Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy, Stylish and Assembled! We purchased this lateral file along with the desk using the free shipping to our Walmart store. This particular Walmart store also offers free assembly of furniture purchased, either online or in the store. What a deal! This file cabinet is gorgeous! It lines up perfectly with the desk. The drawers are sturdy, and the contrast of the cherry top and black bottom makes it a very stylish addition to the desk. Plus, the handles help not to make this item look cheap. I say Bravo to Walmart for being the ONLY discount type retailer to offer free assembly of furniture. Interestingtly though, I am close to 2 Walmart stores and only one of them offers this wonderful service. It certainly was helpful to me as I am not a handy person. I had my new desk and file in my den within 2 weeks of my online order. A Walmart associate loaded the file into my car, so I only needed help carrying the file into the house. I would definitely recommend this product! 10/26/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than I ever expected! I order this because it matched the other furniture I had in the room and I desperately needed a filing cabinet. I never in a million years expected it to be this nice. This is a very sturdy piece of furniture it looks beautiful in my den and holds SO much! My husband put it together rather quickly and said that the the instructions were easy to follow. I would highly recommend! 03/02/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just okay The file cabinet itself is sturdy and attractive. The top is laminated particle board though, and a piece of tape stuck to it pulled off a strip of the laminate exposing bare pressboard underneath. For $200 I'd expect a better quality top. The assembly wasn't bad except for the top too - the pre-drilled holes were in wrong spot so I had to improvise. 11/21/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product Very sturdy and finish is very nice. The rollers on the drawers are very smooth and seem pretty sturdy. 02/09/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice filing cabinet It is pretty much what I expected. It took me a little longer to put together than I expected but the instructions were very clear. One of the inside fiber boards was slightly cracked once I opened the box. I did not want to have to haul it all the way back or wait for another filing cabinet so I went ahead and assembled it. It is perfect for my office as this piece blends the furniture that I already had together. It seems solid. The drawers open easily. I think it will last. The cherry veneer scratches easily so be careful. All in all, worth the money. 01/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hope you have lots of time! This file cabinet looks great....once I got it put together. The directions are not very clear. It shows pictures of the screws you need and what the part looks like, but no description of what to do in writing. Very difficult to follow pictures. It took me all afternoon to put this together. I like it because it is what I was looking for, but next time, I'll have someone put it together for me. 01/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great buy for the price Extremely sturdy. directions were very good, but it does take a few hours to put together. 12/16/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by lateral file Although this is a very attractive piece, it was a bear to put together. Two of the panels were split and had to be replaced. The company was very nice and replaced them free of charge. Finished product seems sturdy and attractive for my purposes. 10/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by P-E-R-F-E-C-T I love everything about this file cabinet studiness, size, looks etc. Looks more expensive then what I paid. Workmanship is very good Thank You Walmart! 06/13/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the Money I had been looking at more expensive files but they didn't offer much improvement in quality just more money. The look is great and fits into my decor well and should last several years. If you don't rush the installation, which is pretty involved, it is pretty basic. Good instruction and design but plan an evening for instalation. Would purchase again for home office. 03/06/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great accessory to my office. This lateral file is very nice looking and functional. It took a long but not difficult time to assemble. Worth it? Absolutely. The file is heavy and sturdy. I anticipate long usage. Price was so affordable. 12/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for what I need it for I bought two Bush Stanford Lateral file drawer cabinets and we use them for nightstands. Our bed is a large king and sits higher then most beds, therefore nightstands don't work correctly. These are perfect. I love the color. I saw something very similar to this in a furniture store that was also a lateral file and the same size as these. The price was DOUBLE what I paid, so basically I got two for the price of one!! They were difficult to put together, but my husband is great at doing that kind of stuff and he had no problem whatsoever. I thought I might not like the finish, but I absolutely love it. When we picked them up at WalMart (I saved and had them delivered to the store instead of my home) they were perfect, not scratched, broken, bent, or pieces missing. All I can say is thanks WalMart for offering these, they're perfect. 09/29/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by sophisticated piece of furniture I hoped the product would look like something from an expensive office supply store and it does. The drawers glide smooth and all my files fit neatly. Love it. 09/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by The file cabinet was much more than I anticipated Although not so easy to put together the finished product is a beautiful piece of furniture. 10/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy, Functional, and Elegant This is the third Antique Black and Cherry Bush Stanford Lateral File Cabinet that I've added to my collection. I've been very satisfied with the two I already have in addition to the desk that I purchased at the time I purchased the two lateral cabinets. The colors provide a professional look. The material is sturdy. One caution to keep in mind is to not to overload the drawers with too much content. The drawers will slide out of their latch. The lateral cabinets are versatile to accommodate legal size and letter size folders. The assembly was easy. Walmart offered the best price out of all the searches. Walmart's site to store is awesome and helped me save on the shipping cost. 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good looking,and it works This cabinet matches the photo on line. It looks good. It also works, our paperwork is getting organized. As noted by an earlier reviewer, the instructions for the drawer glides leaves a lot to be desired, I had to remove and reinstall them correctly. The "fit and function" is right on. All of the parts go together easily. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was a great buy, Heavy piece of furniture when all assembled. Assembly was a little difficult but the end product was great. Totally matched my other office furniture made by another company. Very satisfied with this purchase. 06/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It makes the office look even more professional! 06/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Is Still Alive and Well! After ordering a lateral file cabinet through another business and being disappointed wth the size and quality, I decided to order the Bush Stanford Lateral File Cabinet through Walmart. What a surprise! My husband, who is a very hard to please consumer, loved this cabinet. And so do I. There are numerous reasons but the one that stood out the most was the quality! This cabinet will not only meet your expectations it will surpass them. Thank you for reading. 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value This is a sturdy little file cabinet that looks great. Much nicer and heavier than what I expected. It is mostly pressed board, but it looks like wood, and it is reinforced well. Tons of file space. I love it. 05/11/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall the file cabinet looks nice but the assembly of the drawer is cheaply/poorly made and required some Gorilla Glue and a trip to Home Depot to purchase some support brackets. Time will tell whether it will hold up. 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic This file cabinet arrived in beautiful shape. It was packaged with each piece individually wrapped so that nothing could get a scratch. All the pieces were clearly marked with numbered or lettered labels including all the hardware which was bagged by item. Every piece was there and there was no damage. It went together without one problem. The instuctions were pretty much only diagrams which is actually nice since often the written instructions with boxed furniture can leave a lot to be desired. It took me a little over 2 hours to put together and may take some people less time (I tend to work slowly and double check things). The main cabinet is very sturdy with a nice heavy top. The drawer fronts are very stylish. It looks like a very expensive piece of furniture. Just a note - the black has a slight blue tint to it which could be a problem for some people if they are trying to match other black furniture. For me it is absolutely perfect! I am just thrilled and cannot wait for my other pieces in this set to arrive. 04/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great piece for the price! Great piece for the price. The directions are hard to read, no words. If you can have the patience to put this together, than it is a very nice looking file cabinet and fairly sturdy. The bottom of the drawers are very lightweight, you really can't put anything heavy on them, it is really meant to be used a a hanging file cabinet. Looks great and holds a fair amount of hanging files. 04/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stunning piece of furniture After reading all the reviews on this model, I felt comfortable ordering. It is extremely heavy; the sales associate loaded it and it fit in the backseat of my Honda. The easiest way to get it out is to open the box in the car and take out one piece at a time. Took me 3 hours to assemble at a relaxed pace. All the parts are clearly marked and the instructions are in amazing detail. The cabinet looks and feels expensive...the finishes were flawless. It's just gorgeous. 03/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Great file cabinet for the money. Very easy to assemble. Seems like it will hold up for a long time. It's easy to use for both letter and legal files. The drawer bottoms are very thin so I would store things of any weight dirrectly on the bottom. 03/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great looking filing! Love that is looks like a great piece of furniture! Assembly was a bit rough... 03/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filing cabinet looks like furniture On a good note it is beautiful. Looks like a piece of furniture. But if you are not used to putting things together forget about it. Had to have my boyfriend put it together - way too hard for me. Took him 3 1/2 hours and he said all went smoothly. 12/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by great w/ one reservation This piece filled the bill for us. It is attractive storage that fits in w/ our bedroom decor. Unfortunately the particle board in rear of the lower drawer started to crumble, but Hayneedle is sending a replacement piece. If you purchase this item be sure to hang onto your instruction book. If you have an issue, Hayneedle will make it right! 10/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by File Sharing This lateral file was all that it was advertised to be. We like it very much. It did take a while to assemble but the instructions were very simple. Looks great! 06/19/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommended Very nice looking when assembled. Sturdy. Drawers glide nicely. Well engineered, if you do it right. The drawer bottoms are a bit thin, but since they are non- load bearing that is a purely aesthetic gripe. Challenging to put together, but the customer service people, while humorless, are knowledgable and seem to be available night and day. Overall, I give this a high rating. I have no experience in this sort of thing. I put it together myself w/ minimal calls to customer service. It looks great, works well and I'm happy! 03/14/2009
1-30 of 60 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.