Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Solid, except latch. The unit seems to be quite solid, except for the latch/lock. The lock operates well, but it is made of plastic. The silver part on the front is what keeps the lid from being opened and it is thin plastic. Obviously this is not a security safe, but in a bad fire it seems like the latch could melt or burn away. The lid is heavy, but if knocked over the unit would become useless. Might be an unlikely scenario, but isn't that why we get a safe? I would save my money and get a real safe. 01/24/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's plastic... It's heavy and seems solid... Both the outside and inside are plastic which makes me kind of nervous it wouldn't survive a fire. It's cheap, and hopefully I'll never have to test it. 06/02/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product The size is perfect for what I needed. I have mostly legal size documents but was able to fit them in without having to fold them. I plan to take them out every so often and rearrange so they aren't permanently "looped". I did notice when I first opened the safe that the instruction pamphlets were damp but after leaving the door open for a while then testing again, things remained dry. I tried all this before putting my important papers in there. Having read another review that talked about the moisture problem, I took their suggestion and called customer service. The very nice lady explained that it was a common thing and recommended I open the safe at least once a month and let it dry out. She is also sending me more of the packets that absorb moisture. Without having any way to prove that it truly is water and fire proof I would still say that overall it is as advertised and will work great for my needs. Keep in mind that while it is fairly heavy it would not be something you would want to use as a true safe, as someone could easily pick it up and carry it off. 09/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by We bought the safe to store some important documents and picture cd's that couldn't be replaced in case of a fire. Plenty of room. Lid opens and closes easily. The key lock is great compared to some of the other models we looked at. A good buy. 05/20/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by what's "not" in the description just wanted a secure item for safe storage of household documents. found out after i bought it that this thing has condensation problems and that you should open the top every two weeks to let it air out or one could end up with a bunch of wet paper. would not let me return it cause it was a special order. good boat anchor though. go a different direction 02/05/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ordered this with the frame of mind .. I have to evacuate within 20 minutes - where are my valuables? This is a very nice water & fire resistant safe. It has a latch that activates with a push button and a key hole to secure contents. However, there was no key included with the unit. Nor does it have carrying handles for ease of transport in an evacuation scenario. It also has an advisory that one should encase contents in a dish-washer-proof container, which is a bit of a hassle... to find a container of the same dimensions as the internal ones of the safe. 12/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for my needs. It could have been a bit wider inside, as files do not fit properly and have to be bent. You also have to open it on occasion to be sure there is no moisture present. Otherwise it fits the need. 08/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Quality This box is much bigger than I expected. It is also very heavy so don't plan on moving it around a lot. Although it looks big from the outside there is much less space on the inside due to the thick walls. The lock seems fairly sturdy. There is a little slip of paper included in the box (I almost threw it out) that has a code on it that you need if you lose your keys and need new ones. I'm using it to store passports, birth certificates, etc. 07/22/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid safe for files I bought the Honeywell because reviews on the most common brand (SentrySafe) were so scathing. So far, this safe seems to serve its purposes well. Locking mechanism seems solid, and the capacity seems aboit right for the vital records I want to protect. 07/19/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good product Received this and opened it to have the lock on the front fall off. Not well made. I would not recommend this product. 01/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly as described This fire safe appears to be exactly as described. Of course, the only real way to tell if it performs as designed is to stick it in a huge fire, or drop it in the pond, but it does appear to have a sturdy enough lock, and the lid appears to fit tightly enough to keep water out. I'm happy with the product and would buy it again. Surprisingly, WalMart had the best price on the internet. 06/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed I wanted this size waterproof fire safe. Just a little more work than expected. Instructions says need to open every two weeks and get a waterproof container for papers. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Happy With This Safe I purchased this safe after spending a considerable amount of time reading customer reviews on several sites of it and it's competing safe made by Sentry. The First Alert Safe is 5 lbs lighter than the Sentry safe. I consider this to give the First Alert Safe a significant advantage. The Sentry safe also appears to have a major hinge problem. The problem most cited for this safe was that it sometimes arrived with a dented corner or missing keys. I therefore arranged to have the safe delivered to a Walmart store so that I could inspect it before taking delivery. I did not want to carry the heavy safe home, unbox it, find a defect, and then have to bring it back for a refund. I am happy to say that the safe arrived in perfect condition. It has plenty of room inside for hanging folders and they slide easily. I had previously lifted a Sentry safe at a store and found it pretty hard for me to lift. I was very pleased to see this safe that is 5 lbs lighter, while still heavy, is much easier for me to lift than the Sentry. Both brands of safe say that they should be left open for 30 miutes every 2 weeks to prevent condensation forming which could result in mold growth. I decided to open mine on the 1st and 15th day of each month for as many hours as convenient. The bottom line is that I am very happy with this safe. I do not know where one can find a better one. 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by just what I needed Needed a bigger lock box and your price could not be beat. Thank you 06/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Should have had FULL directions on it Did not know that you had to open and air it for 20 minutes every two weeks. 05/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The safe was good, but..... The safe wqs good, however the packaging was damaged and so was the safe on the right side. The only reason I didn't return it was because it was just TOO HEAVY. Otherwise I would have returned it for a new one. This is the only reason I gave it a 3 star rating. 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I shopped for a fire and water safe for months before I bought this one. Very pleased with design and quality. Latch mechanism in particular is much more user-friendly than the latch on the competitor's models. Of course, I won't know how fire and water safe it is until, God forbid, there's a fire. 05/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Alert Safe I ordered the safe from picture in ad, and I am very much satisified with it. There is plenty of room inside, and the lock is easy to use. The safe is quite heavy, 36#. Can't move it very easily by myself, but that is ok. I'm glad that I ordered it. 05/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great protection for important papers/valuables Met my expectations. 01/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good disaster file box (not a burglar safe) This is a good value for disaster storage. It is built for hanging files with some additional space beneath. But it is not a burglar-proof safe. Although it has a small keyed lock and would be difficult to carry away (at about 40 pounds), its real purpose is to survive a fire and to fall through debris into a wet cellar. I hope never to check its ability to do so, but it sure looks like it would survive. Unlike some reviewers, the lock and hinge work fine for me. And the user guide warns (as others here have learned) that the insulation will leak humidity, so you must wrap papers in plastic before storage. 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far, so good The safe is heavy and sturdy. It's not something you throw around. The latch works fine. Since it has yet to be tried by fire or water, I can't attest to that. It's what we expected and wanted (to protect important documents). I might trade it in for the legal length version when it comes out, though. 07/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good So Far! This safe hasn't faced the ultimate reason that I bought it - that is, we've not had a fire and we've not been flooded (thankfully!) I will say it is very roomy. I am able to hang file folders, store a bound notebook, and neatly slide portable hard drives under the hanging folders. It's heavy, too! I don't consider this to be protection against theft, as the safe could be carried away. So, I don't keep valuables in there (money, jewelry, etc.) We are satisfied, so far. 06/28/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some what helpful It was hard to open. Also, it was humid inside. I hope I don't have any problem when I start putting things inside. 08/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Environment protection Safe is large enough for file folders. I needed protection from water and fire damage, and this product provides that. Key/lock works OK, but I probably will leave the safe unlocked for easy access. My papers probably have no value to anyone else. 08/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect size Everything fit with room to spare. It is not too large so it fits in the back of the closet without being noticed by others. 12/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of room. The safe is great as there is plenty of room to put all of our precious documents and pictures in it. I love how there is room at the bottom for cds (backed up all of daughters photos). We did not buy it for a safe feature but rather for fire and water protection. The only thing is that they put the directions in the safe and we couldn't open it at first due to the thing being stuck. I had to get online, call the 800 number for a tip on what to do. Have a butter knife ready to gentle go around the seal to pop it open the first time. After that there was no problems. 10/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fire & Water Safe After trying many safes, this one works great. Perfect size and file folders fit and easy to use with key. 09/29/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product but..... My main purpose of getting this model is that it stated that it was both fire and waterproof. It is actually waterproof, but only fire safe. The description is misleading, but I guess it will work for what I need it for- my external hard drive. 08/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by my opinion Was little bit bigger than I had imagined for the price. Looks like it will do the job in case of fire. This was ordered over the internet--store pick up. When I brought it home and opened up the box, it appeared to have been dropped on one corner of the bottom as there was visible evidence. No problems otherwise. 08/18/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard to say if it actually works. Haven't put it through a fire yet. So far so good. 08/04/2009
1-30 of 59 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw350
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp