Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 64 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sentry 1170 Fire Chest "safe" I have found these simple Sentry Fire Chests "safes" to be nice solutions if you have a non-fire-rated safe/RSC but want to add at least SOME fire-protection to its contents: You get one (or more) of these Sentry Fire Chests, put any papers/vauables into it/them, then put it/them inside your steel safe/RSC. These are not REAL "safes" of course, but take it to mean they are "safe" (for 30 minutes MAYBE) from fire, certainly NOT from theft as they can easily be pried open or carried off. But put into a non-fire-rated safe/RSC (which is bolted down to the floor/wall) they become more useful. This particular Sentry (model 1170) Fire Chest fits almost perfectly in my Cobalt S852C B-rated (but NOT also F-rated) steel safe. I have had some other models of Sentry Fire Chests (assorted sizes) for years, and put them in two other safes/RSCs I have (both fire-rated and non-fire-rated). You can put as many Fire Chests as you can fit in there, and keep your papers, jewelry, ammo, cameras, whatever in them. Yes, they MIGHT still bake in the safe even if inside a Fire Chest, but it's better than just putting those items into a steel safe with ZERO fire protection and have them destroyed FOR SURE. And, I found (2-11-10) this Sentry 1170 at Walmart.com for a great price PLUS 97-cent shiping...can't beat that! So yes, I would recommend these kind of Senrty FireChests for this purpose -- put into larger safes/RSCs -- rather than to be kept alone under a bed or in a closet somewhere. I didn't give it 5 stars simply because I would have liked to see a bit longer fire protection (45 minutes at least) but 30 minutes is better than none. Also, I saw a video clip of several of these "safes" being put on a pallet and set afire by a local FD, left to burn for a few minutes and then the FD put the fire out with their hoses: Even the non-waterproof rated Fire Chests kept out the water, as the lids "weld" themselves shut in a fire (as designed to do, not a defect) and the contents were fine, so I'm not sure it's necessary to get a "waterproof" rated Fire Chest, which is definitely more expensive. Whatever, even the cheapest Sentry Fire Chests are better than no fire protection at all...at least your stuff has a CHANCE of surviving! 03/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job well. I have several of these Fire-Safe files. They are great and they work. I'm sorry to say that I had the oppertunity to find out and they did exactly what it says. The lid sealed shut and it melted, and I mean melted. We put it in a vise and used a grinding wheel to cut off the bottom of it. All papers and disks inside were perfect. 05/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product If you are looking to protect your valuable papers and CD's this is an excellent product. It holds lots of paperwork and there is still plenty of room for a CD holder for your photo CD's. 11/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I was looking for This safe is a perfect size and fits all my important documents. Because it holds hanging files I am able to get to important documents without having to look through an entire stack of papers. 05/26/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by hard to lift This is a nice strong , safety box, however with no handle it makes it very hard to lift. A handle somewhere on it would have made it a 5 star. 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by so far so good... It is what I expected..wish it had some handles but other than that...good price. 04/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly great buy The safe meets most expectations. Its heavy but one would expect it to be in order to do what is says. Happy with my purchase except for the fact the lock seems a little unstable and does not work with great ease. Feel it should have a better lock. 03/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by SentrySafe Model 1170 This fire-safe security file box was exactly what I needed at the perfect price! 08/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by The item was received as promised, and in good condition. Two concerns, both trivial. First, the key cannot be removed unless the box is locked. I understand that will keep one from locking the keys in the box, but as I use it, it is an inconvenience. Second, while hanging file folders will fit into it, there is no tolerance for any item longer than the file folder. I like to use manila envelopes dropped into the folders, but there is no size large enough to accomodate a standard size paper yet small enough to fit in the folder. As a result, the hanging folders stand in a skewed position. Again, this is more an inconvenience than a problem. Overall, I am very pleased with the box, and it is doing what I need it to do. I am using it only to protect documents in a fire / disaster situation, so am not concerned about lift handles, etc. 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security File This safe would not be a major challenge for anyone seriously wanting to crack the safe but it is a nice size and provides the security level I was seeking. I keep things that are important to me and not necessairly to anyone else in this safe (birth certificate, passport, life insurance policies, etc.) and at least I know where I can find them a major consideraton at my age. I would recommend this safe but not for the "crown jewels". 06/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok NEEDS A HANDLE ON TOP, WHEN IT HAS FILE IN IT IT IS HARD TO PICK UP. VERY HEAVY... 03/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SentrySafe Model 1170 Fire-Safe Security File This is the 2nd and 3rd of the same product I have purchased before. We have one and we wanted a second one and also we wanted to give our daughter one. They are still a reasonable price too. I think we have had our first one for about 8 yrs or so and its been fine, no problems whatsoever. I wouldn't hesitate to suggest this item to anyone, its small enough it can fit most anywhere. 08/27/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Broken Safe shipped 1. Keys did not work in lock 2. Rebate coupon was not included 3. Safe did not come in original packaging The safe did not come in original packing. I looked like someone returned the safe and Walmart just repackaged the safe and sent it out again without repair. Returned the safe to Wal-Mart and awaiting refund. 03/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would NOT buy this item over the internet. I received mine on time, but that is the only good thing I can say about it. It came in a plain brown cardboard box (no photo, no comp. name, no description like you would see on a shelf at the store). When I opened it, the only thing in the package was the safe itself and two keys. No papers at all (directions, warranty, register the product, etc.). When I tried to open it, the key only turned partway and that only with difficulty. Then I couldn't turn the key back to get it out. I had to return it to my local store and they took it back, no questions asked. They gave me back my money in cash. I never checked to see if they refunded the shipping as well, but that was only 97 cents. So I am satisfied with the service at my local store but not with walmart.com. 03/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by okay paper safe, previous models better I ordered 4 all delivered quickly to the door for $.99/unit. Unlike previous models I have several, these do not permit the removal of the key without looking the unit. These safes are ideal to keep papers in to protect from fire and water damage that might occur during a fire. These are not security safes! I prefer the models that do not require locking to remove the keys! Wally did their part! The safes work for what they are intended to do but the lock/key issue is less than desireable. Also the black color versus grey prohibits using a black magic marker on the outside to catorgize the safes so you do not have to search each one. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Compact Secruity We ordered this safe for the safe keeping of our clients personal affects and found them not only to meet our expectation but that of our clients in caring for thier items. We also found it to be a space saver. Feature it has in not allowing for the key to be removed when the lid is open is wonderful for not loosing it. We are very satisfied with it. 03/11/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by its simple if you are just trying to protect your documents from wear and tear and fire then this is the safe for you. if you are trying to prevent it from being stolen, look elsewhere. not very big, not very heavy. wor 03/18/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed - bought four - two damaged Bought one for each of my four children - two of them were damaged to the point they coudn't be used. It is a hassle to return, reorder, and make another trip to the store to pickup. I will open and check them at the store before taking delivery this time. 12/30/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by for files and papers only fine for papers but you cant put any thing else because it says it sweats no ammo 03/14/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by no file folders i thought this came with file folders its the only reason i bought it but when i got it there were none 01/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by As described Plenty of room for hanging files. Fair price, good alternative to safety deposit box if theft prevention isn't a concern,. Only weighs 34 pounds empty. 10/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by the lock and key didn't work. extremely heavy, it's actually a small safe, that should be put in the description since "file" makes you think you can carry it. you can't. on the bright side, Walmart was quick to credit the return, including shipping, since the product was defective. 10/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little box at a decent price I was just looking for something that would fit a whole binder. This does, and thus protects my binder of important documents which was what I was after. 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use, key has no problems, just needed to hold important papers when I need to find them. 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by solid, secure Just what I expected. I do wish it had handle dents in the side or something but otherwise it's a great product. 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Deal! We were looking for a fire-proof safe to keep secure our documents (i.e. titles. birth certificates, etc). This is the perfect size for regular letter-sized documents. Hanging files can be used to organize the papers. I also used page protectors. 04/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was just what I was looking for. Working GREAT ,lots of room. Wish it had a handle on top. 03/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little fire safe. Sentry has been in the business of safe's for a very long time. Great quality. I have another one just like this one. I have had it for five years. When it came time that I needed another safe (due to over flow ), I knew what I wanted. 03/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT AND THE PRICE IS PRETTY GOOD, TOO. IT WAS A GIFT FOR MY DAUGHTER AND HER HUSBAND AND THEY LOVE IT. AND IT SAVES THE COST OF A SAFE DEPOSIT BOX FOR MOST THINGS. I CURRENTLY HAVE TWO MYSELF. 02/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Safe! This safe is just the right size.. Not too big but still hold plenty. 12/05/2011
1-30 of 49 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew502
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp