Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 44 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike Got rid of a Huffy 26" Mountain Bike that I have had for about 3 years and up graded to this 29" Mongoose. I bought it in the box and assembled it fully in about an hour. I also had a problem with the front disc brakes rubbing but with a little adjusting of the caliper it now rolls as smooth as a babies behind. I went over the entire bike's bolts and factory assembly and found only about 2 lines (Brake and Gear) loose. Not a big deal since you should do that with any item that is pre assembled at the factory. I am super impressed at the ride that this bike has, I've had an expensive Iron Horse that had a full suspension system and this Mongoose sits up there with some of those expensive mountain bikes. Very Pleased with the Purchase! 02/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great starter mountain bike Bought this bike for my wife. She wanted a 29inch bike because she felt more comfortable on it than a 26inch. She likes the bike very well and it fully meets her needs and wants in a bike. She is 5ft 8in tall and 170lbs and it fits her very well. The seat is bad compared to more expensive bikes but was easily changed out for a better one. We ordered it site to home and it arrived in two days. Took less than two hours to put together and tune everything the way it should be. Go to www.bigboxbikes.com for more info on this and other great bikes from big box stores like walmart target and such. This site can answer any questions you have about any bike you are looking at no matter where it is sold. 10/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value I read some reviews and people were not happy with the set up or pedals. I had no such issues. Went to my local fixie bike shop assembly was $30 included all adjustments. I bought two lights, fold away 2-bike car rack and bike lock. I am set and very happy with my $260 purchase including assembly. Keep rocking Walmart and Mongoose. 11/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be fair, it's not a $1800.00 bike My bike was assembled at Walmart, and required some tightening and modifications to get it out the door. It seems to be a reasonable bike, no obvious mechanical defects unlike what you may find in a lower end model just browsing the in store selection. I was happy to see a full 29er with a dual suspension flex frame. Top gears grind as expected, and I am fully prepared to invest $60.00 with a shop to get her riding properly. The Goose will be my daily rider and will be maintained like any shop bike would be. For the price it's a lot of bicycle and made with fair quality. Treat her like a queen and she might make it a few years. It is a pretty heavy bike, but then again it is gigantic. The ride is what you should expect from the Mongoose name, Walmart and a clunky loud rear shock. Still, I'm satisfied. 04/25/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth every penny The bike arrived double boxed and in perfect condition for me. I did have to adjust the rear derailer a few times before I got it right. The front derailer was much easier to dial in. The only down sides that I found was that the bigger wheels don't allow much clearance between my feet and front wheel in a turn . It's pretty easy to rub my toe on tire. Front suspension was a little soft, but excellent look and value for the price. I am real happy with it and have been riding it for a couple weeks now without any troubles. 08/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice bike I wanted to get a bike that I would use and be able to keep for a long time. I wanted to get something kind of mid range price. I've had Mongoose Mountain Bikes before and really didn't like them. I figured I'd look at the store as I was liking another one alittle more and was leaning towards that. I'm very happy with this Bike. I bought a display model and it was set to go out of the store and I got my daughter a new bike at the same time for something we could do together. I checked it over for scratches and that and it was in very nice shape. Brakes are nice. Shifted nice without much more adjusting once I got it home. I like the 29" tires. Bike rolls nice. Suspension was better than I expected. You don't lose power from the shocks like the old ones when you are peddling real hard. Low gear makes it easy to climb any hill, and in high gear you can get it going pretty fast. I did buy a new gel seat right away. The one it came with was pretty small, but I'm also a 210lb guy. Nice bike and worth the money. 04/22/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good, but not great The bicycle was for my son and he does like it a lot. However, I rode the bike and I do have some issues. The gears needed adjustment and are not always that smooth. Also, the petals are under matched for the bike. When riding, there is a gyration as if something is bent. Not sure what it might be. In fairness, it could have been due to the fact the bike was bought off the showroom floor and it could have been dropped a few times. Also, because of the tires being off-road, this bike doesn't roll as smoothly and effortlessly as a hybrid or street only; that is to be expected. That said, the bike brakes well and the shocks are fine. If you are using this as a street bike for trailing in local parks and jumping curbs, it is more than enough for younger kids. If you want to do serious mountain bike riding, spend up and get the confidence of a much pricier bike. As for durability, it is too soon to tell. But I have spent more money on other bikes from specialty stores that didn't hold up either. I think this will be plenty durable. I am glad I bought this for my son and saved the money. Bike looks good and performs well. You get what you pay for, and I like the overall value. 01/03/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ok for a big bike it is a really nice bike. The assembly of the brakes and gearsweren't done very well. I will have to take it to get adjusted or find out how to adjust the gears and the brakes other than that it was an easy bike to put together. also I wish the front forks would not go down so far when I'm standing up riding. It is easy for the shocks to travel 3 inches 10/14/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Bike This is a nice mountain bike. I used the ship to store option and they assembled it for it in the store. Sometimes I feel like the front wheel is a little bit loose and may tilt a little bit, which I don't think it's a serious issue, I think it can be fixed easily. I wish the seat was a little bigger or more comfortable (I'm a big guy :) but overall this is a very nice bike and I am happy with it. The price was also very good and much less than amazon. 10/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value Yep... It's a $229 Mountain Bike! For the money it's a great value. It rides well, shifts and stops decent, is sturdy enough for some off-road and single track type riding, but also suitable for street riding. It's NOT a $1000 competition level mountain bike, or a 100 mile a day touring bike. BECAUSE IT'S $229.00!!! For my purposes... 3-7 mile rides 4-6 times per week... it's a fine bike and I'm glad I bought it. 09/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike! Only thing I had to change was the seat for one that is comfortable. Also, I'm not use to the rear kick stand, may change that out for a standard center one. Other than that I love the bike. Rides good, gears shift well and I like the big 29 inch wheels and front disk brake. 01/16/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Frame! Suspension works. Decent Components. Your satisfaction will depend largely on your expectations. This " Mongoose Ledge" with 29" wheels is not the lightest or fastest mountain bike you will find. It is however one of the best values you will ever find. How much bicycle do you think you are going to get for a couple hundred bucks? If you go to a bicycle shop I can guarantee you are not going to get much. Wal-Mart has other mountain bikes that to the uninitiated look similar. The difference is this one has a good quality frame with suspension that actually works. This one has decent brand name components that perform well if adjusted properly. The seat is comfortable. It has a good quality disc brake on the front wheel. The front wheel has a quick release lever. The wheels have aluminum rims. Overall I believe that it is a better value than the cheaper bikes available at Wal-Mart. The number one reason that I would recommend this bike to my friends is that it rides well. If you spent an extra thousand or so dollars you could get a bike that had suspension that worked as well, has better components, and weighs a few pounds less. With this bike you will have a couple less cogs on the rear cluster and you will have to remember a wrench for your bike bag to take off the rear wheel in case you have a flat. But with this bike you will still be able to give your flabby bike snob friends a good thrashing and also have the satisfaction of knowing they spent multiple times more for their bikes. And that my cycling friends is PRICELESS. To me there is nothing better than giving your bike friends a good thrashing and then telling them that your bike came from Wal-Mart. The frame on this bike is good enough that one can easily justify springing for a few parts that would make it perform as well as much more expensive bikes. I have to admit that I am probably going to upgrade the rear wheel to one with a quick release and a cluster with more cogs. This will mean that I will also need a new rear shifter. This "upgrade" will cost well under $100 if done with used parts from eBay. 11/26/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had bike delivered so had to put it together. Good thing I'm a mechanic because the instructions were horrible! I installed the front fork backwards because there was no picture of the fork assembly, or witch side the disc brake should be on. After fine tuning the shift with hand control adjustibles it is getting better. Fun for kids, cardio for me! 10/18/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not all 29" tires will fit in rear frame. Mounted a new 29 x 2.1 "Serfas" sheriff commuter tire on rear rim, and wheel could not be installed on bike. the tire hits the front of the chain stays right behind the seat tube, and the axle could not be inserted into the dropouts. Also as others have mentioned my feet hit the front wheel. I have had several Mongoose bikes over the years and have been very happy with them. This one went back to walmart. 09/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike by Mongoose! Looks good and rides better. I was so happy to find that they finally started making bicycles for tall guys like myself. I'm 6'4" tall, and the 29 inch bike finally made it comfortable for me to ride a bike again. I can actually fully extend my legs and be able to get up hills without having to stand to pedal all the time. Mongoose finally made it comfortable for me to ride a bike again, and look good while doing it. This bike is truly sharp looking. And the gears, by Shimano, work great. The central body shock is great for any off-road riding as well. You will love this bike. 06/11/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big guy great bike I am very pleased with this bike, I am a 275 lb guy and I ride this bike like if was a not that heavy. I really like the suspension and performance of the bike. I definitely enjoy riding this bike every time I take it out 01/22/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent product Good product over all, already had to get the brakes adjusted and it makes a squeaking noise but it get the job done. 06/08/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Satisfied I have brought the bike back to walmart for repairs to the brakes, gears and front fork noise 06/15/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Broke within a handful of rides. Great bike for a few rides. Then after about 3 miles into a ride something breaks and here I am sitting on the side of a trail waiting for someone to pick me up because the rear tire refuses to spin. The chain spins and the pedals spin but the tire won't. Needless to say, I'm not too happy with the quality. 08/11/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good quality for the price. I am happy with the purchase although the same set-up precautions had to be taken after receiving the bike. I had to have a professional disassemble bike completely lubricate all bearings including bottom bracket to prevent early failure due to poor assembly procedures at the factory. Other than that the bike lives up to what I expected of it. It's not a $4000.00 custom bike and I'm not a person who requires components of that caliber. I use it on a daily basis and have no complaints so far. 08/08/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FLAWED BIKE Front fork is worthless, the spring coils are so weak that you bottom out going down a curb and I weigh only 180 pounds, I can't imagine how rough it would be for a larger man. I returned this bike the next day. 07/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by sweet this is the Best Mountain Bike i ride this bike look so nice this bike like to Go wow go get it you will love it 03/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Good riding bike and Well made. 06/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Best bike for the money!! I ride this bike every day rain or shine! I live in Maywood,Ill and i ride to the lake front often! This bike was one good fit for me! Thanks to walmart for having a bike for a big man!LOL 09/22/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tires flat!!! Tires were flat. Luckily I had a pump, but rear tire has a hole in tube. Bought new tube from Walmart and it popped. Decided to look at rim and I found a burr. Filed down and now I'm headed to bike store to get tube. Walmart wouldn't honor either. Expected. Hopefully I'll get to ride it soon. 12/29/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not worth the money spend on it This bike is worthless if taken off road. On first trail biking trip the front derailleur got broke. Front fork start making squeaking noise. Definitely would not recommend it to anyone, unless you are riding on paved road. 10/24/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk tin can material! The derailer broke before first ride . Not to mention it took 2 weeks to get it. Put the wheels on and first turn of the pedals the whole thing snapped. Poorly made with sub standard metal. Very disappointed as reviews said it was a good bike. Neck of handle bars has plastic and it is broke also. 03/04/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Nice bike. Good price 06/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by cool bike its a nice bike i would recommend this bike to a friend I had a long time ago and it lasted eight years and it was awesome 04/01/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great bike so far no complaints , great bike and price, did some very minor adjustments as expected. mostly rear brakes, had to stop the noise easy, if it was stolen i would buy the exact same bike for sure. 02/16/2015
  • 2016-02-13 T04:36:42.060-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_44, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_26999366, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 44 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew373
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp