Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 400 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Measuring Issues In general I like Regalo gates. They tend to be good quality. MEASUREMENT WARNING, though: I bought this gate for a 36" opening. The description says that it fits up to 39"...but this is with the extension. Without the extension this gate is really only effective for openings probably closer to 33". To fit my 36" opening the tension rods had to be extended out too far to build proper tension. They often pop out of the gate or get unaligned making the gate pop open. I've had to completely readjust the gate several times. I plan to move this gate to a smaller opening and get a different gate to replace it. 10/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very sturdy and dependable I have to admit I am not the best at putting things together but this product was easy to install. It is very sturdy. My husband does not like putting holes in the wall for anything and this gate does a wonderful job without being screwed into the wall. My son is 19 months and had a meltdown yesterday when he could not get into the kitchen. He banged and pulled and was even hanging from the gate at one point and the gate stood its ground. Also the latch is very easy to operate. The latch itself is probably made to use with two hands but once you get the hang of it, you can open it with one hand very easily. Overall this gate is awesome and I am getting another now to go upstairs. 02/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate for Child or Pet I purchased 3 of these gates in NJ, to contain my dogs before I moved to VA. This is my 4th one. The local store in VA didn't have them, so I used the site to store feature. Shipping was super fast and didn't cost me anything. I am totally satisfied with the product and service I received from WalMart. The Regalo gate sets up in a few minutes and has the walk-thru feature that makes removing the gate unnecessary. The bars are made of metal, which deters dogs from chewing them. These types of gates sell for much more in specialized baby stores. I highly recommend them for child or pet containment. 07/19/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what was expected The measurements said 27 - 42" wide it did not say that you could not make it 36" which is what I needed. I returned it. 03/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! We have two adult dogs, two young dogs and nine (yes nine) kitties. The dogs need to stay out of certain rooms, but the cats need access. It got very difficult stepping over our other fences, or moving them to walk down the hall. We have another fence similar to this in a doorway that we removed (sawed out) one of the vertical rails from, so the cats can walk through but the dogs can't. Unfortunately, that one didn't fit the width of the hall. This one does - without the extension piece!! Additionally, the rails are slightly further apart, and all the kitties (even our big fat ones) can walk through it - no alterations needed. If the cost was lower I would definitely buy more of them, but it's still worth the price paid. 04/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Baby gate We have a 10 mo. old who crawls everywhere. This gate was easy to install, is durable (metal). The only problem is is the opening - "door" for the adults - it is a bit narrow - only 16 in. - bit too narrow if you need to bring anything downstairs - like laundry etc. 08/13/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by small measurement window where gate won't fit Because of the base moulding on my wall, the gate would not fit. With the extension it was too wide, without the extension pieces the adjusters were too extended and would buckle out on pressure!!!!! So frustrating. PS the opening I am trying to fit is 34 1/2"...not a crazy size! 02/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for the Purpose This gate was purchased to keep dogs (Great Danes) and the cat out of the bedroom but make it easy for the parents to get in and out. Since we are only using it for pets and not kids we don't lock the latch making it easy to open with one hand. The product was easy to install and adjust. Also a great price compared to similar products. 06/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Investment I wish we would have bought this gate long before we did. When we first installed it we thought it was defective because the door latch did not reach far enough to close the gate. But once we read all the instructions, we found the notice that warned that the gate is NOT defective, because it will close once the gate is properly installed (the tension got rid of the gap). It's sturdy and easy to open and close-even with one hand. Definitely would recommend it. 08/12/2007
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product is okay, as long as you are not putting it at the top of the stairs. The gate is too small to go through w/ a baby on your hip. 10/14/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price! I recently moved to a townhouse with stairs and was looking for a gate that wasn't too expensive! I was going back and forth because this one was so cheap! We decided to try it! It came in about a week and was extremely easy to install! Definitely read the instructions and the tag on the gate! I think I might buy another one for the top of the stairs! 10/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful, Super easy-to-install Baby Gate This was our third attempt at a top-of and bottom-of stairs baby gate. This gate rocks. So very easy to install, sturdy, not at all cumbersome, easy enough for my preschooler to open, but too difficult for my 13 month old to open- perfect. The gate door swings open nicely...this is a rave-worthy gate. Great, great buy. 08/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Gate I bought this gate because my dog would eat the wooden ones. So far, so good. There are no teeth marks on this durable metal gate. Good buy for the money. 03/11/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving this product, should have got more! Easy to install, easy for 5 year olds and older to use! 05/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great no hassle gate! This gate works great for anywhere in the house! We use the wall cups that came with it and have it at the top of the stairs. The latch is easy to use - even one handed. And my older kids can get in and out with no problems. Overall a great gate! 04/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Gate! we bought 2 of these gates for a new puppy and they are perfect and really easy to use. One we are using as is and the other one we need the extention which came with it. We used the pressure system on them no screwing into the walls and the gate is really easy to open and close. Working out great! 04/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving the metal gate. I was a bit skeptical and didn't want to spend close to $40 on a gate but now that I have it, I know it was totally worth the money. It's very convenient and sturdy. I love this gate. It's way better than the $12 wood ones that I have purchased in the past. My cat can get through it but my daughter and puppy can't. Exactly what we needed. I would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking about purchasing a gate for any reason. 04/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice for the stairs It is nice for the bottom of the stairs, our baby and dogs stay downstairs and it is easy enough for my 7 year old to work herself. 03/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Baby Gate This baby gate was everything I hoped. It allows me to put a swing door gate in my kid's rooms and not have to screw anything in the wall. It comes with wall cups if you do want to secure it in place. These are made out of metal, so they are very sturdy and they look nice. The one thing I would like is the option to change the direction they swing open. Otherwise, these are the best gates I've owned. 03/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great as a dog gate Putting this pressure-gate together was not as simple as it might seem, but it can be done fairly easily IF you read the instructions carefully instead of wasting time by trying to install it without reading the manufacturer's tips and how-to. Once installed, this is an excellent gate. It's sturdy, attractive, and will not budge from the door jamb. We use it to keep our dogs out of certain rooms. It closes nicely with one hand, and it need not be locked for use with our pets. When open, the gateway is fairly narrow, but so far that hasn't been an issue. This gate is an excellent value compared to others I priced on the web. The gate is a standard doorway size out of the box, and an extension piece is included for use with wider doorways. 01/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by dog gate Works ok. I purchased it for my yorkie however the space between the bars is too wide. Once my puppy gets bigger it should work great. 01/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by We purchased this gate to keep our new Shi-tzu puppy in our kitchen. After reading numerous reviews on this gate we decided to purchase. We actually ordered three of them for all three entries into the kitchen (one being the top of the stairs). They were easy to install (my 12 year old daughter assisted me). The only problem is that the slats are too wide and the puppy can get through them. They are a good three inches apart at the end where the gate opens. They will be great gates once she gets bigger, but for now we are still having to use the mesh gates in front of the metal one. 12/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by My first priority was price and Walmart offered it the cheapest compared to other online sites offering this exact same product. It falls short of my expectations in that the tension rods that hold it in place in the door frame do not have a rubber stopper type end they are merely plastic and because of that they don't grab as much traction and tend to slip under too much pressure. It is doing its job keeping my daughter out of the kitchen however I'm afraid as she gets older and possibly leans on it, it may slide out and give way and she could fall. Also this gate does not open in both directions. Obviously it would be better if it did. The latching device is perfect. Overall good value but need to fix traction issues with tension rods. 11/12/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of money. My 2 year old quickly figured out how to open this gate. 10/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate for the price! This gate looks like it would cost much more than $37, and works great! The locking mechanism is definitely kid proof, and it fits nice and tight in my doorway. 07/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this gate I bought this gate for our dogs (two large boxers). It took me less than 5 minutes to install and is very sturdy. Very easy to open and close, and I have no worries about the dogs knocking it over. I wish I had bought another one to have for odd times when I need to block off another room. 04/22/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Buy I bought 2 of these gates and had to return both of them. The red tab broke on both just after using them a couple of times. I would NEVER buy these gates again and would NOT recommend these for anyone!!!! 07/16/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too difficult to set up I ended up returning this product because even though it boasts being easy to use and setup it was not. 08/21/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to set up Meets all the expectations and it is very easy to set up. 08/13/2007
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't Buy THe gate does not even close!!!!! Not strong enough!!! Dont waste your money on this!!! 02/10/2011
1-30 of 331 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw277
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp