Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 57 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by What you don't know and should So I just bought this safe. I think it is a great price for a solid, extremely secure fire and waterproof safe and does what it should but what you should know is: 1. It's dark blue, not grey like the pictures. 2. The combination is preset and CAN NOT be changed. 3. You CAN NOT bolt it down (though it is 80lbs) 4. The storage pouch on the inside of the door can only hold about a 1/4 inch thick pamphlet 8 inches wide. (like two passports side by side). It's not really a pouch. 5. There is a 1x1x2 inch well on the top of the door (inside). Don't know what it was meant for but it's size could hold only one roll of film (maybe that's its intent?) The shelf is adjustable to about 1 inch increments. My Downside: If I had known you can't change the spin dial combo, I would have bought the digital safe to be able to program and change the lock code myself. (It's easier to remember your own numbers) And getting the digital version you get an extra .3cuft as a plus. 03/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I likey I like my new safe. Its kinda hard to get the whole combination thing down cause its a 4 digit combination, but then thats ok cause it makes me feel like my stuff is that much more protected. On top of that if you dont like the 4 number combination do what I do - use the key! I seldom have to get into my safe, but when I do I just use the overide key. Good price, good product. 03/13/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value Good space, waterproof, and fire-resistant for 1 hour. For the price, it's a solid value, and the best I could find. Picked it up at the store and saved shipping too. 03/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid Does what it is supposed to do. Get the Electronic lock if you are opening it frequently. 02/18/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Product, but I hope to never need it I got this fireproof/waterproof safe primarily to store important documents. It's probably over kill for what I need, but I figured I'd get a bigger one and keep it for the rest of my life. The interior space is quite roomy. There's a decent video review that was helpful in displaying the interior dimensions with a ream of paper. The combination is quite difficult to enter correctly. It took both me and my wife several attempts at unlocking it with the combination to get it successfully. The key over-ride is simple, and much quicker. The handle that you use to open the safe feels fairly flimsy compared to the rest of the safe, which is built like a tank. This kind of thing is like insurance. I hope to never find out how fireproof or flood proof it is. 07/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it I just received this today. I was worried about using the combination after reading the online reviews so I tried that right away--I did it twice with no problems either time. It has a sticker on the front that tells the direction and number of times to turn for each number. I tried both keys and they worked also. Delivery only took 3 days and it arrived in perfect shape. Not bad for 97 cents! Very pleased with this purchase! 03/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honeywell .94 Cu. Ft. Waterproof Firesafe I was nervous about ordering any safe due to some of the negative comments about several safe manufacturers posted on various sites. However, the Honeywell .94 cu. ft. safe arrived in perfect condition with the manual and the override keys. The instructions were very easy to follow and everything worked the first time. The size is fine for storing papers, computer disks, and some small valuables if desired. It's fireproof (1 hr.) and waterproof and has it no electronics -- what I was looking for. It cannot be bolted to the floor since it is waterproof. I (being an "older" guy) was able to get the safe in the house and up some stairs easily with a hand cart. The Wal-Mart staff was friendly, helpful, and very courteous when I arrived to pick it up at my selected store. They sent a man to assist me with loading the safe in my SUV which was appreciated. I rarely do reviews, but this one is worth it. Based on my experience and the quality of the safe I received, I'd definitely recommend it to others with similar needs. 11/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! Nice sized safe for the $! I really like that it's a firesafe AND waterproof! As I'm technically oriented, the 4-digit combo doesn't present a problem. In fact, it's a big plus as it makes it more secure. I just can't see paying twice the price for the same safe with a digit pad. Dial is sturdy and made of METAL. Includes two override keys - very nice. I put everything I could think of in there - Extra checks, birth certificates, vehicle title, credit cards, passport - and there's still a LOT of room. I could fit my laptop in there easily (15"). I think the option of floor-mounting hardware would have been nice, but that would have just led to my ruining the floor. I'm very happy with this safe! Note - color different from website photo. Mine is a dark blue-green (classic 'Cisco' chassis color for you geeks). Just makes me like it even more. I used the "Site-to-Store"; total cost $145. The wait was a little tedious (11 days), but beats paying to ship an 81lb safe. Excellent price for peace of mind! 02/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product. I really like this safe, it's a little complicated to open but after all it is a safe and i didn't want it to be too easy. After reading the instructions, it's not that hard. And there is the over-ride key if it's too hard to open. I'll give it five stars. 04/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 a Safe purchase I was pleased with the quality, I didn't expect the extra option of a security key that was provided if the combo is forgotten or quick access needed. I used these reviews before I purchased and they were very helpful. 09/11/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by This safe is for the occasional user. If I had to get into it everyday, I wouldn't like it too much. It takes several seconds and concentration to enter the combination. However, if you are looking for a heavy/fire-proof safe to hold things that you don't access everyday, then this is a great buy. I got it for passports, birth certificates, etc. and it's perfect for that. If I had to buy it over again, I would probably get the electronic lock for $30 or so more. If you use it once a week or less, this will be fine for you. But if you are going to be accessing it daily then I would get the electronic lock. 11/27/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied with Purchase This little safe is everything we expected it to be (so far) It is dificult to say anything good or bad about a product that has yet to be put to the test for what it's expected to do unless we set it on fire in the front yard and then drown it with the hose, but for the price we paid, the size we got, and the 2 security keys to go along with the combination lock (plus 97 cents Walmart shipping on a 90+ lb safe) I'd recommend it to family or friends. 02/21/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tough Safe to Crack.... I purchased this safe for my son and I'm glad I didn't get one for myself. With that said....let me explain. The safe is well made, has all the features that the web site suggests, wasn't faulty by any means.......however....unless you want to spend hours "practicing" how to spin the dial to get into this safe, you better opt for the key pad safe. My son, who is game orientated, immediately found it as a challenge. It took him an hour to master the combination which is a series of four numbers. The first number you have to spin the dial one way four times, but you actually turn it into the fifth spin and then stop on that number. Then, the second number is three spins the opposite direction, third number is 2 spins in the opposite direction and the fourth number you simply turn back the opposite direction to that number. After an hour, my son (who is 19) had mastered it. It took all day for my husband and I. The only time I even got the safe opened was when my son stood behind me assisting me on the correct turns, etc. I'm very quick when it comes to things such as this, but somehow this was a challenge for me. I do plan on buying a safe in the next 6 months and will stick with similar features of this one, such as: fire rating, water resistant, size. However, after seeing what a challenge it was to get into this safe, I'll stick with the keypad features on the more expensive safes. I must add....there is an override key that you can use, if needed, but I'd prefer to have a safe that I can easily get into and the keypad safe for $200 is more along the lines of what would work for me. 12/26/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by big drawback This safe was a bad purchase. If you buy it, you will probably be disapointed(like i was) and regret it. The combination dial is extremely confusing to figure out how many turns you need to make and the combination numbers were written in non-legible handwriting on a sticker on the front of the safe when it arrived. I spent hours trying to figure out what the numbers were and trying to figure the dial itself out and i still have not been able to open the safe without the override key. The combination numbers are not easy to retrieve from the company because of thievery issues, and if you dont know a notory public, your screwed. Also, the handle is plastic and looks as if it would break off fairly easy. Some good things about the safe are that the safe seems durable and heavy enough, with plenty of storage space, although the material it is made of is some kind of plastic. 04/17/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Made Of Steel Negative:Purchased Safe To Store items thinking made of steel.Construction is made of hard plastic,it does weigh around 70 pounds but of plastic.Also,when I first opened safe I noticed water around seals and inside seals and safe,isn't this a waterproof safe?Why was safe wet in the first place?Manufacturer tests for waterproof before shipped to consumers?..Positive if any:Better than nothing to store items,decent I guess for under $150.00,But why make a safe out of Plastic? 10/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well built and easy to use A lot of plastic in side, but considering the fire and water rating that's ok. Seems quite sturdy, and well built. I only wish there was a built in means to secure the safe. At less than 80 pounds, and not very large it's relatively easy to steal and then break into it at another location. 04/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price I was looking for an economical way to safeguard my papers and such. This safe will survive a fire and the firemen and didn't break the bank. Heavy enough that nobody is going to run away too fast with it. 02/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size for the home. It's bigger than my safety deposit box, yet small enough to keep in the house. Very durable and not easy for someone to pick up and walk away with. 11/04/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice sturdy safe. It;s a good thing there is an over ride key,because I haven't been able to open it with the combination. Have tried many times. 10/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great affordable safe. Good quality. Easy to learn combination operation. Great price! 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect safe to store valuables. This safe weighs 83 pounds empty. It's now over 100 pounds with all of my valuables inside. No one is going to pick it up and run away with it. It's water proof as well as fire proof and I had no problem with the combination if you read the instructions on how many times to turn the dial. It uses a four number code. I feel that it is a very well built safe and my valuables are secure. It has plenty of room for what I have stored inside. 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I needed! I needed a safe to keep my cash and valuables out of the hands of my teenage son and his friends. This was perfect and inexpensive. I had read the reviews on it, so I knew what to expect. It is extremely difficult to open by the combination, but the keys are easy, so I just use them most of the time. Some complain that it's too small. It would hold about 4 loaves of bread. It works just right for what I have. It is a little on the light side, in that two men could carry it off fairly easily, so I may end up bolting it down, but for now, it's great! P.S. Someone said it's blue in color. It's not. Definitely more a slate gray. 08/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great safe Great safe for my small important things like my macbook pro 15" and my dslr camera,also it comes with hardware to bolt it to the floor or wall. The other safe i ordered didnt come with that hardware so I returned it for this one because it defeats the whole purpose if someone can walk away with the safe. great product!!!!! 07/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice safe The only thing I have to say is that putting in the combination gives me a bit of a headache. My husband can do it although it takes some time but I have yet to accomplish this task so I just use the key. Other then that it's a great little safe. I shopped around for a bit before buying and Walmart had the best price on it and only 97 cents to ship you can't go wrong because this thing is HEAVY! 05/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by All one would need This product is all it describes, and I highly recommend it. I have a BRINK, and I bought this for a gift. My Brink was $99 over 10 years ago, and the First Alert was the only thing that compared to the quality and price! 08/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I was looking for The safe was a perfect fit for what I needed it for.I came with two keys so I was able to give one to my next of kin and keep one for my use. Obviously, it has the combo lock but it is much easier to gain access with a key. I like that!!! 01/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by fits my needs never had a safe before that offered a key entry plus a 4 comb. lock. For its price I believe that , atleast in my usage applications , it is a great buy.Back to the key option : I like to keep some money in my home which makes that key access a real plus . 12/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied customer I purchased a Honeywell .94 Cubic Feet Waterproof fireproof safe and am happy with it. Although I am not able to change the combination, I am very pleased with it. For the price, I believe it was a great value. 10/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure? Yes! This is an excellent safe for the price. Fire and water proof. Combination takes a few minutes to learn, but works slick once you catch on. I also like the fact that it came with two keys. I looked at many other brands of safes and I believe this Honeywell was the best choice. 10/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honeywell Safe The safe was just as I expected. It was solid and heavy. The 4-digit combination lock was perfect. It was easy to open and very roomy inside. 09/21/2009
1-30 of 51 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew295
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp