Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 40 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 Excellent Product "Perspective" and "Context" are the key words here. In the context of 154 dollars this lens totally rocks. From the perspective of someone who's livelihood does not depend on a camera (ie a non-professional) and who cannot afford to drop 500+ bucks for a lens this thing gets me very close to what a professional with a 500+ dollar lens can get in exchange for a little more patience and a tripod. Note: I did not say it gets me exactly what a pro with a 500+ lens can get -- the reviews I've seen are reasonably accurate, though in my opinion a bit harsh; c'mon, it's a 154 dollar lens... Okay, so what can I offer you of value? Well I can say that I have in fact gotten some very clear shots at full zoom without a tripod in exchange for having to take about three blurred shots for every sharp one (tip: try using burst for this, I've had splendid results). I can also say that I've had good luck with low light conditions. To be fair I'll add that I'm using a Canon EOS Rebel Xsi and it's a camera that does very well in less than ideal lighting conditions (I highly recommend CPL and UV filters - they help get the light you want to the electronics, reduce the light you don't want, and thereby yielding lower noise low light shots). For bad low light results on still objects - blame the camera not the lens. If the subject is moving in low light then yes, it's true a more expensive lens with faster focus and stabilization will yield usable results where this lens may not, no matter what camera you use. Ask yourself these questions: 1.) Does my livelihood depend on my camera(s)? 2.) Am I photographing more than 10 percent of my shots in less than ideal lighting? 3.) Are a significant portion of my shots going to be of subjects in motion? 3.) Can I afford to spend more than 500 bucks? If you answered yes to at least two of those questions then this lens is not for you - spend the extra money and get the extra quality and user-friendliness. If you answered yes to any one of those questions then this might be a good spare lens to have handy but not a primary. If you answered no to all questions and you have a little patience (see note about using burst to get about 1 in 4 sharp shots at full zoom w/out a tripod - results will vary based on lightening and caffeine) you can get some astounding shots for the price. Like say point it at Jupiter (for this you'll want a tripod) and notice you can cap it's brighter moons - it also takes very impressive base to peak / peak to base mountain shots if you can handle a little bit more expense for the CPL and UV filters (you should have these anyway if you're buying lenses that can use them, this one can, because they serve to protect the lens as much as they do to enhance the shots). I hope Canon makes versions of all their more expensive lenses for those of us on a budget. I do have the patience and I do shoot mostly still objects. For me this gets me very close (sometimes side-by-side) with the quality results achieved by professionals and were it not for these cost effective and well built (context - for 154 bucks the quality is outstanding). My only beef with this and some of Canons other lenses is the lack of a locking mechanism. It's not earth shattering and there are ways to pack lenses to keep things from moving, but a lock to keep things from moving while stored would have prompted me to give the overall rating that one final star. Good luck and remember - if you have to have 500 dollar quality and are gambling on 154 dollar items to deliver that quality consistently and in the same manner as a 500 dollar item - don't be so harsh when your expectations aren't met - you only push potential buyers away from products that some of us really enjoy and can actually afford (which tends to push manufacturers away from producing them). 01/27/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok..if you always have a tripod handy Lens is what you would expect for the price. You can get some good shots, provided you always carry a tripod. This lens is not the stabilized version (EF 70-300mm F/4-5.6 IS USM), nor does it have an ultrasonic motor so focusing can be a bit on the slow side. That said, if you really want a better value, go for the version with the ultrasonic motor and image-stabilization. You will discover soon enough, you pay for what you get when it comes to lenses. 02/17/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so great This lens suffers from price point selling. People want a long lens but are unwilling to pay for the quality ones. Enter the 75-300mm f/4-5.6. This lens is very cheap and it shows. I feels plasticky. The zoom and focus rings aren't really damped, so it feels cheap. The lens suffers badly from lens creep. if you are aiming at a downward angle the front of the lens slides out and you lose focus quickly. Lastly, it needs very bright light to get a sharp photo. It is f/4 only at 75 and for most of its range it is at f/5.6. Uses: sports maybe, but only in the middle of the day. Never indoors, never at dusk or dawn unless you have a very steady tripod, end even then ut must be level or your shots can still come out a little fuzzy from the lens creep. It's very similar to my brother's old Minolta of the same length, and that was made in the 1960s. Canon has known quality control issues, especially with certain low end products (but not always! They had some issues with the latest professional models cameras just last year). The one I tried might just be a particularly egregious example. Do yourself a favor, get the 70-300 IS at least. It's worth the extra money, and less aggravation. Or even the 70-200 f/4 L 10/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great lens this is my second lens that I buy, the first one my daughter took it because of the great photos she took while using it, the second I have for the very same reason. this lens is great and i will recommend it to all. A++++++ 05/27/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's the artist, not the tools You can create fantastic photos with this lens. It is very, very limited in what it can do from a technical standpoint, but it will let you take shots you couldn't otherwise get without a telephoto. Just because some snooty photog thinks you need a $1000 IS L series to take a picture of a squirrel in a tree, does not mean you should sell your house for camera equipment. Shenanigans. If you are an amateur, and can't spend $1000, buy this, and use a tripod. When you reach the limits of the abilities of your equipment, then consider the upgrade. This is not useful as a macro lens, and you will not be pointing it downward for long periods of time. The lens creep shouldn't affect you. Spend money on the lens you use most. This is not likely to be it. This is a fine entry-level lens. Not only that, but if you hate it within 90 days... Just to prove I'm not being a complete smart-alec, I slapped this lens on a 20D body and shot this squirrel through my bedroom window. And that's a jpeg compressed to 130kb... 03/02/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by You get what you pay for This lens is slow, the focus is soft and creeps. You will not be able to put it on and take pictures of your kid in their dance recital, it's just too slow for that. Now if you want soft focus images of your kid playing football in the middle of the afternoon this lens will probably work for you. If you plan on growing as a photographer beyond your initial body and kit lens, you will probably be better served spending just a little more and getting a better quality lens. 02/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product I have used the telephoto lens with my Rebel camera with great success. My sister lives in the Hill Country of Texas. The morning after Thanksgiving there were several deer in her back yard. I used the telephoto lens to take several photos of the deer. The photos came out crystal clear and with the UV filter I used on the lens, the colors were outstanding. The lens was part of the package and I am truly glad I ordered it. 12/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Telephoto Lens A must have for the Canon Rebel XS. It's a bit heavy to carry around, but worth the effort. The lens will take images from 6' away, so it is really a very multipurpose lens. It is great to capture animals and nature that you otherwise cannot get that close to. 06/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Price I bought this lens when I purchased my Rebel XSI at Wal Mart. I was pleasantly surprised Wal Mart carried the lens. However, beware this does not have the "IMAGE STABILIZER" feature of the higher priced lens. Still a very good lens for the money. 11/28/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome prodcut I used this prodcut before when I went on a vacation. I love this lens and this worked great for my vacation pictures especially for landscaping. I would definitely recomment this product. It works great and the price is very reasonable and affordable. 04/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by We were looking for a bigger lens and this is just what we wanted! Can't wait to use it more! 01/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome lens for an awesome price This is a great field lens! Very light, yet good construction, and incredible range. I can shoot at 300mm and not have to use a tripod and my photos come out awesome. I have a Rebel XT, XTi, and XSi and works great on all of them. This has to be the best Canon lens for the money. Get one...you won't be disappointed. 11/23/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by great value Smaller and lighter than most lens of the same 300mm. For the average user less than half the cost o0f most 300mm lens. Works quickly with clear and sharp pics. 11/24/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by This lens isn't too bad for the price. Luckily I was able to pick one up from a friend at a lower price. The feels cheap and doesn't have the best build quality. When zooming in past 150mm it's hard to get a stable shot without a tripod and seeing as this lens doesn't have image stabilization you have to be careful. If you're a beginner though and just want a cheap telephoto lens to mess around with I recommend it. 09/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Canon EF 75-300mm f/4 5.6III Telephoto Zoom Over all this lens is very good, however if your just starting out be advised it would be best utilized with a tripod. 06/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect all around lens I do a lot of Wildlife & Outdoor Photography, in fact I sell quite a few of my pictures. This lens is perfect for getting close to the subject in it's range. The price is perfect, I looked at this lens in New Orleans at a Camera shop and they wanted over $200 for it and bragged about how great it was. You did good on this one to sell Wal-Mart 08/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product This is a best value buy for the money as you are getting a great product! 07/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product. Great product it is to bad Walmart does not sell more specific High dollar lenses for specic cameras.. 06/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did the job This product was excellent. I take a lot of pictures of birds, especially in action and this zoom lens was excellent. I used this lens on a trip that I just took and the pictures turned out great! I would definitely recommend this product. 01/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Is wonderful. Zooms perfectly and has a clear shot. 12/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good lens for long range shots. Take good telphoto pictures. 09/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Lens Not Great Lens For the price range you can complain. Definately not an indoor lens (with low light). Great for sunny, outdoor shooting. Park, zoo, great lens. I normally run manual mode when I shoot. Slow shooting in auto mode (not so slow that you will miss the shot). Pros: -Inexpensive -Good sharpness -Good Color -Awesome Zoom -Decent Focus (In Auto Mode) Cons: -No Image Stability (IS) -Not the greatest in lowlight (Not many zoom lenses are) -Cheap Build I do recommend if you want the extra zoom and are shooting outdoors. 07/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product After one week and lots of shots, I am satisfied, very satisfied with my purchase. I am a new photographer and look forward to many more shots. 05/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pix A great addtionel lens for my photo taking. 05/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent standard telefoto lens taking pictures of birds of prey has been much more clear and beautiful with this lens. I am very happy when I am in sports/action mode. 05/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Family friendy telephoto My wife and I have puppy and we wanted to take some pictures with our Canon camera. The lens that came with the camera is really good for everyday use but in this case we needed something that would allow us to take pictures of our running puppy at the off-leash park from a distance as keeping up with him was very difficult with the short distance lens. This is not a paparazzi telephoto, but it is just perfect for us, images are stable and we have some great pictures of our dog! Buy it! 05/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Enough length for the price... I purchased this lens to provide more length while shooting wildlife and outdoor events. I've had some experience with this lens before, but I finally broke down and added it to my kit. If you're looking for an inexpensive moderate range zoom, this is the one for you... 04/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great It makes me look good because I can now how control over makeing pictures. 03/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product! Great product, easy to use. Good controls, ergonomically placed. Good price. 11/22/2008
1-30 of 30 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew474
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp