See All Reviews
Plano 5-Shelf Storage Unit, Light Taupe
Plano 5-Shelf Storage Unit, Light Taupe
$26.47
List Price: $48.18
You Save: $21.71 (45%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 401 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with the product This product is very simple to assemble and take apart. The shelves are sturdy, and decent looking as long as you are putting them somewhere very casual - garage, playroom, storage room, laundry. I bought 2 sets on my first order, and they have side connecters that make them very easy to connect side by side for longer shelve space. They also have bolt holes on the front and back sides so multiple sets can be fitted together front to back if you want deeper shelves. 06/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get Them, They're Awesome!!! I bought 1 set of these shelves because I had a craft room in need of some serious storage but had tried modular storage and had issues with particle board breaking up. These were inexpensive but looked sturdy, so I thought I would give them a shot...they are AWESOME!!! They are lightweight but hold some serious product (I have entire shelves FULL---ENTIRE LENGTH AND HEIGHT-- of 12x12 paper, no sign of warping or movement of any kind!) They are the perfect depth for scrapbookers as they hold 12x12 organizers perfectly. They are easy to put together, but I will caution you to make sure you have the connectors fully engaged before adding your next level, they are kind of hard to get apart and will be crooked otherwise. I anchored all of mine to studs just for extra security. I loved them so much that I literally swapped all of my other storage out for these (8 units), they now line my craft room AND the color is a great neutral, kind of a light warm taupe shelf and a warm grey connector. They also work great in the garage or shed! You cannot go wrong with these! 05/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased for Pantry I have a pantry in my appartment with no shelving. (an empty closet) This was purchased for storing canned and dry goods on. I am extremely happy with this purchase. With 5 shelves it holds so much and is very heavy duty and sturdy. It is roomy enough between each shelf that I purchased a wire storage rack/shelf and set it up on shelf to add another level for even more storage room. Very easy to put together too. Nothing to it!! I would highly reccommend this product. 02/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for Many Uses I got 2 of these shelves for my garage and 3 for my pantry. In the garage it holds tubs of toys, pool supplies, coolers, and tools. For the pantry, I used a hack saw to shorten the shelve heights and combined 3 sets into 2 and now have one unit with 7 shelves and another with 8. I have 6", 8" and 10" shelve heights for cans, bottles, and boxes. I can now fit more in the same space. It is perfect and was the least inexpensive way to do it. 08/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great New Pantry After searching all over the web for a shelving that would fit my 32" Width apartment closet I ended up here with this product. After the massive searching I was disappointed to see that it was out of stock online, so I decided to take a trip to the store and to my surprise they had several in stock. My pantry now looks awesome and I have plenty of space, the best part is that is easy to assemble and no tools or men are required. If i wanted it to I could even buy dividers and put them between each shelf since they have so much space between them. 10/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Walmart Shipping on this product is TERRIBLE! The product is great, however Walmart does not package the item at all. The product is shipped to Walmart in a multi-package, so Walmart cuts open the boxes, leaves both ends open to environment and puts plastic straps around them. The item will arrive damaged and very DIRTY! WARNING!!!! 05/23/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shelves for tight space I bought 2 of these shelves to fit a tight space that's in my basement. The regular 18 inch width fit also but then i wouldn't have space if I would like to get deeper in the space or if I'd like to pull stuff out. The fifth slot on top would give that extra storage i need given the space I have. I put heavier stuff on bottom shelf to give extra stability to the shelf. Happy storing! 06/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Shelves I love this Shelf Unit! Shipping was cheap and fast. We put the shelf together instantly with no tools. I chose this unit because it was inexpensive and would not rot. I don't have a big porch or patio so, this is it for plants that are waiting to get planted. 05/11/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value I bought two of these units for my garage. They were very easy to put together. My advice is to have a rubber mallet handy for assembly. The fit for the poles is tight and it helped to have the mallet to beat the shelves into place. The two units lock together end to end which is nice. There are also predrilled holes in the shelves so you can add stability by shooting a couple screws into the wall. This unit is very durable and each shelf holds a lot of stuff. Compared to the price for similiar units, this is a bargain. 07/06/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by arrived broken Ordered this as ship to home as it was not available in any stores around here but it was the perfect size for an awkward space so had high hopes, especially as I have always considered Plano products as very good. It was shipped via FedEx with NO outer protection. Was wrapped in cardboard around four sides but the other two sides were unprotected, simply wrapped with two banding straps. One shelf was badly cracked and the package had banged around enough that several of the receivers were misshapen. Since there was not even a layer of plastic, have no idea of whether any of the parts between the shelves had fallen out. I am sure this packaging is fine for store shelves BUT NOT FOR PACKAGE SHIPPING! Returned it to the store and went elsewhere for a product that did not suit my needs as well but certainly is more substantial than this unit appeared to be, even had it not been destroyed in shipment. 08/29/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I ordered two of the two-unit bundles (total of four units, or 20 shelves) and they worked out great. I've got them along one wall of an office room, to hold papers and crafts and miscellaneous household stuff. None of my stuff is very heavy, so I was able to get these instead of the more expensive, heavier-duty options. The fact that multiple units can connect end-to-end is great, though it wouldn't take too much force to pull them apart. I will agree with some other reviewers about the poor packaging -- instead of a box, the shelves are stacked into a cube and then a long cardboard sheet is run along 4 sides and back onto itself, leaving the remaining two sides completely open. I was aware of this before I ordered and I decided to take a chance, and was pleased to find that of the 20 individual shelves I received, only one was cracked. The damage was too minor to do anything about and is cosmetic, not structural, so I just put that shelf on top with the crack in the back and nobody will ever see it. 12/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Damaged I ordered 2 sets as a bundle. The first arrived today damaged. Shelves broken and chipped. I tracked my package because I had ordered the bundle and only received the damaged one. According to tracking records, the second was returned to the shipper because it was damaged? I can only imagine how badly the second one was damaged? If the shelves arrived undamaged, then I would say you pretty much get what you pay for and what I expected for the price. I was looking for a little extra pantry storage. For mostly boxed packaged items this would work fine, maybe a few large bottles of juice etc. I put paper products on the top. I wouldn't store anything large or heavy on anything but the bottom shelf. I keep a case of water there. The problem is more in the way the item is shipped. It came in a cardboard box with no top or bottom. Then wrapped with 2 thin plastic ties around it. Basically opened on 2 sides. Any wonder it arrived damaged? I called walmart.com and they were very apologetic and helpful. I cancelled the second unit shipment and was given a credit to my card. They did offer to have the other shelf picked up but I already have it together and it is usable so I will keep it. So the bottom line is, if you receive it undamaged, it's just ok. You might be better off spending a few more dollars for something sturdier and packaged better. 03/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed A lot of the pieces were broken when delivered. I bought it to organize my garage but will need to find something else. This is not sturdy at all. When you touch it a bit, it seems like it will fall over. I would not reccommend this. Waste of money. 07/09/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Already cracked! Got two of these and when I took the packaging off to set them up one shelf is already cracked. It's useless. 06/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent shelves I bought several of the 2 packs - $44.88. Can't beat that! A few came today and I got them set up so quick. Can't wait for the others. I did have a few cracked shelves, which I will deal with when the rest of my order gets here. I am off to order some more. I have a huge basement and using the shelves for all the grand kids toys. Lots of space between each shelf. I thought a bit too much between shelves, but it actually works better that way for the kids. The first few I put up (only went 4 high) are great, no wobbling at all. I was also able to connect each set which was also easy and works great. The next one I set up was a bit wobbly, but not bad. Not sure if it the bottom shelf or my floor, but once I get the basement dry-walled, I will screw them to the wall (holes are pre-drilled in the back of the shelves) For the price they are fantastic. Not sure how they will work for something heavier such as books, but will try it when my next shipment comes. 11/21/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by An ok product for uncluttering Online price makes it a good value, assembly is fairly easy, an overall good value for the cost. Since these are lightweight shelves, keep within weight restrictions and always put heavier items on the bottom shelves. Note - check item before leaving store I had to return one to the store that was badly damaged, get a refund, then reorder online and wait another week or more for another site to store shipment. 03/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This shelving unit was perfect for my basement. Great unit, simple to put together, material is easy to clean and fits nicely into the limited space in my basement. I can even remove a shelf to fit in another part of my basement with low ceilings. Excellent price, quick delivery for pick-up at store. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very usefull product for storage This product is great for storage & getting things off the floor, away from crawley critters & stuff. I would suggest these to anyone looking for shelving. No painting, rust free and easy to clean. Great price too! 01/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the money I used "Ship to site." They arrived within a few days. One of my shelves were cracked at on of the joints. I put the cracked shelf at the top so it wasn't a big deal. I have these shelves holding many of my tools. I am at the weight limit for all the shelves and it is not sagging at all. Much more sturdy than the aluminum shelving that costs twice as much. I even have a George Forman rotissery that can cook an 18 pound turkey and a Jack LaLane Juicer on the top shelf! 03/17/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by reasonable price for (2) 5-shelves PLano This is my second order in 30 days. The shelves are easy to assemble-- No tools required. Very light. I lined them up along my garage walls-- Not as sturdy as the expensive ones, but great use for large packs of toiletries, wholesale laundry/bath products, windshield car wash etc, garbage bags--a couple case of bottled water, a box with NuWave ;) oven, even a small/personal/office fridge, and a oven roaster, etc. Useful tip: Try to distribute the weights-- Ig, put the heavy ones on the bottom shelf (like paint cans, and those gallon-size detergents --) to provide more stability. Each of the shelves also has pre-drilled holes on the back which you can use to screw/anchor the unit to the wall. I like that it is narrow-enough so as not to obstruct my way around the garage. Reason for 4-star is: Delivery. WHile the packages arrived much earlier than projected-- they came one unit at a time (even when i placed the orders all at once). I must have seen the same delivery guy 3 times today. Morning, afternoon, and night. Can't help to think how easier it could had been if all the same orders arrived at once. 02/13/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buy from store, not online I will be returning these shelves. I received them all scuffed up with marks on them and the holes were beat up. I am not happy with this product. They were either damaged in shipping through fed ex or used and returned and then sold to me. 12/10/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shipping and missing pieces This shelving unit was shipped with all the pieces stacked together with cardboard around the top and ends. Plastic bands held the shelves in place. It was like a box with no sides. The shelves were dusty and the front and backs of the shelves had black marks on them. I don't know why they didn't use a full box. Two of the poles were missing for one of the units. With the way it was packed I could not even put it all back together to return to the store. The one complete unit was easy to put together, but I had to wash it and there are still black marks on the front of the shelves. It serves its purpose as a shelving unit in a child's room. The second unit is only partially useful. It is ridiculous that you have to enter a unique name as a nickname. Some people have the same name. 11/24/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very poor manufacturing quality This unit is exactly the size that I was looking for and the price looked good. But, I got it home and went to build it to find that the plastic injection molding process used was of a very poor quality and it was very difficult to get it squared. I had to bang it around with a rubber mallet to get things to fit properly. Whatever process was used to stamp the plastic shelves didn't work very well. The quality is very uneven and there were plastic remnants that I had to cut off with a box cutter. It's going into a closet where looks don't matter, but overall I'm really disappointed and would not recommend this brand. 12/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great pantry! it says what it does, it does what it says. i have a bunch of pantry stuff on it and no sagging, wavering....nothing! 08/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by saves a large amount of floor space I purchased four of these units for my garage being I just moved. So much fits on the shelves that I was able to eliminate multiple boxes from the floor. The shelves are high enough to fit plastic storage containers to eliminate damage to drapes and bedspread sets. They also make my garage neat and orderly. Wonderful purchase!!! 01/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely love it! I purchased two of these products to help declutter my garage. I thought the price was right. Wow! The box says it takes 2 minutes to assemble, and it really is that simple. I also love the fact that 2 or more units can interlock together. It's a great product for the price, and very study. It totally got the job done on a budget. I am considering purchasing more units so I have ample, yet organized storage space in the garage! 03/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good storage Sturdy enough and what you see is what you get. Very easy to assemble -- which for me is critical. A soft maul is helpful to get the shelve corner openings onto the vertical posts, but otherwise it's a simple and tool free exercise. If you need closet or other storage, this is an outstanding purchase. (The buy two for around $45 offer is a good way to go.) 03/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great shelf! I had wanted one that was a bit longer and wider. But they were almost twice as much. Got this home easy to put together. Put it by the window and loaded the plants on it. Fantastic shelf it exceded my expectations of it. I figured I would get what I paid for and was very surprised I got much more than I paid for. It holds large heavy pots with ease. No movement when you are placing plants. No wiggle once you get a little weight on it. Ofcourse empty anything wiggles. It is also very tall. I wish the shelves were adjustable as I have some taller plants. But for 90% it works great. 11/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by wasted $$'s Not that it cost that much......but its best use will be for the grandchildren to play with. Unless it's meant to hold tissue paper or something that light it will be fairly useless. Also, it was poorly packaged, cracked in a couple of places on arrival. 12/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is so perfect for my slippers and shoes. It is durable. You can put it at the porch. Even if it wets it doesn't rusty. 06/19/2011
  • 2016-03-24 T07:21:15.493-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_401, tr_401
  • loc_en_US, sid_8251817, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 365 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw495
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp