See All Reviews
West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper
West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper
$24.88
List Price: $49.99
You Save: $25.11 (50%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 173 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Dieting We use this product average of once a day. Popcorn is a meal and a snack in our house. The only problem is the stir rod stops after about 7 to 9 months of continious use. It has a year warranty but we would always be taking it back. I emailed the manufacturer to get advice with no response. It works, so our house will keep buying it. We have decided to buy two so we will have a spare. Any advice in keeping it working longer would be appreciated. We are on our 4th Stir Crazy. Love it! 08/25/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never Eat Microwave Popcorn Again Our household is famous for its popcorn, and the Stir Crazy is the reason why. NOTHING makes popcorn like this popper. We've literally used three poppers to death. The plastic covers have never broken for us and they're fun to watch through. The motor lasts years for us and probably longer for you. You're in control of the amount of oil you use and popcorn you make. At our house, we like to flip it out of the top immediately so it doesn't get soggy from the steam. I have never bothered to use the butter holes on the top. I melt mine in the microwave. Butter and garlic salt and the Stir Crazy make unforgettable popcorn! 08/04/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but breaks easily I liked the popper very much, great tasting popcorn and popped most of the kernels pretty quickly. The only problem is the knob that screws on the stirrer didn't last very long -- broke in about 6 months. So now I have to buy another popper. It doesn't matter how well it pops the corn, if it breaks easily then the popper is not much good for anything. 04/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Popper! This is one of the best popper's I have ever had. It makes great tasting popcorn! 09/19/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! I love this popcorn popper! It heats up fast, cooks quickly and pops almost all the kernels. It has a wide cooking surface and it cleans up easily! 06/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too much fun! This product reminds me of popping popcorn the old fashioned way when I was a child ! 04/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by corn popper I am thoroughly delighted with this product!!!! Attractive, cleans up very well and works superbly!!!! 05/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still the best! The stir crazy is still one of the best poppers. I ordered mine on-line after trying the Presto brand stirring popper. It was a disappointment. This one works great and has been very durable. 04/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's my second one I owned one before for 6 yrs and it was time for another so I bought it again. It is quick, easy clean up and pops real fast 02/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Makes great kettle corn I love this popper. I make kettle corn in it about every other day. It's simple and delicious - 1/4 cup corn oil, 1/2 cup popcorn kernels, and 1/3 cup sugar - YUMMY!!! 07/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love our popcorn popper!! This is our 2nd West Bend Stir Crazy popcorn popper. The 1st one lasted over 20 years before the electrical chord finally gave out. This new one is designed very similiarly to the old one so I expect to get at least 20 years of enjoyment out of it. I love the fact that the new one has a stirring rod that reverses periodically during the cooking process. We had almost no unpopped corn when it was finished. Popcorn tasted great. Family very happy. We love our popcorn. Highly recommend it. 11/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stir Crazy Popper I had one of these several years ago and wore it out. West Bend has improved the whole popper and it works great! 04/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I had my first popper like this for 4 years. We make popcorn 2-4 times a week so the fact that it lasted 4 years was amazing. It wasn't even broke, but the grease was leaking out the bottom and I don't know how or have the time to try and clean it. Considering the price I thought it would be easier to just get a new one. I love my popper and would recommend it to everyone! 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only theatre popcorn beats it I owned a Stir Crazy once before and gave it away. These little machines will make your corn come in second to only theatre popcorn. Just bought 50# and needed a good popper. 07/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the 4th one I owned in 32 years. It is a very good popper at a very good price. But because of the heat it generates you will only get about 4 to 6 years of service from. But that is stiil a very good deal considering a pro popper is over $2000 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Before buying this popcorn maker, I bought another popcorn maker sort of ressembling the one in the movie theaters. I t was okay but it had few issues, popcorn flew everywhere!! So I decided it wasn't worth what I payed, so I ended up buying this one. This is a really good product I'd recommend it to anyone who loves movies nights and the whole bit. The popcorn can be saved and eaten at any time, it's always fresh. 05/13/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frail but usable Basically speaking, this is not a bad product. I found that most popcorn out there doesn't pop in this particular popper (even following their directions perfectly). After some experimentation, we got some stuff to work. Again, this is not a particular negative. We just had to have good popcorn. We really liked the butter melting bowl at the top. It worked great. However, there was this one time where we bumped the bowl. Now, we're not expecting miracles from a product this inexpensive but we would expect the lid to not shatter completely on light impact. Again, this isn't a terrible product but boy do you have to be gentle with it. 04/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Popcorn ever I had one for over twenty years. Bought one to put at a friends house so I could have good popcorn whenever I wanted it. My old one finally got so bad looking I decided I needed a new one. This one works just like the others. I love popcorn and now with football season here there isn't a better time. I have tried other machines and hot air machines and none repeat NONE hold a candle to this one. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got our money out of this! We bought this item in 2000 or so, and have used it at least 3 times a week since then. The only problems we have today are that the non-stick coating has finally started to flake off and the lid has a few cracks along the edge, which have started to grow due to the age of the material I'm sure. I'm replacing it with a new model, but will keep the old one in storage "just in case" 09/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Popcorn like the movies The Stir Crazy popper is easy to use, easy to clean, and pops all the kernels like no popper I have ever owned. It is a nice change from microwave popcorn. My grandsons love to watch the corn pop. 03/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Family Choice Popper! The Stir Crazy is THE popper for our family! We love popcorn and consume it at least once a week. This little number faithfully cooks up perfect, delicious popcorn every time. It pops nearly every kernel and the taste is fantastic! This is second unit we've purchased because after 15 years of weekly service, the original finally passed on! We're looking forward to the next 15 years of loyal service and delicious popcorn! 02/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Poppin Good Time I bought this popper based on the reviews and I couldn't be happier. 6 qts is PLENTY for our family of four (two small ones) so make sure to follow the directions from the booklet. The product may feel flimsy and light but it works great. 02/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great product We just had to replace our Cuisinart popcorn maker which died on us after 6 months of use. We especially wanted one where we could add oil and my son likes to add sugar to make kettle corn. We love this machine--it is easy to use and makes a ton of popcorn. The only drawback is you cannot put the base in the dishwasher as we were able to do with our other machine. But, this base was super easy to clean. I highly recommend this machine--it is a great value for the money! 07/28/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper I have made several batches. I found that using 1 tbs oil to 2/3 cup popcorn instead 1/3 cup popcorn works better for me. I also add the salt at the same time I add the oil. It is easy to clean but the popper/bowl seems flimsy. No great features except to plug it in to work and unplug to stop. Great popping, very little unpopped kernels. 06/15/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed Used this product almost every night. The 1st month, it was terrific. Best popcorn next to cinema popped. After that, it started popping less and leaving more un-popped kernels. Within the next few weeks, it started going down hill fast. Using top quality (gormet) popping corn, it is disappointing to see half of the kernels still un-popped....not to mention, very costly! With a machine (less than 2 months of usage) wasting quality popcorn like this, I just can not recommend it. 04/28/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stir crazy the product is ok it tends to pop less kernals than an air popper and the way the butter is melted is weired. 09/18/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Had to return it. The arm that rotates scraped the teflon off of the bottom. 04/11/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money After only two batches of popped corn, the flimsy stiring rod scraped the "non-stick" coating off the popper and I returned it to the seller. I had an old stir crazy which I used for about 20 years until it finally died, but even dead, it was a better machine than this last one! 10/29/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a useful product By reading some of the ratings about this product, I decided to purchase them; however, it turns out that this product is not as good as the ratings are. My big complain is that this product does not pop all the kernels. In fact, it pops only 50% of the kernels. The rest is wasted...throw away. The second problem is, it takes more than 5 minutes to pop them. In fact it takes more like 7 to 10 minutes. Third, this product does not have an on and off button. I have to literally yank the power cord off the wall jack to turn off the power of the product. This is very unprofessional. I'm returning this product. 05/22/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad to purchase 2nd one Often when I find a product I like, by the time it needs to be replaced, I have a hard time finding the same thing again. We have almost worn out our first Stir Crazy popper. So I was thrilled to find that same style by the same brand was still available. We eat popcorn 2-3 times a week and this popper is great. Our first one is 5 yrs old & still works fine; the cover does have a serious crack so that's why I want a replacement on hand. Try it - you'll like it! 10/29/2012
1-30 of 140 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw360
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp