See All Reviews
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 53 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb binoculars, way beyond expectations! I bought these binoculars in the UK a few weeks ago from a different retailer (sadly, in the UK we do not have anything like the Wal-Mart Supercenter just a few minutes from our rented holiday villa in Venice, FL). I already own a pair of Pentax XCF 10x50s which I bought for basic astronomy and general use (bird watching etc.), but find my hands aren't quite steady enough to handle that level of magnification. Also, the outer-edge sharpness of the Pentax binos is kind of disappointing. These little Nikons are a revelation by comparison! The 8x magnification, 40mm objective lenses, multi-coated glass and BAK-4 prisms combine to give a steadier, clearer image without any loss in low-light performance. The clarity of image is outstanding, and the wide angle field-of-view is particularly useful for astronomy, as is the quite excellent edge sharpness which - to my amateur eyes, at least - is near perfect (much better than the Pentax's). They also came with an excellent neck strap which is wide and comfortable, and a basic soft carrying case. Nikon could improve this offering with a greater degree of weatherproofing and a better carrying case... but then, the binoculars would cost more, so it's unfair to expect these extra features at such a low price. As it stands, these are a bargain, and easily warrant a five-star rating! 06/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value - Great Product First off, we got this in about two days shipping during the holidays, right to our door! Great service, Wal Mart! This is a very nice set of binoculars. Quality design, great travel case and nice covers for the lenses! Got it for my husband to bird watch from the living room out into the back of our property and it's great! Wanted to get the Sharper Image ones with the ability to take pics, but all the reviews I read about them were bad. Very pleased with this purchase! 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I wanted I wanted binoculars for bird watching in my back yard and taking with me on walks, etc. I needed to replace a pair of ancient binoculars that had seen their day. I did a lot of research and decided on these binoculars after reading other favorable reviews. I am very happy with them. Very easy to use and focus. I would highly recommend them. 04/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Binocular This is first time I am using a high quality binocular and I am very pleased with the result. Distant objects really look clear and watching stars at night is also fun. Drawback - I have to take off my glasses otherwise the view becomes very limited. 08/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mom loved them! I was at a loss about what to get my mom for Christmas. I happened to think about How much she loves to feed the birds and watch the wildlife in her big back yard in Tennessee. I researched some birding websites and found that these binoculars were recommended for backyard bird watching. She loved them! They were her favorite gift. My dad says she uses them every day. I've tried them and I'm pretty impressed, too. They are extremely clear and make things look as though you can touch them. Would definitely recommend these. Great price for the quality. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nikon Action 8X40 I just bought two pairs of these binnoculars and going to buy a third one. One for the Jeep, one for the ATV, one for my truck. I have expensive solar powered transmitting equipment on a mouintain peak and when my electronic sensor detectors go off I can easily view the mountain top and see if it was a bird or human being setting off the alarms. I never know what vehicle I will be driving out here, in the desert mountain areas. Personnaly they perform equal or better then my $300.00 pair of binnoculars. Highly recommend them for the price! 07/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can see clearly now I am a bird watcher and have used more expensive binoculars in the past but none are as good as the Nikon binoculars. I have had problems focusing both eyes but not anymore, these binoculars are bringing me great joy! 06/18/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hubby LOVES these! I got these for my hubby affter reading nearly a couple hundred positive reviews. I had no idea what to buy for him. I was convinced these would be perfect for him and he LOVES them! For years, he had been using these awful, cheap, practically disposable binoculars that were free with a sports mag subscription and I couldn't stand the thought of him using them anymore. He loves to bird watch! The clarty is amazing and it brings the wildlife up close, and personal! He said he never knew hummingbird eyes were so big! lol 08/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for birdwatching We bought these binoculars after reading the information and suggestions on several websites. They are really great! They are strong enough to focus in on wildlife at a distance and still focus up close to get a good view of the animals that aren't as far off. We live out in the country and have lots of wildlife on our farm as well as our livestock. The reviewers were right about these being the perfect binoculars for birdwatching. I would recommend them to anyone. 09/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the Price Binoculars are a great buy. They perform as well if not better then som of the more expensive ones. And expensive they can be, I was shocked to see some of the binoculars range in price from, $9 all the way up to over a $1000. Yes that high so i do believe I got a good buy for the price, a bargin that works and does as advertised!! 01/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommend!! I purchased these for my Husband who is extremely picky. We had done alot of research on binoculars to make sure he got the correct ones. These were perfect and much cheaper than we had found on other sites. The site to store option was very easy to use! I would recommend these to anyone!! 12/08/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Binoculars These are good bionculars for the money, but if you want a great pair of binoculars, go for either the Leupold or the Nikon in the $300-$400 range. There is a reason why the great binoculars just cost more money, they're better. 09/22/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Alot better than I bargined for These binoculars are by far a excellent choice for the price. The optics are clear and the field of view (40mm) makes any object "POP" and are easy to handle. Being that they are the first pair I've purchased, but looked at many, the Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Bicnoculars are outstanding. A big plus is that Nikon carries a 25 year warranty. I would highly recommend this product to anyone! 06/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 This is the best pair of binoculars, I have ever owned, considering what they cost. As good as ones that were in the $200.00 range. 09/06/2007
Rated 2 out of 5 by You get what you pay for I bought these binoculars based on everyone else's good reviews. These are heavy, awkward, and do not get clear- no matter how you focus them. The view is very small- meaning if you are trying to see something- you just get a tiny bit of it. I would return them, but I spent WAY too much on shipping for Christmas to make it worth it. Garage sale quality. Maybe I can unload them on ebay. 01/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is all around awesome! These are by far the best binoculars for the money that I have ever owned. I can see through these binoculars about 30 minutes before daylight, and sometimes even before then if there is a full moon. I would recommend these to anyone who wants to increase their odds in the woods and boost their confidence. 11/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality optics at a reasonable price Got the Action 10/50 for spotting birds on Big Lake. They work really well. Only had binoculars for two weeks but very pleased so far. 10/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product. Easy to focus I am enjoying tahis product. They are much easier to focus than my old ones. The object is much clearer. I would recomend them to a friend. 10/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very bright field. Excellent equipment for the money. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! These are outstanding binoculars -- very bright, excellent resolution. The 8x magnification is great for hand-held use -- you get a good up-close image without much shaking. The build quality, fit, and finish are all excellent. My boy scout troop loved using these at scout camp. Even at 8x, it's amazing to see craters on the moon and thousands of stars in what appeared to be a sparsly populated patch of sky to the naked eye. And we had these binoculars at hand just as an eagle began making slow circles high above the waterfront! Magic. 08/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product at an amazing price. very clear and easy to use. 08/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST BINOCS EVER! ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE! Picked these up at my local walmart for $twenty 5 bucks on clearance marked down 4 times from the original 179!!!! Totally worth it! Even at the original one seventy nine I would have to keep them. Feel really heavy duty, have nice grips, great focus adjustments and CLARITY OUT THE WAZOO! Really nice to get a set of FULLY MULTI COATED LENSES AND BAK-4 PRISM AT A SPECTACULAR PRICE. Even if you are paying full price people these are really really amazing at this price. You cant do better than Bak-4 prisms and fully multicoated optics in a pair of binocs. These work better than a pair I have been loaned that cost $800! And trust me my buddy is jealous that I have these and is going out to pay full price for 2 sets of these for himself! Thats how nice these are....oh and they are WATERPROOF TO BOOT! Bottom line people just get these, they are a super phenomal deal for what you are getting in a VERY NICE set of optics, you will be pleased! These also perform super good in low light (dawn and dusk) which is one of the many reasons my buddy and I have fell in love with these binocs. I love them and so will you if you know anything about optics and have been shopping around. Best deal anywhere. I CAN WAIT FOR HUNTING SEASON TO USE MY NEW 8X40 NIKON ACTIONS! I will finally be able to see deer in low light when I need to with my own binos that I could actually afford! Great price, Thanks WalMart and Thank you Nikon for making such a great product at a super price! GO BUY EM! 08/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisified Purchased primarily for bird watching and some landscape viewing. Have been using a Bushnell 10x50, but wanted more FOV and brightness in low-light conditions. The Nikon does well with those aspects and surprised me how crisp and clear the view is. Good weight and very comfortable grip. Only experienced fogged lenses when taking then out of air conditioning into hot & humid outdoors. They clear up after a bit when they get warmer. That seems normal with any product. Have no problem managing the lens covers. The eye lens ones just hang with the neck strap (wich is also well-made and comfortable to wear. The case is quality-made, too, and seems to protect it well enough. Have no negative observations. Bought it using the "Pick-Up-Today" on-line option which was about $16 cheaper than the in-store price (at the Bonner Springs, KS Walmart). 08/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for birdwatching We researched what features to look for in a binocular for casual birdwatching and this product had everything we wanted at a great price. Perfect! 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet large lens for night viewing........!!!! Just what I needed. Perfect . Easy to use . Very well balanced,too . 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Iam very impressed with optics and brightness.Would recoment to anyone. frank 04/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect They just showed up. 10x50 and perfect. I needed a new set. The older 7x35 were passed down to my girls. I wanted a new set that had a better than average FOV, and the 10x50's fit the task. These will be perfect for the field.With bow hunting you don't need to go any higher than 10x, and the Field of View is great, along with the magnification, just the right size. With the 50mm lens the light filtration in the early dawn will be nice.It's dusk right now and it's like some one has turned on the lights, just love it. Thank you Nikon. 03/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 10x50 Bionoculars I love my new Action 10x50 bionoculars! The wide angle lenses really pick up on the birds and landscape. The view is really clear and helps me in the field! 01/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good quality. I bought these for my husband for Christmas and he said they are so comfortable and it has the clearest view of any that he has ever owned. 01/04/2011
1-30 of 45 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.