See All Reviews
US Weight 100 lbs. Traditional Weight Set
US Weight 100 lbs. Traditional Weight Set
$36.98
List Price: $60.00
You Save: $23.02 (38%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 47 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for starters I like to workout at home, and I have been looking into purchasing a barbell for quite some time but I didn't want to spend hundreds upon hundreds of dollars. Luckily, I came across this little thing. > I ordered it site-to-store and went in for pickup. I'm not going to comment on that experience because it will vary from store to store and I do not want to mislead anyone. (For the record, it was a good experience and they helped me get the product to my car without questions.) > You will have to assemble the bar, and judging by other reviews here I was concerned that I'd have to have someone stronger than myself pound away at it (yeah, typical female here), but it slides together and then after a few firm taps on the ground, viola! It fairly obvious of how to put it together. The part that slides into the other part of the bar is covered with a red plastic cap. I used this cover the bar before wacking it on the cement out in front of my house. (Thanks to whomever suggested that. Worked like a charm.) > My product did NOT come with clips, but I will be contacting the manufacture about this. I have some other standard 1" clips that I used, but they did leave slight marks against the bar, which are silver/gray in color. The weights were dirty, so I suggest that you give them a quick once over with a washrag. They are plastic like so they shouldn't harm your floor if you use them indoors. If you want to throw them around in your garage, be careful, they will probably get scuffed. > This a great starter set. Some of the downsides, though: - There isn't any 5lb weight. The lowest is 8lbs. - They can't take a lot of abuse. - They shouldn't be used on rough surfaces, because they may get scuffed. - The black bar will easily get dinged up and you may spot some silver color shining through, even fresh out of the box. - Some of the plates slide on easily. Some take a little shove. It's just the luck of the draw. > The upsides: - Safe for indoor use - Plenty of combinations with the weight. - Great for starters. - Wonderfully priced, and truly a steal. - Fits in small areas - Can easily be compared with products 2 or 3 times it's price. > Overall, if you're thinking about it, buy this product. If you're a powerlifting or someone who likes to throw around weights, skip this and go for something more advanced in weight lifting products. > Happy lifting! 04/10/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the money So far, so good. For the price, this is a great product. The clips make it easy to change the weights. Banging the bar together was easy (suggest doing it in the street or somewhere you don't mind marring slightly). Only downside is the increments are only 5, 10s, and 20s. You may want to supplement with some 2.5 lbers. 01/26/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Barbell Weight Set Great Set. Just enough weight to tone the muscles. 02/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good. I found this a bargain at my local Wal-mart for only $35 I got this and two adjustable dumbbells with 4 more calipers. A great deal overall, it has the included workout booklet which I think is great for those beginners out there. The bar though comes in two separate pieces which require you to bang them together on a surface. A precaution though,the box it came in was made of cardboard and fell apart while I was loading into our car. 12/21/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by not what I wanted I ordered this thinking it was going to fit the Golds bench , but its to short:( 01/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome the bar is of exceptional quality, very strong and sturdy, quick and easy assembly, hard plastic weights and clips are strong and hold them in place, a little loose sometimes twirl around, but not a problem really. Overall an excellent value! 06/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good starter set This set is not for a dedicated lifter. It's a good set for someone starting out on a budget. The 2 piece bar is scary with a good load on it. The set is best suited for quick weights with lots of reps. Overall it is worth the price. Just don't overload it. 08/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent bar for the price it's a steal I bought this set for I believe about $50, can't go wrong, you get 100 pounds of weight with it. The bar: Excellent, 5' bar, that is STURDY, I have had 160 pounds on this thing and it doesn't bend, flex, nothing. You can't go wrong with this one. The weights: The weights are great and cheap for only $50 with the bar, you can't beat that. The only complaint I have is the fact that you get 2 20's, and 4 10's and 2 8's. I knew that buying them, it isn't bad, but I can only fit 160 pounds on my bar because I have to use so many weights to get to 160 lbs. But, that's not a complaint, just knowledge if your looking for more than 160 pounds, you might end up having to buy some more weights, since the standard 5' bar will only hold about 4-5 weights on it before you run out of room. 03/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by don't buy Cleap sand fulled weights. Half the density of metal, takes up too much space on dumbells to load up. Should be stated that this is not a metal set. 04/29/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by 100 Lb. Traditional US Weight Set Good value for the money spent. No problem putting the bar together. I don't like the fact the bars are coming in separate pieces these days when we already have to deal with the fact that it isn't solid, but that'll never be a problem if it's used the way it was intended. So, what can I say? My Bowflex squat straps haven't broken the bar apart yet, LOL. 04/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value for the money. I bought the weight set for my son for his birthday. I ordered it online through site to store and had it shipped to a Walmart near his house for free. It's a basic weight set and my son loves it. He wanted it for an at home work out on days he doesn't go to the gym. 10/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weights for a beginner! I have been attending EZ-Boot Camp for (3) weeks. My membership expired. I purchased a DVD to continue weight lifting and strengthening. I have a GIRL CAVE! These weights are marvelous and the price is right! 10/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good set of weights for the money I like the weights, but of course you are getting what you pay for. They are great for every day use, I have only had them for about a month so dont know how long they will last. 03/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by decent nice set only problem i had was the bar was bent 03/04/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought this for my husband for a birthday gift and he has used them several times. He really likes the ease of changing the weights for different lifts. Over all this was a good buy and I would recommend them to others. 03/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by ok the amount of weight for the price is very great. but the weights are pretty fat. and take up alot of the bar. u would want to by a additional bar. or just buy this set for the very cheap weights. 01/19/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sometimes Cheap is NOT Always Better The bar is like 2 in 1 and you have to hammer it together. Therefore it doesn't seem completely reliable. 01/19/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by tumanyanimals It's okay. Bar is too short for the bench. It's okay as a starter set for my 12 yr old. 01/10/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weights OK Weights are fine, Bar on the other hand very cheap. But it was a great value, you get what you pay for. The problem with the bar is you put it together and it did not go together strait. The bar has a bow in it. I was worried that it would come apart at first but I don't think it will. I have been using it for about a month and no problems. 11/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price! If you're looking for function, not asthetics, this is the perfect buy. Not the nicest thing to look at, but performs perfectly, and is a great deal on the price! 09/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by just fine for a beginner A fine choice for the beginner wanting to lose weight while lifting weights. 08/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Value for the Money My brother purchased this set for my son to lift weights for baseball. Great starter and good for the money and more. Would feel free to recommend to anyone. 07/17/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple but Effective When I ordered the product I already expected that it would be simple but effective and useful. I had a lot of experience in weight training and I know what I expected when I buy the training tools such as this one. This is the basic training equipment for basic weight exercise. You cannot become a master body builder by using this equipment, but if you are serious and religiously do your exercise, even with such a simple equipment, you will gain some muscles. 07/03/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stuff This is a very nice set of weights. The fact that the weights are externally padded keeps your floor safe from getting damaged every time you set it down on the floor. 06/12/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is exactly what I expected. I don't trust the two piece weight bar so I purchased a one piece bar. 05/11/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by It a good starter set It's bulky, so it does take some extra space. But good price for 100lb set. I would recommend getting a separate barbell. The barbell which came in the box is too weak to be any good. Which is fine, because I just wanted extra weights. 04/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shwoing Defintion Already! Got these for my husband and he loves them, great price, fast shippng also! Would definetly recommend them. 03/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sculpting me good Very strong and sturdy bar. Plenty of variable weights to work with. Great for starters, or intermediate as I am. Love the work-out instructions that come with it. Advice - when tapping the bars to tighten, don't forget to use the plastic cap (mine was red) to put at the end of the bar before you tap it with a hammer. Otherwise, it bends the metal. More advice - unless you have no problem lifting and carrying over 100 lbs for a lengthy amount of time, either get help or go buy it at the store. Nearly broke my back getting it to my apartment. 01/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product this product works really well for my 14 year old son. 01/13/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 Useful Item Great starter set. This weight set is priced right, and not only do my teens enjoy using it, so does my husband. A great way to begin weight training at home. 01/07/2009
1-30 of 39 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw457
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp