie Chan films from the 30's and 40's on late night TV in the antique days of 1 and 2 channel TV. There was something special about being up late on a weekend night and trying to solve the contrived mysteries of Charlie Chan movies. I always waited for the aphorisms, or Jimmy Chan (Victor Sen Young) to yell "pop" several times, or any number of Hollywood character actors (Lionel Atwill, Douglass Dumbrille, Donald McBride, etc.) to make their appearance, usually in some comic bit to keep it light. The black and white quality of the Sydney Toler Chan films is crisp and moody, and the production values are to Fox second feature standards. I have watched these films many times, I don't have to think or contemplate, or get political, and for a fun, cheap, non-taxing evening, Charlie Chan works everytime. This whole series of Fox releases has fine additional features, and are mastered from the finest existing source materials they could find. If you are thinking about purchasing these, go ahead, you'll love them. If you are not sure about Chan, read some more, buy the collection with Charlie Chan at the Opera, and then make a decision. I am glad these are finally all available on DVD. 04/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just good entertainment This set is just good old black & white, 1930-40's era detective genre movies staring arguably the second most famous detective on film. Sidney Toler (personal favorite) solves a vast array of whodunit's. Get some popcorn and enjoy. Down side, one movie per disc side, which is a small hassle, could have been two-2- or three movies on a single disc, on a single side for customer/ consumer/ movie buff's convenience. 01/14/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little corny, but I like Sidney Toler as Charlie Chan. Great if you like old detective stories. 10/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love all Charlie Chan I have all the Charlie Chan Movies that have come out and loved all of them. 10/12/2008
1-7 of 7 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw472
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp