See All Reviews
Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler
Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler
$52.99
List Price: $59.99
You Save: $7.00 (12%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 295 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best cooler I've ever had! I was skeptical when I ordered this cooler. A cooler is just a cooler right! I was looking mainly looking for that size +/-. But the clams and price sold me. I use it daily to take drinks to the job site for my crew in the summer in Amarillo Tx (mid to high 90's and dry) and it works great. I keep mine shaded in the back of my Pathfinder and I don't have to top it off with ice either, just three 7 pound ice bags. After the cooler and drinks cool down the first few hours or so the rest of the week is easy street. By Friday the ice is almost all melted, but the water is still ice cold. I don't add any more ice unless I add alot more new drinks to the cooler at mid week. 08/06/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by $ GREAT COOLER $ Got this cooler for a week long camp-out and it worked great. You should pre-cool all items before you put them in the cooler. I put in 3 blocks of ice, my beer and food, then put cubed ice over the top of everything. Always keep your cooler in the shade as I did and it kept my stuff ice cold for 6 days. After I got home I took my food and beer out and put in the fridge ( no spoilage ) I then put the cooler on the back porch and 2 more days went by and still had ice ( 8 days total ) I highly recommend this ice chest for long camp-outs where you are very remote and cant get more ice. Thanks Coleman and Wal-mart for a great product. 08/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good insulation I bought this cooler to convert it into a mash tun for my home brewing hobby. This cooler has excellent insulation and keeps in the heat of the water very well. It's light weight which helps if you have to lift it with ten gallons of water in it. There's much debate over which cooler is the best for a mash tun, but I recommend this one! BTW, you will need a 1/2" allen wrench to get the factory drain plug out, and the hole is about 1" in diameter. I strongly suggest using the interior washer that comes with the cooler. 01/20/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Xtreme Mash Tun This cooler was purchased to make a mash tun for 10 gallon home brew batches. The size is perfect and it holds temperature flawlessly for 90+ minute mashes. The only down side is that the drain hole was a little larger than I would have liked it to be once the plug was removed. I used some o-rings to help center the nipple though. The plug simply screws right out, but the resulting hole is a bit large for a 1/2" pipe nipple. Also, the cooler wall is right at 3/4" thick, so you will have to use a 2" (or larger) nipple to attach the manifold to the ball valve. The 1.5" nipple that is offered with standard cooler conversion kits is too short. 10/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Mast Tun Cooler I bought this cooler to convert into a mash tun because I am a home brewer. This was shipped to my door for less than $40, so the value can't be beat. I really liked the drain channel in this, which means you can drain more wort out of the mash. The conversion was pretty simple. I used 3 SS washers, two zinc washers, a 1/2" ball valve, a 1/2" male hose barb, a 1/2" female hose barb, a 2" x 1/2" brass nipple, a 20" toilet supply line, a 1/4" brass plug and a couple of SS hose clamps. I brewed with this last weekend and didn't lose one degree, so it insulates heat very well. I can see what everyone else is saying with the handles and hinges. I'm not using it and lifiting it full of stuff, so i'm not worried about the handles breaking while i'm carrying stuff in it. I will still probably replace the handles with rope though. The hinges we'll just have to wait and see. If they break, i'll replace them with metal ones. With all that said, I gave this a 5 star because it does exactly what I need it to do at a great price. If you are going to be making a mash tun and you are batch sparging, do yourself a favor and buy this one. 07/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Cooler I ever had I bought a coleman x-treme 70 quart cooler at Walmart recently. It was marked down to $30. We went on a little trip this week and I put 2 one gallon jugs of ice and 3 of those little square blue refreezable ice pack things you buy at walmarts in it along with our drinks and some meat and stuff for sandwiches. That was on Sunday morning. Sunday evening, I put a 10 pound bag of cubed ice in it and we used a lot of of that ice during the trip to put in our drink cups. Monday morning, I put about 5 pounds of ice from the hotel ice machine in it. We got back on Tuesday and it sat in my hot car all day Wednesday. Outside temperatures were in the high 90's and probably well over 125 in the car. I went out this morning (Thursday) thinking I would have to throw away any leftover food, but there was still ice in the cooler. The gallon jugs were about half melted and there was still a little of the cubed ice left. If you want a cooler that will hold ice, you need to get one of these. 08/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cooler, good value I bought this cooler for my parents. They go camping often and love this cooler. Dad's already used it on several occasions. They had initial concern about the lack of a latch, but I bought this cooler because the plastic latch on their other cooler broke. However, the lid stays closed and it keeps stuff cold. I also chose this cooler because it had no wheels. The lack of wheels offers extra room inside, preventing my parents from having to lug another smaller cooler on their trips. 01/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by We love it! We went camping this past weekend, and we used this cooler. I put ice and Icepacks in it on friday morning and everything was still nice and cold Sunday afternoon when we came home. The ice was a little melted but not all melted. We also had the cooler outside the whole time I bet if we put it in our tent it would of helped. But this is a great cooler we are very glad we bought it!! 07/19/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps it cold! We bought this for camping trips and it kept everything VERY cold the entire time we were out. We were able to put our gallon of milk right back in the fridge when we returned. This is an excellent cooler. 09/06/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice cooler but watch out for racoons This cooler does the job of keeping everything cold and holds a lot. But be aware that even though the lid is fine for normal use, it is not as difficult to open as some coolers I have had. Racoons can get into this cooler very easily so don't leave it out overnight. It fit nicely under the bench of a picnic table and that did the trick of keeping out the racoons. Otherwise, great cooler! 08/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeping it Cool Purchased this to replace a 20-year old Coleman Marine Cooler. This did an amazing job! I always freeze a partially filled 1-gallon water bottle for an ice block. We went on a 6 night trip to the Easter Sierras and I loaded the ice block + 30 lbs of ice into the chest the night before we left. The regular ice froze together! I did not need to add any ice until Wednesday qwhich is great and even more amazing was the fact that when we were away from camp, I stored the cooler in our sites metal "Bear Box" with sunny weather conditions and temps in the mid - 60s to low 70s. Could not be happier with this cooler and it is made in the USA! 06/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by coleman cooler This is a great product. It keeps ice for the entire weekend. I am an Assistant Scoutmaster and I have ordered 5 of these for my troop. They all held together in a recent storm during Camporee. 04/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value I love the color...has cup holders which are extremely convienent. Good quality and easyto drain out the melted ice. 11/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I really enjoy my colemen xtreme. It keeps everything cold for days and it has lots of room. I would highly recommend this product. 10/26/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great cooler - Great price Great cooler. Follow directions that come with it. Pre chill things going into it. I also used 3 to 4 blocks of ice I made in plastic containers. After 3 days of camping, the ice was still there, everything stayed cold. Only thing is you have to push the top shut to make a good seal everytime you open it, but besides that, it was great. 09/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, but GIANT I bought this cooler for weekend trips. It is very well made and I have great faith in it, but the one downside for me is that it does not fit in my car's trunk! Dimensions are posted and are accurate, however; I just wasn't expecting something made for travelling to be quite so bulky. Oh well, my own fault. I returned it (which was enormously inconvenient by itself considering it was EMPTY when I struggled to take it back) and bought two smaller Coleman Xtreme coolers to use instead. I would still recommend this to people; just confirm you know what you're getting ahead of time. Be sure you can lift it when it's filled with ice and drinks, and make sure it fits in your car! 08/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for your money! Highly recommend this cooler. We put 20 pounds of ice and drinks at 9 am. We were out in the Gulf of Mexico until 4:30pm. The cooler was brought back to the porch and 10 pounds of ice went back into the freezer. Temperature was 90 degrees. 2 days later it still had ice and water in bottom of cooler. Several coolers were researched on line, and this was rated as 3rd or 4th. I rate it as a "1". We use it for camping and boating. For the value, Coleman coolers are highly recommended. 5 stars. 06/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cooler with tight seal. The cooler seals tightly and keeps the items inside cold for days under normal conditions. I don't know if it would keep COLD for five days in 90 degree, but it most certainly will outlast any other cooler for the price. I paid around $40. It works best by using a combination of frozen "chillers" along with ice. If it's not exceptionally hot you can get by using the chillers only, which is great if you have food you don't want floating in melted ice water. Try to have items cold already BEFORE putting in the cooler, and keep the cooler in the shade to extend the cooling life. It's very sturdy and can be used as a seat as long as you don't treat it too roughly. Overall, this is a great cooler. 06/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for an ice chest I'm very happy with this Coleman chest. I had read reviews before purchasing it that it would not keep ice frozen for 5 days as claimed. I can vouch for the time. I used two gallon jugs of water frozen in my freezer and placed in the chest. After 5 days, the water was still frozen. I used the chest every day getting out colas and restocking it. If you purchase ice bags from public venders (or even WalMart), expect the ice temp to be just below freezing and will start melting before you're out the door. This is an excellant ice chest. I would buy it again. 10/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good The cooler was better then I expected. Love that it was made in the u.s.a!! Love the channel for the water to drip out. Great buy!! 03/14/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Definitely keeps contents cold! This cooler is great for the money. It's a huge cooler and kept my drinks ice cold for 5 days. Not only did it keep the ice for 5 days but it cooled a 30 pack of beer and 24 bottles of Gatorade at room temperature. Although the cooler could have used a set of wheels, I knew it wasn't part of the package so I can't complain about that. The only thing I noticed was the handles were slightly bent from carrying all the weight in the cooler. Overall, great cooler as long as you don't need one with wheels. 10/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Cooler !!!! I pre-cooled this cooler, took it on a 5 day camping trip and i still had ice in it 3 days later. The price was great holds alot of stuff. Very well insulated. I'm purchasing a second one. 09/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extreme it is I bought this Kooler on line. It arrive very quickly. I filled it with about 25 Lbs. of IceCubes (not Block, which would have been better). In 85-90 degree heat in the shade of my Pick Up Truck. I had very little melt down of the Ice and the food and Liquids stayed almost colder than the fridge at Home. Great Cooler Im buying another one next Summer. Thanks Walmart for having it priced almost 50 % less than those "Sporting Good Behemouths" 07/29/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good size This cooler is a good size for just about anyone/anything. The cup holders on the lid are convenient, unless you need to open the lid. Also, air this unit out in the sun(lid open) for a couple of days before using. The sell from the plastic is nasty. Unit has a drain plug. 04/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!!! this cooler does everything it says it will do.....it holds ice for at least 3 days when the cooler is in direct sun light and if it isn't, then it will hold ice up to 7 days..............so i would highly recommend this!!!!!!!! We have only had this one for a few weeks, but we have owned one just like this one for a couple of years now and have no complaints........ 09/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better Than They Described This cooler out-did our other coolers 2 to 1. We spent 4 days at beach this summer and had solid ice. Came home and let coolers sit two more days and ice was still in great shape. Finally had to dump them. Old coolers kept ice for 3 days and then all that was left water. The only thing we goofed on is 70 quart is fairly large and can get heavy and is bulky. The 52 - 56 quart would be more manageable for moving in and out of vehicle. Great deal from Walmart. Amazing how much camping gear they sell online. 09/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by does the job ONLY USED IT TWICE SO FAR.EACH TIME IN 90 DEGREE TEMPERATURES AND AT THE END OF THE DAY THE ICE LOOKED LIKE IT WAS JUST PUT IN. 08/25/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by First time we used it the handle broke off 08/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by 5 Days.....maybe I purchased this cooler for my boat. We typically keep our sodas, beer and food on ice for the weekend, so I thought that a five day cooler would be just what we needed. Well, I think for my purposes five days is very optimistic, more like three days because after three days we had very little ice left. To be fair, the cooler came with a "How To" leaflet that instructed you on how to get five days of use and I believe that if a person followed their instructions to a "T" you could probably eek out five days. All in all, it's a pretty good cooler at a reasonable price. 07/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy this cooler I packed this for a 4-day camping trip. Loaded it up with food and drinks, threw some cube ice on top. Ice had not melted in 4 days. For real. All my friends' coolers were filled with water. 07/15/2015
  • 2016-03-24 T07:20:07.718-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_295, tr_295
  • loc_en_US, sid_4807332, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 260 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw266
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp