See All Reviews
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 46 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by great skillet I love this skillet. It cooks meat very well and fast. It is a great skillet. My husband and I bought a set of cast iron cookwear from Walmart and love them all. We recycled out old pans. We will only use cast iron. They are so easy to clean and then after I scrub and rinse with warm water I set it back on the oven on low to dry then put a coat of veg. oil on. 01/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding This 8 inch pan has a cooking area of 6 1/2 inchs just right for the small items, I find myself using this pan more then the 10 1/2 and 12 1/2 pan, just the two of us but when the kids show up out comes the big ones. I have no problem in cleaning these cast iron skillets. My father was cooking with cast iron in the 1920, no I don't have the skillets my sister does. yes I'm an old timer still cooking with cast iron. 09/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best tool in the kitchen I use my cast iron skillet at least 3-5/week. For the cost, this is one of the best investments you can make for your kitchen. I've had mine about 5 years and after years of use and seasoning its even better than the day I bought it. Cast iron does require a little care so you should learn how to properly season it. It's worth the effort because, unlike the cheap pans with the non-stick coating the begins scratching off after a few uses, this will last you for many years. 10/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by granma's fry pan My son (my chef) had to go along when I picked this up from site to store. He was concerned for the weight and thickness of a low cost cast iron skillet. I was pleased he approved it and surprised that it is just like Grandma's from so many years ago. Now we have just the right pan to cook eggs at breakfast. I'm confident it will hold up wonderfully over time. If I leave this world without much I can pass on this skillet. 12/29/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great skillet Grew up with a skillet that went untended. Hadn't had one in decades. Then I roused myself (don't ask) when I saw a cast iron skillet on the cover of the Williams Sonoma magazine (circa Fall'09). I was roused! So when I checked the magazine to order the WmsSon skillet, the price was TWICE as much! On a whim, not even a whim; more like a 'ech, what can I lose?' I logged onto Walmart. I couldn't believe the cost difference. That sold me. I was kinda predisposed to like the pan no matter what. It'd have to have holes in it to sour me. But it did not have holes in it. I know it says the pan is pre-seasoned, but I seasoned it again, anyway; what do I know. Works grand. I made the recipe on the cover of the WmsSon magazine, but I got the goods from Walmart. ...it's allowed. Pleased As Punch. (...who is "Punch" anyway? That puppet fellow? Keeps getting whacked by Judy? Why's he so pleased? I don't get it.) 10/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I wanted This 8" iron skillet was very hard to find. Thank goodness that I found it at Walmart.com. Since it is pre-seasoned maintainence and care is very easy as well as clean-ups. I am very pleased with my purchase and since it was delivered, "Site to Store" I did not pay shipping that was also a bonus. Iron from the skillet is absorbed by the food and then ingested in the body, making this item necessary for good health, as we all need iron in our diet. 09/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by what a pan! of course its built solid...but the amazing part is how well it prevents sticking. I have stainless pans that even with oil eggs stick. Not this little beauty..its fries up an egg and it slides right out. The thickness is just right - very sturdy but not too heavy. I have the large pan to but its a beast to move around and clean. Handle could have been a bit longer 07/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Excellent Buy After 40 some odd years, I finally had to retire my old cast iron skillet. My WalMart does carry the 8" and 10" skillets in-store. I picked the 8" mainly because of the weight. It's heavy [for me] but I can at least pick it up. I bought the 8" I've used the 8" for several meals now & has performed very well. The Taylor Ham turns out perfect every time! Yum! This is a good addition for anyone who needs a cast iron skillet. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT FRY PAN. LOVE THE SIZE. STILL THINK THE OLD COOKWARE CAN'T BE BEAT. DON'T HAVE TO PAMPPER THEM BY USING SPECIAL STIRRING ITEMS. THIS TYPE WILL LAST A LIFE TIME. JUST A LITTLE HEAVY FOR THE OLDER PERSON. BUT ALL OVER EXCELLENT. 06/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW..WOW..WOW!! Great skillet. We cook everything in it. It comes preseasoned...but...I oiled it and put in on a grate on my gas grill on high for bout 45 min (lot of smoke) ..let it cool..and did it again. It is better than one of those teflon non stick pans. i grill steak on the grill in it...cook eggs, make grill cheese, and more...all of this and you can basically wipe it out when your done. That easy. Will definitely get the bigger skillet soon. 06/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pan! I use this every morning to cook eggs. I've used it for pancakes and french toast too. For cooking small portions, it's just perfect. 05/18/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is one of the best skillets you can buy for one person. 06/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heavy Weight This caste iron frying pan is the perfect size and weight - not light weight and cheap, but I'm dismayed that the first time I washed it, it showed rust!!! Brillo took that off but I'm wondering if this is a bad sign? 05/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge 8" Cast Iron Skillet As usual the expected quality that we obtain from Walmart purchases. We ordered this skillet because my brother recommended that we move away from using teflon. I looked up these Lodge skillets and when we received them we were amazed. We always try to purchase items that are made in U.S.A. and this has so far proved very excellent. I used the skillet yesterday and the food came out incredible and tasting very good. I usually recommend that when you wash your skillet let it cool down and soak it in water for a few minutes to loosen up any hardened food. It will come off with a sponge and soapy water. I then oil them inside and out and store them either inside the stove or hang them. I recommend them for anyone that wants to cook healthier, get away from teflon and have long lasting skillets. Will be purchasing a larger skillet from Lodge in the future. Our order was placed site to store and the product came in on time and very well packaged. Customer service was excellent!!!! 08/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great alternative for nonstick cookware I bought this cast iron skillet to use instead of my old nonstick skillet. I use it mostly for cooking eggs. I clean it by spraying hot water in it. If there's any little specks of egg left I just use a brush to get them out. I dry it right away, and spray it with a little olive oil cooking spray, and it's ready for the next use. It's definitely built to last, and I have no concerns as to whether or not it's safe to cook in. 02/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by tasty cornbread amazing lived up to the hype . will buy more 02/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size for eggs I am pretty new to cast iron cooking, but my boyfriend got me hooked. He has an OLD 12" frypan that has been seasoned wonderfully. I bought this smaller size for frying eggs and such. It does come seasoned, but we are putting on several additional coats of bacon grease and baking them in before we really start using it. It is a very heavy weight pan and the perfect size. 12/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by very heavy it became rusty within weeks of owning it. barely used it and ended up donating it 06/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the skillet. My only compliant is the size. I was expecting it to be larger. 10/28/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rusty!!! I have owned this skillet all of 1 week and it has already began rusting!! I was so excited about this purchase as i've always loved cooking in cast iron skillets. I feel they are the best!!! But very disappointed with this skillet. 11/17/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never used Received skillet that was cracked through and through from the base of the handle to the bottom of skillet. 12/31/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by seems to be of good quality the eggs do stick tho in the morning so I am going to reseason the pan in the oven to see if this helps My other cast iron pieces are over 40 years old and well seasoned but this new one seems to be coming along well so far and was an excellant price for a "lodge" cast iron 8" fry pan 10/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing heats or cooks as well as cast iron. I bought this to begin replacing all my "Non-stick" cookware. Should have done this years ago. 09/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful! Love it! It cooks like a dream. Cannot be happier with the purchase. 08/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Great frying pan. 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great skillet The cast iron heats more evenly than stainless steel or nonstick skillets, but also keep in mind that you can get some iron added to your food, from cooking in it. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great frying pan Easy to use and clean Make sure you have an oven mitt to cook with this pan from Lodge. 04/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by butterbean fast shipping, good quailty skillet 03/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased for family members for Christmas per their request. They loved it. 12/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great heavy, cast iron skillet, not some flimsy imitation. I seasoned it myself before using (comes preseasoned) and nothing sticks. Unlike non stick pans this one can go into the oven for finishing. A great pan for cooking. 11/02/2011
1-30 of 43 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw352
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp