See All Reviews
First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock
First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock
$188.00
List Price: $298.00
You Save: $110.00 (37%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Safe is just OK... I researched safes well before I decided on this one. I needed a safe to store some valuables, paper documents and back-up CD's. What sold me on this safe, was that it was the right size, fireproof/waterproof and only $200. I also liked the concealed hinges, back-lit keypad, key back-up and the fact you didn't need the key to open the safe in conjunction w/your code. The positives: The packaging was excellent from Walmart and you can't beat free shipping to home, which was fairly fast, less than 2 weeks. It's surprisingly roomy inside and the shelf and compartment in the door is handy. The back-lit keypad w/key back-up is awesome and it was a breeze to program. It's heavy, so I'm not worried about someone walking off w/it (but I would keep it out of sight). It looks nice. The negatives: The safe arrived kind of oily and very cold and damp, inside and out. This was fairly minor and temporary, but did take 6 hours of drying (after wiping down) w/a fan and electric heater. Next, the overall quality of this safe is pretty cheap. I was expecting it to be more solid. First, the door does not shut all the way when closed. It sticks out about 1/8" of an inch. It makes me question the integrity of this thing in a fire or from a would be criminal. Although, even w/the door fully shut, I don't think it would take much effort to pry this thing open. It states the locking bolts are solid steel, but they sure don't look or feel like it. And even if they are, I bet the plastic door would crumble fairly easily if someone had a crow bar. But my main concern is w/a fire and this thing lasting as long as they claim, especially w/a slightly ajar door. Lastly, the entire safe is made of plastic, including the whole handle and keypad assembly. It just has a cheap feel to it. I give this thing 3 stars, at best. The quality just isn't there and it didn't meet my expecations. I've had it less than a week and contemplated returning it for these issues, but I don't think it's worth the hassle. If I had to do it over though, I would probably get the First Alert 2.0 metal safe and skip this one. Hope this helps. 12/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product so far After reviewing several brands, we liked the Honeywell description the best. We like the security features and the inside hinges. Great price online at walmart.com. Easy to setup, took about 5-10mins to read, test and set our combination. Only complaint was it took 1 month to be ready at the store. Way to long for a product that showed in stock at the time for ordering. 03/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very necessary For the price this is an excellent safe. It was easy for me and my husband to program. The space inside feels bigger than what you think when you look at it online. Store delivery was also very good. 01/03/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by solid Safe is a quality product that appears to be well made. It fits in the closet, and is heavy enough that the casual thief will not walk away with it unnoticed. We now have peace of mind when lots of people are at the house that no one will decide to slip into a bedroom and open the dresser drawer, helping themselves to what little jewelry we have. Likewise, when we are out of town for an extended period the laptop computers and external harddrives can be secured on the off chance that someone breaks in. We've also put important papers in the safe for fire protection. Overall, a good value. 01/08/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Digital Pad Does Not Work First, let me say that I bought a Model 2087D digital safe 3 years ago to secure my guns. Being in law enforcement, I open that safe virtually 2 or more times every day. I have changed the combination several times and the batteries 3 times, and it has worked flawlessly. I wouldn't have anything but a digital safe. I bought my first Model 2092D safe in July 2011 to hold important papers. I bought it because it was like my 2087D, but .5 cu. ft. more for only $1 more. In the beginning it seemed to work great. I changed the combination...just like I did on my 2087D...as the digital lock is identical to my 2087D. It worked great for approximately a week. Then it started beeping like a heart monitor...about 1 beep per second...and all of the numbers and lights on the key pad blinked in sync with the beeping. Pressing keys had no effect, and the safe had to be opened with the tubular key. I took the batteries out, and put them back in to reset it, and a week later the beeping and blinking lights started again. Putting new, fresh batteries in the safe did not help, as a week later it did it again. As a result, I took it back to Walmart, and ordered another. On the new one, I put the batteries in and opened the safe using the preset combination a couple of times. Everything worked fine. I then changed the combination to my own, and opened it twice. Everything appeared to be fine. Then, a couple of minutes later, the safe suddenly made a continuous, solid beep sound that lasted for about 3 seconds. The sound started at a regular volume for this safe and then continuously went softer, like the battery was running down. After the 3 or so seconds, the safe went basically dead. When I pressed the numerics on the keypad, all I got was silence and the red light would blink when the numerics were pressed, and the safe would not open. Fresh batteries got exactly the same response. This one will also be going back for a refund, and there will be no third purchase. 10/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Well worth the money After reading the reviews on this product I decided that this was the Safe for me. I ordered it on walmart.com and had it shipped to my local store, for free ( 0.97c), which was very convenient. 9 days from ordering, it arrived at my local store. I was delighted with the safe. It was just what I wanted. Having read the instructions very carefully I began to set up my personal passcode. Up to this point everything went according to the instructions. However, when I came to "Programming a Personal Passcode" things went down hill fast. I spent a good half hour trying to program my Passcode, without success. It was during this period that I experienced the Security Lockout Periods, which is a great feature of this safe. For added security, the safe will automatically "Lockout" entry for 15 minutes after three attempts to open with an invalid Passcode. I decided to swollow my pride and call Consumer Affairs at First Alert. The Lady I spoke to was very pleasant and helpful. Immediately I told her the problem I was having she knew the answer. Paragraphs 1 & 2 on the Programming a Personal Passcode Section of the Instruction Manual had been reversed when it was printed. All I had to do was change para 1 to para 2 and para 2 to para 1. Once I did that I had no problems with the programming. I am delighted with this safe. 07/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Safe that combines digital, waterproof& fire This was the size we were looking for, and just what we wanted in combining digital opening, waterproof and firesafe. It also was shipped right to our home for only $4.97. That was much better than picking it up at a store (weight about 90 lbs), and so reasonable. It arrived in very sturdy packaging by Fed Ex, and arrived very quickly. The price was very reasonable (much less than a safe would have cost at a locksmith, key, and safe dealer). The only problem we had was when I went to put in my own security code, at first it would not take it. I called the manufacturers toll free number and the girl I talked to in Customer Service immediately told me what to do. I was told that my manual had the set up instructions reversed, so that I had to open up the front cover before pushing re-set button on the door. The instructions said to push the re-set button, then open the cover, then put in your own code, and this was why it originally did not work. She said that some manuals were printed wrong, so if you buy one, be aware of this sequence. The digital opening has worked fine ever since. 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to hide my Snickers bars from the kids This First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot safe appears to be everything it is advertised to be. Came with excellent instructions for installation and setting the combination. We specifically chose this digital model because you can easily change the combination and there is a way to get into the safe if you forget the combination. At our age it's hard to remember what we had for breakfast let alone the combination to a safe that you rarely open. It has plenty of room inside to stack up all those millions$$$$ along with important papers like wills, car titles and oh yes, those snickers bars. I think we made the right choice and the price was right. 04/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific safe, read the reviews, no issues what so ever. For $5 get it delivered at your door by Walmart. It weighs about 90lbs. I'm 65 and was able to move it around but it moves a whole lot better with two. 03/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ideal for limited storage. This safe is just as described. Easy to set up. Weight is good. Like the adjustable shelve inside. Would suggest this safe for anyone who needs security and has limited space. Thx Walmart for selling another good product at good prices. 02/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot Digital Waterproof Fires The safe is well worth the money. Very heavy(102 lbs) I can't imagine anyone carry this safe down a flight of stairs or any were for that matter, also fire and water proof which is good for valueables. Seems very well made. As for people complaining about the plastic handle I'm sure the handle is metal with a plastic coating over it. Some people were a little disappointed because they couldn't bolt the safe to the floor. What I done was buy plastic coated metal chain and (I bolts) mounted them front to back and side to side, ran the chain over top (leave some slak) for door opening and pad lock the chain and no one will walk away with the safe. I'm very happy and it works for me! If people are worried about the smell of any items left in the safe for a long time because of no air circulation they can purchase one of those food savers, put your items in the bag and suck all the air out and then store them in the safe without any worries. 10/24/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by defective How can I review something that was defective? I put in new batteries and I got the right signal, but beyond that, nothing worked. The keyboard didn't light up and the safe would not program. I called the customer service number and the representative ran me through a couple of test then declared the safe to be defective. Do you know how much of a hassle it is to return a one hundred pound safe to the store? Walmart customer service was accommodating enough and the paperwork wasn't too much of a hassle. 08/01/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep it SAFE! This is a great product for an average household. It was easy to install (you must be able to lift 100 pounds, have a helper, or a dolly). The direction for setting up the code were easy to follow. It was in place and working in 15 minutes. 05/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by this thing is graet. its air tight and the key padis east to see and use. 01/31/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Good to go It's heavy, and that's good easy to program and well made as far as I can tell, wish I had more valueables to store in it. 01/26/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Quality Safe Excellent quality. Much better than Sentry. Waterproof (vs Water-Resistant) is great feature. Arguably this is essential for a fire safe - where there's fire, hopefully there will be lots of water. 12/26/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT PRODUCT I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT, ORDERED FOR MY HUSBAND, FOR CHRISTMAS, TO PUT JEWELERY AND OTHER VALUABLE PRODUCTS IN, HE REALLY LOVE THIS SAFE, I JUST LOVE SHOPPING AT WALMART, I ALSO PURCHASED A COMPUTER CABINET , WHICH WAS JUST LOVELY, MY ORDERS WERE DELIVERED EARLY AND ON TIME FOR HOLIDAYS, THANK YOU KINDLY, SUCH GREAT SERVICE, 5 STARS 12/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe safe Its just what I ordered,shipping was real fast, easy to set combination. I shopped around 8 weeks to find a safe that would work for me. I am very happy with this safe.It is Waterproof Firesafe ... 06/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good enough Pros: Good price $200 is what I paid Digital password easy to set up emergency key - good if forgot pwd Cons: It looks like it can't be closed all the way... is it water proof? It feels and looks like plastic... is it really fire safe? Plastic handle, flimpsy and cheap but functional. After all the searching, I'm happy so far, I only put cash, jewery, and important document in there, just a peace of mind. Other safe cost more and look as cheap. I just wish they have a metal handle looks more sturdy. 05/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 safe very solid product at a great price. 07/04/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible customer service I purchased this safe almost a year ago. Since I have owned it everything inside of the safe is damp and moist. I have had to remove my jewelry and important documents. Now I have spoken with the owner of Honeywell, Sisco, and at my cost, I have to ship the safe to them for repair or replacement in CA. I live in MI. The door doesn't close all of the way at the bottom, so it is defective. I had a Sentry before and loved it, but gave it to my daughter. I am unhappy about having to ship this back at my cost for replacement. 04/25/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth it How is it even possible these days that they could sell a safe for $200.00 that doesnt even bolt to the ground. Safes that cost half this price have that feature. Trust me when I say skip this safe. Its really worthless in my opinion. Somebody can easily pick this thing up and good bye to all your valuables. In fact probably makes a burglars dirty deed even easier to accomplish. 10/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good. Only had it a little bit , but easy to program codes, came in great packaging. 10/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was looking for a quick access, quality safe! Was looking for a quick access, quality safe with backlit display for quick access in the dark. This safe is perfect for that. A little more than I wanted to spend for it, but exactly what I needed! 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Safe I wanted a safe with a keypad and a lock/key as backup. Everything worked great in setting it up. Delivery from Walmart was excellent. I had to lug it upstairs but thats ok, I did. 05/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This safe is great! Very durable and spacious. 01/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice safe pretty nice safe for the money. I bought it to store valuables and personal firearm. It stated in the owners manual that this safe was not designed to store firearms. Oh well. I did have a small dent in the top front corner of the safe when I got it home. I used site to store and was injured when I picked it up so I had a friend help load it and bring it in the house for me. The packaging of the safe was minimal, cardboard on 4 sides and about 1/2" styrofoam on the other 2 sides. I could not tell if it was dented in transit or after I picked it up. IF YOU BUY THIS SAFE, THERE IS AN ERROR IN THE OWNERS MANUAL REGARDING THE INSTRUCTIONS TO SET THE PASS CODE. I found this out after not able to set the pass code. When I called First Alert customer service, they were able to tell me that and told me what to do. When programming the pass code, the instructions say to lift the keypad cover after you press the reset button. this is WRONG. Lift the keypad cover BEFORE you press the reset button, then you can enter the new code. I chose this safe because of the fire rating, it is waterproof and it has a backup key if the electronics should fail. It cannot be bolted down because it would not be water proof if it had holes drilled in it. I gave the overall rating only good because of the instruction manual having incorrect instructions in it. other than that, 5 stars. 01/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent safe. Easy to program or switch combination. Plenty of space just wish there were two shelves (made an extra one out of masonite). Very happy with the purchase and speedy delivery. 12/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This one of the best ones for the price I was not sure about ordering it online but with the name Walmart I took a chance and was very pleased with the product and had what I wanted and more. 10/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meets my needs. Product was as described. Highly recommend. 09/29/2011
1-30 of 110 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw98
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp