See All Reviews
Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater
Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater
$270.39
List Price: $289.99
You Save: $19.60 (7%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 41 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome, just Awesome I bought this with the idea that it would be nice little Luxury, for us while camping at the races this August. Well, man was I wrong. This unit is just spectacular. We had six people showering once a day for 4 days. 4 days of doing dishes twice a day,(2 wash tubs going at once). All of this was done on the initial charge of the battery, and one propane canister. Unreal!!!!! I love this heater and cannot wait to take it again. The On Demand water heater is a bit "plasticy", but if your careful it should last as long as you want. My only isssue was there is not a shut off for the shower head. You have to completely turn of the heater, which makes for some fun moments when you have soap in your eyes. LOL I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a way to get some hot water while camping 08/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY HELPFUL PRODUCT! We are very very happy with our purchase of HOT WATER ON DEMAND by Coleman. We've been looking at them for some time and shopping around. Then all of a sudden (spur of the moment) we decided we needed it THAT week. We checked Bass Pro (who had in stock) but it was still less expensive for us to purchase from Walmart ONLINE and get delivered on the 1-2 day delivery, Great...thanks Walmart!~ 08/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well and very complete Purchased this unit from Walmart.com for their great price ($196.99 plus free shipping at the time). Read many reviews, and for the most part, it sounded like a good unit to suit my needs as a tent and pop-up camper. Well, after receiving the unit, it lives up to the reviews. Works flawlessly and very quiet. The battery unit holds charge very well and it is nice to see that it comes equipped with the optional 12-volt cord to use in your car cigarette lighter for charging just in case the battery dies off on a camping trip. I know many things Coleman has made in the recent years have not been up to the quality of past items, but this is a high point in quality for them. I also purchased the shower unit and the carry case. The carry case I would recommend to protect the unit and store propane tanks, plus it comes with a water-resistant cover to put over the unit when you set up camp and leave it out overnight. 04/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great replacement for the water heater I have a pop-up camper that has a hot water heater and uses a lot of propane when I use it. I picked this up to warm water for washing dishes, I did not want to use a pan on the fire. Good: Warms fast, runs as much water as you have the fuel for, Charges quick and lasts for a long time (did not drain my unit but went for 6 cycles of 3 gallons each), can go anywhere (just realize it is big, about the size of a sewing machine in a storage case) and weighs a few pounds, has a charger for 110v and 12v car charger, will impress anyone who has not seen one. Cone: size (I did not notice the size in the description), the knob that adjusts the temperature feels like it is ready be break every time I turn it on (I hope it lasts). 06/16/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for cooler climates I purchased this product for camping. I saw it in action and thought it would be a great addition to my camping collection. Well, I deer hunt (tent camping) in the North Georgia mountains in November and December and this product failed miserably. The temperature knob broke (it was cold outside) when I tried to turn it to high heat. I could not use the unit again. I returned it to the store and exchanged it for a new one. The next time I used it, again it was cold outside, the same thing happened again! I was very frustrated and brought it back to the store again. This is a 3 season water heater. Do not rely on it if the temperature drops below 40 degrees. If you need a water heater in colder weather, I would recommend some other water hear (maybe Zodi) where you have no mechanical parts that can break. 11/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than expected! I just bought this and used it for the first time at a horse show where I camped in my horse trailer. I set up a shower in the back and it worked out great. (I also purchased the shower adapter.) I was surprised at how simple it was to set up, then once set up, so simple to use. Just turn in on and you have water. I used mine to wash my face, hands, brush teeth and shower. I was very surprised at how hot the water got. I was about 1/2 to 3/4 on the Warm setting to get a good hot shower. The water pressure on the shower adapter was very good and plenty to rinse all the shampoo from my thick long hair. It uses a lot of water pretty quickly, but I am ok with that because of the water pressure. I used approx. 3-4 gallons for one shower. It was easier for me to simply drop the pump in a 5 gallon bucket. The collapsible bag is good as well because you can get the water heated like a solar bag, which would then mean using less propane to heat it up. 08/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works very well I have used this water heater for the last two summers for our annual camping trip. It works very well. As the other review mentioned, the water pressure is not high, but what do you expect from a portable unit? It heats the water in seconds and we got around 14 showers out of one propane bottle and had propane left. The only suggestion I have is to charge the unit in your car every night whether the low battery light is on or not. The first year I only charged it when it said it needed it and until the green light came back on, but then it would run out of power in the middle of a shower. That did not happen this year charging it every night. 07/06/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by Coleman Water Camping Heater The water heater does heat the water as advertised but the water pressure from the battery powered pump is very very low. I was very disappointed in the water pressure as I wanted to take a shower with the unit (as was mentioned in the ad). It will do what Coleman says it should do but I was not happy with the unit. 04/10/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would buy it again Had the product for a couple of months now, and have to say, It was worth every dime. nothing like a hot shower when the alternative is going without. Some of these reviews say it has weak pressure, but mine is not so bad, I'm 6'1 240 lbs, I can take a 20 minute shower, and its great. Not like home, but hey, better than a heating water over a stove. I have taken 3 showers, and washed dishes with one small propane bottle. I would recommend it to anyone. 10/17/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unit failed on second use I have several of these Water heaters and I use them a lot. I decided it was time to buy a new one as a backup. I tested it when we got it home and it appeared to work as expected. Put in car my son noticed it was leaking propane. When we tried to use it after changing out the propane it would not light. Was on a level surface and we have enough experience with these to do basic troubleshooting. Our experience with these heaters has been good in the past. Guess we just got a bad one this time. Nothing we tried work so we returned it to the local Wal Mart. I did not want to void the warranty by opening it up and looking at the switch that sometimes goes bad and does not detect water movement. We were very happy with the no hassle return process. We had used the site to store shipping. All we had to do was print a return label and drop off at customer service. 05/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met my expectations I actually purchased this to use with my concession cart. It works great and heats the water to Health Dept. requirements. It's easy to use. We also take it camping and it is nice to have hot water to wash our dishes. I would highly recommend this product. 08/16/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely hot water anywhere! I agree that the water pressure doesn't match that of even a low-budget hotel, but hey...you're in the wilderness, right? Rinsing long hair with a bucket of warm water (faster than using the spray nozzle) works perfectly. On the plus side, this thing has worked over and over from horse shows to mountain peaks without a hitch. It is not a substitute for your trusty kettle as the highest setting is great for tea but not hot enough for making drip coffee. However, we set this up on the camp kitchen for easy dish & hand washing then move it over to the shower tent for endless hot water (connected to our big propane tank, there's plenty of hot, not scalding, water for four people to shower). It is an expensive luxury when a really big constantly warmed teakettle would do the same job, but this was a Christmas-present convenience I now wouldn't want to be without. 08/12/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coleman Hot Water Heater Have used these for years on my dive boat. Makes tons of hot water on a can of propane. Great product. 12/23/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hot water is great The Hot water maker runs forever on a single charge and it takes at most 30 seconds to have piping hot water. The down side is that there is not much pressure created by the machine. It just takes a little extra time to fill a dish pan. We had a shower head attachment that would attach to it, but there was not enough pressure to wash off easily. The included 5 gallon container is nice because you can collapse it, which is handy for storing it. 07/30/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenience will cost you... I would recommend this product only IF you connect it to propane tank and a garden water hose. The propane connection does not swivel so threading the cylinder is difficult unless you sit at the same level or squat below the unit. Also, you will be dependent on buying the propane cylinders which have to be properly recycled. A 2 pack of Coleman propane cylinders will cost $5-6 and one cylinder on the hottest temperature setting will pump water for only 20-30 minutes on a fully charged battery. IF order to use a garden hose you will need to buy an accessory part--the Water Hose Adapter ($35-$40) to regulate the flow of water. However, if there is not enough water pressure built up in your water line the HWOD pump will not even turn on. If you need to bathe, then you will need another accessory the shower hand adapter ($25-$35). The 5 foot propane hose tank will cost approximately ($19-$28). It's a good product for short term use and emergencies. The only drawback is you will keep spending money to increase your convenience. Also, you must be discipline enough to recharge it everyday you need to use it frequently. You are buying hardware ONLY, a constant water source, fuel costs and recharging the battery is your responsibility. HOWEVER, does it produce HOT WATER ON DEMAND=YES! 05/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coleman Hot Water On Demand Coleman's HWOD is a can't-do-without product for camping fun. As advertised, it gives you HOT water when and where you need it with NO WAITING. Cleanup was never so easy with this portable water heater that provides gallons of hot water on one small bottle of gas. Love it! 03/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Hot Water On Demand Product lives up to its name! It is big and heavy and I was a bit intimidated, but I followed the instructions for cleaning well before use and am amazed how really easy it is to use. I plan to use with a camping trailer and this will really help with dishes, bathing and hot drinks. Love it! No more waiting for the pot of water to heat. 09/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent For warm outdoor shower Along with a shower tent and accessories to hook the water heater up to a shower hose, this product was perfect for warm showers when our hot water heater went out. The only draw back was the accessory to hook our hose directly up to the heater. We could not get a good seal, but just a large bucket, hose, and product's pump fixed the problem. 07/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product i used a friends and had to have my own. works great, easy to operate, great for camping & when kids play in the mud they can get a shower outside and not track in my house 03/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for quick hot shower its better than I thought...love it 12/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for the sportsman We got this to use while cleaning pheasants outdoors as the water coming from the garden hose is too cold for cleaning birds. It worked great!! We did not have any problems with the unit at all. 11/02/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great buy when going out door . This was a great buy I needed the Coleman hot water on demand , where ever you hot is with you . 07/12/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by unable to get water to heat help 07/18/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice concept...faulty unit Product worked as described. Stopped working after it's first use. I believe the conr knob is faulty, as unit stopped working. Would not charge, ignite, or dispence water. Indicator Light would flicker...that's it!! 06/05/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by provides you with hot/cold or warm water Does as it is advertised, wish the shower hose was longer so it could extend over our shower shelter 05/09/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hot Water On Demand Bought this for camping - have only tested it once (it works) - will have to wait for spring to see if it holds up to normal use. That's the only reason it's rated at 3 stars across the board. Once I'm camping again, it'll get used one weekend/mo. 11/23/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by didn't work right Charged it fully but unit would not operate even though the light showed it was chargers 06/30/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not buy We bought this item and it died on us on the 2nd use. A waste of money. 06/06/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No chargers! Works great but didn't come with either charger! I had to call Coleman and they sent it right out free of charge! 09/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great! Took it camping for 10 days. worked flawless every time. 08/19/2014
  • 2016-03-24 T09:14:14.632-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_41, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_8187723, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 40 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew303
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp