Andis 1 1/2" Ceramic Flat Iron

4.5 stars
Q&A
By: Andis
Walmart #: 000258544
$17.62
List price $19.99  (You save $2.37)
FREE shipping available on $50 + orders
If your order totals $50 or more and you select Value shipping, this item and any other qualifying items ship for free!
FREE pickup
Sold by Walmart.com
 
Showing options for 07095
Type
Value
Data unavailable
$4.97
Standard
Data unavailable
$6.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$8.97
Rush
Data unavailable
$10.97
 
Showing options for 07095
 
3 more sellers from $23.49 | Learn more
Showing 4 sellers
  • Andis 1.5" ceramic flat iron
  • Heats to 375 degrees
  • 20 heat settings
  • 30 second heat up
  • Auto shut off
  • About this item

    • Andis 1.5" ceramic flat iron
    • Heats to 375 degrees
    • 20 heat settings
    • 30 second heat up
    • Auto shut off

    Specifications

    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Assembly Required: Y
    Model No.: 67770
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.9
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 3.0 x 5.5 x 14.25
    Assembled in Country of Origin: Imported
    Origin of Components: Imported
    Walmart No.: 258544
    Show
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    198 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    5 stars
    151
    4 stars
    29
    3 stars
    8
    2 stars
    2
    1 stars
    8
    92%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Definitely for thick, coarse hair!!!WOW!
    8/14/2009

    Customer review by jangels

    5.0 stars by jangels

    In the last 6 weeks, I have bought four straighteners, ranging from really high end in price to this one at $17.14. On one high priced straightener...my coarse hair literally rubbed the finish off the plates. The company was willing to take it back as defective, because their comment was..."we've never seen someones hair be able to do that!" I had never seen my hair be able to do that either, but that gives you an idea of how coarse my hair really is. The next three straighteners couldn't even begin to pull the curl out of my hair. I figured based on price alone that this product wouldn't rate very high, plus with my hair thickness/coarseness that it would be lucky to earn 2 stars from me.... Boy, did it prove me wrong! It glides over my hair with no effort at all and straightened my hair just like the stylist's tools. The difference...my stylist paid $140 for hers, and mine was...$18.81 (TN tax incl.). It pulls your hair at random, but not often at all.....if your hair gets to the sides of the plates, but nothing like the other 4 that I had used. On the other straighteners I had to use them on HIGH to get hardly any results at all. I did find out rather quickly...do not assume you need to turn the dial up above 11 on this one, unless you experiment with the lower temps first. I went straight for the High 15 setting at first assuming it wouldn't work well like the others that I had tried...not a wise idea! (even though the dial goes up to 20!!!!) I found rather quickly, that I DO NOT need the temp. this high and it heats up whatever its sitting on also (my desk was blistering HOT!). I put my straightener on a trivet, as it was that warm on the 15 setting!!!! I quickly turned the setting back to an 8 and it straightened my hair, just perfect! You can slightly turn your wrist while holding the straightener when you get to the bottom of your hair and get a slight curve, avoiding having to do a follow up procedure with a curling iron to curl the bottom of your hair. The only thing I could recommend to the company on this product is: the numbers on the dial are rather small and I struggled to see the numbers, but other than that.....its earned an almost perfect rating! Don't let price fool you on this product.........its worth that and more! Now, I understand why there was only one left on the rack when I bought this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? (114) (6)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    jangels
    Tennessee
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Age:35 - 44
    Usage:Every day
    Top 1000 contributor
    Great for the price!
    6/7/2009

    Customer review by Cuasterose

    5.0 stars by Cuasterose

    Wow! This flatiron really works well! I was looking for a flatiron that would smooth out my extremely curly, long hair without breaking the budget. After seeing the other reviews, I decided to give it a shot. I was not disappointed. With all my long hair I was able to achieve super straight hair in roughly 40 minutes. It really got hot, and I had to be careful not to burn my hands when I touched my hair! Usually I go to my sister-in-law's salon, where she uses a 100 dollar flatiron on my hair. My 18 dollar flatiron is just as hot as her flatiron, plus my iron doesn't rip strands of hair out of my head like her's usually does (ouch!). I would definitely recommend this product to other Curly Girls who would like to save a few pennies and still get good quality results.

    Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Cuasterose
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Age:25 - 34
    Usage:Once per week
    Love this Product
    4/1/2009

    Customer review by Bebe1289

    5.0 stars by Bebe1289

    Before I had a cheap straightener which I bought in a drugstore. It took a while to heat up and broke my hair off. With this straightener, my hair looks so smooth and it doesn't damage my hair that much. I have colored my hair alot and having a straightener that does not damage my hair is incredibly important. This is one of the best purchases I've made in a while and would recommend it to anyone. One note: I have medium thickness hair that is mostly straight in the front but the back seems to have some wave to it and I only have to put it on 5 or below and it straightens my hair perfectly. The only thing is that it gets EXTREMELY hot, to the point it could burn me if i touched it immediately after i straighten my hair. But the product is completely worth it.

    Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Bebe1289
    Philadelphia, PA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Age:18 - 24
    Usage:Every day
    1-3 of 180 total reviews See all

    Customer Q&A

    Have questions? Get answers from experts and customers who own this product.

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    by mamafour 8/22/2010
    • If it doesn't specify in the description the best thing to do is only use it only on dry hair, or else you could seriously damage your hair.
      by kjawz9/9/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    • You should never straighten wet hair unless your straightener is specifically for that. This is a ceramic plate straightener. I use it only after my hair is completely dry. Using this on wet hair can fry it and cause damage.
      by Roosteracer9/9/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    • DRY HAIR ONLY.
      by NUQUEEN11/26/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • I would not recommend that you use it while your hair is wet.it will steam the hair to make it dry and it can also damage the hair.you should never use a flat iorn wihout using a heat protector in your hair.
      by Beauty4you9/9/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • I would not recommend it because the booklet warns that your hair should be dry first, plus hair is most vulnerable when it is wet and more prone to damage. I would apply a heat protectant while hair is damp and drying and then either air or blow it dry. Apply a spritz more of heat protectant and flat iron...
      by 1ShOpPaHoLiCc010/13/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • If you start at a low temperature then you can use it on wet hair. Generally speaking, it is usually not a good idea to use any hot iron on wet hair because it quickly evaporates the moisture in your hair. It is better to apply a conditioner or something that helps your hair hold in the moisture from the water as it drys. Another option would be to get a product that is designed to hold moisture in your hair when it is wet and you apply heat, such as a blow dryer or an iron. If you don't have something like that then I would let your hair dry first and then straighten, but to have a direct answer to your question, yes you can use while your hair is wet, but it is not advised.
      by AnnaBCreations9/9/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    • You should NEVER use a flat iron on wet hair, it will burn it all off!
      by Saamiya11/8/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    I want a flat iron that cant damaged hair and that its cheap.
    by frosty052296 12/13/2009
    • This flat iron will not damage your hair. It has super smooth plates that won't snag and pull your hair out of your head. It has a wide variety of heat settings, finding the level of heat that works for you is key. Take the time to start out styling on the low setting and see how that works. Don't jump to high right away or else you will most likely burn and damage your hair. This product is very easy to use, even on the back of you head because it's compact and easy to hold, so that will keep you from leaving the iron on too long and burning up a patch. You cannot beat the price for a product this good. It's worth it. Try it, you will like it.
      by BeHereNw1/9/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • Any heat what so ever on your hair has the ability to damage it, the best thing to do is use some sort of heat protect-ant oil or cream.
      by kjawz8/13/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • I've been using this almost every day for the past two years, and my hair is great! Just be sure that your hair is completely fry before using.
      by Roosteracer12/27/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • Any flat iorn can damage your hair.The best advice i can give you is to buy a heat protector.They sell heat protectors at walmart or even sallys stores.
      by Beauty4you1/11/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • All heat applied to hair damages it to some point. If you moisturize your hair, apply products that are designed to keep your hair moisturized and strong even while applying heat, such as ones designed for blow drying, then you reduce the amount of damage that can be done to your hair. If you process your hair with dyes or bleach you increase the damage risk. If you allow your hair to dry completely before using the iron you decrease the damage risk. I don't process my hair and use natural oils and products to maintain moisture in my hair and it is very healthy as well as using this iron, but if you want a straightening iron that will never ever damage your hair then you won't get it as long as it uses heat to straighten. Even some of the top hairdressers say to rinse your hair in lukewarm to cold water when washing because the hot water causes damage while cold water heals.
      by AnnaBCreations9/12/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • To prevent damage to your hair, try using thermal protection products to work against the heat.
      by mrsgreen072/5/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • No. This iron is great for all hair types. I have very thin hair, my sister has thick, and my other sister is a combination of us, and we can all use this iron without worry of damaging our hair! I would definitely recommend it!
      by emmasmommy0812/3/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    as in how good will it work on medium thick african type hair? & will it cause breakage on african american hair? how much?
    by an anonymous customer 12/6/2009
    • It works great on African American hair! But you can get it too hot and cause breakage depending on your hair and how often you use it. Just gradually turn the heat up to a setting that's good for you hair. I keep mine on high, but turn it down for others.
      by Goldendaisies2/1/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • It works great. I am also African American and it does me justice. But then I have nice hair texture to start with: it may be that. Good luck!
      by HCole4/7/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • One of my good friends used mine, it turned out nicely but she put some sort of heat protectant relaxer on it.
      by kjawz1/5/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • I have been natural for a little over a year now and I purchased this flat iron to do a length check on my hair. I only have used a flat iron twice since being natural, and both times were a year apart. Anyways...I have very thick curly hair (4a/4b mix), and with barely going over each section twice my hair was bone straight...literally! I love this flat iron and it was only $14.00! Make sure to buy a good heat protectant to use before applying heat because overdoing it with any kind of heat on the hair can damage your hair. If you really want to use a flat iron all of the time...try doing it atleast once every two to three months :)
      by 1ShOpPaHoLiCc01/3/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • I have used this iron on friends that have extremely coarse hair and it worked great. It didnt cause damage, but I always use heat protection products.
      by mrsgreen072/5/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • Yes, it should work well on african type hair. Be sure to use "Silk" or "Ion" product for straightening so you get the best results. You would never know it to look at me, cuz you'd think I'm Lilly white, well actually my grandfather was african-american. Although my skin isn't my hair is so close to african in texture and curl and using this flat iron works well on my course curls. I purchased two of these flat irons, traveled Europe with them until they burnt out due to the electric current although I did use the AC/DC adapters. I'm going out today to purchase another one of these great flat irons.
      by HappiestOldBag6/30/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    1-3 of 17 questions See all

    Policies & Plans

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase . Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty: 5 Years See details

    Supplier Warranty: 5 year replacement
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We strive to provide you with the lowest prices possible on Walmart.com as well as in our stores. However, sometimes a price online does not match the price in a store. Walmart.com's prices may be either higher or lower than local store prices. Prices may also vary between stores. Our local stores do not honor Walmart.com pricing or competitor advertisements from outside of a store's local trade territory.

    Product Recommendations

    Your recently viewed items

    Clear this list