Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 41 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good quality filter Figured I'd write this because I saw several other reviews talking about how unreliable these things are. Those reviewers appear to have only had 1 experience with one of the Pur filters. I've been using them for about 10 years now. I've had 3 of them. Yes, that means they lasted an average of over 3 years. When attached and used correctly they last a long time. Here are 2 criticisms of them: 1. After the 2nd or 3rd filter change the cap to the filter compartment becomes very hard to untwist. I've gotten around this by either removing it from the faucet, or, preferably (and what I do now), using some sort of pipe wrench. 2. It may not come with the correct attachment for your faucet. If you find yourself struggling to attach it, then it's the wrong attachment. Last one I bought I had to get the correct one from a hardware store. Using the wrong attachment is the only way I've *ever* seen leaks. Apart from these 2 drawbacks (which can be fixed pretty easily) the Pur faucet filter is a very inexpensive way to conveniently get great-tasting purified water. 07/03/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disposable? Loved this filter when we first got it. We live in an Apt with nasty water and this makes it drinkable and I feel safer having filtered water. I love the chrome and that it stays horizontal, using up less sink space. HOWEVER, after less than a year it functions better as a sprinkler than a faucet. What started as a small leak (after less than 6 months) from where the faucet attaches to the filter has become an all out spray shooting all over the place. We have to lift the filter up so that the water doesn't shoot everywhere when we use it and it even leaks some when we are just running the regular water. Called PUR today and they are replacing it. They told me that this was very unusual, but a little internet research indicates that it isn't really all that unusual. I tried emailing them a couple of months ago and never heard anything back from their online customer service. We had the vertical/flip style filter in the past and really liked it. It did slowly develop a leak around the faucet mount but just a dribble of water, not anything terrible. We will give the horizontal a try one more time and if we have the same problems we might switch to a Brita which are supposed to be more durable. 01/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 Would definitely recommend these filters I have actually used these PUR faucet water filters for about 20 years. I have used them till they finally wear out. They have always lasted me 5+ years and some longer. I have had both the horizontal and the vertical tilt models. I actually prefer the horizontal myself. I have never had any problem with water spraying out or leaking with any of my models. I think these PUR filters are a great buy and value. The water where I live is hideous and undrinkable so I use one on my kitchen faucet. I also use a different kind on my fridge water and icemaker. I'm sorry that some of you have had such bad luck. I will say for the first time I actually had a weird problem where the filter would not release from the cap no matter who tried to loosen it, I was trying to replace used filter cartridge. I called PUR and they happily sent me a coupon for $30.00 credit toward a new one. That is one thing i really do like about this company is that they stand behind their products. A few years ago i bought a box of 3 refill cartaridges and 2 of them were bad so I called PUR then too and they sent me a coupon to purchase another box. They have always treated me well and went out of their way to fix my problem. For over 20 years of usage of these they have had a good track record and I guarantee I use them all day long. I drink gallons of water. I cook with this filtered water and everything. I hope this helps you people that have had problems, talk to PUR they will try their best to make it right. 07/20/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not very durable I had this filter for about a year. The water began leaking and is now spraying out by the logo tab and along the edges. A little internet research shows I'm not alone. I called the company & they sent me a coupon for a new one, but I'd definitely never pay for another one. 09/19/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by A spliting disappointment We got this faucet mounted filtration unit as a replacement for a prior PUR unit we purchased. And it didn't even last long enough to change the filter. The first unit split at the seams after 2 monthes so PUR sent us a voucher for any faucet mounted filtration unit. We chose this one because it was the most expensive PUR filtration unit available at our Mal-Mart and we figured it would last longer. It is a very attractive unit with great features, but after only 3 weeks this unit also split at the seams. I guess these units are bad no matter what the price. 10/04/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Good 49 Hours I bought this to replace another Pur water filter that lasted for a few years before leaking around the little oval Pur logo on the front cap. This new one was installed on October 27th, and I must say the install was very quick and easy. Fast forward several hours to October 29th - the whole thing fell off the faucet! I re-installed it and it fell off again. The problem appears to be that the fitting that attaches to the faucet threads is made of soft plastic and the weight of the filter is enough to make it pop off. This little part should be made of metal, not flimsy plastic. The old one was attached to the faucet with metal, but sadly the parts are not interchangeable. By the way, I'm sure some of you will say "They over tightened it!", but that is NOT the case. It was gently hand tightened. This piece o' junk is getting returned today. I plan to check online to see if the older model is still available somewhere. 10/30/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Let Down I have to agree. I loved my PUR horizontal water purifier, but it started as a small leak, and then got bigger and cannot be fixed. I've had mine for about 2 years and was hoping it would last longer. I will try a different one, but if that starts to leak, I will definitely try Brita. 06/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pur Faucet system I bought the PUR because of the handle because I only have use of one hand and it is easier for me to use.....I would recommend this to anyone.....very good price too..... 08/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Drips! I bought and returned 4 of these new "click" Pur systems - they all dripped without stopping - it's a waste of your money and a lousy product - try Insta-Pur or anything else - but if you buy this keep your receipt. 07/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not model advertised The web site says this listing is for model FM-9400, and shows the picture of that product, but they actaully shipped me the FM-9400B model, which is not what I wanted. The newer model is made much less solidly than the earlier one, which is why I'd already returned the FM-9400B that I'd bought at Target and couldn't make work on my faucet. 04/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Breaks easily but haven't found one better I have bought this PUR 3 stage Faucet Mount Filtration System in many different varieties depending on whether or not it sits horizontally or vertically. I live alone and use it to fill up a gallon jub that I keep in the refrigerator to get water from so I don't use it everyday. Mine lasted about 6 months or so before it broke. But I have also bought these for my kids who use them for every drink of water--at times they have broken in a week or a month. They seem to be making them cheaper and less durable--most of it is plastic. And the last time I bought refill fillters, it said that they were only two stage and not three which I am interpreting to mean that they aren't as good and don't filter as much out of the water. I haven't found a faucet mounted one that works as well but I am looking for one that doesn't break as easily. I stopped buying them for my grown kids and instead bought them filters for their refrigerator water. They need to make them more durable and explain why they have gone to a 2 stage filter. 02/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was easy to install - it just snaps on. NO LEAKS!! I have gone through numerous PUR filters and this is the first one without problems. Water flows through easily. Very easy to work - you just turn the tab. This model is much improved from past models. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST INVENTION SINCE FRENCH BREAD This is the Best Gadget in my well stocked kitchen. I use it all day long, it is beautiful chrome, simple to snap on and use, the original Filter which came with the item lasted nearly a year with heavy use. 3 new Filters cost less than $30. and snap right in place in a few seconds. Water in Georgia is not tasty, but this Filtration System purifies it immediately. I will neve be without this PUR system, I hope the company never changes it because it is perfect. Great Useful Item and a Fantastic Price and Simple to Use! Pure water is so important now, I highly recommend this product. You will be very pleased with fresh, pure water from your faucet! 12/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Product! This product is awesome! I had ordered it due to the fact that I do not trust tap water. This little filtration system does the job. I found it a little difficult to get it to mount on the faucet, but once I had help from my husband, it was alright! I urge everyone that likes clean, fresh tasting water, to try this product. You will truly like it :-) 02/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by It could be better. Product installed quite easily, but when I turned the water on and the filter on water runs too slow, water runs fine when filter is off, but turn filter on it's like molasses. If you are a person with a lot of patience you will like this product. 08/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well The only thing about this product is the fact that it does take a good min to fill up a glass. I belive its because the filter is really working. 07/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk!!! We bought the PUR water filter that fits vertical to sink about 8 months ago, and now it is in the trash. The unit began to leak from where the top screws back on when you change the filter. When we took it off we noticed many hair line fractures in the plastic cap that screws on, almost like stress fractures. We certainly did not abuse the unit, so to me all in all it's not worth the money. 03/15/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what you think We shop at walmart all the time. This looked like the best filter they had to offer, so I bought it. We've used pur filters for over five years now. APPEARANCE: Beautiful Chrome DURABILITY: POOR - More water comes out of every seam this has than comes out of the filter. It sprinkles everything around. FILTER QUALITY: Package claims it filters 99% of contaminates. What you don't realize is the advertised 99% is focused on a very small list. MANY of the harmful contaminates in regular drinking water are not filtered at all. TASTE: Better than unfiltered. However, my wife only drinks it if she can mask the taste. PRICE: Unit cost is low (so is quality). The replacement filter costs are quite high compared to top of the line units such as e-spring. SUMMARY: Once we get the opportunity, we're replacing this with a higher quality unit from e-spring . There will be a higher initial cost, but will save us money in the long run. In addition, espring tastes better, higher quality construction, and is healthier because of better filtration. 03/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tap Water Filtration System The Pur #FM-9400 3-Stage Filtration System is a great system for filtering tap water at a kitchen faucet. Easy to install, easy to operate and easy to change filters. The unit filtered chlorine, lead, asbestos, benzene and microbial particles giving fresh tasting water at your tap. One filter cleans approximately 100 gallons of water and signals when to install a new filter. Filters cost about $19.00 for one at Walmart. I'd recommend this product highly to anyone interested fresh clean water at home! And forget the store bought bottle water, too expensive! dutchiedee-PA 02/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Product, do not buy Two major problems with this model. First is that after several filter changes this unit leaks internally in the area where it attaches to the faucet . I have also had problems with leaks from the filter compartment where the cover screws on. They have a one year warranty and if you are lucky you'll get 1 to 2 years out of a unit (just past warranty usually). Second is that the cover for the filter compartment is not designed for getting a good grip. It is difficult to tighten or remove the cover when changing filters. If you have arthritis or don't have a strong grip avoid this unit. Overall, it doesn't hold up to normal use for very long, it is expensive considering the life span and it is definitely not user friendly for changing filters. Save your money and do not buy this model! 02/19/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok so far the water tastes better, but that's the only thing that i can comment on because it needs filters and i don't know how long they last yet, but i'lllllll be back!! 01/19/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by water water everywere Well ok if you wanna hook up in a bathroom ,but as a main one forget it.not durable enough 12/25/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't Buy My first Pur was the cheaper one where the whole unit turns. It was good for about 3 months then it started to leak everywhere. The company gave me a coupon for a new one. So I decided to buy this Pur. The more expensive one. This one lasted me about 8 months and then started leaking everywhere. Needless to say my next purchase will be a Brita. I know 3 people who have had them for years and that never happened. 12/05/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product, Kinda gets in the way though I love this product, water tastes great! Water tastes same or better than from my fridge filter. Hand tightens pretty solid, no leaks, came with all the different faucet connectors, mine fit perfectly. Looks pretty nice matching my stainless steel sink; however, I've got a low sink and when I wash my dishes, especially large pots and pans, it can get in the way, I constantly hit it. Minor issue, love it. 09/07/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is the third one I have purchased. The first two (2) were the vertical ones, which after a couple of months, split and leaked. The actual body of the filter split, small hair line cracks. Well, then I bought this one, and it was good for a while, then now when I am running water, and turn it off, the water seems to run back down the frame of the filter. I have used about 4 cartridges in it, so it has lasted longer than the white, vertical ones. But for almost $40.00 it should last longer than this. There just seems to be a problem with the quality of these. Has anyone used the pitchers, and are they reliable, and do they filter the water??? We have to use filters on our faucets and the Frig. also, because our water is of VERY POOR QUALITY. IT ACTUALLY STINKS. AND WHEN I USE THE SPRAYER ON MY SINK, THERE ARE DIRT DEPOSITS ON IT, THAT U CAN ACTUALLY SEE. 08/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by PUR water filters This is the best filter system on the retail market!! The filtered water tastes better than bottled water by a mile. Well worth the money!! 07/30/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never buy one again I went through 2 of these and I'm very disappointed for the amount of money you pay for them. It works great for about 7-8 months and after that it starts to leak. The first one leaked through the seams where it is put together, the second, leaks from the faucet part, it's like the water isn't going through the unit so it pushes it's way up through the faucet. I will never buy another Pur again. 06/19/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality craftsmanship This is second time I installed Pur 3 stage horizontal faucet mount but the same issue. After couple of months the joint starts leaking. I called help line ,they sent me a new washer/gaskit which did not do any good. I bought at Costco along with additional pack of 6 filters. I do not know how to stop the leak or splash of water gushes through below the nut connecting the faucet......... 06/11/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 nice and user friendly The product was very very easy to install. I bought it for my boyrfriend and I and i installed it and it was very simple so ladies dont be shy. The water pressure coming out of the filtered portion of the product is slow.. its a steday stream but slower than expected. Durability is yet to be seen, only had it a few weeks so we will see but I like it so far! 06/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by PUR, very CLEAR water I am VERY pleased with this product!! My tap water smells like chlorine, tastes funny, has a cloudy look to it and sometimes has "things" swirling in it, and this is CITY water!! Being a coffee drinker, I like my coffee to taste a certain way and my tap water wasn't cutting it. This purifier makes my water crystal clear and my coffee and iced tea taste great!! Would definately reccommend this product. 05/12/2009
1-30 of 38 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew283
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp