See All Reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by My first smartphone and I love it. Have had no issues with this phone. Installed apps from the phone itself and directly at the Google Play website from my computer, with no problems. The only reason I do not give it five stars is, unlike my previous flip-phone, this Tracphone device does not give you your minutes and service balance. For that, you must go to the Tracfone website, and even though you can get your balance there, it still sends you a text, which does cost you. Unlike my old flip-phone, you do not have the option of deleting texts without opening them and getting charged for them. Transferring my old number to the new phone was easy, the recording said it would take from an hour to a full day. There was no notification from either phone when the transfer/activation was complete, so I have no idea how long it took - maybe a couple of hours? Instructions for phone use lack detail, I self-taught myself most of its functions. Still, a great phone and great value from Walmart. 12/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Tracfone Yet! I have used Tracfones for many years and this is my favorite thus far. It has all the functionality of all the other smart phones out there in this class; WiFi, 3G, texting, browsing, Android apps, GPS, etc. This phone has a camera that is functional and not much more. If I want to take photos, I'll use my DSLR. While the keyboard can be a little difficult for old, fat fingers like mine, I would have the same problem on any other phone as well. I suppose you could always connect a blue-tooth keyboard if you really wanted to make a go of it. My phone is on the Verizon network and it has not failed to connect me in any location that I have traveled. I admit I am not a heavy cell phone user, which is probably true for many Tracfone customers, so I buy the annual card and the triple minutes/text/data associated with owning phone keeps me going all year long. 06/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone! I have had this phone for 2 weeks and it has performed quite well for this level of phone (entry level). This is my first smartphone and it has not had any trouble doing what I have tried to do. Some of the more complex web pages are slow to load and scroll but no more so than my daughter's $200 LG phone. Call clarity has been good and I have found no places with no signal yet, even with some vacation travelling. Total storage for apps is low (a little over 300MB for apps not preinstalled I think#, but it automatically stores parts of some larger apps in other internal memory #almost 2GB I think). Micro SD up to 32GB should be plenty for music, photos, video, etc. Runs all apps fine so far, but I have not put any huge apps on it because of the memory issue. No dropped calls or missed texts. Battery should be around 5 hours with heavy use, at least 10 days standby with wifi and data off. I would definitely buy this phone again, and with my typical use Tracfone service should cost me around $15 per month - for a smartphone - WOW!!! 11/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Phone I have owned a Tracfone for many years and thought now is the time to get my first "smart Phone". I am not really Tech savvy, but I do understand a few things about computers, phones, etc. I have read the reviews of the other Tracfone Smart phones and decided on this one because of it's processor size. I have owned this phone for one month and am learning about and how to use Apps, Widgits, Bluetooth and Wifi on this phone. There is a really helpful site on how to use the phone called "Straight Talk Huawei H868C" (Walmart), it has answered all my questions I have about operating this phone. I am very pleased with the preformance and the looks are really cool (old person term). The only thing I am disappointed with in this phone is that it doesn't have a flash with the camera, but I knew that when I purchased it. This phone costs me only $100.00 a year to operate as I use it sparingly as I have with my other Tracfones. You get 1200 minutes with the purchase a year card. If you have access to a wireless internet connection (WIFI) you can use it and not use up any of your purchased data from Tracfone, cool again.. I realize this is not a high end phone, but it fits my phone budget perfectly, it has Internet connection, Mp3 player, FM radio, phone, camera and the reception in rural Wisconsin has been great. I strongly recommend this phone to others, and yes...even friends. 03/02/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay away from Huawei I wouldn't buy another item from Huawei. At first we loved our phones too. But it became clear that there was a problem with the phones after the 8 month mark when the phone would not boot up at all until we did a "hard" factory reboot which looses all the text and contact information. The Huawei rep informed us they knew for quite some time that there is a software glitch in there phones, but continued to sell them. We were informed to buy a new phone. We asked if there is the same or similar problem with the new phones and the rep said, "yes". Why would we buy another one of the same brand if they don't stand behind their product? 01/24/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First smart phone, great to learn on, good value This is my first smartphone. Bought in January and struggled a bit. The online tutorial is ok, but trial and error is faster. Now, I whip through whatever I need. The only down side that I have is the downloaded application allotment. It fills up fast. Chrome wants to install updates and you are out of space every time. So, got rid of Chrome and voila, problem solved. Reception is better than any cell phone that I have used so far. This is the only phone I have had in which I don't have to go outside my home to talk on. It is nice not having to stand in the middle of the street. The wi-fi usage is great. I am not much for texting (would rather TALK to friends) so the text issues that most have don't apply to me. The bluetooth was easy to set up with my car. I wanted a phone with more options that just a plain cell - this one works. Tracfone has an app for balance, etc. Like I said, this is my first smartphone, so it works great for me without breaking the bank. 08/11/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone I purchased this because my old Tracfone finally died. I have never had a smart phone, so this was a great choice for me. Mine came with triple minutes, so every time I load a card, I have triple minutes for talk, text and data. I'm not a heavy cell phone user, so has been great for me. No dropped calls. tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/tracfone/home.seam?locale=en_US&deviceId=1254&cid=992568. This is the website for this particular phone. I found it to be pretty useful with several of the things that aren't in the book. Tracfone's big problem is their customer support....it isn't very good and you really have to search to find answers. When I transferred my number, it took me about 30 minutes with the representative and it was done. I agree that a large volume scan disk for this phone is very useful. This is a great first smart phone and I love the "no contract" with it. 01/20/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Phone Smarter Than I am The phone does what it says it will do. I am just not sure how to use all the bells and whistles it has. It uses the WIFI fine. On a recent trip from AR to TX apps helped with finding stores, hotels, gas stations and campgrounds. TracFone Usages app even works great which I was apprehensive in loading because of negative reviews on it. Don't think it used data or text time to give me the info.. Really need extensive and advanced tutorial on how to use it. Basic one got me started now need more training but that is not the phone's problem. Can't say if it is a Data Usage hog because I have nothing to compare it to, this is my first Android phone, but it only used 59 minutes/units of data on my 6 day trip. Like that you can turn GPS, Data, and WIFI off if you do not want the phone to use them but still leave the phone on to get or make calls. Need to be aware that it uses Verizon towers, have trouble getting strong signal at home. (Not like old LG850g that used AT&T.) I had no problems on trip getting strong signal but kept to Interstates. Happy with phone so far. 10/10/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does not show airtime balance remaining Does not show airtime balance remaining or service date expiration. Your have to go online to Tracfone to check balance. If you do that from your phone it will cost you time and data. Just bought the phone yesterday, and so far that is my only complaint. 11/12/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gotta get something else This is the worst Tracfone I have ever had. Personally, I would sooner have one of the 14.95 units than this thing. Unfortunately, I bought 2! One for my wife and one for me. Neither of us like it and I came on tonight to see what other units are now available because these MUST go. The main problem is it is EXTREMELY user UNFRIENDLY. The only thing I found to work well and with ease was the Wifi and checking my email while at work. It also DOES NOT have the typical minute and time display that all other Tracfones have built in so you never know when to go buy additional minutes. Hence, running out at the worst time! We have had them about 6 months. At first, I thought it would be just a matter of time and we will both get use to them and how to get the most out of them. NEVER HAPPENED. The longer we had the the more we disliked them. Tonight my wife and I agreed...they MUST be replaced. Save your money and buy a cheaper Tracfone or a different brand. 04/08/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than expected. I just purchased this phone. I'd read online reviews which were pretty good except on the Walmart site, so I took a chance. The phone itself is fine, and the activation was fairly easy and prompt but I had to do it by phone, as online it was just a nightmare. The biggest two issues are that 1. The key board is so small, it takes me forever to type a message, and there is no app to enlarge it. 2. The wifi is a good feature, but TEXTS ARE NOT APPLICABLE for the wifi. So, any message you receive or send, or checking your balance uses up your text allowance. That in itself is one reason to stay away from this phone. And that is the only negative point of having the triple minutes feature. I still have all my call minutes, and save my media minutes by using wifi, but I do more texting than either one of those so this is a major issue for me. I regret my choice and would suggest you try something different. You get what you pay for. 07/04/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Huawei h868C is awful I usually takes me two or three times to dial a number even with the big numbers keyboard without the wrong digit showing or starting dialing before I had finished. The Bluetooth connection drops shortly after connecting in our new CR-V Honda. The previous Tracfones worked perfectly. My wife who is less computer literate gave up and is trying to go back to the previous phone. The problem is the sim card is apparently a one time thing and she would have to wait until she received a new one in the mail, so we bought a new phone. She lost all of her previous minutes in the transfer and we are still waiting for activation so we can add the newly purchased minutes. Apparently that can take up to 2 business days. Since it is Friday that means 4 days. I have a garmin edge 800 cycling computer with a small touch screen and it works flawlessly in case you think I am just a klucks. As a long term customer of Tracfone I am thoroughly disappointed. Stay away from the smart phone offered by Tracfone even though they reduced the price by half of what I paid. 08/15/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost what I needed This is my first smart phone. I expected good area coverage and am VERY Happy with that. However, there are some issues with memory allocation and use. I bought a high end microSD card and the phone recognizes it, but the storage graphic does not change after moving apps to it. I have to keep moving apps to the card as with updates and app downloads the phone runs to " insufficient memory" every time. 12/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Purchased Yesterday I just purchased this phone yesterday so I'm not familiar with all the bell and whistles yet. I can't give a fair rating but will hope it's a great phone. I have always had Tracfone's because of the inexpensive phone cards. My previous phone is an LG840 and I found it was a bit small to handle and I had to use a pencil tip to text. That became slow and old. The 840 phone is quick to respond, easy to send photos, but the 840 didn't download to my computer via a cord like the Hauwei will. I bought a phone card for the new phone but hadn't even registered the phone or added any air time and found with my home WiFi I was able to get on the web and send texts with out a card. That is nice and will save minutes on phone cards. I was a little disappointed in the screen size 3.5" and the phone size 4.25". A 5" phone would be nice even though that is only 3/4" larger. WM says they will let you try the phone for 2 weeks and if you don't like it you can return or exchange it. The extra warranty is only $9.00 which is affordable. I'm looking forward to having a web phone, although the screen is small. 10/31/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst phone I have ever had! When I first got this phone it was great!but,It was my first android also.After about a month it started freezing all the time.I had to take my battery out and put it back in atleast 3 times a day.When I get ready to make a call my phone doesnt dial it waits atleast 2 minutes then it starts dialing by then Ive punched in the number or hit the phone symbol a few times and when it does go through and I hang up it starts dialing that number back as many times as I pushed the phone button..Im so sick of this phone I could smash it!!I DONT recommend this phone!!Save your hard earned money and spend a little more for a better phone. 02/18/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Most unhandy smart phone I have had 4 smart phones before this one and the Huawei I own is the most quirky phone I ever owned. It does not ever work the same way twice in a row, just does it's own thing no matter how I have set it. Might just be a bad one, but I am going to bite the bullet, pitch it and get another brand even though it is only 3 months old. Total waste of money for me. 02/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Very Nice Phone This is A great phone and for tracfone its great meets my expectations. To anyone who gets this phone I recommend you get A 8gig micro SD card or higher for apps and things like that A 16gig is great. I recommend this phone to anyone who likes tracfone and or is A little tech savy it A really nice phone. does everything I need and more. only had it for A week or less but no regrets buying it. Thanks tracfone for A quality android phone. 01/09/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not good for a lot of texting Bought this phone for my son. Thought it would be a great phone for him. Very disappointed that nowhere on the box did it say that you only get so many texts with each card. We found out the hard way, when he received a text say insuffient funds. This was not the case with his old phone. Not a good phone for anyone who texts frequently. Also it was a pain to set up as it got deactivated after we had activated it and we had to call Tracfone to have it reactivated. 12/26/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Debating returning to my basic phone an LG 840. Disappointing. Keyboard is much smaller and most fingers are likely to make more mistakes trying to type on it. Even rotating it to landscape did not help much. A combination pen/stylus did not make it much better. Camera does a one shot zoom. My basic let me zoom in increments; much more amenable toward getting the photo I want. You must be sure you turn everything off you are not using or the MB's run up fast. My first smartphone, but I can do most if not all aspects on my iPad, and even larger. Not likely to use data much. The phone cost the same as my basic with the capacity to use data, texting, and internet, so for the same price there is more I can do if I need it, or if I want to get into using the phone like a pad or a mini-computer. 06/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most affordable and functional Android Tracfone! I love it. I love it. I love it. Smart phone for the masses. 12/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ZTE VALET vs. HUAWEI H868C Huawei wins hands down I have a LG Optimus EXTREME which is one of the fastest and best phones in the android market with straight talk series which cost 130.00 I'm very pleased after trying the very slow and never sees wifi well ZTE. bought the ZTE on sale for 79.00 and very glad to play only 20.00 for the HUAWEI phone. Its every bit as good as my extreme if not better, looks great with all videos ( you may need a player from google play but most are free) and see strong wifi everywhere. The sound is twice as strong as the ZTE ( extra bonus since I have Full size headphones as well) and is very quick doing everything...Just love it after the disappointing ZTE...Remember this is a TRACFONE ONLY model and not tranferable to others. Buy IT..its fantastic...Jay 01/20/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great phone for average phone user Phone satisfies all my needs as a user. Great monthly price for minutes. 22.00 dollars a month - 375min 375 texts 375 megs for messages Able to surf the web using WiFi feature 32 gig sdhc card allows me to download lots of pictures and music. One negative is the phone should have more internal memory I bought my wife identical phone. Satisfies all our needs. 02/06/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I wanted I bought this phone thinking since it was from TracFone that I could transfer my yearly contract and minutes to it from my flip phone. I did the transfer on line and I did not realize you can not transfer the minutes, so I lost them! I am taking it back and I had Tracfone transfer my number back to the flip phone. I am out a lot of money as I had over 1500 minutes on my phone. I feel I should have been told this before I did the transfer. 09/01/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing but problems I got the phone in December added 450 minutes, days later someone added minutes to my phone by mistake and then reversed the charges. My phone was not available to use until I added minutes to make up for someone else's mistake. I added minutes and they changed the phone number. In January I was able to get the phone changed back to my number, but the data was gone in 2 days. I had 1523 minutes on the 19th of April when I added a 400 minute 365 day card. My texts went from 1790 to 1200. My minutes and data went up correctly. 5 days later my data and phone are now at 0. I spoke to 4 different people at Tracfone, they say they cant help me. 04/25/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does Not Show The Minutes I really like the phone but you have to go to the TracFone website to see what your minutes are and what date that your service expires. 12/29/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy Battery barely stays charged for 1 day. Receiving/sending calls/texts are iffy. Have 3G one minute, 0 bars the next second. Try to call/text says sending but never dials or sends but it does use up your minutes. Received text 12 hrs after sent but this phone shows time it is delivered, not time other person sent it. Bought another phone to transfer number to since connecting never problem before. Found out will lose my 2000+ minutes unless I transfer to another android phone. Tracfone lost long time customer. Only reason giving this phone a 1 star is because I cannot give 0. 07/21/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good phone for anyone. This phone cost me $99.00 and has not worked correctly since day one. First of all, it does not work where I live. I have to drive two or three miles into the center of town before it will work. The battery only lasts on standby for approximately 26 hours, if you are lucky. The Wi-Fi does not work properly. This phone does not even work as well as a $14.00 phone. It is a piece of junk and I have had nothing but a bad experience since day one. I tried calling tracfone twice in the very beginning and could not get any help. I have had tracfone service for over 15 years and this is the first time that I have received absolutely bad customer service and a defective phone. Really unhappy. 06/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solution to my problem Let me begin by saying I usually only use about 30/45 minutes per month on my cell phone. I have landline service at home so only use my cell when away from home. I was locked into a $50 a month contract with Verizon for voice only, no internet access. Waaaaaay too much. I needed something cheaper that included a way to check the weather and limited internet. I purchased the Huawei Glory and a 60 minute card for a total investment of about $75. I will add 60 minutes each 90 days @ $20, making my total call phone bill for a year about $135. The huawei triples the minutes, so I have more than enough each month. 09/11/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by not a bad phone even tho from tracfone. semi smartphone. service date and minutes switched over without any probs. text editor keeps changing what I type so every word I have to save or select it from drop down menu, which is a hassle. what's up with that? no clear instructions on how to setup voice mail. overpriced not worth $100. but you get what you pay for so I guess I better be happy with it. 01/16/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Want to pay almost $1.00 for a simple text? I upgraded to this phone after being with Tracfone for over 5 years. When somebody sends you a group text (they send it to 5 people and you are one of the 5 people) it shows up as a download. To download it you must log onto the internet and use data minutes. So on top of the data minutes you get texts minutes as well. This adds up to almost $1.00/a text. It gets annoying when somebody just says "ok" and it cost almost a buck. I don't recommend this phone for that reason. 05/14/2014
  • 2016-03-24 T08:24:37.694-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_104, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_29010035, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 104 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew372
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp