See All Reviews
Sunpentown 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
Sunpentown 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
$354.99
List Price: $498.00
You Save: $143.01 (29%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 74 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good We used our portable air conditioner throughout most of summer this year and cannot complain about this little great machine. All you need to do is to place the unit right next to a window to vent the hot air outside, set the unit on cool at 64 degree and left it to do it’s work. When the room gets too cold, we'll raise the temperature higher. The temperature in our bedroom was a lot less than the rest of the house. The only downside was the unit was a bit noisy to leave on. 07/30/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would recommend it I purchased the SPT 12,000 BTU after moving into an apartment complex that does not allow window units and has a central air conditioning unit that runs constantly because it is old and can't handle the heat in my apartment. I read alot of reviews online so I did not expect this product to be as good as a 12,000 BTU window unit. I also read that some people had problems with the condensation overflowing onto the floor. I have this unit in my living room and it is on a second floor. The heat comes up my steps from the front door and seeing how this unit is able to keep this room at 80 degrees when the heat index outside is 107 is to me amazing! The central air is running but the termostat reads near 90. Where this unit is, the temp is 80. Without running this unit, my entire apartment would be up near 90. Yes, it is still hot in here but this summer has been a record breaker. I have it set on 74 today and it is in the upper 80's today and it has kept it very cool. I'm very happy with this unit and have decided to ditch the central air. I'm purchasing a 14,000 btu unit from another manufacturer since it has some features that this unit doesn't have and put it in my living room and moving the SPT into my bedroom so it will be very cool at night. I make sure I empty the water in it every other day. It only takes a few minutes and hopefully it will prolong the life of this unit. I also have it up on a table so that the hose going out the window has absolutely no bends in it and I have put it as close to the window as I possibly could. All this is in the owners manual so I followed the instructions and so far I'm very happy with this unit and would recommend it to someone wanting to cool a smaller room. It does a pretty good job cooling my living room considering the kitchen entrance is on one side of the room and the steps are on the other both putting heat into this room. If you don't expect this to cool a room like a window unit and you follow all the instructions, you should be very happy with it. 07/26/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overszed electric fan The unit works, and does put out a good volume of air, but doesn't cool the 500 sq ft room as advertised, it does help. If all possible, I'd go for the window installation with 40K BTU's, not the weakie 14K. However compared to another portable, I would have to say this one tops my friends by far. I'd recommend this unit for a small bedroom or small living space, something under 500 sq ft. 08/02/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by At first it was a waste of time and money. I was going to return it, but had other things to do, so I just left it to do it's thing. A few hours later I went back to pack it up. I opened the door and got hit in the face with a wall of cold air. There was so much cold air it not only cooled a 10x20 bedroom that is full of stuff, but it also cooled in seconds, the whole top hall way in a 4 bedroom town house by about 15 degrees! The only down fall I can see is, you have to drain the drain pan. 3 weeks running and still waiting to drain the drain pan. Oh what a tough life to have cooool dew blowing 24/7 (-= 06/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly positive purchase Up to now, I've had only negative experiences with portable air conditioners. My wife suggested that this one would be different, and against my better judgment, I caved. This particular AC unit is in the hottest room of the house, and it keeps things nice and regulated. I was skeptical about the advertised lack of drainage, but it's been running for about a week solid, and I haven't seen a single drip. I would definitely recommend this unit. 08/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Cool Air The product works great, the cost at $500 is a little high. Changes that could increase the value would be to add a 24 hour timer cylce so that you would not have to keep reseting the timer each day or night. 2nd a power save on the fan feature to shut down the unit when it is cooling below the target temp. 3rd a battery back up for the timer feature so that if the power blinks off you don't loss the timer setting. 06/30/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent AC Very pleased with the ease of operation and function of this portable air conditioner. It delivers very cold air along with being very quiet. The power consumption is less than 1,000 watts. 07/27/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Awesome This is a great AC unit. The window kit is flimsy though. We ordered an upgraded hard plastic window kit. (Kind of pricey.) But was well worth it. We also used "Bill Me Later" and "Site To Store" which I highly recomend for big ticket items. Buy this unit, you will be glad. 12/01/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does the job After reading many reviews, I decided to buy this model. It was delivered in just a couple of days. The instruction manual that came with the unit was for a different model. I was able to email the company directly and they sent me a pdf file with the correct info. The set up, even with the wrong instructions, was fairly user friendly. My only two frustrations are the noise - too loud to talk on the phone or watch TV in the same room and the other is that it does not cool off my tiny 400 SF apartment well. If I close off a few doors and use a couple of ocillating fans, then the temp is cool enough and at least the air is dryer. I used some of the white foam cushioning boards to help seal up the window along with the panel provided for venting. The unit is about 65lbs. Very awkward to drain the water without help. 09/20/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sunpenbelt Portable Air Condtioner Works fine, though I have given it the task of cooling my garage which is a losing battle in these very hot months here in Southern Texas. The sun bakes down on the garage door and there no insulation above or around the garage. If it is warm in the garage it cools it nicely, but if it is very hot it takes it down a few degrees, but the benefit comes from the loss of humidity. I can work in the heat, but the heat plus humidity is what makes it unbareable. The control did not work. I called the distributor and they had a replacement to me with very little fuss; taking care to make sure I got the right one. This is a nice unit as long as you do not have unrealistic expectations. The vent is sturdy and it is not too noisey. 07/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great purchase! I never heard of the brand before so i was a little hesitant but it has kept 3 large rooms very comfortable. Affordable and exceeds expectations. Would highly recommend this unit. 06/19/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good choice for a spur of the moment purchase I purchased this air condition after the temp outside soared and my central air is not working. It cools my bedroom and bathroom great! The plastic piece that fits in the window for the large heat exhaust is flimsy and does not fit well and I was under the false impression that "portable" meant you did not need to have an exhaust outlet. It is noisy but it is like white noise and actually helps me fall asleep at night! Over all I would recommend this product but do not know how it will hold up in the long term. 06/07/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Modest Gain for losts of noise This unit make a difference when the temperature is in the low 80's but above that can't keep up. It really is dripless but at the cost of many many decibels. 07/02/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by SUNPENTOWN PORTABLE AIR CONDITIONER The unit does a nice job of cooling as long as you have it vented properly. I think as far as BTU's I am glad I got 12,000 BTU's which is technically more than I needed. The unit works quieter than window units I have much to my surprise. The feature I like least is the digital temperature/control display which faces up. I use the remote control and I can't see what temperature it is set for without walking over to the unit. 06/18/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected Very large piece of equipment. Extremely heavy. The hose gets very hot which pretty much defeats the purpose. Window unit works so much better and looks better. I purchased this to work along with our full house air conditioning for the upstairs which can stay at 80 degrees when it is 100. Even with the other air conditioning, this unit still would not bring down the temp. Returning and putting the window unit back in. Walmart customer service was friendly and set up the return schedule immediately. 06/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by This unit works great in the garage as long as the garage is insulated in the attic. I tied the hot air vent into my dryer vent. 05/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by cant cool on hot days This a.c. cant keep a master bedroom cool on a 100° day my old 10000 btu had no prob but this 12000 btu cant cool for dookie , plan on returning it if possible.... 05/06/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good product - I may buy another I bought the Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner. I've had it about a week now. I bought it to cool a bedroom 14' x 16'. My central air broke down, and the price tag for a new one was about $10,000. My condo association does not allow window units. To me a portable unit seemed like a good solution until I can afford the central air replacement. Overall, I'm satisfied with this unit. I'll list the good and the bad points. GOOD: 1. The quality of the unit was better than I expected. It came with panels to install the exhaust hose in a window, and they were made out of good heavy gauge plastic. 2. Installation was pretty easy. 3. The unit is fairly attractive (compared to some of its competitors). 4. It strongly blows cold air, making the room feel cooler immediately even before the temperature goes down. 5. The remote works well even from across the room. 6. Unlike some other units, the condensation from the coils is vented outside, so you only rarely have to empty the internal reservoir. BAD: 1. It's fairly noisy. I understand this is true of all portable air conditioners, since the compressor is inside. 2. It takes about an hour to cool the room down – but it does cool it down. 3. IMPORTANT – This unit has a quirk that can make you think it's defective. When you first start it up it comes up in what the manufacturer calls "Auto" mode. This mode is totally useless. Even though the temperature setting shows 75, the compressor is deliberately designed not to kick in until the room temperature reaches 80. In this mode there's no way to adjust the temperature – no matter how many times you click the temperature adjustment buttons. At first I couldn't understand what was going on. It was blowing hard but the compressor wasn't kicking in. Then I read the manual more carefully. The solution is this: after starting it up, press the MODE button to change it to the "Cool" mode. Then you can set the temperature to whatever you like. Then it will stay in Cool mode even after turned off unless you unplug it or the house power goes off. 09/17/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great I think this unit is just great. It does exactly what it is intended for. I live in an Apt complex and the the units are oddly shaped in a "u" shape. The small 5500 BTU window unit is good for the bedroom we have it in and if you put enough fans around the house you MIGHT get some air in the living room by the next day. So I purchased this unit for the living area. I do not have any windows in this area just a big slider door. The window fitting piece it comes with is great for the window, either up/down or the side/side ones. the window fitting for the vent hose extends I'd say approx 5'. although note to self, you will need to go to the hardware store to purchase the little screws to lock it in place as they are not included. I've seen reviews about this piece being flimsy, but I got to tell ya if you can get those screws and some of that rubber seal tape it will work like gang busters. I on the other hand had to go extra to fit it for a slider door. so I save the piece they gave for later. I went to buy a 2 x 10 board, cut to size for my door 1.5" thick x 77.5" long x 10" wide notched out a rounded corner for fitting into the grooved track the door slides in and cut a 5" diameter hole for the vent hose to mount to, notched out another hole in the side of the board to accommodate the latch in the frame and then it was just a matter of rubber seal tapping all around to seal the gaps and then I cut a dowel to fit the new size that the door would be when closed so I could secure it and its awesome. I went a bit above and beyond but it was the only space I had to work with so I had to get creative. my only negative for me is that I don't like the auto mode, I like the manual better. It seems to push out more cold air in manual then auto. also be careful washing your filter and don't get to crazy in the drying of it as it will tear...its just a dust filter. I suppose you can wait longer to do this but I drain mine once a day and never have any problems and it doesn't leak. It's a great little unit for the money and does the job we need. love it and its awesome for the apt living, as i hear more and more the places are not allowing window units. Tell you what if that is you then perhaps a couple of units like this well placed and a fan or 2 and your entire house will be amazing. in fact, as I'm typing this review, it's 90+ outside and a nice 68 inside. ENJOY!! 07/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product So far, so good...very pleased with the upgrades from last years model. Just a note to other buyers of this product, be sure (if you use the exhaust hose) to keep the hose straight, otherwise it makes the current temperature reading inaccurate. (I believe it "back-builds" pressure)...but the unit cools very effectively and is very easy to use! 08/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by a little loud I got this product because my swamp cooler was struggling during an extremely humid early July in El Paso. It made the room much cooler and allowed me to sleep without waking cranky and sweating. It is a little loud but that does not disturb me at all. I slept right through the night because it was cooler and it was like a loud fan. I do not normally have the tempature set lower than 72/74 so I cannot say wether it gets really cold. I know when the compressor comes on it is like a mini turbine engine. I just know that I sleep like a baby now and with the monsoon month coming I am going to enjoy!! 07/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to set up We replaced our 8000 BTU Pelonis window unit with this portable unit and it does cool our 210 square foot room a little better and faster. One thing worth mentioning about a portable versus a window unit is the fact that it causes the room pressure to be more negative. This is do to the fact that it pushes the hot air through the high pressure side and out of the room. We have a plasma in the next room and there is a noticeable difference in the performance when the TV is on. Our windows are small so I had to cut one of the installation kit pieces down to fit it in the window. 10/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's suitable for some needs Well lets face it you're paying for the convienence. It's not the performance I was hoping for, but it does get the job done. I'm not sure how much power it has been using, but its running constantly just to keep the temp accurate. The exhaust is very touchy and a major factor for performance. It needs to be drained of water frequently unless you have a drain next to it. The cold air output is only a fraction of the exhaust heat so be sure to vent it properly or you're wasting your money. 08/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great a/c unit I purchase this unit (on-line) to cool a 700sq ft office, and also used it to cool down a 8man tent, it is pretty quite and works great, a little high on price but a great long term investment, I thank all who left feed backs to help me make my purchase. 07/07/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by AC that works I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews and I definitely am a skeptical shopper when spending this much money, but I'm happy with the product. It cools my bedroom very well, makes as much noise as you would expect, like a large fan, but is easily bearable. Drains fairly easy as well. 06/15/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me It does cool the room I have it in very well. we find it best to close our door to the room it is in. One drawback is that its fan runs all the time and would like it if it would shut down all together once room temperture has been reached. We tested ours by using the window attachment, but now that we know it works we are considering installing a perment venting into our celing to exshast into our attic space. Then will attach the perminate drain. That is another issue is.. yes it does not require the process of emptying the water (because it resuses it to cool its self), but unless you have it hooked up to drain it does not dehumidify as well. All in all it does what it is suppose to do. we only run it at night while we sleep. So if you like to sleep with a fan running it works great. 06/14/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great!! Also on cooler days fan is great It seems to work great. Fan setting has been used on cooler days . 06/14/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This machine is loud and not conducive for room usage specially during night time. Look's like there's no enough freon in the machine to produce the cold temperature setting. 09/15/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of junk. Plugged in and compressor came on and stayed on about three seconds and cut off. Would not come back on. Returned to Walmart same day. Were pleased with the customer service and ease of return. 09/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by air conditioned product seems to be excellent. It takes care of the gameroom. It was easy to install. 09/09/2010
  • 2016-03-24 T07:05:01.818-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_74, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_5799323, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 67 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw293
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp