Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by great for big laptops the short story: excellent bag for the money if you have a big laptop. i already had a large laptop and a similar bag, so i thought the bag that i had would be adequate... i was wrong! this bag is more than capable of holding my 17.3" screen laptop, and has plenty of room to spare. could probably hold an 18" or larger screen, though those are rare. had a slightly smaller version of this bag for a few years, plenty of pockets and room to hold all other gear. padding is adequate, not sure yet if i would trust it as carry-on for an airline flight, but for day-to-day use protecting my gear on short trips, it is fine. two nitpicky things: the old bag had a media sleeve for carrying disc's, they should have included it with this bag too. secondly, large laptops can sometimes have issues due to them being flexed in the bag when carried, would be nice if the back were a little more rigid to prevent that from happening. perhaps it is harsh, but i took one star off the overall rating for those "issues". 09/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! i got the bag for my boyfriend for college. he has a 17.3 hp pavillion this bag was plenty big! we read a review that said someting about having extra room to pack a set of clothes, she probably could have fit the kitchen sink in too! it works perfectly and is a sturdy material. the handles are also sew into the bag so that when there has been alot of weight on it for a long time the stiches dont rip out!its a great bag 11/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product! This is my second Targus 17" XL Notebook Backpack. I bought one for my Toshiba Qosimo and this is the only backpack that could handle the massive 18" monster. I needed a backpack for work/school and I got this. my only complaint, if I had one, is the picture makes it look like there is a pouch on the shoulder strap for a cell or MP3 player, ind that is not the case. there are D rings for you to attach accessories. 08/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great BackPack Fits My Toshiba Qosmio Laptop Perfectly 11/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Targus 17" XL Notebook Backpack, TXL617 I orded this product on a friday night and it was delivered bY wednesday the following week in great shape. I have used the backpack several times and it will haul all laptop gear plus my external harddrive and still has room for more items like school books, work information, or when I went on a recent trip it had enough room for a change of clothes and my personal items. I will admit this is a huge backpack and easy to load heavy so becareful but the straps are very well positioned and comfortable. 10/26/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great laptop backpack!! I love this backpack! It has tons of room to carry your laptop, plus any accessories you need! At first, I wasn't sure I was going to keep it, because it seemed like there was too much room inside of it, too many pockets for what I needed. But then I took it on a trip, and I was so thankful for all the space it had to carry tons of extra stuff, like books, power strip, power cable, dvds, charging cords for other electronic media, water bottle, and more! This would make a great travel bag, or for a student who needs to carry everything in one bag. 10/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the college student on the go! I did alot of checking around for a durable, yet light, and reasonably priced 17" laptop backpack for my son who started college this fall. At everything I looked at, I had a hard time finding just the right one to fullfill his needs. He needed one that would carry his laptop plus books and other items. When I received this item, I was truely amazed at its size! It stored everything he needed for college and then some. It is light weight and durable, too! You won't believe it, but his Playstation 3 even fit just right, WOW! Talk about hugeness! If you have a college student, this is the backpack I'd recommend. It even has a limited lifetime warranty to boot. 10/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Computer Carryall This is a wonderful way to transport your computer and all of the goodies that go along with it. It is large and has many places to organize your things. I highly recommend this product. 05/15/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased!! I originally purchased Hewlett Packard bag that WalMart had for sell for $27, but it was defective. The HP bag was POORLY designed but had sturdy build material. The Targus has GREAT design along with GREAT build material!! The bag fits my 17" widescreen Dell laptop with no issues & space to spare for extra padding if desire to add & all my other junk fits easily, I have lots of junk to tote!! Great buy, even more so for me since WalMart honored the HP price on the Targus due to HP being defective. Great bag by great manufacturer, sold by great retailer. Bag is worth the original asking price. Big bag for big laptop!! Totally happy with purchase. 05/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Meets Expectations Thought it was going to be too big for what i needed it for but was perfect.. it's my very own Mobile office with lots of pockets and storage places.. 03/01/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by too big I needed a backpack for my 15.4"laptop for airline travel. I ordered this one because the smaller backpacks claimed this laptop would not fit. The backpack is very long - it almost hit the back of my knees! The laptop sleeve had several extra inches of space at the top. I returned this backpack, and kept a smaller one. 04/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST PACK EVER I have been with computers for 25+ years and have never in all this time found a pack that can accommodate my computer and all I take with it. This Targus Pack is absolutely the best I have ever found. It is perfect for everything I need a pack to handle including but not limited to, a change of clothes, files, glasses, cd’s, office stuff, ECT, ECT. Nice material and strong, really comfortable to carry or wear as a pack. Not to forget the extra padding for my laptop which is awesome? This pack is a God send and is the most outstanding pack of all times and highly recommend it to anyone, well worth the money, very pleased. Nice job locating this Targus pack Wal-Mart; you get a 100! 04/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pack with lot's of room I purchased this backpack to carry both my laptop and textbooks because I was tired of feeling like a pack mule carrying multiple bags everywhere. One reviewer commented on the storage space inside and that’s what prompted me to get this particular pack. There actually is a good deal of room inside the pack. One thing I love is how easily the zippers slide. I’ve had some packs that require some strength to pull open. Mine slides open and closed with ease. My only negative comment is on the flap on the front that snaps shut with two buckles. Inside are two net pouches. Since it’s only a flap that snaps at the top of both corners rather than zips completely shut, I worry about how secure things are inside the interior pouches. If they work themselves out, they’re probably going to be lost. I wish this flap zipped shut. Other than that, I love this pack. Even knowing how the flap closes, I’d still buy it again if I had to do it over. 12/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by When I found that I needed a bag for work to not only carry a computer, but what amounts to a ream of paper along with other non-computer related items (i.e., sunscreen, first aid kit, hat, long-sleeved shirt, water), I looked for something durable and Targus was my first choice based on a prior Targus purchase. I have used the bag for approximately two weeks and it is as durable as I expected. There are two pockets that are the same size and with that I am able to keep things separated and easy to find. The smaller third main compartment pocket is perfect for the extras. I have not used the pockets in the front flap because of the open design between the flap and the main three-pocket part of the bag. This design causes the pockets on the outside front of the flap to not be easily accessed with one hand when the bag is not fully packed and upright; you have to lift the flap up taut to open the small top zippered pocket. The pockets on the side of the bag are perfect...one for water bottle and one for glasses and cell phone..easy, quick access. It is comfortable to wear even when fully loaded. I do not notice any stress on any of the seams of either the handle or the carrying straps and if it is like the previous Targus bag I purchased, I think the quality will stand up to many years of wear. 08/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cannot ask for more !!! I was planning for a trip to India with my Twins and you can imagine, what I need to carry for the 24 hour trip. I saw the review and took a chance and was over the moon when I received the bag. The look and feel is great. Got lot of compartments to dump as much as you can. Now I am worried that the Airport folks will ask me to take certain things off this bag for weight concerns.. Cannot ask for more.. This is the BEST back pack you could get for your money.. I went for standard shipping and they shipped it in 2 days... Hats off WALMART !!! 05/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Laptop backpack Great for widescreen laptops. A little pricy but worth it 01/01/2009
1-17 of 17 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.