The Essential O'Jays (2CD)

  • Browse Related Products

The Essential O'Jays (2CD)

Shop at Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.04 (13%)

  • In stores only
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

About this product

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 2)

1. Listen Lonely Drifter
2. Listen Lipstick Traces (On a Cigarette)
3. Listen Stand in for Love (Live)
4. Listen I'll Be Sweeter Tomorrow (Than I Was Today)
5. Listen There's Someone (Waiting Back Home)
6. Listen One Night Affair
7. Listen Deeper (In Love with You)
8. Listen Back Stabbers
9. Listen 992 Arguments
10. Listen Love Train
11. Listen Time to Get Down
12. Listen Put Your Hands Together
13. Listen Sunshine Pt.1
14. Listen You Got Your Hooks in Me
15. Listen Now That We Found Love
16. Listen For the Love of Money
17. Listen Give the People What They Want
18. Listen Survival
19. Listen Let Me Make Love to You
20. Listen I Love Music

Disc 2 (of 2)

1. Listen Livin' for the Weekend
2. Listen Stairway to Heaven
3. Listen Family Reunion
4. Listen Ship Ahoy (2008 Single Version)
5. Listen Message in Our Music
6. Listen Darlin' Darlin' Baby (Sweet Tender Love)
7. Listen The Big Gangster
8. Listen Use Ta Be My Girl
9. Listen Brandy (I Really Miss You)
10. Listen Cry Together
11. Listen Forever Mine
12. Listen Sing a Happy Song
13. Listen Lovin' You
14. Listen Wind Beneath My Wings
15. Listen Emotionally Yours (Gospel Version)

About the Album

The Essential O'Jays covers 1972's Back Stabbers through 1978's So Full of Love, including all but six of the Philly soul group's charting singles from the period. Nearly every crucial hit is here, including the number one R&B singles "Back Stabbers," "Give the People What They Want," "I Love Music," "Livin' for the Weekend," "Love Train," "Stairway to Heaven," and "Use ta Be My Girl." A pair of singles that put major dents in the disco chart, "Unity" (number one) and "Rich Get Richer" (number six), are not here, but this disc was still one of the better single-disc O'Jays compilations made available. (Sony's Legacy division sort of contradicted itself in 2008, when it released a two-disc version of The Essential O'Jays, expanding their idea of the O'Jays' essential material from 16 songs to 35 songs. This edition added seven songs that predate Back Stabbers and an assortment dating from 1979-1995. It also went deeper with the earlier '70s releases, adding a few of the relatively minor hits.) ~ Andy Kellman, All Music Guide
Artist: The O'Jays
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 2
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.25
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 0.39 x 4.25 x 5.25
UPC: 0088697210982
The Essential O'Jays (2CD)
The Essential O'Jays (2CD) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)