See All Reviews
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 43 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad for thirty bucks “Having air-traveled the last 5 years with only carry-on bags, it's been important to have a capacious and sturdy knapsack that fits my laptop -- inside its own case -- and be stuffed to the max yet still fit inside the typical jet’s overhead compartment. Thus, I scoured the websites looking for a candidate. This one pretty much makes it. Just a couple of nitpiks here. First, those smaller, outer pockets are very valuable to me, for that's where I stick stuff like boarding passes and internet-ticket-purchased receipts, travel itineraries, my checkbooks, passport, etc. So Targus, please use two zippers on the outermost front pocket so I can zip it up from both sides of the bottom, rather than zip from one bottom corner up, around and down to the other bottom corner (that allows too much stuff to fall out of the pocket in the middle of a flight). Second, please make the net overall “cavity width” another 2-3 inches wider because, even fully loaded, that will still fit in the overheads and frankly, space and durability form my bottom line here. I haven't put any "mileage" on this bag yet but it feels sturdy (the one I had was just great but after 10 years of heavy duty travel demands, it understandably started to split around the seams). So, 4 stars, not 5 -- until Targus incorporates my wonderful suggestions. Kudos, btw, to Wal-Mart for publishing user reviews – that drives up to 90% of my decision on whether to buy a given product over another (it’s also why I take the time to send in my review – thanks to all others who participate, just wish we were all “calibrated” because 4 stars from me, for example, may be 3 stars to another, or 5....) 08/22/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect bag for laptops! This bag is perfect for what I needed it for--to lug around a smaller laptop. I actually bought two of these bags (I gave out one as a gift). The bag's outer material is weather resistant, (helps in the rain) and has numerous compartments to store extra items. The best thing about this bag are the straps, which are curved inward to ensure the bag won't slip off your shoulder since most people tend to slip these bags over one shoulder. The actual laptop pouch has adequate cushion to support the unit. For the price, it's well worth it. 03/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect! It was exactly what I need from my work. Needed a bag to keep my laptop dry, pack little electronics, and a few personal items. It carries about 25lbs of stuff .. straps are very comfortable with plenty of padding UNDER the laptop & back area. Zippers are plenty big for large fingers and nice pocket sizes. 04/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 Best Bag Ever This is our 2nd Targus bag. Our first (the same model) was purchased in 2005, but had a slight accident and died (not the bag's fault - it actually held up rather well after getting ran over by a dump truck). Anyway, we bought an HP which was ok, but didnt have the nice quick adjustable straps like the Targus. When we got our 2nd laptop we decided the next bag had to be a Targus. More than plenty of room for cords, laptop, books, food, water bottle etc. Awsome for students or people who work outside. Highly recommended 03/18/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best backpack for the money I took my old Targus backpack for 3 trips to Asia totalling over 3 months of travel. Then I spent 3 more years trudging around San Francisco on the streets and I always had it loaded down. There was not a single tear or hole anywhere on the backpack. It survived some brutal wear and tear. It could have still gone more years, but I was ready for a new one, so I bought another one just like it. 02/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Backpack! I was in the market for a new laptop bag but was getting tired of the shoulder strap bags. A lot of my co workers have backpacks and they all love them. I saw this backpack on clearance and it already had good reviews. It does everything I need it to do and plenty of compartments. 08/05/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A reliable bag up to daily-use I have used a Targus Laptop backpack case for the past 8 years nearly daily for work. This includes commutes by bike, metro, taxi, own car, as well as dozens of carry-on trip onto passenger planes for both work and leisure trips. My Targus bags have served me well. This model was my second one as a warranty replacement for my first. The zipper started to wear after about 4 years on the old one and Targus replaced it with this model and so i have been using this one for the past 4 years. COnvenient pockets, easy to use, reinforces padded straps with loops for external possibilities. I highly recommend this bag! 12/15/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too small This product looks much bigger than it is. When I received it, it was no more than a laptop case with two shoulder straps. If you are only looking for a laptop case, this may be a good value. As a backpack, it did not meet expectations. 12/29/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by TOO Small for price Tha backpack could hardly hold a laptop not mentioning any accerories. To small for what the picture shows 08/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for what i need it for . holds my computer and all my accessories 11/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gift I bought this as a father's day gift and he was absolutely thrilled! He likes the comfort of the straps and all the compartments worked great to put all his computer cables, extra battery, phone, etc. 07/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this backpack My son gets this exact backpack model for school every three years. Yes, you heard correct; this backpack last approx. three school years filled with heavy school books and it is used every day. I would definitely recommend it and happy that I found it for $26.48, far cheaper than paying $70 at Staples for the same exact backpack. Its' durability is awesome and definitely a great steal! 10/30/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Targus 15,4" Groove Backpack It is a great backpack light and has shoulder pads and fit great. the price can't be beat it has a place for everything my laptop and sunglasses. 09/25/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice bag Excellent ! Plenty of cargo space. 09/04/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Groove Backpack Much smaller than pictured. Nice but not worth the money 08/10/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good I like the size and it is comfortable 05/14/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by totally not what I was expecting but happy. It's strong compartments are nice and the bag is a good buy for books and school supplies very happy with it had it for a few weeks will see how it holds up my last bag had a hole from too much stuff this one might last awhile. 02/26/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good size Big bag lots of room seems strong would buy again 02/05/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by comfortable This backpack was very comfortable to use especially because I care many heavy books all day long. Only thing that bothers me is I was told by website it was waterproof and the tag doesn't stay anywhere that this backpack is. 12/09/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value I'm very pleased with this bag. I am converting from a shoulder bag and bought this because the compact size should allow me to place under airline seat and still carry on luggage for overhead. I am slowly figuring out the placement of my regular items to be the most efficient. Access to Passport and travel docs are critical for me. I also will carry business documents and it all is compartmentalizing well, so far. I give it high marks for a bag of this price. Time will tell durability but Targus has a good reputation. 04/11/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by They changed features without changing the name. I love my CVR600, having owned it about 6 years and used it heavily for 4 of those. The zipper finally succumbed to my relentless abuse, and I went shopping for a new one. Found it, bought it, got it, hate it! Look around for old photos of the CVR600, and you'll find a small zippered side compartment on the left, pen-loops inside the rearmost flap, and a mesh sleeve inside the main compartment. Also a belly-strap for long hikes, though I seldom used this. All these features are missing on the new version. Notably, even if your merchant shows photos of the original, they'll probably send you the cost-optimized version. It's still a decent backpack, if you're not attached to those features. I don't feel like paying return shipping so I'll probably pick up a memory-card wallet to replace the missing compartment, rearrange a bit, and make do. 06/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I don't think I will ever need another backpack I have had this backpack now for 6 years, and nothing is even close to breaking or wearing out. This backpack has carried all of my books for school from my freshman year of highshool to, my secend year of college, and it is still like new. The only negative thing about this backpack is that it is not water proof. Targus did not make this backpack to wear out, and I don't see a reason to replace it, but if I ever need a new backpack, I will be looking at this brand first. 01/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I guess I can agree with the comment about the earphone hole, but I've never even thought to use this backpack for listening to my ipod. I have had this backpack since 2004 and love it! The only problem I've had is one of the zipper tabs came off last year (7 years after I purchased it!). I recently acquired another one of these bags and I'm stoked to have one for work and one for the gym. Great bag! 08/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wears like Iron Best backpack I've ever bought. Purchased it back in 2005 and I still use it. Carried books in college, files on business, and then books used in Law School. The bag has worn like it were made of iron. Best backpack I've ever used. Only buy this bag if you want it to last practically for years - if you're the type who likes to buy new bags, this is not the bag for you. 07/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfunctory Replacement This Targus product is a good, not great, replacement for the HP product that I previously owned. Not enthused about this product's overall engineering (earphone hole on top of compartment - rain water leaked into hole). Not as feature-rich as previous HP product that I owned. For example, there is no padlock holes, or other locking mechanism, on computer compartment for added security. Auxiliary compartments are undersized a bit, for my tastes when attempting to carry other books / electronics. 05/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Backpack I've had mine for 6 yeard and it has little to no wear. I'm very hard on my equipment and this bag is really a suprise. For the money you can't go wrong. It's sturdy, well padded, and there isn't a flimsy part about it. Buy it and the next time you see me you'll thank me. 02/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by lasted a long time my school made it mandatory for use to use this backpack in school so we could carry are tablets and i have been using it for 4 years now and it is still going strong buy for heavy loads its not very comfortable. 07/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cheap backpack I carry my 15" Macbook in this backpack and it gets pretty well protected. I am a college student and I have A LOT of books that I have to carry around with me. When I am carrying a full load the backpack gets unmanageably heavy, which is frustrating. Also, the bottom of the back has started to deteriorate and the shoulder straps have started to break. I have had this bag for maybe a year now. This is a good basic backpack if you don't have a lot to carry, but it is a little cheaply made so don't try to carry too much with you. I do like the simple design but the headphone hole is in a really stupid place. They put it in the only place on the backpack where you have to take it off to get to the Ipod. In the side pouch or at the top of the bag would have been a smarter place to put that. Also, the bag isn't really water resistant, so if you get caught in the rain and your electronics are in your backpack...well I hope you said goodbye to them. 11/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great laptop backpack I bought this as a gift for a friend who is a college student. It's great for holding her laptop and other supplies without being too bulky. 01/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's a very nice product The bag is so nice. It is solid, smart, and attractive. Above that, it is pocket friendly. 11/07/2008
  • 2015-11-24 T07:49:17.299-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_8245516, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 38 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.