See All Reviews
Sunpentown ENERGY STAR 30-Pint Dehumidifier, White
Sunpentown ENERGY STAR 30-Pint Dehumidifier, White
$189.00
List Price: $199.99
You Save: $10.99 (5%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 46 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great Our house has been covered with wet windows and wet walls for the past couple of years. Black mold was starting to appear on our walls as well as our windows. We bought this in hopes of it helping. Well, it does. It pulls water out of the air out of almost our entire house except our back bedroom. It is just what we needed. We have a small house about 890 square feet and it works for all the house except our back bedroom, and it even pulls most the water there too. It isn't that quiet, however. It sounds like one of the older air conditioners running. We run it at night and it sounds like white noise for us, so it isn't a problem for us. 12/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great unit, for auto drain use. Nice unit, I notice a big difference in our basement as far as a musky/moldy smell it is much better. Tray is a little small and tricky in change, but I use the auto-drain so it's a non-issue for me. I would consider a different unit if you intend on emptying the tray everyday. Other than the tray, I would recommend this unit. 11/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by efficient, quiet, easy to handle My only slight negative is the care that is needed to remove the water filled drawer. One must be careful not to tip it or place on the floor before emptying. I learned this the hard way the first time I emptied it and spilled it all on the floor. More water to clean. Other than that I find it the ideal dehumidifier for my needs. Light weight, easy to roll around, quiet and efficient. 10/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Dehumidifier seems to work great. First night I emptied bucket 3 times. Fan on low is fairly quiet and non distracting. 12/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice.......... Excellent choice, small enough to rest on the counter/ shelf near the sink, so, it can drain into the sink..........has two settings.......1) humidity level, I have it set at 60% level, so, it will shut-off, when it reaches that level, and turn on, when the humidity level increases.......2) also has a timer, if you want to run it for a specified time period, such as 0vernight - or, when it is raining, this is small enough to move around - as, needed, also produces a small amount of heat - dry heat, which most people want, this time of year !!! 12/03/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Very loud! This unit was a nice size and did a good job of removing moisture but it was very loud. So loud you could not wait for it to turn off. 12/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works better than we expected. Took the moisture and smell from the basement after first day of use. 09/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice, small, efficient Wanted a small dehumidifier to take the dampness out of the air and this works well. 09/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Has already filled up a few times, which is great. Love the automatic turn-off and the basement feels noticeably drier! 09/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Removes humidity I wanted this brand dehumidifier because it was rated well in a consumer magazine. It was not stocked locally, so I purchased this with "free shipping to my store". The process worked well. When I got the dehumidifier home, the instructions said to run it continuously for 24 hours. The next morning it had lowered the humidity in my basement by 7 percentage points. The unit is quieter than my previous (GE) dehumidifier. I would buy one again. 08/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LIghtweight and gets the job done It was rated highly by Consumer Reports. It's slightly smaller than the last one we had, which was a larger capacity Kenmore, but so far (had this one for a couple weeks and only used it a handful of times) I like this one better because it's easier for me (small woman) to move into various rooms, or put aside when not using, and it gets the job done just fine. I wasn't sure if I'd like the smaller capacity, but am so glad I got the 30 pint size. It's easy to remove the part that catches the water to dump it. I don't used the auto drain thing...why bother...besides I was used to dumping the bucket on the old one, and this one is even easier. We live in an 1,100 sq. ft. house in a coastal California climate and creating a slightly less humid environment in our home from time to time adds to our warmth and comfort. On a recent rainy day we used it in the living room and having it on contributed to greater warmth and comfort in the living, dining and kitchen area. I use the forced air furnace less when running the dehumidifier. I ordered it from Walmart on line and got free shipping, and it came quickly. We read all the directions and everything worked fine. Highly recommend. 11/25/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by dehumidifies very well/ unclear instruction manual We have been using the SD-31E for 7 days. After only 2-3 days there was a tremendous difference in our basement. Had to empty the container 5-6 times each day at first, but that has leveled off to about once every 12 hours with the fan on the low setting. There is no musty smell now at all. Had to call the customer service number to clarify instructions for setting the on/off timer and setting the humidity level as instructions were very unclear. Also had trouble when trying to connect the continuous drain adaptor. The holes for the screws were too small and I was afraid of cracking the case by forcing them. The service rep assured me that if that happens the unit will be replaced, but I haven't tried it again yet. For these reasons we gave the 4star rating as opposed to 5. Somewhat concerned about the cost of operation--will have to wait to see how that turns out. The machine definitely puts out a good bit of warm air when it is running, but the basement was cool enough that it is not a problem now while the AC is on. Wondering how it will be in cold weather with the heat on. 10/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dehumidifier I have only had this for a few days but it is doing a great job. Noise is at a reasonable level. You will always have some noise with a fan running. We have it in the basement and have hooked the hose up to a floor drain. If you are running it in a damp area you'll want to do this since the tank is rather small. 09/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed! Immediately started pulling the water out of the damp basement air. Quiet and effective. Even restarts after a power outage (which our previous one did not). 07/07/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by doesswhat it should do Easy to clean 12/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by For It's size - great buy I couldn't be happier with this dehumidifier. Works great. Had it for over a month and placed it in my basement. With a hose attached and draining into the basement sump no need for anything bigger. Highly recommended if using a hose. 12/12/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed in Service I purchased this through Walmart.com and it didn't work when plugged in. I have made numerous attempts to contact the manufacturer and haven't heard anything back. The owner's manual states if there are issue, contact them and not the store it was purchased from. That only works if you get back to the people you sell to. 04/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dehumidifier Very good unit 03/28/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Compact but works well. Can't believe how much water it pulls from the air. We had to empty it twice the first day. It continues to pull a lot of water on a daily basis. After showering, we use it since our bath does not have any ventilation. It really helps. 12/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super fo Basement Cannot believe how quite it runs, thought it was not working right so, called toll free number an CSR explained I had it set right, that the humidity level was below my setting. Hooked up to old direct drain, old unit was at least 25 yrs old, still worked fine 11/30/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It does what it's supposed Wanted this to get my house to dry a little on heavy humid and cold days, the unit did what it's supposed removed the humidity but made it colder, the fan made the air circled a lot which was not what I was expecting. If you think this will help you get a less humid more cozy home you're wrong. 02/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great mid size machine. Great mid size machine. Good price. 01/18/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent, empting water was not real handy. 12/11/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by cost effected performed as stated , but water tray is difficult to remove ,also to reattach other wise worked great. 10/31/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but holding tank is small. Picked up the unit at the local WM after ordering online. Well protected during shipping. Retail packaging shipped inside another well fitting cardboard box. Only shortcoming I see is the water holding tank is too small and easily spills when emptied. I had empty the tank twice in less than 8 hours. It has an adapter for a garden hose but my location doesn't allow for it. 09/21/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great machine This is smaller than some so it's not to heavy to empty the water when it's full. It has been pulling moisture out of my damp house. It it full every 8 hours or so and shuts off until you empty it. It was very easy to unpack and set up. I'm very happy so far after 4 days. 08/18/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected I live in Florida and did not realize that dehumidifiers put out warm air so I returned my dehumidifier after one day of use. It did pull the moisture out of the air, but I do not recommend this product for use in a room you want cooler. It was also a bit noisy. 08/09/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by For a small unit it works very well and is quite. The unit is working very well it is in the basement, I am using the drain line it was easy to install. The unit is very quiet and efficient. 07/23/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Annoying I bought this dehumidifier because other reviews said it was quiet. It has an annoying fan noise compared to the many other models I have owned. I have a GE model that is much quieter(purchased from another store) which I would have bought again except that one of the 2 I bought failed to auto shutoff after a month. The Sunpentown also has the most difficult water reservoir to slide back in, in fact it doesn't slide but requires just the right touch after numerous tries! 06/17/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very effective, some initial problems with leaking I have been impressed with how much better a job this unit does at keeping our basement dry. Using the hose for automatic draining was a pain to get set up, and still had some leaking until I tilted it toward the hose slightly to help it drain better. I don't know if there was a small crack in the plastic or something since the hose was on all of the way, but I'm happy with the way it works now. 06/15/2015
  • 2016-02-05 T03:39:10.266-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_46, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_23872209, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 45 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew474
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp