See All Reviews
The Thing (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)
The Thing (Collector's Edition) (Widescreen)
$7.76
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $5.22 (40%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by "'Cause it's different than us, see." The Thing is John Carpenter’s reworking of the classic sci-fi film The Thing From Another World (1951). In Carpenter’s version, the “thing” is a much more frightening creature altogether. This was the second film by John Carpenter that starred Kurt Russell. The film follows a group of Americans at an Antarctic research outpost during the winter of 1982 as they discover, and soon try to survive against, an alien organism that can imitate any creature it comes into contact with. Once they learn what the creature is capable of, tensions and mistrust quickly escalate. Who’s human and who’s the thing? As isolated as they are, they may as well be on the moon. Soon paranoia sets in and the situation goes from bad to hellish! The tension in this film is heavy. You’ll be guessing and second-guessing yourself through the entire movie. Even after multiple viewings the story will still grab you. The acting and direction here are great. I think R.J. MacReady is one of the best characters Russell has ever played. The supporting cast does a superb job as well. One of the highlights of the film is the amazing special creature effects by Rob Bottin and his crew and Stan Winston. I think the creature still looks fantastic even in this day and age where everything is done on computers. The Thing is one of the most suspenseful movies ever made on top of being one of the best horror/sci-fi movies of all time. This is a true classic of the genre. I highly recommend this film! 03/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by 80's must see! The movie had good quality and is an all time favorite! We enjoyed it! 10/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spooky, spooky, just like the first one. It was worth the money. 05/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by scary and comical Love Kurt Russell in this movie. I watch it every chance I get. 12/28/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow talk about a movie you forget how awesome it is as a few years pass by. i watched in a few days ago and man, the effects STILL blow away anything modern day CGI has to offer... its well over 2 decades old and the alien transformations still put a HUGE smile on my face. this movie induces claustrophobia nearly better than any other film i've seen besides maybe the movie the descent a few years back. nothing beats an awesome psychological thriller with all the essential horror elements splattered throughout. this is up there with the Alien series for best sci-fi horror ever made in my book, and more than likely a lot of other people's books as well... 08/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Money well spent! The movie was as awesome as I remember it being but the bonus features are why I bought the collectors edition. Insight into the making of the creature, commentary from the director and the other bonus features are well worth the purchase. 11/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic My boyfriend and I reall enjoy this weird story! It certainly has an HP Lovecraft storyline to it, which we love! 11/30/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome movie This is one of my husband and my favorite movies. We watch it a lot, especially in the summer when we miss the snow! The acting isn't the greatest-we make fun of some of the lines- but we like the story. I recommend this to anyone that likes Kurt Russell. 01/12/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic Carpenter This is a great suspense thriller. 10/30/2007
  • 2016-03-24 T08:53:49.352-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_5280937, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-10 of 10 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw478
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp