Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 322 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Lucky Find This is by far the BEST gate I have come across. It far exceeded my exptectations and was such a great price for what you get. I had already been through the plastic gates that have to be pryed open with a handle and then crammed back into the door frame as well as the wooden accordian gates; neither of which held up against children or pets. I searched for weeks and thought there has got be a 'REAL' gate out there and after reading the reviews for this one, I just had to try it. This gate is made of heavy duty steel with an auto latching behind you. The walk through and style is the highlight. I have this at the top of my steps and feel very safe that it is not going anywhere. Skip the others. This was so worth the money. BTW I set this up myself as a permanent (with the nail options provided) gate since it would be at the top of the steps while my husband was at work. Very easy.. 07/03/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Exactly... We have a LOT of children in our group of friends. We also have a lot of pride in where we live, so keeping the children out of where they are not supposed to be while at the same time going along with our decor was important. This gate is beautiful and matches the rest of our home perfectly. It was nice and tall which was important to me with several toddlers who visit and one of my own. Setting this gate up was a cinch, which excited me. It's durability, however, leaves a lot to be desired. It has an internal spring that auto-closes the gate when you walk through, which is a fantastic feature, however, it broke less than a month into owning the gate, which is pathetic for the cost of this unit. It also has a VERY narrow opening - about 15 inches. If you are even slightly heavyset, DO NOT consider this gate an option. My wife has to go through it sideways and even that is a tight fit for her and not comfortable. Using this at the top of the stairs was impossible because of this problem. Considering it's issues, I would not consider this a very good value nor would I recommend this gate unless you are really skinny and don't mind shutting the gate on your own instead of relying on the automatic closing feature. 07/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this gate! I'm using this gate to keep my 4 large dogs out of my kitchen and living room. It's tall enough that they can't jump over it, but not so tall that it looks like it belongs in a jail. Easy to open with one hand. Springs closed every time, but it took a while to get the adjustments just right. You can use it with or without the hardware to mount it to the side walls (you have to use the hardware on top of stairs for safety reasons.) I'm using it without the hardware and the dogs haven't knocked it over yet. Very easy to set up and comes with three additional panels to use on large openings. I highly recommend this gate. (I just wish that it cost less.) 08/26/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me This gate works well for my stairs. It had extensions that fit together to make the proper width. The picture online and even on the box make the gate appear black, but it is actually a dark brown. 09/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gates I didn't want the normal wooden or plastic gates you see everywhere. I saw these and had to have them. They match the deocr of my home and they are very sturdy. I would have even paid a little more for them if I had seen them in person next to the cheaper plastic gates. I must say though, the babies weren't as excited as me. :-) 11/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than expected I usually don't take the time to write product reviews, but I was so impressed with this product that I decided to write.We have 2 large dogs and one small one and needed a gate to keep them out of certain rooms. I wanted a pressure mounted gate with a door so we could leave it in place yet move it easily to another location. I also needed something that could expand to various sizes and looked stylish. This particular gate fit the bill, but when I saw the $54.00 price I thought it must be poorly made or not look as well as pictured. I was desperate for something so I ordered it anyway. Not only does this gate work great I actually get compliments on it by everyone that comes to my house.It is easy to install and remove and the door in the gate can actually swing both ways which is great. I even imediately bought a second one. Unfortunatley the price went up after Christmas to $64.00 but it is still well worth the price 01/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for pets! I have a pet sitting service and board animals in my home and this gate is perfect! It's very substantial, and even large dogs can't get over the top. I does help if you have 2 people to set it up. 07/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice solid gate. For the price, I was expecting something more flimsy like the last gate I had put at the top of the stairs and the gate door broke. This seems more solid and more stable. The gate is a light brown color, which goes better with our stair railings than the white gate we had previously. Relatively easy to set up; you have to make sure the gate is aligned exactly to make the gate door shuts tight after you open it. It springs back to the shut/locked position if aligned correctly. Keeps both kids and dogs contained, and I like the tall gate height. This spans wide spaces with the extra extensions. We used all three extensions to expand to a space of 45-inches. So far we are a fan; we'll see how long this one will last; I hope longer than the 3 months that my old one lasted. 03/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent I recently purchased 2 of these gates to keep my dog from going into certain areas of my home. They are more convenient than the plain pressure gates without the swinging door. I'm not crazy about the color, its an ugly bronze. I also don't like that the opening is quite small so if I'm carrying anything it is a bit of a struggle to get through. Overall I'm happy with the gates though and they arrived in the condition advertised. 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks like part of the original staircase I saw the gate first at a friends new home. I thought she had the builder make it for her. When she told me she ordered it from Walmart, I ordered one for myself. My husband installed it in less than 1 hour and it looks like an architectural gate rather than a child or pet gate. Everyone that has come into my home since it was installed is very impressed with the looks. As for the safety. It's doing it's job keeping my 14 mth old granddaughter off the stairs. Ours is installed at the bottom of the stairs level with the floor. The gate is very sturdy and easy for us adults to lock and unlock. To me, it's worth the price. 12/19/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Worth the Money It was my first gate i ever put together and after it i never want to do another one. DO NOT BUY this gate if you have trim that does not allow it to lay flat on the floor, because at my house i have a little tiny piece of trim that is preventing me to do so. It was a huge pain the neck just trying get it to work right, or atleast as close to right as i could get. I am not sure if it is the same for all of these gates but at the point where the extention rods go in it is VERY flimsy, mine could be flimsy because the right side sticks off of the ground an eighth of an inch, but still with that being said it doesn't seem like it is that strong of a gate. So long story short, from my experience, dont pay $60 for this gate because it has flaws in it that dont work for every house. 04/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this decorative gate :) Everyone in my family saw the new summer infant decorative tall gate and they all asked where I bought them. I told them..I got them at Walmart. And they all love the look of it. I love it and I made a great decision on buying this instead of the other ones!!! Love it!! 07/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like the fact that I can pressure mount OR permanantly mount this gate. My 2 yr old is very strong and I worry that he will push his way through any pressure mounted gate. I also like that this gate swings open both ways OR you can put the catch mechanism on that allows it to only open one way... excellent for the top/bottom of stairs. And that it will latch if left to swing closed... although only from a wide enough distance. It's easy to open one-handed and as long as my 2 yr old doesn't see exactly how we do it... we should be okay for a while yet. The one concern that I have is regarding the height of the bottom. The first couple of nights I checked on my son, I tripped over the gate bottom. For those who use the gate, it won't take long to adjust to stepping over it, but I worry about guests. 04/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price I am very happy with this gate. I works great once it's adjusted properly. It is nice that it's taller than most gates too, so it will be a while before my climber can get over it. Would definetly recommend this! 03/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Very sturdy and easy to install. I like it being higher than most. 03/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best gate I've found Fantastic gate. Definitely serves its purpose. I have two.. One at the top of my stairs installed against a wall and the banister. The other between two walls in a hallway. Average install. One gate's hinge got damaged due to it being "hyperextended." I called the company and they shipped me a new gate... had it in a week. 02/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this gate! We bought this gate to keep our small dogs in the kitchen and out of the rest of the house. It is a very pretty modern gate, it does not look cheap at all especially when compared to the price. Our 4lb dog can climb through the bottom holes, I would say a dog over 6-7 lbs could not as she really squeezes to get through it but a little mesh would fix that. It is very easy to open even with one hand. My only complaint is we have a hard time getting it exactly straight but when you buy a pressure mounted gate I think that's the normal. Love this gate!! 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best safety gate I have ever purchased. Very sturdy and decrative. The gate also came with extra extensions to accomodate varius size openings. Love it! 11/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this gate to keep my 2 dogs off my new carpet in my livingroom. The opening between the kitchen and livingroom is 48" and I think that's the widest opening for this gate and it fits perfect. The gate looks great and is very sturdy and can be opened with 1 hand. Love the fact it closes by itself so I never have to worry if the kids remembered to shut the gate. I highly recommend this gate and it's well worth the money! 11/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Gate I ordered this gate after using and reviewing several others. I had tried another gate from a different manufacturer and although it was for wider spaces the gate did not fit properly. This gate was a perfect fit using both of the included extensions for a 46 1/2 in wide opening. It is made very well and it is extremely sturdy. We have not had any problems with our three boys (ages 5, 3, and 1) who insist on hanging on it and attempting to open it. I used the pressure mount option since it is set between a wall and the end of our kitchen cabinets and I didn't care to drill holes in either. I did use cabinet liner cut to fit the round ends on the pressure mounts to help with slipping and after about a weeks use the gate is still in the same place with no movement. The opening mechanism did take a bit to get used to and the pressure on the ends did have to be just right to get it to open and close properly but it isn't a problem to open it one handed. It is an automatic close gate and while it does work most of the time there are moments when it doesn't close completely by itself. This isn't a big deal for us since we are using the gate in the opening from the kitchen to the living area which is a high traffic area for us. The color is much nicer than I had anticipated, a darker rustic brown, and it goes great with our decor. I love that it is more decorative than many other baby gates and is still at a very reasonable price. All in all, this is a wonderful product and I would definitely recommend it! 05/28/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Although I think the gate itself is fine, (I like the decorative aspect and the way it is 'supposed' to function), it came broken, therefore was unusable. The broken part was the bottom hinge... the plastic was completely cracked in half, therefore the gate was only hanging and attached to the top hinge... by a thread might I mention. However, what the worst part about it was that when I called the Summer Co. customer service line, they apparently don't carry that particular replacement part. Therefore I have to disassemble the entire gate and extensions, repackage it, drive it back to Walmart for return, re-order online and again wait for it to be shipped/delivered. Ugh!!! This has turned out to be quite a pain in the rear, very frustrating and time consuming. It would have been much more convenient had the company been able to simply ship out a replacement part, then I could quickly swap it out and be done with the whole ordeal. 02/10/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fit Issues, Self-closing issues I initally bought this gate for the opening between my living room and kitchen. It's 37" wide with baseboards along the bottom making it 36" wide there. The instructions called for a different extension setup for a 36" opening and a 36.5" or larger opening so I was unable to make it fit. If I would have mounted it above the baseboard the bar along the bottom would have been quite a tripping hazard. I still liked the look so I then tried to use it at the top of my stairs. I was able to get a good fit, but after trying to use it for a short period of time we decided to return it for 2 reasons. The door opening is rather narrow. We're not large people, but the whole point of buying a visually attractive gate was to use it in a high traffic area and we weren't sure we wanted to deal with that hassle. The other problem we had was with the self-closing mechanism. I worked for the most part, but if you passed through too quickly and let the gate slam behind you, it would swing past the latch and then not have enough force to swing back, so it would not be latched. Again not a huge issue, but we didn't know if we wanted to deal with having to be particular with the way you close it. Overall not a bad gate, but we purchased another (although less attractive) extra-tall gate from walmart at the same time and didn't have the above issues with that one, so decided to return this one. 09/02/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good gate for stairways with molding This gate will not work for stairways that have molding. After 3 hours of struggling with the set up of the gate, we realize that the molding on our stairway was going to prevent the gate from working properly. We were never able to set up the gate. 03/21/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not auto-closing This gate looks great, but it is not auto-closing. To get it to auto-close you have to let it slam which knocks it off balance and then it won't close right at all. If you close it manually while pulling-up it's okay. I was dissapointed because I wanted an auto-closing gate, but I guess anything that is just wedged between walls is not going to be auto-closing, for the slamming will always make it shift. 08/10/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by GATE REVIEW IT WAS LOUSY! DID NOT WORK! 10/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by WE LOVE THIS GATE! We have two on our stairs. They are easy to install, super durable, and nice looking! After trying three other gates, this one blows the competition away. Tip: If pressure mounting, do so on a stud or install a temporary wood mounting panel. We pressure mounted a hole in our wall inadvertently. :/ 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Bought this item to keep our large dog off of our deck! Needed a taller gate. Works like a charm! Put together in minutes.. Well made product.. Great value. Love it!! 10/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great baby gates great baby gates, very sturdy, function is smooth and safe, we have bought four of these for our grandchildren. would recommend to anyone. very good price on-line. 09/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great gate for the money. good color and style. would have liked the gate to be a little wider... if i have a clothes basket or suitcase, you have to be careful going thru the gate. but overall it is nice and maintains the decor in my home... same one at JCPenneys was $125... 09/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to install The only fault with this gate is that it only swings in one direction. 08/13/2012
1-30 of 283 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw290
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp