See All Reviews
Coleman Beach Shade
Coleman Beach Shade
$38.24
List Price: $54.99
You Save: $16.75 (30%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 32 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice item!! Must have in the florida sun with the kids. Has two zippered sides so you can close it for privacy to change your clothes. Much bigger than I thought it was going to be. Didn't take too long to put together. Great item! Only complaint is that once you use it, it is difficult to squeeeeeeze it back in the tiny carrying bag. I just keep it in an extra tote bag I have. Very compact though. 05/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Incredible Beach Shade This amazing product just returned with us from a 400-mile, two-month kayak trip down the Baja Coast of the Sea of Cortez. We used it every day, not only as our primary source of shade, but slept under it many nights as well. It held up incredibly well to both the relentless desert sun and even some of the famous Sea of Cortez winds (we took it down when it got really, really windy). It honestly looks and acts brand new even after all of that and being subjected to salt water and being crammed into and yanked out of kayak hatches. Truly an indispensable item to take to the beach anywhere...even Baja. I would HIGHLY recommend this beach shade to anyone!! 07/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great so far Used it three times over the last month and found it to meet and exceed my expectatios. One usage was in strong winds and the bags that can be filled with sands and insert into the corners were usefull. The tent didnt budge in the wind. Takes less then 10 min to set-up and proivde large shaded area. Also used the zippres to create a private area to get dressed. Very usefull. 10/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it use it every time I go to the beach. Sets up easy in min, 3 poles, take down easy. Have used for over 3 years. Great sun protection holds up well in the wind, could sleep in it. Use as changing room before going home. 09/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by After I read the reviews of this product I purchased it online and it came to my house days sooner than the projected delivery date. We tested it out and had it up in a few minutes. When we got to our campsite it took at the most 2 minutes to assemble down on the beach. This shade is perfect. It made it possible to spend entire days on the beach and not get sunburned or burned out. There is a large zippered net window on the back side that let's the breeze through. The whole thing can be zipped up for privacy when changing or if you want to take a walk and leave your things. I wish I had had this product when my children were small. It is big enough for beach chairs, an adult to nap in, or spread out a meal... I am going to buy these as gifts for my family and friends who love the beach. 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works. Tested it during a week long stay at Corpus Christi. It was pretty windy out there, up to 45 MPH gusts, and the tent worked quite well. Of coarse, setting it up and assembling required two people, and we set it up perpendicular to wind, but it did its job. The only improvement needed - stakes. Original are just a joke, too weak and flimsy. 04/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use, easy to pack up, & easy to store. Although I would use weights to keep this beach shade from blowing away 05/10/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good design with poor material Not to hard to set up up, takes about 10 minutes if you bury the bags in the sand. Poles shouldn't have metal interlinks, they should have plastic or rubberized metal. It's too easy to tear the material as you try to thread them through the loops. Tent material is too thin and isn't reinforced (with heavier material or better stitching) in areas that have the most stress on them. Tent had a tear in it near one of the lower ground stake areas after only one use on the beach (on a mildly windy day). Returned to the store for a refund, wouldn't buy the product again or recommend it to anyone. 08/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excited to try it out! I purchased this to use at a 2-day outdoor music festival, to shield myself and one other person from the sun/rain/wind whatever elements that might occur (we live in MN, heck it might snow)! I have yet to go to this event, but I set it up in my living room and it is big enough for two adult size lawn chairs with extra room. I also chose this model because it zips up and we could use it as a changing room. I needed something that packs small enough to carry it in and out each day, and it goes up in minutes. I camp a lot, and I knew I could also use it as an additional shelter or storage for gear. There is enough room inside with the flap zipped up for one person to lay down in. 04/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by as advertised ordered from wal mart.com, product actually shipped from coleman. was actually easier to set up than alot of other reviews i read. the included sand bags were excellent for use on the florida gulf coast, the shade structure didnt budge an inch. 07/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - especially for the price! We bought this before we went on a vacation with 3 infants and 2 toddlers and it was perfect! The double opening helped with the wind on the beach so we didn't have to worry about the tent flying away and there's a screen feature on the back door so it doesn't get too hot. Very easy to assemble as well. We've only used it during the one week vacation but plan on bringing it on may other vacations to come! 08/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I'm very satisfied with the Coleman Beach Shade. It provides a nice shade, it is easy to set up and it looks really nice. Few people asked me at the beach where I got it from! The tent is a great value for the money and it server its purpose perfectly. 06/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works We used it three days on the beach. First day quite a lot of wind, was difficult to set up at first under those conditions, but got it up and it stayed up. Next two days easy to set up. Never used the sand bags, but did use all the stakes, pins. Wouldn't hurt to have extras. It's nice to have a sort of home on the beach. We have a little one who got kind of worn out several times and we took her there and held her there and that was helpful. Ordered product less than a week before leaving date but of course it arrived a couple days early. 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, my son loved it! We got it for him to lie down and rest a bit out of the sun for those long days at the beach. He puts his legos and other treasures in there and then there is no risk of these items being buried in the sand or washing off in the surf! He has his snacks in there as well. Super easy install and easy to take down and store. Love it!! 08/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by We used the tent on the beach for our 2 month old granddaughter and for a break from the hot sun periodically during the day for ourselves. You get plenty of shade from this Coleman Beach Shade. It takes two people to set up, thats why I gave it 4 stars for overall rating. 07/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bigger than I expected i bought this tent for an upcoming trip to the beach. There will be two toddlers and one pregnant woman so we need some shade. I saw this and was happy with the price so I thought I would give it a shot. I opened it this past weekend to see how hard it is to put together. Two things: 1. It was really easy for me (5'4, 115 lbs) to put together by myself! I was inside so I'm sure any wind would make it more difficult but I saw that as a plus. 2. It is A LOT bigger than I thought it was. You could have both toddlers in there as well as an adult! I'm really looking forward to using this on our trip in a few weeks! 05/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by we love it! This shade is PERFECT! We bought this shade to take with us on picnics, concerts, camping and to the beach. It sets up very easy, and can be closed up to keep things put away. It will blow over so you do need to stake it down or tie it down. But overall, its got great head room, and its quality is awesome. Perfect for staying out of the sun! We recommend buying this shade over the expensive ones, don't pay more for the same thing! 08/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by it is little bigger than i expected but it does the job as advetised. With front and back zipper closed, it is like a small tent and when we are not outside, it is set up in my son's room to be played for his favorite hiding place. I am happy with the purchase. 07/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Luck Getting it Back in the Bag Nice to have if you plan on spending the day at the beach. And I mean all day. I wouldn't bother setting it up if I were only staying an hour or so, too much trouble to take it down and pack it up. Took me and my two kids about 10 minutes to set up. But once set up I could keep our beach bag, ice chest, and two camping chairs inside. Provides shady place to have a snack and keep our towels and clothes out of the sand. You got to anchor it though or else it will blow away and good luck getting it back in the bag. I gave up trying to make it all fit. 06/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick / Easy Set Up Item was very easy to set up and take down. Stayed in place on the beach with the sand bag weights only. Looking forward to trying it out at the soccer field soon. 06/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PRODUCT! This is better than I expected. It is large, durable, easy to assemble and take down. Plus is has a small bag to store and carry it in. It was just what we needed for beach! 05/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy We bought this to take to the beach for my toddler to be able to get away from the sun. It is easy to put up and take down. And provided great shade!! 06/21/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by More of a tent We were looking for more of a beach shelter and when we tried to set this up, it was a tent, not what we were looking for! 01/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by took me forever to put together i like how this shade looks...hopefully everyone in the beach will be jealous when the family takes it to the next trip but no guarantee as I don't know how it will perform on windy situations. it did come with sand bags so hopefully it will help keep it in place. yes, the con is assembly. i think i have to practice at home many times before i can instantly put it together as described by others. one person can do it but it'll be a challenge for sure. its also big, i can stand while I'm inside and thats one of the pros. 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tested on a very windy Virgina Beach weekend. I purchased this item as a gift for a family who was taking their child to Virgina Beach for the weekend. As everyone knows, a trip to the beach with a toddler or an infant can be a little daunting. To make a long story short, the couple said that the item worked very well for them and another couple on the trip: a six foot, three inch grown man, his wife and their baby. I guess the shade was bigger than I anticipated. My thanks to Coleman! 09/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Beach Tent!!! Easy to set up also :D We took to Virginia Beach and it was very windy there. The tent never budged and was well made and easy to assemble. Perfect to help the kids get a break from the sun and keep your belongings safe and shaded. Plenty of room to take a nap too! Great buy! 09/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome deal ! ! I got this item very quickly after ordering. Took it home and attempted to set it up. I wanted to know how long it would take, how many people, etc. before I took it to the beach and tried to put it up in the wind. I am extremely pleased with it so far. It is bigger than I thought it would be. I had my Daughter help me the first time. Instructions are sewn into the bag it comes in, which is good because you don't have to worry about them blowing away or losing them. It took us about 15 minutes setting it up the first time in my living room. I'm sure that when I take it to the beach, I'll be able to do it by myself, and it will go faster now that I know where everything goes. I'm super excited about the fact that it has a back window you can unzip for a breeze, or close back up if need be. I also love the fact that the front can be left open for a "mat" of sorts to sit on, or zipped up to change clothes, or if the weather turns rainy, keeps you from getting soaked. Haven't actually taken it to the beach yet, and that is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. Can't wait to try it out in a real setting. 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Its really big Took this to the beach to block sun on the babies. It worked well, they wanted to climb through like a tunnel as both sides will unzip to allow a breeze. 04/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by so far so good i sent this to my son in florida..he used it twice for his baby daughter and said it worked great,, how well it holds up, its to soon to tell,but he was happy with it. if he encounters any problems, ill let the consumers know 06/13/2010
1-30 of 30 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew396
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp