Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 82 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wunderbar! I read another review that said this was smaller than expected. It was small...for a stockpot. But it's main usage isn't meant to be as a stockpot. The point is that it is a double boiler and a steamer. I use its double boiler feature for my home made soap and candles. I've looked and looked for double boilers that are larger than 2 qts. The only other one I have found is only 2.5 qts and goes for $80 at Bed, Bath, and Beyond. This one is 3 qts and only $30!! That is an excellent value and for a double boiler it is LARGE - not small. Unfortunately, I can't use the steamer insert with the pot it comes with, as the pot is contaminated with chemically things in the soaps and candles. However, I discovered to my delight that the steamer fits perfectly into another pot I already have! I love the steamer and find it is much easier to clean than a steamer basket, which is what I had used in the past. If you're looking for a stockpot, this may not be for you. But if you are looking for a double boiler and/or steamer, the value cannot be beat! 01/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better than I expected! Perfect for keeping milk at the boiling point for a half hour or longer. No burnt milk with NO constant stirring! This double boiler comes with a beautiful finish and works perfectly. The walls are thick stainless steel and the bottom is about 3/5's of an inch thick. I accidentally boiled it dry and it cleaned right up with no warping. The handles are cool when it's hot, and the see through lid helps to see when the contents are boiling. Cleans up to a beautiful stainless steel shine. This three quart size fits my needs. Most of the others only hold 2 quarts. The included stainless steamer basket is a generous size, and has it's own handle for easy removal. I give this one 5 stars. 06/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 PROFESSIONAL GRADE DB First of all I was surprised at not only the way it looked, but it's size and it's weight. For the price I expected a light weight pot that I would only use when I needed a double boiler. It's a heavy duty pot that looks great in fact it looks just like the ones the TV chefs use. The 3 qt size plus the steamer basket makes it perfect for steaming vegetables - and I now use it to reheat leftovers instead of using the microwave - the steam keeps the food moist and not rubbery. It's a great pot with many uses. 10/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vhat a surprise! Happy gal am I!! I opened ta box. Behold, ME PUDDIN' MAKER! "I love ya," says me! "I've vaited so long ta find ya, must get ta verk". Gathered me ingrediants, me bowl and me favorite vooden spoon,(vit ta burnt handle). I set ta verk. ...... Time flew. Tapioca in ta double boiler vas simmering avay and I vas using me steam basket vit another pan (perfect fit, Tra La-a-a!) ta steam me freshly garden picked green beans. ....... Ah ha ! Tis time ta add egg vhites an vanilla ta me puddin' an set it aside. Fixed ta rest of me Lords meal .... ve eats. Time passes ... supper vas done. Desert vas served in me double boiler pan topped vit it's see through lid. Looks mighty grand on me table. " Hate sudzing dishes!" says I. Though cleanin' me new pan set vas a cinch, nice smooth finish it has. Must tell ya true, it's small rounded handles are vounderful. Fits on me stove very vell. The bottom pan es nice and heavy too! "Happy" says me, jigging round the floor! A set I vill use an use an pass on ta me kin. 08/30/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some dents but happy overall I ordered this online and it was delivered to my home for free. When I opened the box, there were 4 small dents on the side of the pan close to the bottom (main pan - not the inserts). I don't believe these dents were a result of damage during the shipping process but were probably already there when packed. I considered taking it back to WalMart and ordering another but felt it would be too much of a hassle due to it being right at Christmas and decided to keep the pan. I have used the pan a couple of times and it is very nice and of good quality. I would like to buy more pans by Tramontina but I will probably buy at the store so I can examine the pan before purchasing. Overall I am happy with the pan and the dents won't affect the cooking ability. 01/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really didn't know what to expect because it was so inexpensive, but turned out to be very well made, heavy duty and cooks beautifully. I like that it can be used as a double boiler, steamer or just a sauce pan. Well worth the money! 03/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I purchased this because cook's magazine said this brand of pots was very good - and good for the price - I did like it, but then noticed something around the bolts for the handles on the inside of the pot - there was black around them, so i cleaned the pot thinking that maybe sauce, etc. from the last time did not get cleaned off very good - cleaned it rinsed it and whenever water was on it black kept running down the inside of the pot from the bolts on the inside that connect the handles. so, did a really good soak/clean to see if it would go away and it looked like it did. Went to use the pot for boiling pasta and looked in the pot when the water was hot and saw black running out again - can not get rid of the black that keeps running out when the bolts get wet. Checked my other pots and noticed that none of them have any kind of connectors for handles on the inside of the pot - anyone else have a problem like this? I am concerned about the black running into my food - 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding It is surprising to find a quality, 18/10 pot set for this price! The aluminum base and the pot style combine to provide really even heat. I believe that's also why it is so easy to clean - no hot spots! This is the only double boiler that I've found with a usable capacity - others were more expensive and offered only a shallow insert that is not usable for my old family recipes that are the whole reason I wanted the double-boiler. This one is great - the others would have been useless! 03/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small Steamer The design of this product is uneven. The double boiler is huge and the steamer is too small. I have never used a double boiler but use a steamer 2-3 times a week. I wanted something that fit on my large burner (electric) but was not "family" sized. Family sized meaning those 8-qt monsters I saw advertised. The Tramontina fits the burner but the steamer basket barely holds enough for one person and some leftovers when used with bulky items like broccoli. I would have given a higher rating if the steamer basket was more generous. I would have given the finish a much higher rating if the sauce pan section had not been dented either due to poor quality control or the minimalist packing used. Of course the item was purchased site-to-store so replacement was going to be time consuming and require more trips to the store. 03/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very even heat! Looks Great. My last one didn't have even heating, this one is great. Enough weight to keep it in place also. Very happy with my purchase.. 01/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very small but very nice looking I ended up returning this steamer pot and bought the bigger size (8quartz). this 3 quartz is too small. When i saw it i was like whooaaa thats small. It's cute if you are just steaming ur vegetables for u and your daughter to eat, but not for the whole family. I love the way it looks. It is very well made. For $5 more i bought the bigger size and i was much happier with the bigger size. More room to put my vegetables in. The 8 quartz lookmore like a regular size pot than that 3 quartz. This pot might work for some people, but for me, i prefer the the 8 quartz for $5 more. 01/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product This steamer is a great product and works well, looks great and compliments my other cookware. The ONLY draw back is that it's size is small. Don't get me wrong though it is not so small that it takes away from the product. This is perfect for a family of four with no left overs. I should have purchased a larger one because I like to steam a large amount and then reheat. This product is great despite it's smaller size because it takes less time than heating canned veges on the stove or bagged in the microwave and the taste you get is unbelievable. 08/16/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was surprised! I'm not sure what I was expecting, but it's a lovely cooking pot.. ;) Can't go wrong with this purchase.. 01/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great buy This 4 piece set is very versatile. The glass lid lets you see inside, what's going on. The steamer insert is great for reheating leftovers, as well as for steam cooking. The double boiler insert can keep food or liquid warm. The stockpot is just the right size for a small household. It's a perfect set, that can be used in many different ways. So glad I stumbled upon this item. 01/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I expected After researching double boilers online, this appeared to be the best value and most reliable option. We used it to melt chocolate for dipping strawberries for a wedding open house last week, and it worked perfectly. Love the handles so I don't have to use hot pads; love the larger capacity. 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great pot for a double boiler. Nice size with a see-through glass lid. Steamer feature is nice, but a little small, great over-all value. 12/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS ITEM! What a great addition to my kitchen. I love the size. It's perfect for steaming vegetables and has a great handle for lifting out the basket. I really enjoy using the double boiler for everything from melting candies and butter to heating soups. The pot is large enough for making soup yet not so large to be considered a stock pot. Nice weight, not too heavy and has a beautiful finish. Great product at a great price! 11/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stainless Steal This steamer was bought to replace a previous steamer we no longer have. My wife indicated that we needed a new one and when I perused WALMART's kitchen utensils and came across this item. the size fit the bill of what we cook in our home. The size is perfect-not too big-not too small. Just right. In terms of performance on the stove-excellent! Tramontina makes exceptional cookware that usually costs the prices you see in Macy's,and Bloomingdales, when they are not on sale. The steamer portion of this triple decker make it a very good buy for those steaming natural or organic veggies. I would recommend this product across the board. 10/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value, large capacity I searched online in and department store housewares departments to find a good double boiler. Hard to find, cheap quality and high prices for name brands turned me away. I found this one at the Walmart website and ordered it to be delivered at my local store. In posted reviews, many reviewers said that there were dents in the metal. I found one small dent near the bottom of the double boiler bowl which did not affect the performance and is unseen when it rests in the bottom pan. Overall I am pleased with the product and love the large capacity. Substantial, good quality stainless steel. One point about cleaning: best hand-washed. 08/29/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tramontina steamer/double boiler Not the same quality as other Tramontina cookware that I use. Much lighter metal, plastic handles. It appears they don't make the high quality steamer. I would have paid more for the same high quality I am used to. 12/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would suggest one modification There is a lot to love about this product. It's well built, the handles are comfortable, and it's a good size. My one complaint is the lack of exterior handles on the steamer insert. It has a flat wire handles on the inside, but it's not easy to use when removing the steamer insert from the pot, and you have to make sure it's positioned in such a way that it is accessible once food is loaded into the steamer insert. Other than this one minor design flaw, this is a wonderful pot. I'd recommend it, but I'd truly love it if they would fix that one design issue. 10/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Double Boiler/Steamer A very nice pot. I got it to make my chocolates, but I will also be using it to steam seafood and veggies as well. I've used it several times already. It's wonderful to have. No kitchen should be without one. I would definitely recomend it. 12/10/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product This seems to be a good product. I shopped the web quite thoroughly before purchasing, and this seems to be the best value for the money. It was one of the few 3 qt. double boilers that I found. I suppose time will tell how durable it is. 08/04/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite item! This is one of my favorite pots to use! It is big enough to use for a pot full of spaghetti noodles and it is so easy to clean. The steamer basket part (technical huh!) is a good size too. The I love being able to pull my food out of the pan and have it drain at the same time...not having to pour the water out of the pan into the sink while trying to keep the food in. I highly recommend this item! 02/23/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by The steamer is nice looking but when I received it in the mail and opened up the box, the pot had a small dent on the side. And it's not built like the other Tramontina (3-ply) pots that I have. I was very disappointed with the quality. On top of that it keeps making this popping sounds when it's being used. Horrible I tell you... 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very useful and well designed. Excellent product. Just the right size for a small veggie steam job plus you get a double boiler which allows you to use the top pan as an extra for small jobs. Lid fits both. Steamer basket fits inside bottom pan which also has a nice thick base. High quality all the way. 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This produce is awesome, so far has met all of our needs.... 01/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Fantastic boiler! Wish I had bought it years ago!! 10/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT!!! What a great price for a fantastic double boiler/steamer. It has encapsulated bottom which helps distribute the heat evenly. I will use this for the many batches of christmas candy I make. Also for ice cream custard. Great Value 08/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by When I opened the package I discovered the pot was dented at the base. It must have occurred when it was packaged at the warehouse. 05/26/2011
1-30 of 69 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw297
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp