Rated 4 out of 5 by 573 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick, Easy, and Eye Satisfying I had read many reviews about this product and I went ahead and took the risk and bought it. To my suprise this bed was very very easy to put together and the instructions were clear. It is a lot more sturdy than I expected and can hold up to a lot of stress. My husband and I have a combined weight of around 550 LBS and it has held up to us very well. I would definately recomend this product to anyone but make sure you follow the instructions when it says to use two people, it can get very heavy. Also... an electric screwdriver was very helpful. 02/25/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Looking Bed I got this bed for my guest room. It's really easy to put together and appears to be pretty sturdy considering the price. I'm definitely satisfied with how it looks. My only complaint is that the platform itself is unsightly should your mattress slip away from the edges. The quality is not excellent-all of the pieces are particle board-- but as I said, before, the quality is what you should expect for the price. Once the bed is made, though, you really can't tell the difference between this bed and other, more expensive platform beds. I recommend getting the bed through site to store shipping because the shipping cost is almost as much as the cost of the bed. 07/08/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for tight budgets If you are looking for a classy sophisticated modern look for a very affordable price then this product is a great find. It brings a contemporary look to your room without having to worry about spending too much. This is a great bed if you will be staying in the same place for a while because it is a little on the heavy side. It is very easy to build, and is very versatile if you like changing your room often. This bed is actually black and not dark brown or expresso. Can be used with just a mattress for a low look or with a box spring for a tall look. Make sure you get the right size because you will still have about an inch around the mattress of free space on the platform. Great for dorm rooms or small apartments. It has a matte finish not glossy. Overall, great bed for people looking for a great look with a great price. 07/25/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not as Bad as I expected After reading the reviews I became quite nervous about this product, because one I would be assembling it by myself and two I was afraid it would arrive damaged with the holes not matching up etc etc. Yet, when it arrived, I saw no damage and I put it together by myself in about 2 hours the directions were easy to follow and my holes did match up. I did not use a power drill or anything and still found it simple to assemble! It looks great in my room and I love it! 09/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I was looking for a nice black platform bed for my husband and I. Most of them are very expensive but this one looked nice and the price is great. We ordered it- was not hard to put together at all! I made a black leather headboard from plywood, black buttons, black leather, and now the whole bed looks awesome and we could not be happier! We also bought the Damask bedding and 2 night stands at walmart also! 08/27/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor quality The main problem with this product is that the wood is poor quality, and it so it chips and breaks as you are trying to assemble it. The nails don't hold in the wood well, and though it looks good assembled, it is not very stable. I would not recommend this bed. 06/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for temporary use It's very economical and easy to put together. But since it's made of pressed wood, you can only take it apart and re-assemble it so many times. So if you're pron to moving this wouldn't be the product for you. Also, with no headboard your pillows tend to fall behind the bed unless it's pressed up against the wall. However, with the right mattress it is a very comfortable and it looks good. 10/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Beauty Let me just say that this bed ends up being simple yet elegant when put together. It is very sturdy and will go well with any decor. That said . . . Make sure you either have someone to help you, or have an entire afternoon to put this thing together because you will be at it for a while! The instructions ARE quite well thought out and it IS relatively well put-together, but it is also held together by apr. forty-two thousand screws. Putting them all in takes a few hours, trust me! The only other gripe I have about assembly is aligning the top panels of the bed. You get what look like two scrap pieces of wood that are actually used to make sure the first plank is properly aligned. Someone unsure of themselves could quickly and easily end up with a crooked and/or off-center bed! A better solution would have been to affix much smaller alignment pieces directly to the two end-planks to make alignment a snap. Once it IS together though, it's a great bed. Don't expect mucho style and finess. In the end it's a black box with a platform on top of it. If you want something simple or understated though, this bed is perfect. My wife and I love it and so far shows nary a sign of wear and tear. We hope to be using it for years to come. 08/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this bed!!!! The instructions were very easy to follow and we love our new bed! The only hard part was trying to get the platform (plywood) to square out using the pieces they give you. Suggestion, have some one help to get it square and then screw it in place. 01/23/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard to beat I have been looking for a bed that did not need a look of fuss to make it look attractive. This is it, very easy to make the bed, and don't have to worry about dust bunnies. 07/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Queen Size Platform Bed My husband and I put the frame together in a evening. It did take us a little longer than we expected as we had to read the directions over and over again, the instructions were a little confusing but we did it! The bed looks GREAT! The price was reasonable and FREE delivery to our door. What more could one ask for? The bed looks great in our guest bedroom. We are happy customers! 08/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value Was easy to assemble, quality for price is good. Seems sturdy and looks good. 06/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Bought this to go with our new memory foam mattress. It was easy to assemble, all the parts came in the box and it looks great! Our old frame was so high, you nearly had to stand on your toes to get up on the bed. This is much lower and gives our room a real contemporary feel along with our 2 new night stands and lamps! I'd buy another one in a heartbeat! 04/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Met my expectations Ok so I went online and read the reviews and went ahead and bought the bed in black. Setup was pretty easy (Platform bed is just a wooden rectangle so its not hard to imagine the assembled product in your head without even reading the directions). It took me about 1.5hrs working slowly. All the pieces are marked clearly and the diagrams are accurate. I would just look closely at each diagram to see what I needed to put where and I was done. The overall look is awesome, I really like it. If you stand about 2 feet away and look and the base of the bed, it almost seems like its just floating on air because the platform support is pretty deep away from the edge of the platform. I like this a lot because it opens up my room. My only two minor dissapointment was that #1 one out of four of the platform boards did not line up perfectly or maybe that could have been my mistake too because when you lay the first big piece on the left of the bed, it has to be lined up correctly or else when you lay the other three one next to the other they will inevitably be off too because of the first piece being off. This was very VERY minor there is a small margin for error to where my assembly still came out near perfect. Also when moving the bed be careful when trying to lift from the platform areas. It is kinda heavy and if your screws in the platform planks are off (like mine were) then you will lift the plank out of the base with screws and all. Thats it, other than that for around 100 hundred dollars and free shipping to home this bed is probably the BEST value in a queen sized platform bed. Thank you Walmart! 12/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total junk The predrilled holes were off, the instructions were atrocius and quality poor, other than that it was okay. 10/13/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by All things considered, just so-so. I bought this with the headboard and the two nightstands, so it was a good value. However, if I weren't budget conscious, I would have considered spending more for better quality. Many of the exposed edges of brown particle board don't even have a laminated edge (in fact, each box came with a black felt tip marker...are you kidding?!) and the corner of one of the larger boards was damaged. Many of the holes were not predrilled, so I ended up stripping a couple of the screw heads trying to assemble the bed rail. The instructions are not very clear at all. You have to do a lot of guesswork at which edge goes which way. A drill, a can of black spray paint, and a lot of patience help with the assembly. Unless you have all these things and are fairly handy, I'd choose something else. 12/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy - Looks Good We bought this bed about a month ago and have really liked it. It looks great, it's nice and sturdy, and was relatively easy to assemble. The only thing I'm not wild about is that only the outside edges are finished, the underneath is MDF or particle board. We bought a queen size bed for a queen size mattress, but there is still about an inch on either side where the MDF shows... can be covered by the comforter, but it isn't the ideal solution. Overall, very pleased with this purchase. 05/28/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not buy this bed! DO NOT BUY..! I read the other reviews before purchasing this bed. I was like, "Aww. They are over-exaggerating their experience." How wrong I proved to be. The screw holes were either off or not there. I had to make several of my own in order to put the bed together. The large partical board pieces that are to be used for the box spring did not line up..! A total diagonal nightmare. The three black sides/rails are more like small branches with no guidance or pre-drilled holes. And no matter what pressure we put on it, the screws would not go in. DO NOT BUY..! 11/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Starter Bed, some complaints Overall I was very satisfied with this bed. Fiance and I could not afford a bed at a furniture store so we wanted to try out a bed from Wal-Mart. Loved the pictures on the site. We also bought a memory foam mattress that was the equivalent size. It is EXTREMELY comfortable. Used Site to Store to get it delivered for free. It will not fit in your car. We did not have a truck so we had to rent a UHAUL and move it yourself into the house. I would advise you to have a man to help you move it, the box is long and heavy. My main issues is that the bed is made of cheap material, you do have to be careful black finish, the instructions are not 100% realistic, have some extra nails and screws on hand. Expect to spend a few hours trying to put it together initially. Other than that, the bed has held up quite well. My fiance and I weigh about 400 lbs together and there are no issues with this bed and the mattress we bought. We have moved since we bought. You will have to take it apart in order to move it because it is extremely heavy and delicate trying to move it all at once. Putting it back together took less than an hour. Overall, yes this is a CHEAP bed, but if you take care of it, it is great until you can afford something made out of better quality material. Then again, we like this bed so much that unless something weird happens, I don't see us buying a new bed anytime soon. Plus it is very stylish and modern. 02/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by dont buy! This is total junk! when we open the box there was broken pieces of wood. the screws dont line up. we put it together it took for ever then we went to move it and the whole frame broke and fell apart! Complete junk cant really believe walmart would actually sell this! very cheaply made junk weak it bowed not stable. will never buy anything from south shore again! 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 love this so much! takes 2 people to make it easy and it makes a room look expensive w/ out taking up much more room than your bed! 10/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what we were looking for. My husband and I absolutely love this bed. We opted for the Site to Store shipping method and we were not disappointed. The packaging was intact and it arrived within a week. The overall assemble of the bed was a bit time-consuming and a bit confusing. The best advice I can recommend is to take your time and label all of the pieces beforehand. We were at a bit of an advantage though because we had actually already built this exact same bed, in a full size, for my mother. This bed saved us a lot of money and it is very sturdy. My husband and I have a combined weight of about 500 lbs and the bed has held up fantastic. We both are absolutely in love with this bed frame and would recommend it. Just make sure you have some time to dedicate to the project and a partner to help you build it. It's worth the money you save. 05/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT! I can't ask for a better bed!! Awesome, awesome, awesome! I am so glad at the value of this bed! It was very cheap. But made very well. I can say that I have never been happier with a purchase! <3 I have been sleeping on the floor prior to this..lol The moulding on this is very pretty, convenient so that you don't slam your knee/shin on sharp edges. I think this thing is very sleek. Very nice to sleep on. Very light (compared to some beds) but hard to carry when taking it to the car! Bring a few friends to lift it! Good: Very nice design, very sleek, chic. Very pretty colour. Low. I like low beds. Sits about 3-5" off the floor. Bad/changes: Missing one peg cover (the little round things that cover screws) but it was on a non-visible side on the top. Weird that there is no coving for the top part of the "headboard type area"? My cat likes to dive under the edges and hide in the corner spaces..was hoping to avoid that :P Used with a memory foam mattress (cheap Sleep 1 brand here.) Makes the bed a bit harder than expected. May want to find a soft mattress or a mattress plus memory foam under this! 03/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works just fine! I searched all over the internet for an inexpensive and simple platform bed, and this one fit the bill. Wal-Mart had the cheapest price, and it was available on a lot of sites. It came on time, assembled easily (we've done lots of furniture that has to be put together), looks nice! We're quite satisfied w/ it! 08/28/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by To anyone who is considering buying this platform bed, it is a good buy for the money. It is sturdy and even though it's primarily particle board, I went to Home Depot and bought some Behr paint with primer in semi-gloss black and painted the part that wasn't black it looks great! I am planning on buying some other pieces to match the bed. 09/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bed for the price! My husband and I purchased this bed online a few weeks ago. We are very happy with our purchase! The box it came in is VERY heavy. We had to take each piece upstairs individually, rather than take the entire box up. I agree with what many others have said, take the time to read the instructions, set the pieces out ahead of time-I wrote the piece #s on them in sharpie so we would be absolutely sure. And this does work best with two people and a drill. We did have a small issue towards the end, attaching the molding pieces with a drill when the bed is already put together, but we propped it up on some chairs and that took care of it. It is a little big larger than a queen size bed, so we do have a little extra room, if we decided to try a bigger mattress. My husband and I are very pleased with the end result, and we weren't ready to kill each other by the end of assembly, which only took about an hour and a half! 09/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by NICE BED the bed looks great after you put it together. however we put ours together using only a screwdriver, it would be a lot faster with a drill. the molding on the bed is very hard to screw in, save your self time and energy and make sure you have a drill handy for this part. you also need TWO people to put this together because of the weight of the boards. 03/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little more diffucult to assemble than i thought This product was very easy to assemble until it came to putting the molding on the edge of the bed. The instructions said that all you would need is a hammer and screw driver...they lied. I guess it is possible but it would be very hard. We eventually just bought a bottle of wood glue and put it together with that. Overall though it was very easy to put together and so far hasn't fell apart. 07/23/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bed molding Overall a very nice piece. I had to put it together by myself... so it was a bit heavy and hard to screw everything together with only 2 hands... 2 people would have made it easier... but still took less than 2 hours and for the price... you cant beat it. 01/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice but has its flaws i went ahead and purchased this product. it took about an hour to assemble. nice and sturdy. everything was okay besides: 1) it would of been nice if all the holes were predrilled. for instance the edges for the bed had to be screwed manually without predrilled holes 2) there was only 3 edges. for both left and right and one for the bottom of the bed. it makes it look funny. 3) i dont know how to put this but the wood shows in plain sight. i expected it to have some sort of finish when it was put together but it didnt but overall looks contemporary. ive gotten a cold since i got this. i think it could be the wood. i can smell the scent of the fresh wood if you know what i mean and causes me to sneeze alot. but then again it might just be me. it met my expections on the sturdiness and a little on the look. other than that i say its fine. thanks for reading. 11/02/2010
1-30 of 482 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew279
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp