Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 46 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This gate is convenient and super easy to open! Extra tall means EXTRA TALL, the photo is not of the extra tall gate. It comes up to my belly button and I am 5'7". Probably NOT SO GOOD FOR STAIRS with a banister on one side because it takes a lot of pressure to get it to work right and it is pushing my banister out making it a little crooked. The opening is slightly narrow, but not too bad. My baby is only 12mo old, and I have a feeling that he will be able to yank it open when he gets a little older because it doesn't lock very tight and I would not use it at the top of the stairs for this reason. You have to be careful measuring because it may MAY NOT FIT EVERY OPENING listed. I WOULD recommend it because it is easy for me to open and has the auto close thing for when my older child forgets to close it. Also he can not climb over it because it has no horizontal bars. And you can reverse the direction it opens in which is nice. 09/06/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Worth It I bought two of these gates because I liked that they were tall and you can walk through them. However, the pressure mounts just don't hold up. My husband is constantly having to re-tighten them. The rubber on the end of the pressure mounts wore off and has fallen off. We have to use puzzle pieces between the mounts and the walls to help hold the gate in place. Needless to say, the gates are pretty much useless now because my two year-old can bust through them by just pushing hard if he wants to. They just don't seem durable. 11/02/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good gate, minor glitches This gate is good and sturdy and nicely tall. The gate we got seems to have been bent a little so it takes quite a bit of compression to get the top part of the gate to latch sturdily, but once it does, it's good and secure. Didn't bother returning it since we can make it work. Opening with one hand is doable but not the easiest if I am attempting to use my less dominant hand. I have only had it up a few days, so we'll see if it continues to be a good gate. The walk through portion of the gate is small, but when we needed to move furniture upstairs, it was easy enough to take down the whole thing. 07/13/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buying for a second time We purchased this gate 6 months ago to mount on our bedroom door to keep the cat out, but allow air to circulate into the room. We just bought a second one to put on our guest room. We had no challenges installing the gate and are constantly going in and out of it. It's very stable and secure on our 32"w door frame. I find it very convenient to open with one hand when I'm loaded down with laundry or whatever I'm bringing into the room - much easier than those ones you have to step on to release. As for price - this was $10 less than the price we paid at another retailer for the last one. 09/07/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by WILL NOT FIT A 43 INCH OPENING When installing this gate, I found that it WILL NOT WORK in a 43 inch opening. I followed the instructions for a 43 inch opening by using both the 5 and10 inch extension pieces. However, when these two extension pieces are attached to the gate, it makes the gate 44 inches wide which WILL NOT fit into a 43 inch opening! I attempted to use only the 10 inch extension, as per the instructions for an opening 42 1/2 inches wide. This too did not work as the tension bolts were not long enough to tighten the gate enough for the walk through door to close properly and the gate to be securely tightenend. It would fall right over. It seems like it might be a pretty good gate for the price but only if your opening is 1/2 inch more or less than 43 inches. 01/01/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gate opening too narrow This gate's opening is only 18 1/2 inches wide. With it being so tall it is impossible to get yourself thru carrying packages never mind a baby. 02/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected I brought the gate to keep my small dogs on my front porch. The gate is really secure; it works well; and it compliments the white railing on my new front porch. 08/30/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gate Nice tall gate, just wish the "self closing" really worked. Nice extra width. 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i neeed an extention i am unable to find one i need 3.5 or 7.5 i found it amzing that all the other gates have extention but the one i ordered 07/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will Purchase Another, in Addition to The First We bought this gate because we were not wanting to put holes in our walls, etc. I love that it's metal, a pressure mount gate, and you can change it to fit your opening. Since it is metal, it's very sturdy and ours still looks like it did when we bought it to use on our first child. We've used it at the bottom of the stairs, mounted to wood. We're going to be putting it back in the same place and buying another to go at the top of the stairs, or vise versa. It has NEVER come loose or had any problems what-so-ever for us. If you have an unruly child and your child breaks things, then I would definitely suggest getting one that screws into the wall, etc. But, for us, this gate has worked wonderfully!! 09/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great!!!! My 1 1/2 year old climbed like crazy. We bought these and he NEVER got out. Tension mounts may need to be tightened occasionally. But if you're not happy with that, you can always screw these little plastic pieces into your door frame that will hold it in place. He's 3 1/2 now, and has figured that if he pushes up really hard, it unlocks, so we have to get rid of them. But I never once doubted his safety with these in place. A must have for baths, kitchens, stairs or any place you don't want your tots heading! (also work great for pets, nice to have a gate that our dog couldn't chew in 2!) 07/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Gate Easy to install. Great price for the size and quality. The only downside is the automatic close isn't that strong, so we typically have to manually close the gate. I would highly recommend. 07/14/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as I hoped I have a hard time with this gate. The gate doesn't seem heavy enough to shut itself like it is supposed to. If you don't mind pulling it shut behind you, the gate works fine. 03/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Awesome!! This is the 7th gate I have purchased in order to keep my persistent small dog limited to certain parts of the house. He's home alone all day and can't be confined to a kennel or left outside. Just when I was about to call a contractor to redo the walls and the doorway I tried Summer Infant Extra-Tall as a last resort. I actually have this mounted between 2 wooden railings so I was really skeptical about finding a product that would fit an unconventional opening without drilling holes. The one with wood accents is very nice and heavy, but I needed the mounts to rest on the flat upper and lower portions of the vertical post on the rail where it does not curve. With anything tension mounted, you have to allow for uneven walls or floors, but the bottom bar that rests on the floor really helps keep it level, from bending, or from overtightening. Just take your time tightening the mounts so that it stays even on top and bottom, level with the floor, and vertical. The latch requires lifting on the swing gate while sliding a little button on top so it is impossible for pets to get this thing open. I don't know if this gate will withstand my grandson crashing into it with a tricycle, but it is great coming home to all the cushions still on the sofa and avoiding all the telltale signs of a bored dog roaming freely about the house for hours on end. It seems like a lot of stores quit stocking safety gates, so you may need to try Home Depot or ToysRUs...Site to store is great - if you can wait. DO NOT spend the extra money at the pet supply stores - I tried those too. 07/22/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by best gate Other than the fact that it shuts automatically, I love it. I'd rather have the option of having it open so I can go back and forth easily after the kids go to sleep but this one beats all the other gates that I have used and own. Setting up for stairs is very difficult!!! 07/13/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by they've changed it I have two of these gates. I've had for one for about 6 months and I love it. The newer one that I have had for about two weeks is still nicer than many gates out there but not as nice as the older one. The newer one does not swing closed (and latch) like the older one, this is actually very bothersome when you have a young child in the house that doesn't always remember to close things. 02/22/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too difficult to set up/install I placed the gate at the top my our stair case between two hand rails. First, I had to secure the attachments to the hand rails via 4 screws - not supplied! Second, the four screw type presure adjustment fastners require very fine adjustment (4 ways) to properly align the swinging door. If not adjusted properly, the door will not function as intended. This was a very tricky task and may require readjustment month-to-month. Third, once enough presure is applied to the four screw type presure fastners to obtain an adequate hold, the gate starts to bend and flex out of shape - it's not strong enough. Conclusion: it SEEMS to do the job okay for now, but I am not too confident in it's strength or function in the months to come as my toldler grows. 08/29/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 I am very happy with the performance of this product. The quality is good and the time to setup was minimal. 07/07/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not at all what I expected The gate was not very easy to put up. The instructions were not at all helpful. The way the gate is made you have to tighten it really tight to make the door line up right and now where the extension is on mine its bows out a little. I'm not really sure how sturdy this thing will be. I guess it will hopefully last a little while. I think if you have a kid that’s pretty aggressive and will rattle and pull on it this gate will not work for you. The gate already had undone itself somehow and I have to tighten it again. The door is not as sturdy of a latch as I hoped it would be my dog already knows how to open it and she's just a little rat terrier. 06/26/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommend It has worked very well. I wish that the extensions were a little more durable, but no infant is going to break it. Its nice to have though! 06/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great gate! I've found this gate to be far superior to the ones I've purchased in the past. It's easy to install, looks nice, and is much easier for my husband to open and close. It's also easy for my four year old to open and close, which is important since she goes up and down the steps 100 times a day. We use it now to keep the dogs downstairs and will eventually use it to keep my infant from climbing up the stairs. If you are trying to keep a toddler from escaping, it might not work because of it's easy opening / closing, depending on how clever the kid is! The only problem I've had is that since it is filling a 47" opening, it is extended almost as far as it will go, and if an adult pushes on it REALLY hard, it will become dislodged and require a fresh installation. I would buy it again....that is, until I see how well it keeps my daughter from climbing the stairs later! 06/13/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by This gate was a perfect size for our stairs the only problem that I did not see when I purchased it was you have to drill holes and screw in stability cups if you use it on stairs. I had to drill holes in my banister. But it is better that having my grandson fall down the stairs. It is very nice that you can open it with 1 hand and it closes by itself. 06/12/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suits it's purpose I purchased this product to restrict our new puppy until he was completely potty trained. While this suits this purpose I was disappointed in the the fact that the gate doesn't automatically close every time you go through it. It also has a tendency to shift and is wearing some of my paint off of my floor baseboards. Overall, it does the job but still a little flimsy. 06/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by fast & easy to install good price. easy to install. works well. use product to keep dogs out of the living room at night. 05/27/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Walk-Thru Gate We love this gate. We had scratched up the walls, and tripped over 2 other gates, but this one works great! It took about 30 minutes to get the gate set even so it swings closed and locks by gravity, but it was worth it. 05/23/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works I bought this to contain 2 small dogs and serves it's purpose but my 1 big dog can easily jump and knock down. Overall good product but I think kids could easily get through if they wanted. 05/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by KEEPS KIDS AND ADULTS OUT A little expensive, but I bought two to keep g'kids in living area and out of the kitchen/ bedroom areas. It's tall enough the toddlers can't crawl over it. The 6 yr old has not figured it out yet, and it's very durable. Wish we'd had these all along instead of starting out with plastic, and then expensive hardwood ones. I will probably buy more for my house, these were for my daughter's house. 05/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by very durable I have 2 and I love them! They close on their own and are even durable enough to withstand my HUGE dog and destructive and daring little boys. 04/05/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I've been using this gate for at least a month. It was easy to set up. Does not hard mount but comes with screw in cups to keep the pressure mount in place. Easy to use one hand latch. Nice and tall to keep my son where i need him and 2 100+ lb dogs behind it. I recommend! 04/04/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by It would have been nice This product would have been really nice if I didn't have to send it back. It wasn't Wal-Mart or the Manufactor's fault. Probably something in shipping. The bar that made the door open and close was bent so, I had to return the product. I did however set up the gate just to see how easy it was and it was pretty easy, it fit just right and it was firm and stayed in place the opening of the gate was a little small but whatever kept my nephew in the area was good enough for me. My only problem is that I didn't want to wait the extra 3 weeks to get another one. I already waited 3 weeks for the first one and that kinda drove me nuts it would have been nicer if my Wal-Mart would have carried that gate. But, you can't have everything. 03/25/2008
1-30 of 43 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew488
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp