Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 141 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for dog hair, and I love the swivel feature! I looked at and reviewed countless vacuum cleaners before buying. I wanted either a very lightweight vacuum or a self-propelled one. Since there aren't many self-propelled versions to chose from, I narrowed it down to about three lightweight versions (all different brands) and based my purchase on customer reviews--which I think are invaluable tools--they all give honest, unbiased reviews! I read numerous reviews of this product, and I think everyone would agree that this vacuum has GREAT suction power--but I say too much is better than not enough! If I hadn't read the reviews, I would probably have sent it back, because it can be hard to push because of the powerful suction--especially if you are unaware that there is an adjustable "suction level" which gives you absolute control over how much suction you need for any carpet level you might have. This "suction control" is easy to adjust by moving the air flow control from all the way on the "floor" setting towards the "hose" setting. This allows less and less suction to the floor, depending on your specific need. We have indoor dogs and always struggled with battling dog hair. This vacuum is GREAT for picking up dog hair, but most impressive was the fact that I had vacuumed the carpet with my previous vacuum cleaner before using the new Wind Tunnel Air Max Steerable Bagless Upright--just as a "test" to see how much better it really cleaned. Not only was a great deal more hair picked up that my other vacuum missed, but the amount of additional dirt pulled from the carpet was amazing (and disgusting, seeing how much dirt I had been leaving in my carpets!!) Once you get the suction adjusted to the appropriate level for your carpet, the "steering" swivel feature makings vacuuming easy! It is also very lightweight--a feature that I specifically looked for! I love the bagless version--no more messy, expensive bags, and it's literally "a snap" to empty! I also like that it's easy to take apart and clean, and that it has washable filters--another money-saving feature! It was also ingenious to build the extension tool right into the handle! It is quick and easy to remove with the push of a button--whether you need the extension tool or just the handle only! In future models, I think adding a light would be nice, as well as a retractable cord, but that was certainly not a deal-breaker for me. I'm very pleased with this powerful but lightweight cleaning machine! I'd definitely recommend this cleaner to my friends and family! My only problem--which was probably just an oversight--is that there was not an Owner's Manual included in my box. 07/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Versatile Vacuum - can purchase additional tools! I researched vacuums before settling on this model. The most important features to me are that it is sealed, it has a larger dirt cup, it is steerable, it has a Brush Roller ON/OFF switch (use for hard floors) and it has a HEPA filter. I have dogs with long hair who shed. This model does a great job on picking up dog hair, etc. on carpet and hard floors. There are no odors when vacuuming, which is not true with less expensive vacs that are not sealed. I also wanted a vacuum that had options for additional tools. I purchased the additional Hoover Air vacuum tool set (through Walmart) which increases the use of this vacuum. Great vacuum all around! Also helpful online videos that show how to use the vacuum and includes many tips. 07/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome vacuum, don't let Dyson purists scare you Bought this for just over $200 delivered for my mother (bought mine in 2013), and it is an excellent buy. This is the only truly multi-cyclonic Hoover I'm aware of, so this works pretty much the same as a Dyson for less than half the price. Cleans very well, amazing suction power, in fact almost too much suction for short pile commercial carpeting. Can move the switch part way from floor to hose setting to take some of the suction off. I much prefer Hoover's steerable technology to the Dyson hard plastic ball (not so great on hard surfaces). Did I mention it's less than half the price :) 05/05/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great multiple-surface vacuum! This vac is just what I've been looking for: strong enough to clean wood floors, yet can can be adjusted to vacuum area rugs without sucking them up into the vacuum. Rugs and carpets can be cleaned quickly using the adjustment dial for suction strength and turning on the brush roller. The hand held tool is great also. The things I would change are that both of the cleaning tools cannot be attached onto the vac (there is only a place for one of the tools). Maneuverability is good but could be improved upon. However, for the cost, this vac is super and I would highly recommend it. Easy to use and cleans really great! 12/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible if you have an area rug. This vacuum is terrible if you have a small rug. Because it does not have the floor adjustment, it works great on the regular carpet, but if you have an area rug, its almost impossible to clean that as it becomes very very hard when you do on it. There is no adjustment and its terrible to drive on the small area rug. 01/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum for people who don't like cleaning This vacuum is great, i love it. Super light and really picks up all the dirt, dust and pollen in the carpets. I would totally recommend this vacuum. And it's seriously gets embedded dirt out of the carpet. The carpet i vacuumed was so old and dirty i was afraid i was going to break my new vacuum lol but no it did a great job and the carpet even feels a little bit softer after i vacuumed it like 5 times. And each time the part where it puts the dirt was full of dirt and pollen pieces i couldn't believe how much it took out of the carpet. Absolutely love it. 11/22/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT WELL BUILT This vacuum overheats after about 7 minutes after you start vacuuming. It shuts off and you need to wait over 15 minutes for it to cool down before you can start the process again. I would not recommend it to anyone. 04/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product of 5 vac in house this is the best one 03/11/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not as great as I had hoped I should have looked at this in the store before I bought it. I didn't realize it didn't have an adjustable brush head, or that the steering would be so annoying. As soon as I turned it on and started vacuuming it sounded like a cordless hand drill when the brush was rolling. Also because I couldn't adjust the head it sucked the floor so hard that it was very heavy to push. I called Hoover and they told me to take it back because it must have a bad motor to be making that noise. Needless to say I didn't buy another of these. 09/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Bagless upright vacuum ever!!! I did a lot of shopping around and read many reviews and found that the Hoover Bagless Wind Tunnel Air Max Steerable Upright Vacuum was the best for the money. I have two pugs and they shed all year round, I only own one large area rug, everywhere else is hardwood floors, which this also works great on. The suction alone on the vacuum is well worth it for anyone who owns pets. I would recommend this vacuum to anyone. 11/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding cleaner This vacuum cleaned up dog hair I didn't even know was there. Very easy to maneuver and lots of options for cleaning carpet and hard floors. 03/24/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good. great warranty 5 yrs. Quiet for vac great suction on tools and brush. Tools could be a little better but great performer. 01/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's great! Saw this at Target for much more dollars. It has great suction and the ability to stop the rollers on hard floors is awesome. No more flicking dirt and debris all over the floor in front of the vacuum. No complaints. Highly recommend. 01/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great on floors and carpet. This is great on floors and carpet. If the suction is too strong, simply dial it back a little to the "R" on floor and you are good to go. I have some lighter throw rugs that I dial it back even a little further. Also, the hose attachment has great suction - a first in any upright that I have owned. Very pleased with this unit. I also have the LI battery powered wind tunnel for quick clean ups (3years now) and love it also. 09/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vacum works wonderful! 05/27/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great vacuum for the money Needed a new vacuum cleaner and basically went and read reviews, I knew I wanted a bagless and the features of a Dyson without the Dyson price; this was the one...got it home vacuumed with my old Hoover Windtunnel, which will be going up to our cabin to replace the one that died. and then vacuumed with the new Air Max..it really picked up a lot more, I was surprised to see the extra it picked up.. I love the way it handles and the only draw back I see is the cord. I am not a big fan of cords and the fact they are always in the way. if they could have a retractable cord I would have given it a 5 star rating..it also gets under where my old Windtunnel could not. 08/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Warranty We bought this about 6 months ago. It broke during normal use, and Hoover immediately sent us a whole new unit. We have 1 long hair dog and three cats, and this thing is great at getting that hair out of every nook and cranny. The small upholstery attachment is great and takes great care of the steps and couch. Overall, this is a great unit for the price. 10/22/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy I bought this a few months ago and it vacs ok but when I am done and push it across a hard floor back to the closet it drops hunks of dust all the way there!!! Not happy!!! 10/18/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vacuum Had a 01 wind tunnel that worked great ,just started eating belts too fast. Replaced with this air pro and could not be happier, sucks like crazy, easy to maneuver ,gets close to baseboards, and is easy to clean filter and canister. 10/06/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hose stopped working Bought this vacuum a few months back after the first month the hose to clean the stairs stopped working. The suction is there but the brushes will not turn. I have taken the brush attachment apart several times to cleaned and oiled it, and it still will not turn. I even tried cleaning the filters thinking that there was a clog in the hose or in the main unit but still nothing. Also you are not able to put all the attachments on the cleaner, there is only space for one. I would not recommend this product. 10/04/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoover Air Pro Bagless Upright We love it. It works great. Our carpet is so clean after each use. I thought my son had shampooed our carpet, but he had only used the vacuum. I am very pleased. 10/03/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Requires more work maintenance than all of my housework put together. I purchased this vacuum in early 2015. At first I was delighted with its lightweight feel and suction. However, things started to go downhill after that. The brush stops spinning OFTEN, requiring me to clean it OFTEN. The filters and other parts need to be cleaned and maintained CONSTANTLY. I have taken each piece that requires cleaning off religiously. I am now at about eight months into this purchase and the vacuum has good suction through the hose, but not the floor piece. I have checked for blockages, etc. And yes, the motor does get extremely hot. My house is not filthy, and I do not use the vacuum roughly. I have never been so disappointed in a vacuum purchase in my life. The upkeep itself has created more of a mess than the actual dirt on the floor. I RARELY write negative product reviews, but after trying to houseclean yesterday, I feel compelled to do so and save another person from this trouble. Sorry Hoover, this product requires re-evaluation in it's design. I am regretting my purchase. And yes, I have watched all of your maintenance videos and I have reread the manual to see if I missed something. 09/20/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Was a nice vacuum and now is useless Haven't used this vacuum much because it worked great and then stopped. The beater brush stopped working. So then I only used it for the hose extension and now the brush that spins on that won't even spin anymore. So basically I can use the hose with the tiny attachment for corners of the house. Really disappointing it went bad that fast with very minimal use. 09/08/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Loved it until the belt snapped Bought the Hoover air pro a year ago. The belt spinning the brush roll snapped recently. I purchased the replacement from Hoover online. There is an unremoveable clear plastic cover over where the belt attaches to the motor assembly. The instructional videos are based on the Hoover air steerable which does NOT have this extra plastic. I am now at the point where I am contemplating prying this plastic off (which is also holding all the electrical parts in place) just to attach the new belt. Well played Hoover. You got me. 08/31/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by !Best Ever Vac This is my second Air Pro. First one had a bad switch after a year and half and Hoover sent me a new one! Talk about a great warranty!!! This vac is the best one I have ever owned. In fact I liked it so much I bought one for my daughter and she loves it also. However, I do wish it had onboard storage for the rotating brush head. It is very easy to empty without getting hands dirty. You won't be sorry to buy this one. 08/30/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I thought I would love it : ( It does have good suction if you keep the premotor filter very clean. Too much suction actually making it hard to move on carpet. Also much heavier than i expected. The pre motor filter has a bad design that traps lots of dust and is hard to clean. I agree with other reviewers that not near this much dust should be continously on the pre motor filter. It should be in the basket. I'm ordering another pre motor filter because i wrecked mine cleaning it. 08/28/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will suck absolutely tight to flat floors. I wanted a vacuum that would handle both carpet and linoleum, and found this model will not work. There is no height adjustment, so the vacuum sucks tight to the linoleum and I cannot move the machine. I sent it back. 08/26/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great vacume but not to reliable. Great vacume but to many problems to put up with. Lost suction, Shut down from hot motor, short in beater bar. 08/24/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum! I have had this vacuum for a full year now and it still works great!! The suction is as good now as when we first got it. And it really sucks the dirt out, much more than my bag vacuum. It is easy to empty and easy to move from floor to the extensions. I love it and would recommend to everybody. 08/23/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice vacuum it's nice until your belt breaks and no one can help figure out how to replace the belt!!!! Buyers beware 08/18/2015
  • 2015-11-26 T03:54:23.399-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_141, tr_141
  • loc_en_US, sid_22904049, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 141 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.