See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 144 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by They LOVE it! I have 2 cats and they LOVE this thing! I put it down and turned it on random and BOOM....Crazy cats! They played with it for awhile. I turned it off after about 20 minutes (I don[t want them getting bored with it too soon, but I don't think they will!) Great buy! 04/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cat ignores toys --- but not this one! Kitty Krack! That is what they should name this! My cat is addicted! She loves this thing ... meows and meows to me to turn it on. She never plays with toys, even those feathers on a stick do not interest her much .. but this --- I have gone thru two sets of batteries - she wants to play all day. Finally I turned it off and put it away because she looked terrible - eyes all droopy .. no nap ... hahahhaa! This is a taffeta type material that fits over the motor and the rod. The motor has 4 settings, slow, med, fast, and random. The rod goes back and forth and wiggles -- never the same twice. Cats love the crinkle sound of the material and can see the lump moving under the material and the feathers that peek in and out at the edges ... If they sit on the rod, it will turn off the motor after a few seconds so the motor doesn't get burned out. The batteries last about 14 continuous hours ... so a long time if you just let your cat play short times so they don't get bored. I *and* my cat would highly recommend this toy and will buy another when this one wears out! I bought this at my local Walmart but they have it online for the same price. 04/15/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Kitties love it; me, not so much Pros: The cats love this toy. They will play with it for hours. If they hear it start up, they will come running. Cons: It is noisy It stops if the wand is held immobile for 15 seconds. Alas, my cats quickly learned to pounce and sit on it. Even holding it down with a paw will stop it. For them to play for an extended period requires me to turn it back on every 60 seconds. The wand detaches easily. My cats are adept at pulling it out. The feathers on the end are not well attached. One is already gone (after 3 days) and the other is not looking good. Love this idea in concept, but I was looking for a toy that could engage my cats when I could not. Instead, for them to play, I have to stay close by to keep it going. The cats do love it though. 08/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Interactive Cat Toy I have 2 senior cats, 12 and 11 years old, and have been trying to get them more active. I researched this and similar items (others with mouse in the name) and read all the reviews. I found this one to be better of the others with the 2 attachable wands. My 12 yr old cat likes feathers and my 11 yr old cat like the mouse tail which works out great. My 11 yr old cat looks forward to this toy every night although my 12 yr old cat watches it since the younger cat monopolizes it. I read how some people complain it shuts off if the cats stops the wand from moving for a short period of time and have to press the button to turn it back on. Yes, that is true, but also a great way to save the gears from wearing down and if I had a wish list, a remote control would be good too, but then it would probably cost a lot more. People complain the wand falls off and have to re-attach which happens when the cat is playing hard with it and that is normal play activity. Like any motorized toy, it should be supervised especially to turn it back on or re-attach the wand. I actually enjoy watching my cats play with it. It keeps them stimulated and active. Everybody has something to complain about, but for the money, it is well worth it. 06/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected! None of the reviews will tell you that when you turn this toy on and your cat pounces on the exposed end and doesn't let up, the machine shuts off. The instruction manual says it does this after 10-15 seconds so the motor doesn't burn up, but it's more like 5. So be prepared to sit or stand by the toy to hit the power button over and over and over and over again. 05/31/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Prepare to be the MOST ACTIVE part of the game! I originally bought a TV product called "Cat's Meow," which kept running until you turned it off, but it only lasted long enough for my cats to become addicted to the thing. They literally played it to death in 5 or 6 weeks. SO... I replaced it with this "SmartyKat" item. What a TOTAL waste of money and time! My cats immediately jumped on the toy, and within a minute caught the arm and held it for SEVEN (7) seconds, and the toy turned off. So I turned it back on. Soon the cats again caught the arm, held it, and the toy turned off again. We "played" this all evening - me turning the thing back on again and again when I couldn't stand my cats staring at me and begging anymore. This went on for far too long before I scooped it up and threw it in the closet. I had to sneak it out of the house to return it! Now while I search for some kind of replacement toy, as soon as I enter the living room, my cats go running to the spot where their toy used to be and sit there staring at me. THANKS, Walmart! 08/25/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cannot outsmart the cat :( My two cats took one look at this "toy" and decided the best way to get the mouse was to sit on it. Well, when you sit on the mouse, it stops, no more activity except for the annoying stalled motor sound. So a lot of money was spent for a toy that is too dumb for them...I guess I should have done more research on it before buying, my fault. Now it is just stripped to the bare bones and my cats just lie there and watch the little nub go around the base unit...whoopee - no exercise value at all. 08/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE the product! A great price; a great toy Some people don't like this toy because it has 'safety' features built in: It has an auto-shut off feature so the motor doesn't burn out or if the cat traps the 'arm' for too long; the 'arm' is designed to come off the base if the cat plays too aggressively with it (also assumably to protect the motor) so, yes, you have to monitor it and occasionally turn it back on or re-attach the arm (it just pushes back on) but, I don't see these as negatives, I'm happy the company has installed features to prolong the life of the toy. My cats LOVE this toy and so do I; they play with it every day. I love it because it occupies them, entertains them, and after 3 months they still aren't tired of it, which is more than I can say about almost any of the other toys I've purchased (and subsequently returned). I've tried 2 other toys of a very similar nature and it only took my cats 10 minutest to outsmart the toy or get bored with it. If your cat loves to chase things, give this toy a try. I truly don't think you will be disappointed. Plus, I can honestly say, the customer service of the manufacturer is OUTSTANDING!!! 10/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lazy cat no more!! I have several cats, one that has been in need of exercise, as shes on the heavy side. She's never been interested in chasing after any toys and would take any toy that had catnip in it and just chew on it until it was sopping wet, then pass out. I bought this toy about 2 months ago and she LOVES it, tho she causes it to shut off constantly (which does happen before the 10-15 seconds) I don't mind to get up and turn it back on, because it is so fun to watch just how much fun she has. I wish there would be more toy attachments to buy, since the feather one does seem to be losing a bit of the feathers. Some with bells or even a chirping little mouse would be awesome. This is the best toy I could have bought, since it is the only one 'Lazy cat' will get up for. By the way, she is starting to lose weight since she started playing with this. WE LOVE HOT PURSUIT!! IT IS PURRRRFECT... 07/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lazy Susan Yep - designed poorly! It was CONSTANTLY shutting-off as the cats (6) grabbed the wand and held-on for dear life. SOLUTION: For less than $10 we bought an el-Cheap-o Lazy Susan. (Optional) Added a couple pieces of Velcro to to hold it on. Now when the cats grab the wand, the base spins! The cats now play for hours, and we get to SIT and watch 'em! (Might want to pick-up a supply of rechargeable batteries if you don't already have them). 02/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Cat Toy I Ever Bought! I was really surprised how much my cats LOVE this toy! I was a little concerned by the price but I was assured we could return it if they did not like it (as long as I kept receipt) so we tried it. It was an instant hit! I set it on random and n my cats fell in love! There is a safety built in that stops motor if the arm is held in place for 15 seconds so that the motor does not burn out. I simply place toy near enough to reset it and it is "ignore dad time" again lol. I advise you buy a few extra batteies as they will play with it til the batteries die, that said, it lasted judt about a week for me but that will depond upon how often they use it and how quickly it gets reset when they "stop it." I am so glad we got this toy, in fact this is the first time I have ever written a review for a cat toy. 04/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 2 cats LOVE this So one day when I was watching TV a commercial came on for this type of toy and seriously, my cat was mesmerized by it. He watches TV sometimes and he was fixated until it was over (totally ignored me). He doesn't tend to play very much, but I figured if the ad got his attention then I would have to buy it for him. As soon as I turned it on he was all in. My other cat will join in the fun with him too sometimes. He walks over to it and when he does I turn it on and he goes to town. He's diving on it and sliding everywhere (hardwood floors). Sometimes he's so into it he actual gets the attachment off of the unit. I just slip it back on. It's fun just to watch them have so much fun. After a while he's done and it turns off. Another review complained about the shut-off feature and yes, it does turn off if your cat stays on top of it, so you do have to turn it back on, but I'd rather do that then have the motor break. So glad I bought this for him. 09/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the only one to buy this beats Cat's Meow product. 01/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very expensive! but cats love this toy They play with it on/off, drag it all over the house, asks to have it on, lays on it like a bed. I have two cats and they actually get jealous of each other when one is laying on it the other can not. My smallest cat put her head under it and goes to sleep holding the extension arm, they like the feather one and do not care for the solid extra extesnion. Happy there was a choice though to change out from the other. But the cats do not like the other one they blink their eyes and run from it almost as if there is a smell coming from it, they scrunch their noses and want nothing to do with the additional wand. Batteries seem to last longer than the revies state. Gave a 3 star because of price only. 20 bucks is ridiculuos for this toy, but I actually paid it...anything for your pets I guess. 06/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than most of the other brands I bought a cats meow toy , but the "C" batteries didn't last very long.The smarty cat toy is adjustable for speed, and the double "A" batteries last longer. The cat loves it. 01/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First cat toy to keep Max's attention Initially i wanted the one that I had seen on the late night commercials until a friend said that she had seen one at Walmart. And sure enough there it was. This is the first cat toy to keep my cat's attention. We have had it for nearly a week and used it on and off in that time. Every time that he hears the wand move he comes running and stays engaged studying its movement and pouncing on it. It works exactly like the one in the commercials, plus i can get it now and don't have to wait. Max is one happy kitty with his new toy and waits for you to turn it on if he turns it off. It defaults to turn itself off if he holds it too long. The only down side to this is that then you need to go and turn in back on. Overall this is a great product that will keep your cat and occasionally your dogs attention. Well worth the $20 for the lazy kitty to become a active kitty. 06/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun toy for the cats. Our cats love this toy. They will chase the feather attachment and the second attachment that it comes with. We have six cats, the younger ones are of course more interested but it has gotten our old...more quiet cats to be involved in a toy. They kind of take turns, younger ones play and when they leave to do something else the older ones will "sneak" in to play. Don't have any big complaints about it. Good toy, cats like it and if they're happy, I'm happy. 03/26/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by frustrating toy!! Both of my cats were so excited to see this toy, since I had purchased a similar toy, Cat's Meow, that broke a week later. This SmartKat hot pursuit cat toy will turn itself off if it doesn't feel any touch from a cat, constantly. So that means that it turns itself off after about 3 seconds! Cat's like to pounch and wait etc. So this frustrates my cats. They cry and cry to have it turned back on. So this means I would have to turn it back on several times each minute!! Not worth it. It basically doesn't work since you have to keep hitting the button over and over! 01/16/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great toy for some cats I have two cats: Molly-a terrific mouser and Max-not so much. This toy is great for Max, who has to work pretty hard to trap the moving piece. But Molly gets on top of it in seconds, sits on it and the motor stops. Poor Max sits watching it, waiting for some movement which does not happen. So here's the deal. If your cat(s) is like Max, he will get lots of fun and exercise with this toy. But if you have a Molly, only you will get exercise--repeatedly turning the machine back on after 15 seconds goes by. I must add that Molly loves this toy and comes out of hiding at the first sound when I turn it on. Max too. The makers of this toy should consider reconfiguring it so after it shuts down it also turns back on after a minute or so. 04/09/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Get this one! This product is great. The cats love it, it's made to take a beating, and the automatic shutoff is very useful. I bought the "as seen on TV" product before this one and it lasted about a day and a half before the motor burned out. 01/19/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My cats love this toy, however, there are problems. If your cat holds down the moving arm down for more than 10 seconds, it automatically shuts off. My cats also find it easy to pop the moving arm off. 07/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great investment in your cat's well-being My cat is seriously obsessed with this thing. If it's not on, she sits next to it waiting for it to do its thing. She actually seems to prefer it to me dangling the feather toys which she was kind of getting tired of anyway. Cat experts stress the fact that cats needs a stimulating environment and this is a MUST HAVE for indoor cats. You will notice a happier, more alert kitty right away. She actually seems to be enjoying the times when I dangle the dangly feather toys now more than before we got this thing! I guess it just perked her up. :) 06/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Fabulous Toy! Both my boys love it! In fact I just ordered another one so each one has their own to play with. You need to replace the three "AA" batteries each week, but the exercise my cats get with this toy is well worth it! This toy is invaluable! 08/15/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Drives cats crazy Very addictive, cats will beg you to turn it on. 07/05/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by MUCH better than Cat's Meow Cat'sMeow broke within an hour of opening, plus my kitten sat on the motor which made it break even faster. SmartyKat requires 3 AA batteries, unlike Cat'sMeow which takes 3 C batteries (expensive!). It also has 4 different speed settings and comes with two different wands to attach which is an added bonus. Some buyers may complain about how SmartyKat shuts off after 5 or more seconds if the cat does not allow the motor to rotate, but I find this to be a plus because the motor will not burn out. 4/5 stars. Buy this instead of the Cat'sMeow toy. 01/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by my cats love it I saw the similar product on TV and was going to purchase it before I read the reviews. Instead I bought the Smartykat version. My lazy cats LOVE it. I need to buy another one because they both want to play with it at the same time and that causes a little jealousy. When it is paused by the weight of a cat sitting on the device or by one of them holding the arm it shuts off. I think that's a great feature. I generally sit on the floor with them while they play and after a while it shuts off. I have no problem turning it back on as long as they are still interested. My younger cat actually goes to it and cries to have it turned on. So far it's been a great purchase and I'm buying a couple for my cat friends. 01/03/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice idea, faulty design My cat loved playing with this toy, while it was running. However, stopping the wand for a few seconds causes the motor to shut off. My cat quickly discovered this, and so most of his sessions with the toy would only last about 20-30 seconds. Then I would have to press the power button to turn it back on. This happened over and over and over again. Also, my cat tore a small hole in the fabric cover after his first 10 minutes with it. A few hours later, another hole was torn. This toy might be suitable for a kitten, or a small, easygoing cat, but my feline is too big and high-spirited for it. 11/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great toy I have 2 cats and they loved it. One of my cats weighs in at about 18 pounds so I have to keep an eye on him. He kept wanting to carry it off or just lay on it but they both loved it. I even bought one for a friend when I got this one and her kitties love it too 07/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I had a problem with this product and contacted the distributor. They immediately replaced the unit. I am very pleased not only with the product but with the service provided by the distributor. 07/17/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My cat really likes the toy. I have 2 issues with the unit, however. She destroyed the feather attachment within a few days and you cannot buy replacement attachments from the company. (I checked) She doesn't show as much interest in the tail wand. My other issue is she "holds" the wand just long enough to prompt the auto shut off you have to go over and turn back on the machine every time she turns it off. It needs a remote. Due to these issues, I fell the product should be lower priced or offer replacement parts and incorporate a remote. Otherwise, as stated previously, she loves it. 06/16/2013
  • 2015-10-05T05:33:10.515-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_144, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_23984441, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 138 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.