See All Reviews
Friday Night Lights: The First Season
Friday Night Lights: The First Season
$15.34
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $7.64 (33%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 20 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality television at its best! This is simply one of the finest shows ever created. Don't be fooled into thinking this is just a show about football. It isn't. My wife hates football but she absolutely fell in love with this show. You'll probably never see a more accurate portoray of life in small-town America on network television than this. Each of the characters are complex, deeply flawed, but ultimately likeable individuals. You probably know people like this in real life...that's how believable this show is. You'll find yourself sucked into each of their lives like you are a close family friend. You will cheer for their triumphs and you will cring and weep for them when their lives go astray, usually as a result of their own foolish actions. Each character is on some sort of personal journey to be better people, though they often fall short due to their own humanity. The show is really about the rise and fall and redemption of everyday people and how we're not all that different from each other even though we may be born on different sides of the spectrum. Shows of this quality are a rarity today. Unfortunately, due to low ratings there is a good possibility it will not survive a second season. Do yourself a favor and support this show by purchasing the 1st Season DVD and watching it on television every week. Remember, you do not need to like football to love this show. This is not a show about football. It is a show about life! 10/04/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valued Priced Bought this for my 20 yr. old daughter, she loves the show. The value for the product is great. 11/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friday Night Lights-Season 1 Great series...highly recommend 01/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm not a football fan. I'm not a football fan. But this is a Great Show! Love the characters and story lines. This group of actors really click - they can say so much with just a look! Love it - Love it. 03/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent Awesome storylines and a great t.v. series! 08/15/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Story This show isn't all about football!! This is definitly a show for men and woman alike!! There is football but it is balanced with family and friendship dynamics! I was hooked from episode 1!! I also got season 2 and can't wait for season 3 to be released!!! 06/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great tv show, one of the best around. This is a great season, it really provides the true look of what high school and the sports are like from each different vantage point. If your a sports fan, this product is highly recommended. 06/24/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by CLEAR EYES...FULL HEARTS...CAN'T LOOSE !! ONE OF THE BEST SHOWS EVER!! IT HAS AN AMAZING STORY LINE AND A GREAT EXAMPLE TO ALL AGES...WATCH IT AND SEE....YOU WILL LOVE IT!!! 03/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friday Night Lights DVD, Season 1 One of the best drama's ever to be on television, the best for this season, GREAT show, incredible writing and acting! I hope the show is not cancelled, this is television at its best! 03/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great show ,Greatter price I love this show if you are a fan of sports then it's a must have for only twenty bucs it's the best tv box set deal i have ever gotten go pick this one up one of the best written shows on television you get your moneys worth on this one 02/13/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE THIS SHOW!!! this show was something that i thought i wouldn't like because my parents wanted to watch it as a family but this was the turning point for me... i love to watch this with my parents it really brought us together... we watch it together every friday night... and the 2nd season is GREAT too!!!! Enjoy this show!!! 12/10/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Didn't expect it to be this good! Although I enjoyed the movie, I had a preconceived notion that this was a simplistic white-bread, goody-goody series about gorgeous teenagers and their silly teenage problems. And football. I only bought this because some of my friends raved about the show. Boy, am I glad I was wrong! This is a great program. Yes, it's mainly about teenagers and their problems and football, but you really come to CARE about these characters and can't wait to see what happens next. Liking football is a plus but certainly not necessary. During the football scenes, you'll actually feel the excitement and anxiety as if you were there. In fact, with most of the scenes, it's as if you're watching real life situations unfold before you. Kind of hard to explain... The writing and acting are excellent -- absolutely top-notch. I don't watch much television so I'm pretty picky about what I spend my time on. For network tv, this is as good as it gets. It should be winning Emmys left and right. NOTE: If the first episode doesn't grab you, please give it a chance. I liked it, but wasn't terribly impressed until about the 3rd episode. Then it hit me -- I was hooked! 11/18/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 The One Show I watch with my Teenager This tv series is fantastic. It is the one show that my teenaged son and I watched together every week. The first season the show came out he was a senior in highschool, and we watched it every week together. There is enough football in it to keep him interested, but there are lots of other themes going on, and it really opens up discussions on life and it's intricacies. Now that he is away at college, we are not watching season two, but when he comes home on Christmas break we will be watching every episode online. How many tv shows are out there that span the generations? I'm buying the DVD for a Christmas present for him. 11/12/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best show EVER! Friday Night Lights was worth every penny I spent for it. It was a bargain at only $20. Being a fan of the show from the beginning, I would have paid $70 for the dvd. This show isn't just about football it's about family, community, and life in small town America. This is a show everyone should take the time to watch. 09/22/2007
  • 2016-03-24 T08:34:42.365-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_6115323, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-15 of 15 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw329
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp