Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 124 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best bang for the buck There are cheap coolers that keep ice for a while, and there are stupidly expensive coolers (yeti, frigid rigid, engel, icy tek) that cost a few hundred dollars but keep ice for a week. The Coleman 50 quart Xtreme wheeled cooler will hold ice for ALMOST a week, so it's in the same realm as coolers costing 10 times as much. It won't beat those really expensive coolers, but it will be in the same ballpark for ice retention. It's isn't built as well as them (gasket lid, stainless hardware, etc) but having a regular hinge is much better than My previous wheeled cooler had the wheels going the other way, (both on the narrow side) so you had to lift it by the handle to pull it along. This one simply tilts, so you don't need to be partially lifting the cooler to drag it along. Also, my old cooler barely made it through a day. Using the same cooler tactics that I did before (ice it down ahead of time, only put cold food/beverages in it, keep it full, minimize number of times you open it, make sure lid is closed, don't drain melted water) I can keep ice for a few days now. It's the only $30 cooler that can keep up with the $300 ones. It can't beat them, but it's $30! 06/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome New Cooler for 2013 Found this cooler at my local store and it was love at first sight. It seems to be working perfectly. Ive only had it for 3 days but once I got it home I loaded it about halfway with water, a couple trays of ice cubes and (2) one gallon Gatorade container frozen solid ice blocks, and the water is still ice cold with the Gatorade blocks being about half frozen still. Pretty good considering there's a ton of air space in the cooler and the temps in my garage have been hitting the 80's and 90's the last few days. No leaking at all. Decently comfortable to sit on for a good amount of time and there's no issues with the handle or wheels, so far they're sturdy enough to get the job done. If you drive a Silverado Classic the height doesnt go past the top of the bed which is one of the reasons I got this size as I plan to get a tonneau cover sometime soon. Happy camping, partying & tailgating! 05/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent cooler for a 3-4 day camping trip I purchased this cooler for a 3 day camping trip at a campsite with very limited facilities. No running water to be specific. I couldn't be more pleased with its performance. Instead of traditional bags of ice, I just froze a bunch of drinking water in plastic bottles. As it melted, I used it as drinking water. Half of them still had ice in them long after I got home. The drain plug is in a great spot for good drainage. The wheels make it very easy to tote around even on gravel, sand, and loose soil. The telescoping handle is great, but a little on the flimsy side. I wouldn't man-handle it too much. Use a little caution and it should be fine. The cooler itself offers a lot of room and is of good construction. The lid closes securely and doubles as a seat with cup holders. For the price, you really can't find a better cooler. If you pack it properly and treat it with a small amount of care, it will keep items cold for up to 4 days and should hold up to many uses. This cooler would be incredible as a day use picnic, party, or tailgating item. It really holds the cold. Just remember, it's up to the user to pack it correctly. 07/29/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wet floor I really liked this cooler. Perfect size and had the wheels and handle. Exactly what I was looking for. It really does keep ice for several days. The problem was the drain is only a plug and not a screw-on type. On day one it leaked all over the back of my SUV. I thought the plug may have not been closed properly. The second day there was water all over my dining room floor from the cooler leaking. It was returned to Walmart. I will look for a cooler with a more secure drain type. 05/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all around cooler. I'm 5'11" and the handle is long enough so that you don't have to bend over at all to use the feature. Wheels are well made and the cooler as a whole is very durable. I camp a lot and attend several music festivals a year and this things is still going strong. Highly recommended. P.S. It's made in the good ol' United States of America. 04/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Great cooler, great price at Walmart I did quite a bit of research and finally bought this cooler for a three day two night camping trip a few weeks ago based on size, feature and price. Walmart had the best price around, and a very easy online order and pick up service. Our friends forgot to push the lid all the way down on the last night and the two bags of ice was still mostly in tact and the food safe the next morning. Incredible. It also survived a bad storm outside and cleaned up easily and nicely. Great size, design and value. The wheels and handle make it easy to use for a petite woman, and good storage inside for larger items, that's not always the case in other similar size coolers. For $30, I highly recommend it. 06/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to move This cooler is great for on the go. The telescoping handle is a great feature to be able to pull it along. Saves the back ! Fits in the back of a hatchback or would even fit on a back seat. Has kept all my food nice and cold. Perfect for concerts, picnics, taking meals to friends and family and camping. If you need a mobile decent sized cooler this is a great pick. BTW: It really is strong enough to use as an extra seat or as a table -- it has cup holders on top. 05/04/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Coleman support says LID should be INSULATED bought 50 qt after a great experience with Coleman 70qt xtreme. noticed the force of opening the lid was causing the plastic to bend or give whenever trying to pry the 50qt cooler open. upon closer inspection and comparison to the new 70 qt, also from walmart -- I realized the lid sounds hollow all over and the insulation plug on the inside of the lid is very small. I called Coleman Support to ask if the 50 qt lid for Model No.3000001840 with the lid you can sit on is insulated with foam and not air? LeeAnn @ Coleman says the lid is insulated with foam. So if the your experience is that the cooler doesn't stay cool - make sure it is fully insulated with foam & not hot air! LOL -- I'll have to return this and hopefully find one with a good lid. Love the shape. 06/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price! I am very pleased with this purchase. I don't think you can find a better price for a cooler that holds ice for 5 days with a handle and wheels. I trust the brand and look forward to using it camping! 04/13/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I really wanted to like this ice chest. Instead, ice melted the first day of my trip and I had to keep replenishing daily. Had to keep in the shade covered with tarps to help reduce ice from melting. This definately is NOT a 5-day cooler as advertised. It is very hollow, hence not insulated. There are no handles to lift, only slight spot to grip. My Igloo 5-day cooler lasted longer, is better constructed, and has handles to lift. 07/10/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good buy Took to the beach for first use. Better than other coolers but ice was about 1/3 of volume we started with at beginning of 6 hours in 90 degree weather. Happy though, food stayed cold. Handles are not great for two people toting across 150 yards of sand and wheels too small to easily drag that far in deep/loose sand. BUT for price I'd buy again. 05/26/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not bad. You get what you pay for. Bought this cooler to drive with across the country. Advertised as a 5 day cooler, ice melts at one day, but it seems to do a decent job retaining coolness. Overall, not a 5 day cooler but I'm happy for the price. 06/06/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did Not Keep Ice For Even 3 Days Its An Ok Cooler For The Price. It Needs Flip-out Handles. The Handles Are Built In And Are Just Little Nubs. Could Not Lift It When It Is Full. My Hands Kept Slipping Out Of The Handle Indentations. Easy To Roll With The Sturdy Extendable Metal Handle. So If You Plan To Keep It On The Ground When Full It Is OK. 07/23/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by be cautious I bought this cooler and did not think to check that the drainage plug worked correctly until I was about to use it! The drainage plug had been flipped up and trapped beneath the wheels. The wheels easily popped off to release the plug, but the plug was deformed and no longer worked. Clearly, quality control in manufacturing missed this defect. Returning the cooler and replacing it was not a problem and was handled very well by a different Walmart than where I had purchased it. Consistent with what other reviewers have said, the cooler did not keep food chilled for 5 days (as advertised), but it did a good job for 3 days. It also did not perform well with frozen ice packs and a small amount of cold food (considerably less than 50 qts). 07/13/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wheel broke off in less than 24 hours!! Another reviewer had a similar experience and I should've listened!! One of the wheels broke the very next day which meant I had to go out and buy a replacement the following morning! Will also stay away from Coleman coolers because less then 8 hours and most of the ice had already melted. Very disappointed... 09/11/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wheel broke off within one hour I thought Colman had good durable quality items but on the first use in the park the wheel came off completely I cant comment on the 5 day rating. we only used it for few hours but i would judge the product on basic functionality. If the darn wheel did not stay on after a few minutes of use I doubt the overall quality of this unit. this is the last time i purchase Colman product. the quality is not there any more 05/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice cooler Easy to transport and pick up to load in your vehicle. Telescoping handle is just the right length and the cooler is not too heavy if you put it in your vehicle first then load it up with food/drinks and ice. 10/12/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The handle is too short. When pulling it behind, it catches on your feet. 06/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice size for the money I haven't use it yet but it's a nice size for the money. Only thing is that the handle doesn't extend too far so if you are tall that could be a problem. 04/08/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cheap Cheap I bought this cooler after getting a larger extreme one a few years ago. What a piece of trash. The wheel broke on my way to the car in the parking lot, and the ice melted within 24 hours. 06/30/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Does not hold ice as advertised. I bought this because it was advertised as an extreme cooler and would hold ice for five days. I have had it for 10 Days and am using a 16 lb bag of ice every other day. There is no air space when I add the ice so that should not be a problem. I open and close the cooler about 5 times a day. The ambient high temperature has been in the lower to mid 70's. Not working as advertised. This cooler would be fine for a day trip, but not adequate for camping without a steady location for ice. 05/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by keep it cool plenty of room for whatever I plan to put into it. lid fits tight to prevent loss of exchange air insulation. nice product. good value 04/16/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst product EVER It says it holds ice for 5 days it won't even hold ice a whole day... Very DISAPOINTED.. also the handle does not lock it is hard to handle.. and if I would of kept the box and receipt I would return it... WASTE OF MONEY!!!! 08/14/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Plan on carrying it around This cooler is great at keeping things cold. One 10lb bag of ice and three days later my milk was still as cold as the refrigerator. The problem is the handle DOES NOT LOCK. You can pull this cooler around all day long but if you want to push it to maneuver it into place, forget it. This turned out to be a real pain in the butt. If you only need to drag it around it is a fantastic cooler but I returned mine for a different brand. 07/23/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cooler for family outings! We bought the cooler for a beach vacation. With temperatures in the upper 90s, we were really pleased with how long the ice stayed frozen and kept the drinks and food very cold. Ended up buying a second one for my son and his family! 07/03/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by didn't even last a year One of the wheels fell off after only 10 months-was mostly in the back of my van-only taken out 2-3 times at hotels. I am very disappointed 06/24/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by the item is what i wanted the one wheel is broken off and was inside the cooler when received for delivery. will need to return it to a store this week......... 12/11/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked for me Survived trip from NY to FL with only one bag of ice. The only things that didn't stay completely frozen were bread and tater tots. Wheels are very handy, but the telescoping handle is pretty flimsy and I suspect will break before anything else does. 12/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent cooler for price. Great price for a 50 quart Coleman cooler. Fits our needs and easy to take around trips. Walmart always has some deals that fit our budget. 10/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great cooler for price This Coleman cooler meets my expectations of a brand such as Coleman. The price was very excellent as well! 08/21/2013
  • 2016-02-10 T05:03:49.147-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_124, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_23374667, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 118 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw275
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp