See All Reviews
Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert
Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert
$48.95
List Price: $49.99
You Save: $1.04 (2%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Catfish Killer Overall i would say i am pleased. No longer must you use either a bell (that sometimes doesn't work well enough especially in windy conditions) nor do you have to use the old school method of hanging a bobber from slack in the line. The only other thing that is truely better than the bite alert is a bite sensor (they get really expensive and take some room). Overall i have had overall good luck. First fish landed was a 7 lb channel took him with ease! I have to say catching the smaller scale ones almost seems to take the fight out of them as the open face gear ratios help crank em in. Make sure you preset the bite alert to your comfort zone, this includes the drag setting as well as it does play an instrumental part. The only reason that i didn't give it a better rating is that the factory line that comes on it is really not that great. I would suggest you also pick up some Spectra Stealth or PowerPro for your new reel. As the factory placed string causes some problems. I took a good 50 yrds off of it before using as there was too much already on there (could forsee a tangle as one on the racks was already!) 08/13/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent combo you get your moneys worth for this combo. the first time i used the hawg seeker was in saltwater and we were fishing for 10 to 20 pound barracuda. caught over 10 that day and was impressed by the rod and reels performance. this is an all around fishing rod and i like the price i got it for. 06/29/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rod and reel combo. The second day I had it caught a 25# flathead. Took about 15 minutes to get it in, and was very pleased how the gear held up. 05/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Catch The day I picked up the Hawg Seeker I caught a starry flounder the first time I cast it out. Love this rod as I continue to catch fish with it. 11/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Katmaster This rod combo never has failed me yet.I hardly miss one at night with this assembly. It's worth every penny saved up for it. 02/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for night fishing No longer need previous alerts on rod(flashlight, bell, etc.). I used it almost nightly in the summer time with the smallest of probably 40 fish caught being 4lb and the largest 16lb in swift current. I've not missed a single fish when the sensor goes off. I've recomended this to lift long fishermen and beginners alike. 11/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by the hawg seeker the hawg seeker is a very nice pole and reel for the money i realy like it a lot the only complant is the bait alert which works good but the first night i used it it started to rain and they say the electronics are water resistent my oppion is they should be water proof this is why i didn't give it a full 5 star other than that its great 04/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zebco...excellent as always I have used Zebco reels and rods for more the 27 years and I have never been disappointed in performance ( nor appearance ) . I fish year 'round ...rain sleet snow... and Zebco reels and rods go right along with me everytime . 04/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding For the price, this combo is an outstanding deal. The first fish I caught on this new rig was a 38 pound flathead catfish. Not one issue. I did when I recieved it take off a bit of the line. I could see that there was to much and would cause issues later. But the bite alert worked great. I set both rigs with live perch as bait. Fished all night with just a pen lite. Didnt use the lantern unless I needed a pop out of the cooler :) . When the flat head took and ran with the perch. The bite alert woke me from sleeping in my lawn chair lol. Buy this rig if you like slip floating or fishing with live perch for sure. 07/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Interesting fishing combo This is an interesting fishing combo. At first I couldn't get the bite alarm to work while fishing. No instructions stating that you must REMOVE the green try me button in order to "turn on" the bite alert. So, I found out by accident. I thought the alert was broken as the green button was missing off of one of the poles. (I bought 2 combos) Then I noticed that next to the "try me green button" was "On/Off" switch which you must have "On" in order for the bite alert to work. Over all, I find this combo very interesting and hope it works well for us. 08/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rod and reel I bought this pole a couple of years ago and put 65 pound power pro ive hooked up on 40 pound cats and i am very impressed with how well it handles 07/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fishing Rod and Reel This rod and reel combo is an exceptional fishing pole. I would recommend it to anyone. 05/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great help The fishing pole was for my 12 year old grandson. He has used it twice. Once in the bay and then in the lake. It is too big for perch fishing but great for cat fishing. So far he really likes it. He especially likes the beeper when he has a fish on the line. so all in all he is very satisfied. 07/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got this for son's birthday, and he loves it!!!! Now he likes going fishing. 06/30/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for small fish or large. Get plenty of action no matter what type of fish you hook. 08/27/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money!!! Zebco has a great concept but a poor product. First, the bait alert system is very problematic and once you add water (even the water from line retrieval) causes the system to short out and break permantly. Second, the plastic assembly that connects the reel to the pole breaks under the slightest amont of stress allowing the reel to spin freely around the pole and slide up and down rendering the pole useless. I bought 2 at separate times both broke on their first fishing trip. Stay away from these zebco combos unless only plan to look at it in the rod rack! Walmart is great though, they gave me a refund in case you make the same mistake I did. 05/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can't believe it!!! So i buy this very fishing pole on friday august 6th 2010. The very next day august 7th 2010, I get out to lake erie to use this pole, and the first fish i catch,which was about a 2 lb catfish snaps the pole right in half where the rod tip slides into the pole. so needless to say the very first time using this product and the first fish i caught with it was all it took to snap this pole like a twig. would not recommend this product because even on zebco's web site they dont make replacement tips for these poles. Very disapointed because the bite alert worked great. 08/07/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rod Is nice Reel IS JUNK First time I used this the reel broke.I put a new reel on,not a zebco,and used it several times.The rod handles big fish extremely well and seems to be built fairly well. 06/04/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fishing This fishing setup is really good ive never caught a catfish but i have caught a 30lb yellowfin tuna and alot of 10-15 pound yellowtail i just changed the line to 25lb.But i finally broke the reel last summer.So if u guys are debating on getting this rod i say get it because u can use this setup for fresh and saltwater fishing.Hope this review was helpful. 02/19/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had this rod for about 6yrs now!! I got this rod and reel for a birthday gift 5 years ago. It will be SIX this June. I have caught everything from baby channel cats to monster 50lb flatheads. I fish lakes, rivers, and quarries. Had an issue with the bite alert a couple years ago, turns out batteries don't last forever. I am a distracted fisherman and sometimes I just need a beer. I did change the line finally this year bumped up to 25lb florescent line works great with a black light. All from Walmart. Including the Bud-light. 05/13/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Zebco Hawk Seeker good and bad The rod itself from a scale of 1-10 I would give it about an 8. The Reel, worked well the bite alert came not working, however, I really didn't care as I didn't buy it for that anyway for me, I sort of wish it had worked on my sons pole. However, the line that came on the reel was terrible; don't even bother taking the pole out with that terrible line on it. Take it all off and start over with new line! I have used other med- heavy weight combo’s that weren't quite as heavy by weight as this, as you can really tire yourself out quick with this pole combo as my son and friend did. So just be aware that for younger fishermen who have the skills but not a lot of strength, this may not be the combo for them. I however loved it, just the line I didn't like, but I did not buy it for the line. I think I am just picky about what is on my reel. 06/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Throwing Rig My Husband bought me my first Hawg Seeker for my birthday this year and I loved it but so did my grandson and somehow he has possession of it now so I ordered me a new one. I love Zebco Reels and have been using them for 40 or more years as well as my dad before me. It is a Great Throwing Rig. Thanks Zebco 08/25/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rod / Buy spare tips The rod work pretty good, except for the tip Zebco did a bad job on the tip! What i reccommend is take it to the bait shop and get a better tip! Here's how Listen to me carefully 1. Heat the tip of the rod and the tip comes right off without cutting the ROD!!!!! 2. Select the correct new tip after you take the old tip off first. 3. I used the rod cement. Heat the rod cement apply evenly to the rod , 4. Put the new tip on and align it with the other eyelets on the rod. 5. Let the tip cool and go fish! You should not need to crip the tip. Now i go to sandusk and bring home cooler of catfish , bass and white perch tasty...,, might as well get a electric fillet knife your gonna need it. You will need to take some line off this rod. It would have been nice to get a 2nd spool! 03/05/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by POOR DESIGN I went through several in the store before purchasing the the one which appeared to be the least molested. That unit didn't survive the first cast! The unit is the poorest design I've ever handeled. The only function I found working was the drag, nothing else worked correctly in the field. The cast release button once depressed wouldn't recover due the push pawl sliding past the reel release shaft. I wasn't concerned with the bells and whistles but even these did't function as advertised. Pood material selection also contributes to malfunctions. Another sourse of irritation I don't need in my life and I'll bet you will experiance the same. Good luck with this one...I returned mine! 06/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Patience It Does Work! I just love the Zebco Rhino Rods and Reels, So I read about the Zebco Hawg Seeker with the Bite Alert. Was really anxious to get both closed face and the open face (spin cast & spinning cast) Rod and reels. When I received them from Wal-Mart the Spinning Reel had falling apart while in shipping. I found all the parts and put them together. Both Rods I could tell right away they look like they were built tougher than the Rhino rods. Now comes the not so good part. The bite alert is a very good concept, a great I deal. But I must admit it need just a little bit of tuning on Zebco side. First of all one of the reels when turn on would continuously beep. The other wouldn’t beep at all. The one that wouldn’t beep at, I had to take it apart and fix the switch which was just barely bending the contact above the circuit board. It took a few times but I got it to work Ok. The other one was an easy fix. When I turn it on it would not stop beeping. I found out if you have any tension on the string and the sensitivity set to lite it will beep its little heart out…. I had a hook on the end of the line and had it in the hook holder and the string wound kind of snug, it was just enough tension to set the alarm off. But with all the trouble in the start after I got the bumps smooth out things work fine. On my spin cast reel I ended up taking about 30 feet of line off. It was tangling up inside the reel. Works great now. When you fish with these reels don’t turn on the bite alert until after you cast in the water and things have settle down. On the spinning reel don’t let the bail touch on anything after you cast. If the rod flips upside down and the bail wire is touching the ground or part of a rod holder, the bite alert won’t work real good. The reels spool depends on the movement to set the bite alert off. When you turn on the bite alert it will go through a test with Beeping and the LED’s flashing on and off for bit, if the don’t shut off make sure no tension is on the line. After bite alert is turn on and is working fine just give a lite tug on the line any place and it should set it off, if not adjust it with the lever on the side. 06/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A fishing Rod for years to come I bought this fishing rod back in 12/20/2014 man I tell you it is great! I use it for saltwater fishing, I have caught Reds, Black drums & sting rays with no problem. The reel is great strong and smooth, but the only thing I don't like to much is the bite alert sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't and other times it gets annoying its a good invention but needs some tweaking to better it. Don't buy it just because the bite alert but to have a great looking and durable fishing rod. you wont regret this buy. 03/31/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT VALUE FOR A GREAT COMBO! I actually bought one of these from Cabela's because of the price and I liked the fact that all the rod guides are reinforced. The bite alert is a really nice feature especially if you do alot of night fishin. No more bells jinglin while your reelin in or castin out. The pole is really strong and the reel has strong, fast gearing. The only complaint is the line being overspooled (too much) but its smooth. I've since bought another off of WalMart.com for my dad. Gonna try em out on some monster northern pike soon 07/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by well it seems great for the price, i did not received my order yet to try it out , but many of my friends used it and they said it's exellent,real,and tuff, he said that he catch by mistake a 25 lb shark with it and it was just fine, it managed the weight and the pull just fine ,ofcorce he had to release the shark after stragiling with it for about 40 min to take it out lollllll but he was impressed with it that he went fishing with it everywhere,lakes,open water,sea, here,there.He won't let me even touch it. he said that he will order onother 3 befor theire out of stock,he said too that the line is not that great for big fish , he had to change it all befor he went to fishing, but the rood and the reels are fantastic,Great valueable peace, he make me exited to buy mine, and i did,can't wait to get it. 01/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Zebco Hawg Seeker Only reason i am giving this a low rating is because it was broke when i got it. 02/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great idea, poor implementation This is my second Bite Alert reel, so I do like them despite the problems I've had with them. Zebco has a great idea here, but the quality with which they've implemented the Bite Alert function leaves a whole lot to be desired. It's hit or miss whether you can get the feature to work at all, and when it is working it's touchy. I have the Slab Seeker and now this Hawg Seeker. I like and have no issues with the rods and reels themselves. The mechanism they've employed to provide sensitivity adjustment for the Bite Alert seems to be the source of most of the problems, although I've discovered that the rocker switch on the Hawg Seeker needs a good solid snap to the on position to make contact. Thought the batteries were dead until I discovered this. The sensitivity lever was very rough and non-functional, so I disassembled it and made it worse upon reassembly. After my third try, it now works but only on the highest sensitivity setting. Once the line is set and the switch is powered on, the alarm will sound endlessly until the rotor on the reel is backed off slightly. If I set the line, back off the rotor and then power it on, it will function adequately, with the smallest bite setting it off. The Slab Seeker is only slightly better, allowing a small range of sensitivity adjustment on the high sensitivity end. Useful, barely, but problematic. Very nice to be able to set them and then do other things without bobbers or visual observation. I've landed six channel cats up to 1.5lbs with both rigs so far. 10/20/2010
  • 2016-03-24 T08:49:35.729-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_60, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_8144061, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 57 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw498
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp