See All Reviews
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 218 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rock Climbing Mountain We used Site-to-Store service to get our mountain. The box is HUGE! It filled the entire bed of our pick-up and extended past the tail gate. If you do not have a truck to pick this up have it delivered to your house. (The cost for us would have been about $20) These things are definitely necessary for putting this together: - Patience -5 hours (we broke it up in chunks over a couple of days) -Battery operated screw driver (A MUST!) -liquid dish soap The first thing we did that helped was to take all the screws, washers, nuts, and bolts out of the packages and use snack size Ziploc bags labeled with a permanent marker. Use the picture guide, so many of the pieces looked so similar. Make sure to reread the instructions twice and follow them exactly. Make sure to use the liquid dish soap on all of the bolts. Some of them are such a tight fit they need that liquid dish soap to get tightened. On step 20 we had to eliminate the small washer to get the bolt to thread into the nut. (At the advice of Step 2) Their customer service is WONDERFUL so don't hesitate to call and ask them questions or try to get some help. My son loves his mountain! He takes his cars up in the top middle part and plays. It does get a little hot in this Texas heat in the afternoon, but there isn't much that doesn't get hot. He is 4 and struggles to climb the side, but with time he will gain more muscle and be able to climb it. It is nice that he has a good challenge. It is definitely different than any other climber out there. Leave it to Step 2 to come up with a create innovative product! 06/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kids love it! I ordered this "Summit" with free shipping to store- Toys R Us required $150 for shipping. My husband and friend picked it up in our Ford Ranger- Box is huge but they managed with tie-downs. My husband spent most of Saturday putting it together with several breaks. I have a glassed in front porch with an 11' ceiling so we decided to put it up inside since it was close to 100 degrees outside and there it stands in all it's glory. All the kids love it when they come to visit. I'm thinking of leaving it inside until winter is over. It's great! There is like a huge cave at the bottom for "camping." We left the ropes off one end to allow easy access to "the cave. " I kept saying I was going to get them a swingset but I see so many swingsets with no kiddies playing on them. I'm now thinking tree swings. P.S. I try to do most of my shopping at other stores since I am not a fan of huge corporations but sometimes Walmart is the only option. 08/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kids Love it--big and small! This is a video review done by the kids of their Step 2 Skyward Summit (video attached). It has to be one of the coolest toys a kid could own. We got this toy from our Great Grandpa. The toy is meant for kids aged 4-8 (all 4 of our big kids are within that bracket), but we have had older and younger friends over to play and they have all enjoyed our Mountain. Although it's only a few large pieces, it actually took a little more effort to put this together than we had anticipated. It is very difficult to attach the rope ladder. There is no give in the rope, so stretching it is not an option. We ended up removing the bar along the bottom so we could push the plastic a bit to get the rope ladder to attach. After the rope ladder is attached to the blue side pieces, you are supposed to use a couple washers and a long screw to attach the top of the net from the inside by the landing zone to the outside of the green and orange pieces. Even when removing the washers, there just was no way we could get all of the screws in place. We finally gave up after over an hour of trying and let the kids play on it without the rope ladder on one side. The next day, we went to the hardware store and got a longer screw in order to finish the project. One thing I noticed while researching this toy online was that in all of the images, it appears to be a square. The base of the toy is in fact a rectangle. The blue sides are longer than the orange and green ones. Also, in the online images, I couldn't tell that there was the landing zone in the center of the toy. It makes sense to have it there so they don't fall 7 feet down when they go through the hole in the top of the purple part. It's kind of a trampoline-like material. The kids LOVE this toy. They play on it every single day. 05/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps my 3 boys busy for hours!!! My 3 boys love this!!! We got it last week and I was nervous about getting it because sometimes when you order things online they look better in a picture than they do in person. I thought for sure it wasn't going to be as big as it appeared in the pictures but I was wrong my husband is 6 2 and it is talller than him. My boys are having such a great time on it. I have a 2 year old a 3 year old and a 6 year old and they all have fun on it. Plus it I saved $220 ordering it through Walmart instead of Toys R US. 07/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great idea..something different My wife and I were raking our brains tring to find something for our 4 yr olds birthday,(we got him the Jeep Hurrican last yr) and this year we wanted something he could climb and get some exersize with,however our budget didnt allow those swing/clubhouse combo sets,so we kept looking and found this!!We had to order it online and have it shipped to our local Walmart;it arrived sooner than expected,we needed a big truck to get it home,and it took about 2-3 hours to put togther,not easy but not too tough either.Our son was so surprised ,all the kids at the party started climbing it ,everyone loved it.This is well worth the money,and very well built,great value!!! 07/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! My 3 year old son loves it! It is the perfect size for our small backyard. 04/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT LOVE IT..... Bought this for my son's 4th birthday party. It was a huge hit. All the kids just love it. Pretty simple to put together, my husband and father assembled it before the afternoon party. Had never seen one before but I was very impressed with it. Would recommend to anybody with rowdy little boys that love to climb. 09/26/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our 4 1/2 year old loves this thing. I put it together by myself with no problems. It seems very sturdy and I beleive he will out grow it before it wears out. The only thing I do not like about it is that it is not safe for him to climb to the VERY top. After looking at it and reviewing the pictures on the website, I should have relized that he would not be able to climb up and get on top of it safely. The kid in the white shirt on the left in the pictures is as high as is safe. 06/20/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great climber We purchased this climber because of limited space in our backyard. My 4 year old daughter and her cousins absolutely love playing on it. We have had it for only a couple weeks and already I see her confidence and strength grow. It was extremely difficult for us to put together. Not all the washers needed to put parts together were the same size as the pictures the directions say to use which they should have been. There is a bar that is to be screwed in to the bottom pieces the screws must not have been made well because they didn't fit. The holes that needed to be aligned for the top to connect to the bottom did not quite line up. The ropes were just plane difficult to put in all the way around. It too my husband and I over 4 hours to put this thing together. Let's just say it's not going anywhere. There are stakes to pound in the ground so it doesn't move and a great little net right in the middle so kids can sit or stand on it. This thing is huge. We had to take it out of the box to fit it into a Kia Surento and back hatch still didn't close. Overall it's an awesome product to help develop coordination, strength, problem solving, social skills, and overcoming failure. It's a great product. 06/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Step 2 Syward Summit We had been looking at palyground equipment for weeks, pricing kits, pre-made, wood, laminate and metal. Found this by accident on an alternate vendor's site, found the best price here. Had some (minor) difficulties with assembly - I recommend power tools, or it will literally take hours extra - mainly due to inaccurate instructions. Once assembled, it was the most original, durable and WONDERFUL play equipment we have seen. Numerous friends have asked where we found it, as they want one for their children / grandchildren too. Granddaughter has already had many hours of entertainment. Highly recommended. * I do advise (2) people to ease assembly. 04/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE!! Looks awsome and the kids just love it! Also, arrived a week early. Shipping box is VERY large. You may want to have it shipped to your home or a one or two more buddies with a truck or small trailer help you. 03/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love to climb! I recently purchased this for my boy/girl twins 4th birthday and they both love it! Once they mastered climbing it (which only took climbing on it twice) their imaginations kicked it - the flag becomes a checkered flag you have to wave to start the race, the cave becomes a dragon's lair, etc. The directions are clear, although it does take several hours (5-7) to put together. It comes in an extremely large box - so only opt to pick it up from the store if you have a large truck! 05/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was a purchase for my grandchildren. The box it came in was huge, and it took two people to put together. The kids love it. Make sure to put it in soft grass or sand. 03/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Outdoor Climber We have only had this for 2 weeks now, but so far the kids love it. We bought it for our son's 4th birthday and his older (5 1/2 year old) brother loves it also. They have had many friends over to play on it, boys and girls, and all have enjoyed it lots. There is a huge space to hide underneath with different ways to get it, the platform in the middle is large enough for 2-3 small kids, and there are several ways to get to the top. We are definitely glad we purchased this gift. Although it was much more expensive than a typical gift for a 4 year old boy, it was worth every penny and we know we will get years of use out of it. 08/31/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by the kids love it! I'm a mom of three with a home daycare...the kids love this rockwall. They play on it every day. Word of caution, be very careful with the younger ones! They can fall off sides...wall bout 7ft tall. 06/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Christmas Present!! My parents bought this for my boys (ages 2 & 4) and they love it!! We had 4 kids (ages 2-8) playing at once and they had enough room to play. It's a good size, sturdy, & seems like it should last! 12/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by something different I got this for my 3 year old son I thought he would be so excited but he was not, but that has nothing to do with the product. It is exactly what is described. It took 4-5 hours for my husband to put it togehter by himself. In my opinion it is something different and fun for the yard and hope my son grows into it. 04/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by impressive structure My husband was able to put this together alone in a few hours. Our 4 year old son loves it! His grandparents and aunt and uncle think it is just great and how lucky he is to have such a thing in his very own back yard! Eventhough I did think it was rather expensive, I bought it . . . and to see my son smile when he plays is totally worth it. 07/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saftey Instructions The safety instructions is to put this play apparatus on a 20 x 18 ft 9" deep mulch or sand bed. This is extreme instructions for a backyard project and would increase the costs by 150%. Have instructions for the regular backyard with grass ... not concrete. 01/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice addition to a swingset I purchased this rock climbing wall/mountain for my kids for Christmas. I have a swing set/jungle gym set for them already, but wanted to get another thing for them to play with. They were quite excited to see this Christmas morning. I have not used it yet because we have snow on the ground, but will get it set up first thing in the spring. I only gave it 4 stars because I have not used it yet, but I am guessing it would be a 5 if I had it set up. This will give them something else to play on outside which is nice & they love to climb. It is a good size too, not to big to move if needed & yet big enough to have fun with. It showed up with free shipping with the site to store & the employees helped me load it into the bed of my pickup. I am sure my kids are going to love it come spring time. 01/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by They love it My grandsons got this for our backyard, it was pretty easy to put together. This keeps them busy for several hours. 03/02/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Skyward summit Going to be very useful at are daycare kids love it looks awesome well built and will last for many years with kids playing on it and surviving weather conditions 12/29/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by WoW! Most Awesome Activity Toy! This is an amazing backyard outdoor activity! I am home-bound so I can't go anywhere fun with my granddaughter. So she can't wait to come over to my house and climb her little heart out! My husband put the Skyward Summit together in about 3 1/2 hours, alone without help. It isn't difficult, you just need to spend about 30 minutes organizing the screws, bolts and parts into plastic bags first. This will make building the Summit easier. Before you build, plan the space where it will go. We live in Florida so put the Summit in a partially shady area so the plastic wouldn't absorb too much heat from direct sunlight. I haven't had to clean the Summit yet, but I think using a spray bottle with a gentle soapy mixture to spray on the Summit and then rinse off with a hose will do the trick! 09/04/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME for any kid that likes to climb! Very good toy for kids that love to climb. My son got it for his 3rd birthday and he and all his friends love it! Easy to build and my son loved helping me! It is an Awesome Awesome toy! 08/18/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Twin Grandsons Love It Perfect birthday presents for twin grandsons on their 4th Birthday. It was a big hit among all their friends at their party. My husband had no problem in putting this together but it did take 1-1/2 to 2 hours to complete it. I feel this will be with grandsons for several years - they will probably outgrow it first. 06/21/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun All Day Its just another addition to what she already has to keep her active and engaged 06/06/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great activity for our Grandkids This unit is very well built. I assembled it in 3 hours by myself. If you have building or prior assembly skills it can be done by one person. Use the online assembly video, it was very helpful. The old adage of 'a picture is worth a thousand words' is true. I prepared the are of the yard with weed barrio and bark chunks to prevent having weed and grass problems plus give the kids an extra cushion. I used permanent marker and put 'Skull and crossbones' on the flag and named it 'Skull Rock' One piece of advice, I took 20 minutes and sorted out the various sets of bolts, washers, nuts and bagged them by set numbers and bagged the sets by number. Really helped out at the assembly. 05/03/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for little climbers I purchased this product for my toddlers. The suggested age is 4-8 years old. My son and daughter are younger than that, but I could not keep my son from climbing on the furniture. I decided to find something that is designed for climbing. After the hours of frustrating assembly, this product is doing what I wanted it to do. My son no longer climbs on everything all over the furniture in the house. I would not purchase this item as a Christmas gift unless you pre-assemble before Christmas day or plan on spending half of Christmas day assembling this wonderful giant rock. 04/14/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I bought this for my child care center. The kids absolutely love it. The only drawback was that it took a really long time to put together. Not terribly difficult, just time consuming. Well worth it though. 04/12/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for climbers! Our little guy is a climber, so this was absolutely perfect for him! We love it. Very sturdy and safe. It took my husband a couple of hours to put it together, but he said the assembly was relatively easy. Highly recommend! 02/07/2015
  • 2016-03-24 T08:04:24.057-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_218, tr_218
  • loc_en_US, sid_8224273, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 218 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw278
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp