See All Reviews
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 48 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A time saver This griddle is so convenient. I keep it in my oven so I can get at it quickly to cook eggs, quesadillas, bacon, or things I want to warm up. Cast iron cookware is so convenient and easy to clean..especially after it has been properly seasoned. The product came seasoned but its best to add a season before your first use. To season, using vegetable shortening (preferred) or vegetable oil, rub a thin film all over the griddle. Place in a 350 degree oven for an hour. Afterwards, always using a little olive oil (or other oil or bacon grease) to cook with. After the griddle cools, use hot water and a plastic scrub brush to clean griddle. Wipe excess water off griddle. Place on a burner for about 30 secs to help burn off excess moisture. As I mentioned earlier, I keep my griddle in the oven, so if I even need to re-season (which should be done about once a year), I just put a little shortening on it and let it bake with whatever else I am cooking in the oven. You can also take this camping or on your barbecue grill cause it can take the heat. I strongly recommend this product. 12/11/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Griddle This is a great product fro anything you want to use a griddle for. I bought one from store for making indian pancakes (dosas), like it so much that I went to get another one. Couldn't find it at a store near me so got it using the ship-to-store feature(a really excellent feature I might add). Well from since then there has been no stopping me.......lol. Not really but I have been using the secound one for everything from omelets to making burgers. Yes I have been using this griddle to flip my own home made patties and its excellent. It heats up evenly and when added the right amount of oil it gives that perfect crust. Well I might be over board with it...but honestly it is sooo much better than non-stick seriously....I am a fan. 10/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product I recently started using cast iron products (after tired of buying non stick pans) and was searching for a round griddle. This is the right size and not very heavy, compared to the other cast iron skillets/pans I am using. It is a very good buy for this price and I love using it everyday. 10/22/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good one for the price I bought this so I can make some chapati on it everyday and intake some iron from it! but gave only 4 stars as it it is not pre-seasoned. Would have been 5 stars if it was pre-seasoned. Heats up evenly and does a good job in making chapatis! 01/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful I bought this since I was trying to go away from non stick. I have to say, this really exceeded my expectations. I use to make Indian crepes, so I don't end up washing everyday. If you do wash it everyday (even thought some manufacturers warn you against it), just wipe it dry and season with oil. Heats evenly and cooks well. Only thing though, since it is cast iron, it is heavy. If you are expecting something light, this one is not for you. Also, since it gets hot pretty fairly and quickly, use a mitt to touch the handle. Overall, this is wonderful and preseason is awesome! 12/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pan It is a very great pan for making Chapathi's and Indian pancakes(Dosa).Earlier i was using non stick pans and fed up with the peeling of non stick coating .After hearing about this pan,i thought to give it a try .It works out amazingly.Very happy.No problem in making chapathi's. Some times Indian pancake(Dosa) is sticking to pan.A tip which i tried is and which works out well is,Before making Indian pancake(dosa) cut the onion and scrub the pan and then prepare. And am pretty sure u will get crispy ones. Worth buy!! 10/31/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible product I had looked forward to buying a cast iron griddle for a long time and was very excited to purchase this pre-seasoned one from Wal-Mart. I wanted one specifically for making pancakes. The problem is this pan is concaved. We did not notice it until after several unsuccessful attempts and a closer examination of the pan revealed the flaws in its design. The oil rolled immediately to the sides of the pan. Looking at the pan from the bottom, we could see that it is indeed not flat and therefore was not providing an even cooking surface. Minus 10 for the product. We, unfortunately, did not discover the cause of the problems until it was too late to return the product. 05/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Iron Griddle It makes excellent pan cakes and indian rotis. Those are the main things I used this for. I love the fact that it gets heated quickly cooks excellent foods. I can see the difference making them on non stick griddle vs Iron one. 02/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value I actually bought this for the deer camp for use during hunting season, so therefore I have not used it, but we have Lodge castiron at our camp and it is great. Walmarts price was great and the site to store was a smooth transaction. thanks 07/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great This is my second lodge Griddle, my daughter talked me out of my first one, in buying the second one, first thing I did was sandpaper the cooking area down to a glass finish and season the griddle, did this with the frist one - one great giddle. 01/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great griddle and omelet pan! I recently decided to get rid of all my non-stick cookware and needed to replace a square Calphalon non-stick griddle. Having picky children that could use some more iron in their diet, I decided to go with cast iron. I love this griddle! It comes preseasoned, but I have seasoned it with shortening in a 475 degree oven for an hour several times. I cook on it daily. My buttermilk pancakes are coming out great, and it is terrific for crepe-like two egg omelets. I let the eggs get about set, then put the filling down the middle and when the egg is ready gently fold each side onto the middle. Check out youtube for a good video on making omelets this way on this pan. I've never had a better tasting omelet. I make sure to preheat the griddle on my ceramic cooktop for about 7 minutes on setting 4 [out of 10] before spraying the pan with olive oil spray and adding my eggs or pancakes. Having a hot pan lightly sprayed with oil is really important to avoid sticking. Cleanup is easy. If food does stick, which is rare now, I just run hot water over the pan and scrub it with a stiff brush, no soap. If no food is stuck, I just wipe it out with a damp paper towel. Either way I then put the pan back on the still-warm burner to dry for a few minutes, then wipe on a thin layer of olive oil or shortening to reseason and protect from rust. Really easy cleanup. The very small lip of this griddle holds in liquids while not adding much to the weight of the pan, and leaves a large cooking surface. I highly recommend this griddle. 11/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I use this griddle daily I use this griddle by 'Lodge' more than any other cast iron or pans I have. Often, I use it more than once per day. One thing to remember is, you must use your cast iron cookware in order for it to get better and less 'sticky'. The more you use it, the more seasoned it becomes and the less food will stick. This griddle gets a good workout at my house. Don't think you must grease the cast iron and turn it upside down in the oven every day. You don't! Lodge cast iron cookware comes pre-seasoned. All I do after washing is dry it with a paper towel, rub the inside down good with crisco shortening, put it on the eye of the stove on low for about one or two minutes, let it cool and put it away. About once a year, grease the entire pan and put it inside the oven as the instructions state...but you really don't have to do this any more than once a year. 09/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nothing like cooking with cast iron! I'm probably a bit biased as I love to cook with cast iron and have a good selection of Lodge products. As with all of Lodge's products, it's durable, and does a great job of cooking! As with any pre-seasoned cast iron, I take a coarse steel wool scrub brush to it, scrape off the "weak" seasoning, and re-season it by hand. It is a little disappointing that the surface isn't very smooth. Most of Lodge's cookware seems to have gone this way, but for a griddle it's a little more of an issue. Nonetheless, a quick sanding and re-seasoning and it's fine. 11/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will last a life-time !! American made and extremely high quality. It will never wear out with proper care. 11/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellant product The quality of the cast iron is very good. The size is just right for heating tortillas. 08/30/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by I got this item as a gift for my nephew who is interested in cooking. So I can only review thus far what I thought when I received the item. I believe this item is excellant especially for the price which I felt was super reasonable. 01/12/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice griddle After years of teflon, I decided I would try cast iron for all my cooking. "Wow" is all I can say. This griddle really brings out the flavor in foods. I am amazed, and decided I will never go back to teflon again. Although it is a bit weighty, compared to teflon, the taste is worth the effort. I did shop around, and as always Walmart had the cheaper price. All future cast iron cookware will be purchased from Walmart. Site to Store is great!!! 09/23/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by griddle i am a little dissapointed because the food sticks to the pan. not what i expected. 02/24/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Walmart service, beats, Amazon Walmart service was great. I ordered online and the next day this item was in our local store. The price for the griddle is very good, and even better, Lodge says it was made in the USA. The finish on the outside of the griddle is nice, but the cooking surface is very rough. It must be machine buffed and then re-seasoned before it can be used. Still, great value for money, more so when the job stays in our country. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very durable and functional piece of cookware We use this for pancakes and quesadillas; it does an excellent job, with even cooking. Spray a little Pam every two batches of pancakes and that prevents any sticking. Very easy to clean up too. 09/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our expectations We were not sure how useful the shallow walls would be, but easy to use, and we use it all the time. Its our main cooking Mepan. We do not like using coated non-stick pans, and this is a great way to cook! 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product delivered on time, however.... Wmart delivery carton packaging could be better. 08/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rediscovering castiron! Growing up I used my Grandma's and Mom's cast iron. I strayed away for many years... Recently I have rediscovered how awesome it is to cook with cast iron. I loved my griddle so much I bought one for my son in hopes he will fall in love with it too! Oh and I also bought him a grill pan too! 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful for camping bought this griddle for pancakes, fajatias, fish, steak and hambergers over our camping trip. So far it has been wonderful, cleans up easily, and yes it was already seasoned, so I could do pancakes right away. It is very versatile, and I don't need a skillet, it does it all. 06/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great griddle it is everything it claims to be and what i wanted/expected. 06/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love This is one of my favorite cast iron pans! Beside pancakes it makes the best grill cheese!!! And fast and easy to flip too! Great for pizza too! Love this pan! 04/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value Purchased for family members for Christmas per their request. They loved it. 12/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the first time i'm using cast iron griddle. Very nice piece & the price is good. I cooked mutton in this & it came cut nice... Sometimes food sticks to it. But the more you use, the better it will be. Cleaning is very easy. Just use hot water & if needed some salt. 12/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Cast Iron Products I purchased this product, because I was tired of spend money (purchasing top dollar cookware, or so they claimed) on new dishes every 2-3 years and decided to go back to the old school style of cast iron (what grandmother used) because I knew they would last a lifetime with proper care and seasoning. I decided to try it as soon as I made it home, fried a few pieces of bacon. I'm sure that helped with seasoning the pan as well. The food cooked evenly and I am very impressed. I plan to buy more pieces, so far I have a total of five. 12/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great griddle This griddle is what I have been looking for in a long time. I wanted one that did not have the teflon coat, yet was easy to make omeletes. This one was great. I made an omelete right away and it was the best one I have ever eaten. It was so easy to flip the half over onto itself. It was done perfectly The sides of the griddle are curved so the spatula can fit under the egg with ease. I made this omelete in less than a minute with cheese and asparagus. The flavor was sensational. 04/18/2011
1-30 of 40 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew381
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp