Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 86 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does the job but very cheap I bought this dog house for our new Golden Retiever puppy. It is a fairly large house but pretty flimsy. If we had a male dog, I don't think this product would last too long. Females are a little calmer so I'm not sure if it will hold up in the future. This house was quick and easy to put together but for better quality, it might be better to build your own. It is a good looking house but probably won't last more than a couple years if we're lucky. 06/18/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by I've had this house almost 4 years I would recommend setting it on top of a pallet or a course of bricks to keep it off the ground. The threshold of the door could allow water in if it is sitting directly on the ground. Otherwise it is fine. We take the door flaps off in the summer and put them on in the winter. I think it is important to face the door in a direction where the dog can see the house, gate or other entrance. Our dogs also use them in our garage when it is too cold for them to be outside. Our 95lb Foxhound fits in the both size houses. The large size is intended for him. Our 65lb foxhound is comfortable in the average size house. They seem not to notice any difference in the size as they alternate using both. We have used cedar chips outdoors and a kennel mat indoors. 02/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy set up, little flimsy I bought this to protect my overactive 65 pound puppy from Florida rain she HATES it and will only go inside if she is about to drown. The floor is very uncomfortable and i dont see whats smart about putting a bed down in the rain. All in all its ok though I doubt it'll last more than 2 or 3 years 08/20/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not helpful This product was not helpful at all. My dog first started chewing on the house; within two weeks the house was demolished. 06/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy, Roomy and Cost-Effective! I have a large, elderly disabled dog who sometimes urinates and defecates before he can get up. I needed a dog house I could rinse out, leave outside to the elements and have maneuverability for my Dalmation. He has difficulty lowering his hips. I researched the size of dog house I needed. I priced at major retail chains, smaller Mom&Pop stores and I looked on Craigslist. Everyone wanted over $250, new OR used for a vinyl house. I found exactly what I needed on WalMart.com. I read the reviews where many people reported the item as flimsy. I did not find this to be the case. Once it is assembled, it is very sturdy. My 85 pound, BIG-boned Dalmation can turn around in it. The assembly is easy with 2 people. One person may have trouble tackling this alone. You really need a second set of hands to place the 4th side on top of the 2 sides standing upright. You cannot beat the price! 07/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Happy Home For Dogs! I have 3 dogs. The largest is a St. Bernard/Pitbull mix named Sam. Sam lowers his tolerance on sharing space when they all have to be kept indoors for longer periods of time due to bad weather. I decided to purchase two of these dog houses as a possible solution. It is perfect! Sam can stretch out comfortably without any half of himself hanging out of the house. The house is attractive and spacious. The walls provide additional ventilation through vents. The door flaps help keep out icy winds while providing easy entry for your pet. The interlocking panels for the sloping roof are a great deterrent for rain/snow storms. It is easy to assemble and just as easy to remove parts for cleaning or to install pet heaters or insulation. (My dogs prefer a few blankets to snuggle with on frostier eves or I attach fleece blankets with velcro strips along the inside of the walls for easy removal and cleaning) Sammy gets to reign from his own domain and when he is told to "go home" he rushes right into his new house and flops down with a contented stretch. The other two med sized dogs(Labrador/Chow Chow mixes) share the 2nd home together comfortably. Hey, even our cats drop into "The Mansion" for lazy undisturbed naps! My recommendation...BUY it! you'll be so glad you did. 03/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product was easy to put together and stands up well to storms.My German Shepherd loves it ! 05/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large dog house Was easy to put together and very attrative. We have a large Collie and she loves her house. 05/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved It!! First of all, the product arrived in 2 days without express shipping! Then, my husband assembled it, said it took a few "manly" touches of his screws to sturdy the frame, but otherwise we both fell in love with it! Excellent product, excellent shipping, excellent results! 04/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Dog House for my Boxer! Easy to assemble! I have a three year old Boxer, and I am so glad that I purchased this dog house! It was really easy to set up and only took me about a half hour. It just snaps together very easily. I didn't even need my husbands help in doing it! It is much bigger than I thought it would be. I could easily fit a second boxer inside it. My dog has plenty of room to move around inside it. It has 2 vents for circulation, and the vinyl flaps are easy to put on and take off. I do recommend staking it to the ground if you live in a windy place however because it is very light. Also, it came with letters to personalize it with your dog's name. I love this dog house and so does my dog. I would totally recommend this to a friend! 09/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 home sweet home I love the house I bought for my pup.He loves it too.My daughter thinks its a doll house and sit in it herself while my pup barks for her to get out.They are so cute together. 04/28/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by flimsy for the price We returned this doghouse soon after we opened the box. The walls were very thin. We did not feel this doghouse would stand the test of time. We have a large doghouse we purchased for our dwarf goats a couple of years ago and it has held up great even when the male jumps on top of it all the time. This dog house was less expensive and more sturdy so we will try to buy another one. 04/18/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Flimsiest doghouse I ever saw. I bought this doghouse as a temporary shelter for my dog while he is being kept by someone else for a few days. Fortunately, it is just to allow him to lie on his bed during the day, sheltered from wind, in mild weather. This is not satisfactory shelter for an animal in most climates. And it needs to be fastened to the ground or heavily weighted to keep it from blowing away. Really, really poor quality. It will go out with the trash when I get back from my trip. 10/04/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by not for a dog that chews I put this house together in a few minutes, my dog got right in. it is make with THIN plastic,I can see it wont last a rough dog long.my german shepherd fits nice inside. 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy for one person to put together and no tools The dogs love it,made with super tuff plastic and easy to put together 07/11/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommended if your pup doesn't eat everything in sight. :-) My doggie eats on the door area. I took the flaps off so she can have them for the rainy/cold days/nights. She ate on them too. OMG Bootz..... 06/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great purchase!! I shopped around and walmart had the best price around period!!.. we have a English Springer Spanier (medium size dog now. He is 7 months oldnow) and he is absolutely nuts about it. everytime we are looking for the dog he's in there. We bought it a couple of weeks ago, we couldn't had the dog making a mess in the garage anymore and we were a little afraid it may not keep him warm with this cold temperatures outside but what a surprise when I see the dog before I go to work at 6:00 am he comes out of the dog house and he is so warm! So i would strongly recomend this to anybody. 01/03/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cheap Very thin, not great quality. 01/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse Dog House Ever!!! This was a beautiful house in the beginning and I actually thought it was a good product but O'boy was I wrong.I purchased this house for my dog at the age of 5months he is now 9months this house is a distaster product. If your dog is going to grow to big then this is not the house for you. 11/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME PRODUCT!! 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my German Shepard I had no problem putting this dog house together. My grand kids even help me snap the side and roof on. Its what my dog needed and with the up coming winter and the cold air. He will be comfortable and warm. Price was great for its value . I still need to get his bedding which will put the icing on his new house. I rate this high, because it easy, no hassle to assemble and every light to lift. It fit in a 10 x 10 kennel along with second dog house for my son dog. I got both dog house and they enjoy it. My shepard is still getting use to his house so if he's warm he sleeps out side his house and if colder in the late evening he moves into house. I had to coach both dog into their house with treats. Once they walk into their house they loved it, because they would just stick their head out the door. Enjoy building the dog house and most of all your dog will too...Oceanside Ca. 10/11/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed This doghouse is very flimsy and thin. I have two 10 mo old boxer mixed pups and within the first week they had pushed one side out of it in the back. The way it snaps together is very cheap and doesn't hold up. They already have one house so there's only one sleeping in it. I wish I had spent a little more and gotten something better constructed. I don't see this one lasting a month 10/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice dog house. easy to put together, one person and no tools required. big enough for a large dog it is true. my dog will get up to 65 pounds and he will have plenty of room in there. it is not super strong, but it will do the job. watch for very windy days it may end up in another place :) Good house for the price. 09/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not recommend I assumed for the price I would be getting at least a decent quality doghouse but it is very cheaply made and every time I move it it falls apart. 08/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to put together I ducked taped for reinforced Good for a large dog. Left one flap off so not to feel closed in. Taped the roof and the bottom. Didn't need to stake down so the tape would seal the bottom. Tape on the roof was to seal just in case of rain. Seems to be a good house for the money. Haven't seen any of the 3 dogs go into it yet. But mainly it's for them when no one is home and they are outside. 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have a German Shepard puppy and he loved it! The house is sturdy once you build it. It only took me like 20 minutes to build. Its a good price for the house. 07/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The size of this doghouse was not right for us. my dog was too big for it 06/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Bad... Should be molded so it is lifted off the floor. Quality is a little off, but it is acceptable. Roof doesnt snap together all the way correctly. Overall, i think my pup will like this in the future. 06/21/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very flimsy Opened box looked at it and put it back in box and took back!! Its suppose to be for a big dog but its so flinbsy id beafraid id break it putting it together!! 04/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Doghouse!! This is a perfect doghouse and meets our needs just fine. My husband put it together in about 20 minutes with no difficulty. Our dog is about 50 lbs and fits inside just fine. She was a little hesitant about going in at first, but by the evening, she was asleep inside. Keeps her out of the wind and rain. We bought one of the large dog bed pillows they sell at WalMart, and it fits it perfectly, just as if it came with the house. With the pillow on the bottom, and I put an old blanket in there too, the dog stays warm and cozy. I am pleased with the purchase and would recommend it to others. 02/07/2012
1-30 of 74 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew470
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp