See All Reviews
Celestron LCD Digital Microscope
Celestron LCD Digital Microscope
$199.95
List Price: $299.00
You Save: $99.05 (33%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome microscope! I was so excited to get out microscope! When we opened it and used it I was even more pleased!! It's not like any other microscope I've seen. VERY easy to use and very smooth to operate. The visuals were awesome! I wish we had one like this when I was in school. This microscope has exceeded my expectations and I am soooo glad we purchased it. It is metal and will last for a long time. My kids love looking at things through it. I can't say enough good things about it. It is WELL WORTH the money spent. 09/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value I bought this for our Criminal Investigation section. We are a small Police Department on a very tight budget. This product met our needs and was afordable. 01/23/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shaking my head I was tired of looking in the microscope in my lab, so I decided to purchase this one for home. I thought that the screen and the ability to capture images was excellent, and would be easier on my eyes. My ultimate goal was to count the number of a specific cell type of interest to my research...The image resolution was quite poor, however. And if you're an experienced microscope user, the setup of this one is a little backward. Usually knobs used to move the slide on the stage are on the right. This microscope had them on the left. (Maybe if you're left hand, you'd enjoy that, though.) Anyway, I was generally disappointed and subsequently returned it. 05/29/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the cost. Has a few short comings but good overall. 09/08/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by pleased with purchase I really like this microscope. It is very easy to use. The camera/video ability is wonderful. I like the screen to view specimens rather than straining my eyes to look through an eyepiece. The case that it comes with is nice to have, I don't have to worry about what to store it in when I need to put it up. Overall I would recommend this product to anyone interested in a microscope that is above and beyond a "kids" microscope. 04/08/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so impressed Although the construction and feel of the product is top-notch, it just wasn't able to provide very clear images, even at lower magnification settings. Due to the fact that it is entirely digital, the LCD screen would constantly readjust itself. When the light source is turned up, the screen gets brighter, but then adjusts back down to what the microscope "thinks" is best. No control. I've already returned it and will be looking for a standard/non-digital microscope, and purchase an optional digital camera adapter when needed. 03/05/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Celestron LCD Review I was most disappointed with the fact that you cannot zoom out to see bugs (ants or bedbugs) completely. The microscope won't allow less than a 40x zoom, which is too magnified for our purposes. Focus is not the best either. I had to return it due to this reason. 03/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome ! Bought this for my daughter's 11th Birthday so she could use it at the school science fair. It was so easy to use, the images were clearly displayed on the monitor and the pictures and video were amazing and easy to download. 06/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful instrument... Celestron has done it again! This "toy" is beyond wonderful and I highly recommend it anyone interested in the world around them. I've used other instruments such as Intel and a homebrew camera system for years and they don't compare to this fine microscope. I'm looking forward to many years of enjoyment using 'my new toy'... 06/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional equipment Was amazed at the clarity and high definition of everything. No fuss, no guesswork, and no lenses to get in the way of the eyelashes, reading glasses or other focusing hamperments. This was a gift to my grand daughter, a senior in high school who will be a science major in college..she was so happy and awe struck by the sophistocation of this equipment. We are very pleased and would recommend it to anyone in the science field. 12/30/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed hi: the item didnot arrive on time, It have to arrive on 4 or 5 Jan 2010 and arrive on jan 15,2010. went I try to use the item, the lcd display you only have 1/2 view of the display. the other have is all white. I real disappointed about all. I return the ithem. Thank you. 01/16/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Appeared nice but did not work This microscope had a nice case and appeared nice but when I received it, it did not work. I returned and they are now out of stock. I will think about reordering if they ever get any more in stock. 12/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by GOOD LUCK IF IT WORKS MICROSCOPE DID NOT WORK, ONE OF THREE REASONS, BAD ADAPTER CORD, LCD WOULD NOT TURN ON, LIGHT SWITCH WOULD NOT TURN ON, RETURNED PRODUCT FOR FULL CREDIT AND THERE WAS NOT MICRO CHIP FOR CAMERA. 12/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Product Please forgive the delay in this review, the item purchased was a Christmas gift. It has been well used since opening and is a joy to operate without complicated procedures. My 10 year old really loves it and the digital screen is so much better than the old eye piece models. 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeds Expectations i bought this to use in my college biology lab class. foor the price it does way more than expected and you can see slides clearly, not just that i was able to take pictures of the exact slides that we had to identify on tests which came in handy. my professor was impressed as well and said that for that kind of quality picture and its functions i would at the least be looking at spending $6-700 for what i bought for a little over$150 10/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Microscope This microscope has been beyond my expectations. I use it to do cell counts for micro Algae growth and to check for bacterial infections in my strain. It works fantastic for both and I like not having to peer down a eye piece and straining my eyes. A great feature is being able to take pictures and movies also. The pictures look good on the lab laptop and helpful for doing counts. 02/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by LCD digital microscope I bought this for my husband who collects certain old coins. He had a hard time reading some of the faces of the coins with just a hand magnifying glass. This microscope with all of the WONDERFUL. features MORE than met our expectations. Now, not only can we see clearly every detail but can take pictures that are amazingly sharp & clear. Would highly recommend ths to everyone who collects coins, stamps or interested in anything that can be looked at under a microscope. So EASY to operate!!! 01/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent microscope This is an excellent home microscope. The optics are quite decent and the view screen worked well. Saving the image on an SD card sure beats sketching what you see. My nephew loved it. The top and bottom lighting is excellent. The image up to 400x was really very good. My nephew (9 years old) learned to use the scope pretty quickly. The one drawback was that the mechanical stage doesn't have stops so the screws can continue to be turned even when it won't move the slide any more. One of the screws came out and was slightly difficult to put back together again. Also, the color filter wheel (clear, red, blue, green) is not completely centered - the clear works very well but the red/blue/green filters are slightly off center. Neither of these problems are critical to the microscope, and the camera, optics, and lighting is so exceptional for the money. My nephew loved the zoom camera feature. One more thing - the Walmart.com price was about 1/3 less than any other site. Why pay more? I might have been more annoyed about the two small imperfections if I had paid list price. 01/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Digital Microscope We LOVE this microscope! The packing in the box was wimpy so I worried about it rolling around but it comes with its own fully padded case and everything was fine. It is perfect and the instructions are clear. We haven't used the computer features yet, but the display is crystal clear and the pictures are great. You can look at anything that fits in the space. Hours of fun for the little scientists. 12/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Screen is nice Really liked the screen that lets more than one person see image. Digital camera takes an even better picture than the screen. 11/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for the money see things you would never see in your life without it. 10/21/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value Love the LCD viewing screen! I had a slight problem when I took it out of the box (wasn't focusing), but I played around with it until I got it fixed and it has been great ever since. Photo capturing a real plus as well. 10/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! I purchased this while it was on sale for $140! The suggested retail price is $299, however I have seen sites selling it for anywhere from $215-$399. So, Walmart's price is a real deal even if you dont catch the sale! I needed it for a college Biology course online, so to make sure we were doing the work my professor wanted us to draw pictures of the assigned specimen each week. But after telling him I purchased this he even stated that he was jealous and that I could upload my pics from the scope instead of drawing them! Saved a ton of time!! Great resolution and easy to operate! 09/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for college student son Easy to use and great resolution for the price. Photo and laptop functions great for projects. 09/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for school biology study Purchased as gift for grand children. They're excited about using it for biology assignments. 07/30/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by not what I hoped for My son had wanted a microscope for years. I saw this one with the display screen, so I ordered it for his birthday. It arrived with several preloaded slides broken and didn't have any blank ones. Now I have to order some blanks so he can look at his own part of the world, not a broken preslected group. I will say that the display screen is a plus as both of us can see the same thing togeather. 07/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by My son loves it! Microscope is awesome. The whole family and friends enjoy it and think it is awesome that you can all view the same thing at the same time. Screen is exceptionally clear. Couldn't be happier! 04/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product Pretty nice microscope. You can get decent pictures and even capture videos. The kids loved! 03/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by recommended by h.s. teacher This microscope was recommended by my son's high school biology teacher. Walmart had the best price. My son used the microscope right away (you wouldn't believe the critters in the water in our street!). We especially like the lcd screen - it's easy for more than one person to view, as well as being easier to focus with than a traditional eyepiece. 03/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great micrsocope for the price The quality of the images on the LCD screen is much better than I expected. It's easy to move the slide around on the mechanical stage. After focusing with the knob, you can also zoom in using the buttons on the display screen. You can also adjust the lighting digitally. Taking pictures of what is shown is very easy. We have not tried to offload the images yet. The microscope comes with a very nice storage case. It also comes with a few prepared slides. It would be nice if it came with some blank slides, but I had to order those separately. Overall, I'm very pleased. The digital screen makes it very easy for several people to look at a specimen as a group, instead of trying to tell each person where to look through an eyepiece. Great for homeschoolers. 01/19/2009
1-30 of 32 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw465
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp