Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 565 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Lucky Find This is by far the BEST gate I have come across. It far exceeded my exptectations and was such a great price for what you get. I had already been through the plastic gates that have to be pryed open with a handle and then crammed back into the door frame as well as the wooden accordian gates; neither of which held up against children or pets. I searched for weeks and thought there has got be a 'REAL' gate out there and after reading the reviews for this one, I just had to try it. This gate is made of heavy duty steel with an auto latching behind you. The walk through and style is the highlight. I have this at the top of my steps and feel very safe that it is not going anywhere. Skip the others. This was so worth the money. BTW I set this up myself as a permanent (with the nail options provided) gate since it would be at the top of the steps while my husband was at work. Very easy.. 07/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this gate! I'm using this gate to keep my 4 large dogs out of my kitchen and living room. It's tall enough that they can't jump over it, but not so tall that it looks like it belongs in a jail. Easy to open with one hand. Springs closed every time, but it took a while to get the adjustments just right. You can use it with or without the hardware to mount it to the side walls (you have to use the hardware on top of stairs for safety reasons.) I'm using it without the hardware and the dogs haven't knocked it over yet. Very easy to set up and comes with three additional panels to use on large openings. I highly recommend this gate. (I just wish that it cost less.) 08/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have!!! We have 2 small dogs that have been able to get through or over every baracade we have ever set up. We had originally bought the basic child gate to keep them from going upstairs or into rooms they were not suppose to be, but some how they were still able to jump over that. We then decided to get this gate based on it's hieght and price and found it to be more than we could hope for. It is easy to set up, looks great, and the bars are close enough together that my 8lbs dogs can't squeeze through. Also with be being in property managment I have recommended it to all my residents because it doesn't require screws to mount so it doesn't damage the walls, and it is tall enough that small children cannot climb over it. You also don't have to worry about it fitting in your extra wide entry ways because it comes with extra extentions too! You MUST buy this today! 02/07/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Exactly... We have a LOT of children in our group of friends. We also have a lot of pride in where we live, so keeping the children out of where they are not supposed to be while at the same time going along with our decor was important. This gate is beautiful and matches the rest of our home perfectly. It was nice and tall which was important to me with several toddlers who visit and one of my own. Setting this gate up was a cinch, which excited me. It's durability, however, leaves a lot to be desired. It has an internal spring that auto-closes the gate when you walk through, which is a fantastic feature, however, it broke less than a month into owning the gate, which is pathetic for the cost of this unit. It also has a VERY narrow opening - about 15 inches. If you are even slightly heavyset, DO NOT consider this gate an option. My wife has to go through it sideways and even that is a tight fit for her and not comfortable. Using this at the top of the stairs was impossible because of this problem. Considering it's issues, I would not consider this a very good value nor would I recommend this gate unless you are really skinny and don't mind shutting the gate on your own instead of relying on the automatic closing feature. 07/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Gate This gate was easy to install. I bought it to keep my small dog from going upstairs. It works well for my 3 year old as well. It opens easily with one hand and swings shut behind you. We currently have it only pressure mounted and my son can not knock it down. This gate is a great buy an well worth the money. 11/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to install and sturdy (well built) I generally don't write reviews because I am downright lazy. I do benefit from other peoples reviews and thought that this product warranted one. I had to purchase two gates for two staircases in my home. I first bought two Munchkin gates from Target and one did not fit the span so I returned it. The other was difficult to assemble and is not very sturdy (see picture). Subsequently, I purchased the Summer Infant gate and am very satisfied with it. The assembly and install was seamless and it feels much sturdier that the Munchkin gate. If it wasn't for the hefty price tag of the gates, I would discard the Munchkin (I threw out the box and additional parts after installing it) and buy another Summer Infant. Good luck 08/30/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me This gate works well for my stairs. It had extensions that fit together to make the proper width. The picture online and even on the box make the gate appear black, but it is actually a dark brown. 09/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! Not what we expected! This is a great gate! We got the gate to keep our 9 1/2 month old in our living room and kitchen area during the day. It works great for that, but it also keeps our dogs out of the kitchen too! Great product for your moneys worth. It's nice too that is comes with extra extensions! Some of the other gates you had to buy the extensions. The gate does come warped, but it's made to be that way! It tells you right on the gate. Once it is properly installed the gate is straight. Also the latch will work depending on if the gate has too much tension or not. Adjust and it works great! The gate does swing closed on its own as long as you open it wide enough. If you don't open it wide enough it wont shut and lock all the way every time. Very strong too! Our daughter climbs on it, bangs on it, and hangs on it and it doesn't budge! I would recommend this gate to everyone who is looking for a great baby gate for a decent price. 03/22/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gates I didn't want the normal wooden or plastic gates you see everywhere. I saw these and had to have them. They match the deocr of my home and they are very sturdy. I would have even paid a little more for them if I had seen them in person next to the cheaper plastic gates. I must say though, the babies weren't as excited as me. :-) 11/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than expected I usually don't take the time to write product reviews, but I was so impressed with this product that I decided to write.We have 2 large dogs and one small one and needed a gate to keep them out of certain rooms. I wanted a pressure mounted gate with a door so we could leave it in place yet move it easily to another location. I also needed something that could expand to various sizes and looked stylish. This particular gate fit the bill, but when I saw the $54.00 price I thought it must be poorly made or not look as well as pictured. I was desperate for something so I ordered it anyway. Not only does this gate work great I actually get compliments on it by everyone that comes to my house.It is easy to install and remove and the door in the gate can actually swing both ways which is great. I even imediately bought a second one. Unfortunatley the price went up after Christmas to $64.00 but it is still well worth the price 01/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid construction, durable metal Purchased this gate for the office of Nwplaza Antique Coin Buyers. The height of this gate was the original appeal, however the hardware and material used are durable and certainly designed to last. 06/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice solid gate. For the price, I was expecting something more flimsy like the last gate I had put at the top of the stairs and the gate door broke. This seems more solid and more stable. The gate is a light brown color, which goes better with our stair railings than the white gate we had previously. Relatively easy to set up; you have to make sure the gate is aligned exactly to make the gate door shuts tight after you open it. It springs back to the shut/locked position if aligned correctly. Keeps both kids and dogs contained, and I like the tall gate height. This spans wide spaces with the extra extensions. We used all three extensions to expand to a space of 45-inches. So far we are a fan; we'll see how long this one will last; I hope longer than the 3 months that my old one lasted. 03/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like this gate, but had some problems Great gate, now that it's installed. Installation was a problem--not because of the gate but because I live in an older home with uneven floors and door frame--even tho it didn't look uneven. I had to add a 1 x 2 board on each side of the molding to make it fit. Once installed, it is great. Easy to operate once you remember to first push the thumb release, then lift the gate, then push one direction only. You can remove the stopper that keeps the gate from swinging both ways, but we left it on. Sometimes takes me 2 hands to open. Would be hard to open if carrying a baby or basket of wash. Also, it is a narrow opening. Many of my friends have to go a little sideways to get in (actual opening is only 18" wide). Attractive color and shape. 02/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for pets! I have a pet sitting service and board animals in my home and this gate is perfect! It's very substantial, and even large dogs can't get over the top. I does help if you have 2 people to set it up. 07/24/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent I recently purchased 2 of these gates to keep my dog from going into certain areas of my home. They are more convenient than the plain pressure gates without the swinging door. I'm not crazy about the color, its an ugly bronze. I also don't like that the opening is quite small so if I'm carrying anything it is a bit of a struggle to get through. Overall I'm happy with the gates though and they arrived in the condition advertised. 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it, however....... I purchased this item to keep my dog out of the living room/dining room and away from the front door - she is quite the little escape artist! It looks nice, it's sturdy, easy to use and the self closing feature works well for us. The only problem we have had is that the actual opening is somewhat narrow and could be an issue for some larger folks. 03/27/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the extra money We bought two of these gates for our kitchen entries to keep the pets out of the kitchen and were hoping to use them to keep our future baby out when that time came (I'm 7 months pregnant). At first they were great; stylish, tall enough that the cat can't jump over, easy to operate... but then after about 4 weeks of high traffic use the "auto close" feature quit working and the gate would just hit the side and bounce back open, which stinks, but you can just close it by hand, so no big deal. Well about 2 weeks after that the sliding piece on the top that you are supposed to slide over before lifting the gate to open doesn't work... you don't have to even touch it to open the gate, just lift and the gate swings open. Even the gate on the other side of the kitchen that doesn't get nearly as much use did the same thing after a couple more weeks. Not worth the extra money if it's not going to even last more than 2 months! If we had kept the boxes, these would be going back to the store! 03/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Dog Gate! I purchased this gate because I have two Great Danes and want to keep them from entering certain rooms. They jumped over and/or knocked down traditional types of gates with ease, so we were looking for something more substantial. I cannot say enough good things about this gate. The height is wonderful, it is very attractive looking, it is easily installed without harm to your home, it is easy to operate with one hand, the self-closing feature works great (sometimes you have to make a few adjustments for this to work correctly), it is sturdy, economical…and just plain wonderful! It is so wonderful for all these reasons that I purchased a second one. This gate is worth every penny. I am very pleased with my purchase and would recommend this gate to anyone. 05/12/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only half works. I've had this gate for just over two months and the spring inside the gate that makes the door swing closed broke. It swings closed one way but not the other. Paid way to much money for it to break after only two months. 04/30/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Made a video for you to see the gate in action See the video I made here to see baby and gate in action: https://youtu.be/mfvaSvlc9N4 Pros: 1. Walk thru gate 2. Extra tall 3. Sturdy 4. Definitely stylish, looks nice in home 5. Option to use hardware mounts for stairs 6. Easy to install 7. Easy to use (slide release button, lift gate, and open) Cons: 1. Limited walk way use because gate is not very wide, had to purchase extra long gates for other entryways 2. Baby (8.5 months) likes to pull himself up with the gate. Sometimes he slides down and he still holds on. I'm worried he might twist is arm/wrist while it's caught in the gaps. Also, baby has often banged his head on the metal gates while slipping from falls, etc. 04/16/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Toddler proof It was easy to remove from the package, put together and adjust. I used the gate in the 36 inch opening between my kitchen and living room using one small extension. My 18 month old has climbed up on it, pulled on it and attempted to open it without any affect on the gate other than his own annoyance and frustration. Good product with solid construction and materials. 02/02/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by keep 'm in. Easy to assemble and use. we like the ease of the "pass through". 01/24/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job. Solid construction and easy to install. Wall attachment could be modified so it doesn't slip when placing temporarily on painted walls. 01/20/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value I love this gate. Not only does it install easily and look nice, but it will hold up. This is the third gate I bought to keep my Lab/Border Collie contained in "his area" when he is unsupervised. If I do not do that, I might find all sorts of things chewed, including plants murdered. The first gate I bought was an expensive wood gate from one of the dog catalogs. But it was not adjustable to the specific door opening, so I had to reinforce it with chairs. Also, my Lab/Border Collie chewed it up and destroyed it. Waste of money. The second gate I bought was an Evenflo Position & Lock Tall Wood Gate for $19. That lasted for a few weeks before the dog chewed that one up too. So anyone buying a gate, I recommend just ponying up for this one from the get go. It should be your first and last gate. Made of metal, my dog will not be able to chew this one. 03/17/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Looks great, but. . . . This gate looks really nice-- it's a great color and I love that it's made of metal. But as soon as we tried to tighten the tension on the wall mounts, they stripped out. We're guessing it was because the bolts are metal while the part they screwed into on the gate is plastic. Luckily we could still utilize the gate in our doorway by adding on one of the expansion sections, but I definitely would never buy this gate again. Because we were not able to tighten the tension on our gate, it doesn't close correctly and won't stay shut (since it isn't square), so my husband had to modify it with an extra gate latch. Thankfully he's handy, so he got it to work well enough! 12/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like the fact that I can pressure mount OR permanantly mount this gate. My 2 yr old is very strong and I worry that he will push his way through any pressure mounted gate. I also like that this gate swings open both ways OR you can put the catch mechanism on that allows it to only open one way... excellent for the top/bottom of stairs. And that it will latch if left to swing closed... although only from a wide enough distance. It's easy to open one-handed and as long as my 2 yr old doesn't see exactly how we do it... we should be okay for a while yet. The one concern that I have is regarding the height of the bottom. The first couple of nights I checked on my son, I tripped over the gate bottom. For those who use the gate, it won't take long to adjust to stepping over it, but I worry about guests. 04/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this gate! We bought this gate to keep our small dogs in the kitchen and out of the rest of the house. It is a very pretty modern gate, it does not look cheap at all especially when compared to the price. Our 4lb dog can climb through the bottom holes, I would say a dog over 6-7 lbs could not as she really squeezes to get through it but a little mesh would fix that. It is very easy to open even with one hand. My only complaint is we have a hard time getting it exactly straight but when you buy a pressure mounted gate I think that's the normal. Love this gate!! 12/18/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Pretty. But... This is one of the best looking we have found under $100. My wife likes the looks very much. But. As hard as I try, I can not get the auto-close mechanism to function properly when the tension is set to the designed tension. Yes, we used the wrench on the bottom tensioners. The gate bottom member bows up at the bottom as you increase the tension of the upper screw mounts to align the top of the gate with the top of the frame. Because the bottom lifts up, the bottom lock mechanism fails to push up and lock in the hole. It works fine with low upper tension, but then the upper lock mechanism doesn't work. For our dogs, this is not a problem, would be with children. After less than 3 months of use, the internal springs in the door have "broken" and the gate does not automatically swing close in either direction. Having said that, it is an attractive gate, the lock mechanism works if you lift up the gate to lock it (you already must lift to open the gate when it is working properly anyhow). A little inconvenience but it works. The color is NOT black, but a bronze-like color. A pleasant color. I bought another summer gate (an attractive wood gate) from Shopko. It seems this gate, though has same open/shut mechanism seems to work a little better. An inclined plane on the bottom would probably do the job (hint hint Summer). 04/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great gate! I purchased this gate to keep our two 5lb miniature pinschers enclosed in our outer kitchen. I had previously purchased a higher priced gate at Petsmart, but returned it because they could escape at the ends and it looked horrible. This gate is wonderful! Not only does it keep our dogs safe while we are at work, but it is very stylish (I have received many compliments about it). It was very easy to put together & it stands up to our grandsons pulling/trying to climb on it when they come to visit. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. 03/18/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Words cannot express how angry this gate makes me I have a 16 month old boy who is on the move like you wouldn't believe and an old german shepherd who attempts to jump standard gates and hurts himself. When I saw this tall gate it seemed perfect for my situation so i ordered it right away. First let me say the shipping was extremely slow, it took 9 days to reach me and by the time it got here I needed it very badly. We had been able to contain my son to the livingroom using our ottoman but about 5 days before the gate arrived he learned to climb over. So while I waited and waited for the gate to arrive I struggled with my son, constantly battling him to stay on one side of the footstool (we have not baby proofed the rest of the house yet, it's a work in progress). Well the gate arrived today and I sat on the kitchen floor and got right to work. Well to my dismay one of the tension rod holes on the gate was too large and the bolt just went all the way in and wouldn't scew into place to allow for any tension. So the gate is completely useless because it won't lock into place. I'm so angry right now i could just scream.... I'm taking it back to walmart tonight. 06/20/2014
  • 2016-03-24 T08:13:01.516-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_565, tr_565
  • loc_en_US, sid_7941650, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 508 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw276
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp