See All Reviews
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 49 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Design needs modified I unfortunately did not read the reviews for this product prior to purchase. Instead, I had recently purchased the 60" high, 4 shelf Edsal rack and loved it. I needed a taller unit so I purchased this one. I would have rated the 4-shelf unit a 5+... but this one only warrants a 1 star rating. As another reviewer stated, this unit comes with 2 corner post pieces per corner for the 72" height that essentially are supposed to balance on top of each other with only the adjustable cross member to support the two pieces. This is NOT the case with 4 shelf unit as it comes with a bracket that joins the two pieces together. It took me 15 minutes to assemble the 4 shelf rack ... it took me 2 hours to assemble this rack and that was after spending $25 dollars (and an additional hour) at my local hardware store finding materials to design a bracket to adjoin each corner piece myself. Although the material used to make this rack is above average and sturdy, I couldn't give this product a good rating because of the frustration (and cussing) it caused. My advice is that you SHOULD NOT buy this product until the manufacturer redesigns the corner posts to make it assembly friendly. Instead, sacrifice the extra shelf and purchase the 4 shelf rack. 02/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Assemble and Very Sturdy We purchased on of these to organize our basement storage area. It assembled in less than 15 minutes, and I could have done it by myself and without the instructions if I had needed to. The particle board shelves make the whole unit rigid and very sturdy when you put them in place. My only reservations about the unit are that 1) it does not have any rubber or plastic on the bottom to keep the shelf from scratching the floor (this obviously doesn't matter if you're just using it on concrete in the basement or garage, but would otherwise), and 2) the particle board shelves aren't the hardest, most sturdy material in the world; most of the units we found at the store had been dropped during shipping, and the corners of the shelves were crumbling. I wish they were metal shelves, but for the price, this is excellent. Just make sure the box is in tact when you buy it. 08/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value! Low cost, flexible setup, sturdy, easy to put together shelving unit. I set this up in my garage to organize equipment and found this to be an excellent value. 07/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I wanted and needed. Very strong and hold a lot of weight I will purchase more for my garage. 07/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality and value Great shelving. Very sturdy. Quality made and easy to put together. 07/02/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very sturdy As a strong woman, I still needed help putting this product together. A couple of the heavy-duty particle board shelves were chipped at the corners, but still worked. A rubber mallet is definitely a necessity. 06/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me The particle board is a little chintzy, but otherwise it's sturdy and exactly what I was looking for. My son keeps all of his workshop materials on it and it holds up well sitting outside. 05/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than description This shelving unit is great. It's strong and very simple to construct. If you need this size get this brand. Shelving was received in good shape and on time. 11/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice & solid, although a couple of the shelf's on the corners were broken a little. but the shelf's are made of press board. You can always replace those cheap press board shelf's if it get to bad. 10/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incomplete This product came with a missing part I requested from the factory the replacement as per the instructions "stop do not return to the store call this number" at customer service promised they will overnight the missing part 10 days ago I still do not get it and every time I call I get some different answer I'm very disappointed!! 08/25/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Way too heavy Purchased for garage storage and the box weighed a ton Way too many pieces and I gave up trying to figure out how to put it together. Particle board shelves very heavy and would not be wipeable..... Took back 01/11/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs a little modification It is a relatively sturdy shelf unit for my garage and I am pleased with that. I like the provided shelf surfaces. However, while I managed to assemble this rack in a reasonable time, I find the design lacking. Rather than four 72" corner posts, they provide you with eight 36" corner posts. You are essentially balancing one corner post on top of the other. True, there are fasteners, but I don't trust them and will add four one-foot corner pieces that will bridge the critical area and provide lasting support by bolting them above and below the joint to fully stabilize the structure. 11/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A marvel of engineering. I was looking for specific size shelf unit with infinite adjustable shelf height. I was browsing at Walmart and I found exactly what i was looking for. Opening the box, I was surprise there were no nuts or bolts, just simple angle iron pieces of posts and beams with rivets. I was fascinated to see how this come together. I was relief that the instruction were written in American English, instead of syntax challenged English. Ok, the posts have two adjoining slots, one is large and other is smaller. Position the posts with larger slot upwards. The beam's two rivets fit into slots with tap of hammer, downward. The rivets will slide into smaller slots and sort of lock in place. That how you put it together. Be sure to face right angle protrusion of beams, facing upwards, because that right angel will become the lip holding the shelves. You must insert the shelves as you build. There is no room in the frame to slide them in afterward. For some reason, the instruction asked you to skip the bottom slots, to create a foot on the post. I ignored it (the post ends will damage soft flooring) If you find Ikea furniture to be challenging, then you need a partner to help you, (especial at Tricky Part). Since there were no nuts and bolts, how could posts connect together to become seven feet long. The Tricky Part; unbelievably, the narrow ends of the post stack on top of each other! The beams must be position where the posts meet; the rivets hold each end of the posts together and make it one long piece. The top rivet of the beam slides into upper post and other rivet slides into bottom post. In other words, a shelf must be position in middle of unit (36 inches height). Do to the width of the posts, the actual opening into the unit; 33.75 inches wide X 15.75 inches on sides. I threw on about 250lbs of storage, including a mini refig on 36-inch middle self and it holding together as one unit. I would recommend attaching a leash, near top of unit, to the wall, for extra stability. 12/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for getting organized I love this shelving set! I was a little nervous about buying this set since it look more complicated than I was used to, but I was able to build this in about 15 minutes. All you need is a mallet or hammer and you're good to go. The selves are sturdy and I love how high the weight limit is. I bought four of these for my garage and they've transformed how the space looks. I'm able to fit more on these than my old shelves and I'm not worried about overloading them. Great purchase! I'm very happy :) 11/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Very easy construction, sturdy, simple, effective. Would definitely get more if I needed them. True story! 06/16/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Crooked The brackets were askew and would not go together. This would have been a great sturdy shelf otherwise. Had to return it. 08/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! I opted for this shelf over a wire one, because I thought it would look nicer. It does! I use it to store paper towels, toilet paper, laundry soap and whatnot. It does the job. Seems sturdy enough. Easy to assemble. I like it! 06/15/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by exercise in frustration - impossible to put togeth It says on the box that it will take minutes to put together. I am a college educated woman with an IQ that is Mensa worthy. I fix things too -- fix the appliances when they break, install stuff, whatever. It took me at least four hours to put the shelves together. The hard part was putting the top and bottom parts of the rack together. The pins that slide into the slots are just a little bit too short to do this with anything resembling "easy". It was nearly impossible, and in the end, one corner is not quite right, but at this point, I'm not anxious to dismantle them and take them back to the store. If this had worked out, I would have bought at least one more set. Will never buy these again! 10/14/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst design ever This whole system depends on the side brackets staying in place. Too bad they are too loose to do so. The whole top portion is held onto the bottom by the four brackets that make up the middle shelf. Since those brackets do not connect to each other in any way there is no structural integrity. It's a shame too because the metal used is actually quite thick, if this unit was held together with some nuts and and bolts it would be one of the best on the market. If you insist on buying this, build it in place where you intend to use it because you won't be able to move it without it falling apart. I'd also suggest some epoxy to hold things together. 04/08/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for storage This was a great buy. After some of the reviews about how long it took for some people I asked a friend to help me. We got it done in 15 minutes. It was very easy if you use common sense. Two people just made the second level much easier to get on. My only fuss about this is I wish the boards came laminated or something. But that will be easy to do myself. 06/23/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Shelving I needed more shelving for my garage. I found this Edsal brand in the same style and size. I found the price at Wal-Mart to be better than my local hardware stores so off I went. As far as assembly, it was relatively easy to put together. The part I ran into trouble with was with the vertical beams with the holes. To get the 72" height, they make you put two pieces of vertical beams together @ 36" each. This makes the center shelf un-adjustable because the top pegs on the horizontal beams holds onto the bottom holes of the vertical beams and the bottom pegs hold onto the top holes of the bottom vertical beams. This is the part where another pair of hands comes in handy to support the top vertical beams, because even though they are locked in with the top and bottom pegs, they tend to want to fall over and if you don't stop it the metal could get bent out of shape. Also the top and bottom vertical beams sometimes want to overlap each when you are locking them in to place. It sometimes takes a bit of wrangling to get the vertical beams to evenly stand top to bottom. So, using 2 pieces of 36" vertical beam to make the eventual 72" height of the shelf makes for easy transportation in a 36" long box, but it causes the slight issues as I described above. -Another issue I want to bring up is that the pegs of the horizontal beams don't always lock onto the holes of the vertical beams as well as they should. Minor twisting of the frame while putting the thing together would make some horizontal beams come out of the holes of the vertical beams even though I had already hammered them in. This gives me some concern especially living in California that a jumpy type quake could make the shelves jump out the holes and result in the shelf falling apart. I figure a solution could be to put some bolts and nuts to jam the horizontal rails and make them stay in place. In conclusion I think these are good quality shelves with minor issues. They would be perfect if the pegs and holes of the beams held together more tightly. I am happy with my purchase and would buy again if should ever need more storage. 05/16/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by shelves for geat price These sheaves are a good deal for the price. First one went together just fine no problems. Second one took less time but one of the rails was a little short but I wasn't going to take it all apart. the wood shelf rests on it I just attached simple wire and not put heavy things on that particular shelf 04/28/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exactly what I needed This was easy to assemble by myself and holds a lot of heavy items. Very sturdy and well-priced. 04/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This is a very good Rack. Easy to assemble, plenty strong and a nice size. 04/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good shelves, but assembly difficult These shelves are well made and sturdy. Assembly of bottom unit went well, but when I started to add top unit I had problems getting vertical pieces to line up to place horizontal shelf brackets. It would seem to me to easily fix this by making a change in the bottom post, but that would men the posts wouldn't be interchangeable. That's probably why they don't do it! 04/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Just as represented. Great way to organize. 03/31/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Shelving Unit! I bought this for my classroom and couldn't be happier! They look nice and are very sturdy. My only complaint is it took three people to assemble the top half with the bottom half. Since the middle shelf is connect to the top and bottom of the four side supports, it is very difficult to keep things snapped in place without help. Other than this one part, assembly was very easy! 12/25/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shipped quickly, but one unit of the three arrived broken. Walmart took care of the problem immediately. 08/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and put it together by myself in 5 minutes 06/22/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Item is advertised as total weight 4000 lbs., when they arrived the box stated only 3000 lbs. total weight, completely mis represented. Fed Ex delivered the boxes with product poking thru and taped up to keep closed. I returned the shelving and purchased the product (as advertised) at Home Depot. 10/02/2013
  • 2015-11-25 T05:50:44.798-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_49, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_23597967, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 48 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.