See All Reviews
October Sky (Special Edition) (Widescreen)
October Sky (Special Edition) (Widescreen)
$5.00
List Price: $9.99
You Save: $4.99 (50%)
As Advertised
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Movie for the Entire Family A well presented story of young America and what students can be challenged to do by teachers that have a vision. 10/05/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Movie There is a reason the Boy Scouts of America use this movie during some of their training courses for adults. It is an excellent example of trial and error and the power of following your passion. The fact that it is a dramatization of a true story makes it that much better. Great cast and wonderful music. 09/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent movie that will make you cry in the end This movie is very touching, it feels your heart with inspiration and tells you not to listen to no one and follow your dreams. A big A+ 05/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good enough to watch more than once This movie looks like it might be slow and boring, but it turns out to be a great story. I also like that it is based on a true story and tells what each of the main characters went on to do with their lives (after the movie ends). Safe for audiences of any age, in my opinion. 01/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Movie This movie is a great movie. It has great acting and an amazing, historical plot. The actors fit their characters well and it's just an amazing story well-portrayed! 10/27/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by anomaly-family values, adult language For what seems to be marketed as a family movie with good values I was surprised at the gratuitous bad language. It added absolutely nothing, and was completely out of place for this type of movie. I'd recommend it with a TV filter but from what I've read Universal has taken steps to keep filters from working on their movies. All of this has taken it out of the running for one of the great family films. Other than the unavoidable bad language, it's a great movie that encourages academic success, a rare find. You just can't watch it with young children unless you are willing to teach them a few new words. That's the shame because otherwise this is a great movie to watch with young viewers because it would encourage them in their studies. 05/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by October Sky When I watch October Sky, It reminded me of my younger years. 4 other friends and I also built model rockets and flew them. It was all most looking at our own lives back then. Only ours was back in the 70's. This movie is a great family movie. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Good Movie! I saw this movie when I was in physics. Seeing it for the first time I was sucked in to the Amazing plot and teriffic acting. I love this movie and love to watch it with family. 08/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good movie with a good story line. My friend will enjoy this. 08/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a really good movie to watch with your children. My boys love it. 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Family Movie I can watch this movie over and over again and never get tired of the realism of this movie. I know it it based on true events and they got it right. 10/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I really liked the movie. It was refreshing to watch a movie that didn't have nudity or bad language. The plot was good. And to have the real person/persons the movie was about come on and speak was great. 09/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love movies about real life experiences Watching this movie teaches you lot about what Homer Hickam and the rocket boys had to deal with back in the late 1950's, and is truly inspiring. 05/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Not exactly what we expected Overall, the movie's theme is very touching and inspiring but my family and I were extremely disappointed at all the bad language. My parents and I watched the movie when it originally came out in the theater and loved it. My thinking is that all the bad language was removed for the theater but added back when the video was made for it. It seemed like every five minutes another cuss word was used. The movie didn't need all that because the plot of the movie is solid. I wouldn't recommend buying it if you have children at home who will see it. I'm not a child but I was taken back by the language. 11/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by October Sky Very inspirational story of WV HS students in the 1950's and their efforts to escape their Coal Mining Town. Commentary at the end by Homer Hicks and his classmates and principal was a great addition. 06/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Good Movie I am very pleased with the movie "October Sky" I purchased at Wal-Mart on line. The case was it great shape, the movie was not damaged and I received it a week before the expected date. GREAT JOB!!! 03/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great Family Movie This is a great movie for families. It's about Homer Hickam (Hickam Air Force Base in Hawaii is named after him, I think). Nice movie for teachers and math majors. 01/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply a good movie Regardless of the high moral or educational value of this film it's simply a good movie. It's also based off a really great true story. Homer Hickam wrote several books as well (one of them being October Sky). 10/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by October Sky (Widescreen, Special Edition) Good family entertainment. Clean and fun. A very good story line. Highly recommended. High morals and character. 09/08/2008
1-20 of 20 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew289
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp