Tetra Heater 5-15

93 reviews ratings
Q&A
By: Tetra
Walmart #: 000856258
Tetra Heater 5-15
$14.94
FREE shipping on orders $50 +
If your order totals $50 or more and you select Value shipping, this item and any other qualifying items ship for free!
FREE pickup
Sold by Walmart.com

FREE shipping available

 on $50+ orders
 

Shipping

Showing options for 20147
Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
$4.97
Standard
Data unavailable
$6.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
Rush
Data unavailable

FREE pickup available

 As soon as today
 

Pickup

Showing options for 20147
Location
Buy online for pickup
    Tetra Submersible Heater
  • UL approved
  • no manual adjusments required
  • Electronic Thermostat automatically maintains y50W
  • Indicator light to tell you when it is heating

About this item

Tetra Heater 5-15

About this item

Tetra Heater 5-15

    The Tetra Submersible Heater is safe (UL approved), compact, and easy to use. This heater requires no manual adjustment. Just plug it in, and the eletronic thermostat automatically adjusts and maintains your aquarium at 78F. Since it s submersible, it can be easily concealed in your aquarium. It is also very durable since it is made of shatterproof glass. For aquariums up to 15gal.

Specifications

Height: 6.80
Model No.: WHT5-15
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.55
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 2.0 x 2.0 x 6.5
Assembled in Country of Origin: Imported
Origin of Components: Imported
Walmart No.: 856258
Show

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

93 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

93 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 stars
17
1-3 of 88 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Small Heater for Small Tanks
11/2/2008

Customer review by leilanimr

5.0 stars 11/2/2008 by leilanimr
by leilanimr

Locating an aquarium heater for a tank less than 10 gallons is no easy task; the majority of heaters aren’t designed for smaller aquariums despite their continued popularity. I chose the Tetra Whisper Heater 2-15 gallon model for a few reasons; 1) I’ve used Tetra products over 25 years, 2) Its compact size of 4.75”. There is no thermostat; the heater is designed to maintain the water temperature between 76-80 degrees. I have monitored the temperature in my 5 gallon Mini Bow over several days, the temperature has evened out to 79 degrees. It is safe for acrylic tanks (I checked before purchasing), is completely submersible with the option of vertical or horizontal positions and contains a indicator light to let you know its working. I am quite pleased with this little heater and I’m sure my Betta (Indiana Jones) is thankful he won’t be subjected to temperature fluctuates that could lead to illness.

Was this review helpful? (101) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leilanimr
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
9/1/2010

Customer review by ElectricBlue

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by ElectricBlue
by ElectricBlue

I have used 2 of these heaters for the past 3 years and they have both been great. The heater does a good job of keeping up the temperature. I know this for a fact because my fish have been healthy and have lived long lives. I also own a crayfish and it has molted which is a good sign that the water is at the right temperature. Many people are reporting that it does not raise the water temperature to what they want, but that is probably because they are checking the temperature of the glass on the outside. You should dip your finger in to see if it's warm to decide because the glass will always be cooler than the water. This heater also has a small red light that glows when it's heating the water and it turns off when the water has maintained the right temperature, so don't take it as being broken. If you want to check to see if it's still working, place it in a cold bowl of water and plug it in. If it works, the red light should glow.

Was this review helpful? (47) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectricBlue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
good little heater
4/29/2009

Customer review by Rainedrop

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by Rainedrop
by Rainedrop

I got this to put in a 6 gallon tank. It keeps the tank at a steady temperature of 76. Overall, I am pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rainedrop
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-3 of 88 total reviews See all
1-3 of 88 reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

Customer reviews

3.5 stars
93 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers
19 questions
1-3 of 19 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
Back
I just bought this unit tonight for my betta fish's 5 gallon tank. After I put it in the aquarium and plugged it in, the red light came on. Then about 10 minutes later, I checked on it again and there was no red light. Does the red light need to be on at all times when the heater is putting out heat? I don't have a thermometer yet so I have no way of telling whether or not the water is warming up. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks :)
by CulligantheBettaFish 12/13/2008
7 answers
  • A. The red light turns on when it's actually heating, and it shuts off when the water is between 78-80 degrees. Mine has never gotten warmer than 80 and has never gone below 77.
    by SpeechlessinSeattle6/20/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I'm glad you have your betta in a 5 gallon tank anything smaller is not good for your fish, as for your heater the red light will come on and stay on until the water is the right temp and then go out. it would be a good idea to get a thermometer, I have one in mine and the temp is 78 that's a good temp for your fish.
    by catben6/20/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The red light is only on whenever it is heating.
    by CaityJ8912/11/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, the red light doens't have to be on all the time. It is on means the water temperture is below the preset and it is heating up. It is off means the water temperture is at the preset temperture or highger. (By the way, the fancy or exotic gold fish do need a prefered tank temperture (65 F-75F). For all other like koi, commet or common goldfish (feeder). They don't need a heater at all.
    by Fishhobby12/11/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The red light will not stay on the whole time. I would suggest getting a thermometer when you get the chance. It will show that the heater is keeping the water heated at a steady degree. (I like the stick on thermometer you put on the outside of the tank.)
    by ShoppinIsGreat5/20/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The red light means it is on, it will turn off when the surrounding water is 78*. When its off that means the water is the preferred temperature.
    by KMJ8612/19/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The Red Light only turns on when the heater is heating the water, it will turn on periodically throughout the day whenever the water drops below the set temperature & it will turn off once it has reached the set temperature. This heater is not adjustable & it's set temperature is 78 Degrees F.
    by StubbyMcNubb12/19/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
Any ideas.
by an anonymous customer 3/21/2011
6 answers
  • A. It works slowly. Check with a thermometer. If water cools below 72 than you got a faulty equipment.
    by Airfliyer7/16/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yours must be malfunctioning. It would work instantly if it was working properly.
    by SpeechlessinSeattle4/11/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Do you have a thermometer? If the light turned off that means it is at optimal temperature.
    by FishLizardDogChickenlover1/18/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Call Tetra Customer Service. Sure sounds like that heater was defective. They have a good return policy within 30 days. Or take it back to the store where you purchased it, with the receipt.
    by TetraGal10/10/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I have the same problem with mine too. But I think this is how it is with these little "pre set" heaters. I had one before this that was a different brand than this one and it too had the very same problem. My tank is only 2 gallons and these heaters barely kept it at 72 degrees. That is just not warm enough. And the same thing is going on with mine as with yours. The red light comes on when I first plug it in for a few minutes then goes off and I never see it come on again unless I un plug it and plug it back.
    by Ladybat11/30/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Then you should return or exchange for a new one . Its might got defected.
    by Fishhobby8/31/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 19 questions See all
1-3 of 19 questions

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty: 2 years See details

Supplier Warranty: Tetra will repair or replace (manufacturer's option) your Heater for any defect deemed to be due to workmanship or materials for a period of two years from the date of original purchase. Damages or injuries resulting form neglegence or misuse are not covered under this warranty. This warranty gives you specific legal rights. Incidental or consequential damages are specifically excluded unless disallowed by your state. You may also have other rights which vary from state to state. Please call 800-526-0650 for further warranty information and return address.
Safety Requirements: N
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Product Recommendations

Your recently viewed items

Clear this list