Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 50 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love love love this machine! I was nothing but frustrated by the Brother SE270 I had gotten so I returned it and got this Singer Futura Sewing and Embroidery machine. That was a smart move. Although this machine took a week of getting used to its personality, now that I know it better I just love it. It's sewing function is wonderful. I love the many decorative stitches and the included feet are all that I need to do just about anything. The threading is easy and it has an automatic threader which is okay but I tend to just do it the old way. I swear this machine would sew through concrete is you could figure out how to get it under the presser foot!!! I easily sewed through heavy denim seams with out a bit of trouble and the next day I sewed a nylon curtain with no trouble either. Until now ( past 40 some years ) I had sewn on regular mechanical machines but the computerization of this machine makes everything so easy! The embroidery function is a dream. The software it comes with is enough to get you started with the included patterns and since the machine attaches to the computer the number of patterns available are limitless because of the Web. I have made embroidered dish towels for all my friends and am starting on monogramed bath towels next. I can't wait to do baby bibs and stuff like that either. One thing I diid find is that you need to buy the polyester embroidery thread if you use it on things that may be washed often because it is colorfast. I just love this machine and I think that what you get for the price is amazing. Most embroidery machines of this quality are in the thousands of dollars. You must have it connected to a computer in order to be able to use the embroidery function but even if you have to buy a cheap laptop to use for this it still comes out less expensive than the other embroidery machines on the market that have the computers built in. There is so much help out on the web so that if any problems pop up you can get an answer quickly and easily frm either them or Singer customer service which is excellent. I highly recommend this machine to anyone who is thinking of getting a combo sewing/embroidery machine. 03/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great sooo far! This machine was actually a Christmas present for me. I had a brother SE-270d which I loved by the way and decided to upgrade. The machine is a lot different than the brother but the Stitch quality is amazing. Once I figured out how to thread it right (because the brother spoiled me) operation was a snap. I thought that I wouldn't like not having a screen on the machine but seeing it on the computer is sooo much nicer. The bigger hoop was also a BIG plus for this machine. I Luv it! 01/24/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very user friendly!! I have had my machine for a few months now. I did not know anything about embroidery when I started. I took it out of the box set it up and have been going ever since. I only have one complaint. The large hoop is only 4 1/2 x 6 3/4. I wish it was a true 5 x 7 or 6 x 10. Here is a project I did with my machine. It took 5 hoopings and then I had to sew it together. 12/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Sewing/Embroidery Machine This machine is terrific! Yes, I received the constant beeps in the beginning because the machine was threaded incorrectly. You just have to pay attention to detail. The embroidery unit is wonderful. There are many steps but you get used to it as you become familiar with the machine. this is a good machine and I'm very satisfied. Great value! 06/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth Every Penny! This product replaced a 1960 Singer sewing machine. I had much trouble using that machine as I am not an experienced sewer. With the Singer Futura, you don't have to be. I have only used it to sew with, but the ease of threading and sewing and choosing stitches was great! Instructions were easy to follow. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. I am thinking about getting one for my daughter who has never used one. I have that much confidence that anyone can use it. 04/26/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by embroidery part doesnt work I bought this machine to get embroidery capabilities for under a thousand dollars. I knew I wouldn't get the durability of a Viking, but I wasn't planning on using it every day. But, I was planning on using it once in a while, and I never got it to work. I took it to the regional Singer repair shop, where I learned the embroidery part is very difficult to get to work and even more difficult to keep working. They did help me to get the sewing part to work. You have to pull up on the thread under the u-shaped path (before the part that goes up and down) until it clicks. Nowhere in the directions does it mention this; you are just supposed to know. I've used many machines before, but never a Singer, so I didn't know. Well, with that part down, I took it home to try out the embroidery attachment. No luck. Mechanically it seems ok, but the electronics wouldn't allow it to stitch a thing or even connect to the computer. Yes, I tried different USB cables. I returned it to WalMart, and they took it back, which I appreciate. But I wouldn't recommend any of the Singer embroidery machines. The people at the repair shop said all the models have the same problem and they haven't been able to solve it. 02/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth Sewing! I have had the machine for only several weeks but it sews like a dream! It's very smooth and easy to operate. I have used the same machine for 35+ years and have been babying it for the last 10. I finally broke down and decided to get a new one. Since I learned to sew on a Singer, I've always wanted one and decided a long time ago that when I got a new one, it would be a Singer. So far I'm not disappointed. It is a very smooth sewing machine. I should have gotten one before I now, it would have made sewing much easier. 01/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value! I bought this for at home projects! Seems like everyone wants me to embroider something for them! It's so easy to use once you take the time to get to know your way around the software. I had to buy Auto punch, but once I did THIS MACHINE IS AMAZING! Basically any picture you have saved can be turned into a project! Your options aren't limited! Get this machine! You will not be disappointed! 10/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great machine for the price I have had and used this machine for 3 yrs now. It is a great sewing machine as well as BEGINNER embroidery machine. It's great for those who are just starting out embroidering and wanting to learn how to get started. The only problem I have had is the bobbin thread sometimes gets tangled. But, in the 3 yrs I've had it that has happened maybe 4 times. The only main con about the machine is the embroidery field size, but for a beginner it's fine. I'm glad I purchased it and would do it again. 09/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Am enjoying very much I am totally new to home embroidery and I spent over two months researching and comparing different brands. When it came down to it, the price and the capabilities were what I needed in the Futura. The only thing I would like is to have the auto digitizing software but I could not afford it right now. I look to purchase it in the near future. I have been learning from mistakes. But the machine is very forgiving and helps to prevent more mishaps. For instance I was checking the bobbin yesterday and I forgot to replace the clear plastic cover and when I started sowing my upper thread got all tangled in the bottom. But fortunately, the machine would not let it continue for long. This software that comes with the Futura does not have much to do other than resizing and moving the design around. YOu definitely have to have a program to edit the design at all. I am currently using Sierra's Stitch Era Universal because it is a free program. But it is limited in what it can do. These things probably won't be a concern to anyone who does not care to make any changes to their designs. Good Luck. 02/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun and enjoyable machine I've only had my Futura for a few weeks, but have found it very easy to use. I watched the videos and read the guide before using it. I had read many reviews before my purchase and noticed that if it wasn't threaded correctly it would beep, so when that happened to me it was easy to find and correct the problem. I have sewn through very fine fabric and through several layers of heavy material and the stitches come out beautifully on everything. The embroidery attachment is easy to use and the stitch quality is great. Highy recommend this machine. 02/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 a good product First of all, let me start by saying that i am a beginner at embroidery. I bought this machine for myself to learn. My wife has two of the brother se-350 embroidery machines which she enjoys. After I learned the proper way to thread this machine( the manual lacks a little bit sometimes it seems) from viewing the on-line videos at the singer site, i have gotten pretty good with this machine. I have also had to learn about tension and exactly what that word means to the embroidery industry, and now I have gotten pretty good with this machine. I had a little bit of trouble getting the software to interface with the machine. I had to go get a "CLEM" driver from the internet for my XP machine to help the computer connect to the ce-150 and to function properly. Other than those small little issues mentioned above, which I chalk up to just being a newbie and very much being a beginner at this sort of thing, I have spent many wonderful hours with my singer doing little projects with my wife. She has the 4x4 hoop and mine has a 5x7 hoop so I do the things that she can't do in 5x7 hoop for her. well, happy embroiderying to all. 08/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Use, Very efficient The sewing machine portion of this machine is wonderful! It comes with plenty of stitches for general household use. Changing the presser foot is easy and the directions and tutorials are extrememly useful. The embroidery portion of the machine definitely takes some practice, but it is easy enough for a beginner with practice. It's not necessarily the machine that needs practice, but the computer software. It would also be nice for a little more instruction for using the software, but I was able to find helpful information on the internet. Overall, I would recommend this product and it definitely serves its purpose well. Definitely want to buy your own embroidery scissors even though it comes with some. They aren't sharp enough to do what I need. 02/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great buy This machine was super easy to get started embroidering on for a beginner! I would suggest reading BOTH the quick start and the manual BEFORE you embroider. There are important facts that must be addressed that are not mentioned in the quick start manual only. The software was easy to install and very simple to follow. I was able to monogram towels the 1st day I received it! Love it and highly recommend it! 07/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, love, love this new Singer sewing machine. Took me a while to figure out the threading (thought I knew how to do it) but once I finally figured it out the machine is a dream to operate. Have quilted a table runner (never quilted before - but watched YouTube videos) have made a tote (so when I go shopping I can carry lots of stuff) and countless Christmas items. Great machine. 12/11/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice intro to machine embroderey I am in the process of relearning how to sew. I needed a new machine the 4 I had were worn out on window treatments and old old old to begin with. I read all the reviews and decided to try it anyway. I found it at a much better price. I was dissapointed slightly, but not due to the alerts It is a picky machine but if and when all is set correctly no alerts... I actualy like the alerts they keep me from waisting time rippingout. The machine is a little loud so it seems rough. The instruction video is a joke and should not be included. But it does include a quick reference guide that is laminated ( I get a lot of use out of it ). I think for my needs which aren't many in machine embordery and/or deciding whether you will really want to fool with embrodery it is fine. I am looking to buy a serger next. Somthing I know I want and will use often, so I plan on not going "bargin basement" on that. However, at the easley found price of $299.00 it is a very good value to get started with. 05/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great machine buy embroidery portion is "verfussy" I have only had this sewing machine about one month. I love the sewing part. Works great, nice and quite. For the embroidery part you have to be a genius to figure it out. The manual does not help very much. The Futura Help website is worth its weight in gold and a must in order to figure the embroidery out. Not sure I am happy with it. 01/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used this machine several times since Christmas (it was a gift). I had a Brother SE-350 that I have used for the past 5 or 6 years. This machine seems to be a great addition. I'm still getting used to some of its differences, but so far so good, absolutely no complaints. I'm hoping to purchase the additional software that is available and make full use of its capabilities. 01/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy!!! I have been having so much fun with my Singer Futura embroidery machine!! I loved reading in the handbook, "think of the embroidery machine like a printer." You do need to make sure that you have all software by going to futura website & checking for downloads for your computer. Once that is done, you are on your way for fun!! Even my girls got into it!!! 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love This Machine Just got this for Christmas and absolutley love it. I have a background in computers but absolutely no background in sewing machines but was able to get up and running very quickly. Just a really great product! 01/04/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrated I've had my machine for almost 2 years, and it performs very poorly. I was tickled with it for the first year, and it has been downhill since. I have problems with the designs shifting, knots under the embroidery, and the bobbin pulls through to the top. If you intend to do more that occasional embroidery, buy a better machine. 11/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great machine would recomend this to any one very happy with this machine .. I do lots of embroidery very happy .. will buy again .... 04/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good beginner machine This machine does great and speedy embroidery work. The problem is that you have to buy expensive software or you are limited in the designs offered. I found the sewing machine abilities not up to par with my old machine. 10/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke within a week I am extremely disappointed in this machine. It was pretty easy to start using, but within a week the bobbin case had completely popped out and wouldn't fit back in. Getting help from Singer when you're in a small town too is nearly impossible. This machine is most definitely not worth the money. 07/26/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by I give this a low rating because I purchased 2 of these machines about a month ago. The product details says it comes with a CD. Neither of mine has the CD. So I have had these machines for a month and can't use them. Have contacted Singer, they said they shipped me the CD's, it has been over 8 days, and I'm still waiting. So far my $1,300 investment (I purchased 2 sewing cabinets also) is just collecting dust. I am not happy. 06/12/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good machine. My first embroidery machine. Have had problems from day one, should have returned it. I finally got it to work ok but not 100%, just got it back from paying 125.00 for 2 parts and labor. Don't know how any bobbin casing I have had to buy. It still doesn't work and needs to go back to the shop. Never buy another one, especially online, getting ready to buy a real embroidery machine. 03/29/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome product for the money It takes a little patience and practice. Thread selection makes a big difference. This is probably not a product for some one who has never sewn. 11/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy! I'm a self teaching beginner, and this machine makes it sooo easy. And it sews so smooth! The dvd and handbook explain everything really well and teach you step by step. I am very pleased and still excited about this machine! Just watch and read everything once and then go back to specific sections when actually trying to use the machine the first time and you're good to go! 04/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! My husband bought me this machine for my birthday in November. I was quite surprised :) I LOVE it! It's smooth, quiet, easy to use. I haven't begun to embroidery on it yet because of holiday activities but I'm sure that will be just as easy as everything else is with this machine. 01/18/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by beware this machine is a waste of your money and time . i have used mine maybe 5 times and now it's in the shop at cost to me. singer is hard to contact. the warranty center is in another state where i have to pay to send to them. i'm frustrated when i need to do a project my machine is broke. this is my bought lesson. never again 04/29/2010
  • 2016-03-24 T07:52:37.353-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_7933661, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 48 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew478
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp