See All Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by 326 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by We bought this gate for the top of our stairs. One problem. You can only mount it in wood or metal. So if you just have drywall it is not recommended that you use it. This was not mentioned in the description at all. 03/13/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed/expected This an inexpensive gate that works wonderfully for my 1yr old to block her from going up the stairs. I did not install it into a wood frame, I just used anchors & it has held up great. I have 4 kids, some days up to 6 here & they climb over it instead of opening it, so when it does break I know it was my kids fault. I did do the measurements like it said after reading other posts saying to measure & re-measure, so no issues there. I think alot of the people who didn't like the product may have expected some elaborate gate, keep in mind the price! It works, but it isn't a luxurious wood & iron gate, it looks like the regular plastic gates that we have all seen, with the exception that this one opens & is mounted. I have had a ton of gates with having 4 kids. My last gate cost around $200,was huge but worked just as well as this one( I gave it away when I "thought" I was done having kids!) This gate does what is needed & it is so nice not to have to remove & set up a gate everytime I need to open it. My only suggestion to buyers is if you are using it on drywall, spend the $3 & buy some good anchors! The sturdier the hinges, the sturdier the gate will be. Also, the installation wasn't hard at all, I am a female who had the baby trying to squeeze pass me while I put it up & I still managed to get it up within 15 minutes, just read instructions before you do anything, measure twice & use an electric drill & you'll be done in no time. It also arrived on time, which was nice too. I am very pleased with this purchase & I recommend it to anyone on a budget! 10/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog Gate Product perfectly matched our needs. We needed to have an easy open/close gate to stop our dogs from getting into the back part of the house. We modified the gate by adding magnets so to open the gate was a simple push or pull and it automagically secured closed with the magnets without using hands. This is our second gate from the same manufacturer. 11/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Essential stairway gate This gate is perfect for the stairs. I provides the security to keep my kids safe, but also opens nicely to have the entire width of the stairs accessible. Other gates with a door in the middle don't give you the room to walk through especially if you are carrying something like laundry! It is easy to open one-handed. We had one little issue with the install that meant flipping it around and making another set of holes so it would swing the right way. This is the only thing the directions could have been more clear on. Overall, very happy with the purchase. 10/14/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by BEST VALUE! I am so thankful to find a sturdy gate for such an awesome price! I am a mom of twin 2 yr olds and a four year old, all boy's! I needed to keep them safe from falling down the stair's. My oldest fell all the way down the stair due to a gate that was not permantely attached to the wall. Luckily he wasn't hurt but I wasn't taking any chances. I was relieved at how easy and cheap it was to get this product sent to my home! Thank You Walmart for such a great value! 03/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not correct size! This product says it fits a 26" opening but with the hinges the smallest it can go is actually around 27 1/2". Didn't fit the space I needed!!! It can't even be used as a regular gate without the hinges because it has nothing to lock it to size. Very disappointed. 02/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome value... This is a really durable baby gate. It works as well as more expensive versions that I have owned. It's not decorative, but serves the purpose. Invest in some good anchors for the installation, as they are not provided. I put it up myself in about 15 minutes, with two toddlers running by, and I am not a skilled labor-person. It's funny to see that it also contains my teens because they don't feel like unlocking it, even though it's pretty easy once you know how. It swings nicely and can withstand a lot of traffic and toddlers shaking it. Great value! Thanks, Wally! 04/20/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sounded Good I was looking for a walk thru gate so it would be easier so we didnt have to keep taking it down or moving it.I bought this one after reading the ratings and figured it would be a good one.It was not.It was more of a pain to open & close it since you have to use two hands,lift the lever,then slide it in then you can walk thru it and then of course you have to do it all over again.Be careful because it does have slots at the top and bottom for my "rowdy" one to put his little toes in and climb on it. 08/12/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by great deal for the price with a little modificatio I paid about $13 for this gate, so for the money, it was well worth it...but not without modification. The gate is a pain to latch and unlatch. You actually have to lift pins out of the top and bottom to release the gate. It was a huge pain until I decided to only hook the top and use the bottom pin only as a stopper. I just moved the cup the hinge sits in back and now it just hits it and keeps it from swinging out the wrong way instead of having to fit it in at the same time as the top...which was a huge pain. Now that I have modified it, it is perfect. It takes a little while to get used to the latch, but you figure it out pretty quick. Remember though, this is a $13 gate and it is a good deal for the money, but it's not the quality or ease of a $30 gate. You get what you pay for. It ended up working for me once I decided to only "latch" the top...before that I was cussing and wanting to send it back. 05/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Value!!!! I LOVE these gates! They are a great price, we were able to afford two when finances were tight ( we had just moved into our new home). I can carry my son or laundry etc. and open and close them with ease. I love that the latches are on the other side of the gate so that curious little fingers aren't trying to figure things out. Buy this gate. 10/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I expected! After reading mixed reviews I decided to try it because it was so inexpensive. I was not disappointed in my purchase! I bought 2, one for the doorway into our living room, a very high traffic area, and one at the top of the stairs, also fairly high traffic. The one in the living room I use multiple times each day and it opens easily when I need it to, even when I'm carrying my son. You just have to get the hang of how to open and close it and be patient. Usually the one upstairs is off the hinges but I like how easy it is to put in place and take down. It only takes a few moments to set up and I'm always sure that it is secure. The one in our living room doorway stays open very well and I don't have to take it off it's hinges each time I want the space open. Installation wasn't super easy. First, once installed, the door only opens one way, but you can remove the latch piece and change the direction you want it to go. In that way it is totally customizable. I recommend having a power drill for the holes/screws and measuring multiple times to make sure things line up (We had to install one gate twice because I measured incorrectly). But once the hinges are in place you are basically done. While it isn't the best gate out there, or the prettiest, I think it is unbeatable for the price. Anyone who needs a quality gate for small price I highly recommend this one. 10/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very difficult to use We ordered this because it was the cheapest available. You get what you pay for! It is so hard to get latched, I dread having to go through it. I would definitely not recommend this to anyone who wants to put it in a doorway that gets any use. 07/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value, performs well You absolutely can't beat the value of this product and it does the job, so for that reason alone it deserves 5 stars. It keeps my precious little son safe from the stairs and I can open it with one hand while holding him, which is all I was looking for. It's not going to hold up to a hurricane but it's adequate for my toddler. The color is not bad either, a soft gray--this gate is not going to win any awards for style but it's neutral and inoffensive. I bought this specifically for the top of our stairs because it is a hard-mounted gate, as recommended by safety experts (as opposed to a tension gate, which is not considered reliable enough for top-of-stairs use). We have a tension gate at the bottom of the stairs, which cost significantly more and damaged our drywall. If I had it to do over again, I might just buy another of these for the bottom of the stairs. Filling in the screw holes left by this gate will actually be easier than repairing the dented drywall left by the tension gate when it's time to take the gates down. The only complication installing this gate was that our walls were not even, so I had to have my husband cut a 1/2" shim so that I could mount the last bracket--but this would have happened with any hard-mounted gate and it was due to our uneven walls and in no way a defect of the gate itself. I'm pretty good with a drill and installed this myself. Installation tips: read the instructions well, measure several times before drilling; I made pencil marks and taped the brackets to the walls to make sure everything would line up when the gate was open and shut. If you have uneven walls like us and have to use a shim, you will need longer screws than are provided. Finally, the diagram in the instructions was a bit confusing because it doesn't tell you until the very end that you may need to reverse the orientation of the latch, depending on your desired opening direction. The gate came with the latch in a different position than the diagram showed. Overall I'm very satisfied with this purchase. 06/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap, but cheap. I got this gate to block off my kitchen from my grandson when he spends the night. I love to cook and wanted a swing gate to make if easier for me to go back and forth into the kitchen while still controlling my grandson from going into the kitchen and getting hurt. This gate does exactly that, and it was super inexpensive. It is not the most convenient or easily operated gate I have used, but did I mention it was super inexpensive. One feature that I really love is that when the grandson is not here it just lifts off the hinges and stores in the closet. Oh, its also super inexpensive. 11/15/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE DO NOT PURCHASE I had to modify the latch with clippers just to get it to open and close. Worthless!! Does not deserve even one star. 08/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for dogs I bought this gate to keep my sister's intrusive dog out of my room when I still want to keep my door open. I used only the screws and hinges included to mount it onto the center of the door frame. I have to say it does wobble a bit when it's open so I hope it will be sturdy enough to withstand the weight of a big dog, but it does what is advertised and it's sold at a good price. The mounting instructions include measurements that I tried to use, but just didn't work out. What I did instead was attach a hinge to the door then line it up on the wall and outline it with a pencil. I held the hung in place then had my boyfriend put in the screws. I did this with the two hinges on the opposite side of the latch, so I could figure out more easily where to place the hook for the latch. It worked out well and was quick to put up. I can see why people are having difficulty with opening the gate, so it's important to note that it can take some getting used to. It takes practice, so if you live with someone impatient, it would probably be beat to look for a different product. 08/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly good The gate has been great for keeping my puppy out of trouble. It took me a while to put it up, the directions were a little confusing. I had a hard time telling how it should go on the wall. Anyways it is up; crooked, upside down (and maybe even backwards I can’t tell) and the bottom hinge should be a little higher but it can't be because I already made holes in the wall in the wrong place; but it is up and working. We can't seem to get it to stay open (probably because it is not right against the wall) but we put a little piece of velcro on the wall and on the gate- it stays open now. Now I just have to find the patience to put up the other one and maybe try to move this one around so that it doesn’t come off the hinges every time we open it. 07/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Gate I like the gate, but it is hard for the adults to get it open as well. And just when you think you got the hang of it.... Its a great childproof gate and even is adultproof one sometimes. 07/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Product Price & Service Walmart has set the bar very high! I purchased this product while needing one very quickly. This product came to my house in 48 hours for a extra .97 cents. Great job Walmart Product and service A+++++ Thanks, RGG 06/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate-especially for the price! So glad Baby's R US had issues with their website pricing..... I checked Walmart and found these for less than half the price of just one gate at the other site. Only complaint is it took almost a month to get them. This was my first time using the WM site to store, probably wouldn't recommend if you need it in a hurry, otherwise save some serious money and do it! Also note: Should be installed by someone with fairly good handyman skills, and you may need better wall anchors if installing into drywall ect...... 05/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price Most mountable gates are over $30, so I was a little leery of this one being so cheap. But the number of positive reviews convinced me to try it. It was a pain in the A screwing the mounting brackets to the door frame, but that's a house issue. I was concerned it wouldn't sit right since I couldn't get the brackets installed perfectly. But even with my less than professional job, it works perfectly. Since it's plastic there's enough give to it that you don't have to set the brackets at the exact measurements. It swings smoothly & shortens easily. I also like the fact I can just pop it out of the brackets if I want to get it out of the way. Another plus is there's no bar on the floor to trip over, like you see with the more expensive metal gates. Overall a great cheap buy for kids or animals. 04/09/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed When finding this on the Wal-Mart web site, I was excited. With a new baby in the house, I would not have to worry about the house dogs sneaking into her room stealing her tools or worse. But, after following directions and getting this gate set up, it does not work the way it should. There is no opening or closing it with ease or at all as shown in the picture. I am very disappointed. 03/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for our needs Needed a gate to go at the top of the steps leading to the newly remodeled and refurnished basement to keep the 2 cats out. Wanted something with a "door" and not have slats as I was afraid the cats might squeeze through. This fits our needs perfectly. Because I am constantly running up and down the stairs alot and usually have my hands full, I can operate this with one hand. I thought I would have to spend about $50 to get a decent gate, so you can imagine how happy I was to get this for less than $16.00 plus free shipping to store. Sturdy enough for our needs. Highly recommend. 03/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This gate is tough, easy to install, well designed, and easy to open and latch. Where I hung it (in my kitchen door) required one shim because the doorframe wasn't square. This was not a design fault of the gate. I would recommend this gate for anyone needing to keep small children or dogs out of an area. Nothing stops a determined cat. 03/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Gate I've ever used I bought this gate because we were tight on $ that month and needed to find the cheapest gate possible. Exactly what I got, CHEAP. It's hard to install, measurments are off, i had to drill tons of holes in my wall to get it right, even then the latch doesnt want to unlock. It's a big pain! I just climb over it now, easier than trying to hastle with it. I'm returning it for a gate that actualy works decent. It's a cheap price for a reason! Do not recommend this item at all, unless your short on money and plan to climb over the darn thing. 02/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy but hard this product looked sooo easy to install, but when you dont have a power screw drill it is hard to do by by hand. also trying to the things in evenly was annoying but after that it was easy use . im glad i bought it 01/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well satisified I gave this product the highest rating not because it is the best gate on the market, but because it is the best gate for the price. I had another good quality gate but everytime I needed to pass through, I had to remove the gate and then reinstall it which was a pain! This gate has hinge sockets and takes but a moment to open and close. 01/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate for the price I ordered three of these gates - 2 to block off my kitchen from my grandson and 1 for my daughter. They were very easy to set up. This gate is also easy to take down. You just lift it up and it's ready to store. I would suggest setting the gate in the wall side to make sure that the gate side lines up correctly and is high enough if you have carpet. I have tile so it didn't really matter. My daughter has carpet and she had to raise it 1/2 inch so it didn't drag on the carpet. 11/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good gate. I bought this gate TWO YEARS AGO and still works. I never installed it into the wall. Other than that great gate for the price I believe I paid more than what it is now, but it was worth it. 11/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful pet gate! : ) I purchased this gate for my medium size poodle mix so she would stay in her bedroom at night (which is actually the laundry room) while the family is sleeping. We won't have to worry about her getting into harms way and chewing on the furniture and rugs. She didn't like it at first until I unlocked the gate and pushed the gate all the way in to leave an opening for her to walk through during the day. Now she doesn't mind going to her bedroom at night. I like that the gate swings open which makes it convenient when it's time to do laundry; and it's easy to clean. I'm so happy with my purchase and couldn't believe it cost less than most pet gates I've seen. Overall I'll give this item 5 stars. 10/22/2010
1-30 of 274 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw321
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp